New strike corps for China border

lol

posters from China speaking like China will do anything

China does not have the balls to do any strike.... china is all talk and no game

Don't be a fool and talk nonsense. Your leaders thought China was "all talk no game" during the invasion of Korea. Our leaders thought China was "all talk no game" but they soundly defeated us in 1962.

If anything, China has repeatedly demonstrated that they play "the game" very, very well. And even playing the Capitalism game on the economic front better than the West.

Try not not sounding like a fool again.

In regards to the topic -- I think it is a wise move in part of the GOI, but war will not benefit either side (China, India), but will greatly benefit the US and her Western allies.

anyways back on topic we should really go for a entire North Eastern command and we should place several hundred thousand reserve troops in Arunachal and IAF should make north eastern command that has the works to support an entire army theater in a war

Does anyone know how many IA soldiers are deployed in the NE??
THANX in advance.

i think we got 2-3 divisions currently in Arunachal the Arunachal Scouts are a infantry regiment of the IA that has 4 battalions in IA a battalion size is usually 900 men so 3,600 infantrymen from the Arunachal scouts

The topic has been successfully side lined here, kudos to all for this excellent contribution today.

anyways back on topic we should really go for a entire North Eastern command and we should place several hundred thousand reserve troops in Arunachal and IAF should make north eastern command that has the works to support an entire army theater in a war

That's what I would do if I was in India's situation.

I think the Indian Army has been putting pressure on the Indian Government to do just that.

Army warning to PM: China can deploy half-a-million troops on LAC - Express India

That's what I would do if I was in India's situation.

I think the Indian Army has been putting pressure on the Indian Government to do just that.

Army warning to PM: China can deploy half-a-million troops on LAC - Express India

yes but our gov't cannot function properly... for example in parliament rather than focusing on important issues that are effecting our country politicians scream at each other and trade insults the army wants to do this stuff but they're hands are tied in red tape and must be sent to the CCS who receives the formal request (several months after the issue of the request) after that they decide on what to do and take much more time, this issue was brought up in 2009 and only now we are hearing of it being approved

oh btw just because we are raising strike corps does not mean we will go to war or attack China first that has never happened and never will sometimes i wonder if people think strategically on here ^__^ this is really a shot in the arm for us to protect the NE for example whenever China does exercises in tibet near the border it is muscle flexing it does not mean war will happen both countries have a lot to lose in case of another war India does not want to give up economic growth and a bright future and China does not want the world to think it is a belligerent autocracy that likes to do w.e it wants militarily

LOL. Does India have 3600 nukes?

http://www.defence.pk/forums/china-...s-chinas-actual-nuclear-stockpile-3600-a.html

Let's get serious, Chinese nuclear firepower alone can destroy all Indian army units and industrial targets within days from the start of the war.
Serious? What kinda nonsensical post is this? Just reflects on intellectual bankruptcy and an utter lack of knowledge of military affairs. Or are you just posting to score some non existent brownie points?

Heck! Why am I even bothering to reply to this twaddle?

Anyway, just for your info:

Agni_missile_range.png

I don't have to point out where Beijing and Shanghai is. Or don't you know? And I don't have to tell you what effect those mushroom clouds would have over these 'great' cities of China! Would you like to go back to the stone age? We would too, but the Chinese dream of ruling the world would go bust!! Ooops!

In 2009, New Delhi acted decisively in sanctioning two new army divisions, about 35,000 troops, to strengthen Indian defences in Arunachal, which China claims as a part of Tibet. It can now be revealed that New Delhi has also sanctioned a new mountain strike corps, of an additional 40,000 soldiers, to be permanently located in bases in northeast India. The new corps is to retaliate against any major Chinese ingress into India by launching an offensive into Tibet.

For decades after India’s humiliation at the hands of China in 1962, New Delhi shrank from a robust defence posture on the Sino-Indian Line of Actual Control (LAC), fearing it might provoke China. In the aftermath of 1962, through the 1960s and 1970s, the Indian Army stayed away from the border, remaining behind a self-imposed ‘Limit of Patrolling (LoP)’. In the 1980s, the army returned to the LAC, but remained entirely defensive in outlook. The sanctioning of a strike corps, therefore, signals a dramatic new assertiveness in New Delhi.

Business Standard has been aware of this development since 2009, but has refrained from reporting on it after requests from top Ministry of Defence (MoD) officials. Now, with the outlines of this development emerging in the media, Business Standard no longer feels bound by confidentiality.
The new mountain strike corps will control two divisions, trained and equipped for an attack into Tibet. If China’s People’s Liberation Army (PLA) captures any Indian territory, by quickly concentrating an attacking force over Tibet’s impressive road network, the Indian Army would not be forced into bloody, Kargil-style counterattacks to recapture that territory.

Instead, the new strike corps would launch its own riposte, advancing into Tibet and capturing a vulnerable chunk of Chinese territory, e.g. the Chumbi Valley that projects into Sikkim and Bhutan. Several such objectives would be identified in advance and detailed preparations made for the offensives. The new strike corps will have its own mountain artillery, combat engineers, anti-aircraft guns and radio equipment. It would also be supported by Indian Air Force (IAF) fighters, operating from newly renovated bases in northeastern India. On July 26, the then IAF chief confirmed that Sukhoi-30 fighters had already been posted to air bases at Tezpur and Chhabua.

On June 25, he told NDTV that Jorhat, Guwahati, Mohanbari, Bagdogra and Hashimara were also being developed as air bases. The IAF is also modernising eight ALGs (Advanced Landing Grounds), essential for quickly building up and resupplying a strike corps. These bases would also be crucial for airborne operations, especially heli-lifting forces to key objectives behind the enemy frontlines.

The proposal to raise two additional divisions for the defence of Arunachal Pradesh, as well as a strike corps, dates back to 2007. It began as a decision of the China Study Group, a secretive government body that considers all strategic issues relating to China. Thereafter, the army’s Directorate General of Military Operations (DGMO) prepared a cabinet note. The decision to raise the additional divisions was taken by the Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) on May 14, 2009.

This was the last major decision taken by the UPA government before the elections of 2009. It was rushed through because top UPA leaders felt if the UPA were not re-elected, the new government would begin the decision-making process afresh, losing another two years. To manage the expenses, it was decided the two defensive mountain divisions would first be raised during the 11th army plan (2007-2012). Next, the strike corps, including its two mountain divisions, would be raised during the 12th Defence Plan (2012-2017). The cost of raising a new Indian Army mountain division is estimated to be Rs 700 crore.

The 4,057-km LAC consists of three sectors. In the western sector in Ladakh, which India’s 14 Corps defends, the PLA already controls most of the area that China claims. The central sector, at the UP-Tibet border, which India’s 6 Mountain Division defends, is relatively insignificant. The most contentious is the eastern sector, which includes Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh, where China claims 90,000 sq km of territory that India occupies. It is here, driven by fear of Chinese aggression, that India is strengthening its capabilities by raising new formations.

A mountain strike corps will provide India with strategic capabilities that were badly missed when Mao Zedong marched the PLA into Tibet in 1950. While considering its responses, the Indian government asked the army chief of that time, General (later Field Marshal) K M Cariappa, what resources he had to intervene on behalf of Tibet. Cariappa could spare just one battalion (800 soldiers). And, so, New Delhi watched as Tibet was subjugated and the China border advanced all the way to the Himalayas.
New strike corps for China border

LOLz...how far away was his army from Calcutta?

---------- Post added at 12:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:22 PM ----------

Both need each other badly!

China needs Pakistan as it is a hedge against a rising India that China can't stomach. They are using Pakistan as a diversion so that maximum war assets are deployed against Pakistan easing the pressure against China as it helps guard its Southern flank.

Pakistan needs China for all the goodies it's getting including nukes, delivery systems including missiles (Also of North Korean design), aircraft, joint ventures in manufacturing military equipment, designing, building and launching of satellites, use of Chinese military satellites for photographing military concentrations and vulnerable areas and so on.

So there it is! They can't do without each other!

Rising India? Lolz....wtf....rising on software exports?

Look at the Chinese Defense industries, heavy industries and the electronic industries.....India has a long way to go my friend.

Why are Indians dragging Pakistan into fan-boy fantasy wars with China? China obviously didn't defeat you in 1962 on the behalf of Pakistan. Indian insecurity at it's best.

But please read about the 1967 Nathula incident also.
For their info.....

On 1 October 1967, a group of Indian Gurkha Rifles soldiers (from the 7th Battalion of the 11th Regiment) noticed Chinese troops surrounding a sentry post near a boulder at the Chola outpost in Sikkim. After a heated argument over the control of the boulder, a Chinese soldier bayoneted a Gurkha rifleman, triggering the start of a close-quarters knife and fire-fight, which then escalated to a mortar and HMG duel. The Chinese troops had to signal a ceasefire just after three hours of fighting, due to their casualties but later scaled Point 15450 to establish themselves there. The Gurkhas outflanked them the next day to regain Point 15450 and the Chinese quickly retreated across the LAC unable to bear the onslaught of the Gurkhas.

The Chola Incident Historical records

So then, let's not compare the Indian Army and its tactics as existed in 1962.

Cheers!

Oh, Chinese stuff - cheap imitations! They are experts at copying! But unfortunately, their stuff lasts for a shorter time than bananas! My friend got an iPhone 3 from China last year that lasted one month flat before dying an inglorious death!! Jeeez! :sick:

You do realize that all the iphones are made in China. What your friend got must have been an iphone knock off.

You get what you pay for.

Now somehow the people here have a misconception about the 1962 war......
I agree Indian troops were beaten hands down.... due ill policies of the then worthless regime who thought it could win over Tibet by the use of some BS diplomacy and Hindi-Chini bhai bahi..... pathetic propaganda..... we still don't have a clear picture of what happened in 62 again thanks to the destiny which wants t6he facts to be remained buried.... as it has buried some of the other facts lost in the depth of the history.....

The Chinese troops held Akasai Chin way before 1962 and this foul government mislead the troops and the Citizen of India.....on this and kept making childish comments about reducing the size of the army..... they were pissing in their pants, didn't allow Air force to make strikes and begged Americans to save theirs sorry @ss from getting bombed by some Chinese bomber.... what can you expect the moral of the troops who were on a major campaign out numbered having leaders such as Nehru..... It was the lack of resources on Chinese side aswell as the bravery shown by Indian troops that the Chinese left Arunachal even after capturing quite a large chunk of area.

Referring to the Chinese military, a colonel's words: India, this country, you despise it. His army is a soulless army. A reunification of the country are even other countries to help complete, and what is war. Therefore, to despise his tactics, strategy to contain him.