My temples, too - Pertinent questions about heritage

Sugarcane

Reproducing an old article written by Raja Arsalan Khan
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
On a Sunday evening punctuated by sounds of motorcycle rickshaws, I arrived at what appeared froma distance to be yet another nondescript governmentoffice. However, when I looked closer, I noticed a blackenedsikhara (tower) rising above the raised walls of the rooftop.This is Krishna Temple, one of the many properties currentlybeing overseen by the Evacuee Trust Property Board(ETPB), which seems to have failed to notice that several of its charges are slowly being encroached upon and destroyedin the name of progress.Surrounded by police - a common enough sight at any areathat attracts congregations or gatherings - the KrishnaTemple's blackened walls depict a shrine that has obviouslyfallen on hard times. The first question that one asks whenlooking at it is, why is this once glorious place of worship insuch a state of disrepair? Sadly, the answer can be tracedback to the reaction against the Babri Mosque demolition in Ayodhya on December 6, 1992 - an incident that also led tothe devastation of Jain Mandir. The interior of the building,however, is still vibrant and alive, with paintings of variousHindu gods and goddesses greeting you as soon as youenter.

The temple is divided into various chambers; each onehousing statues of different gods. The first garbha griha(womb chamber) houses idols of Shankar Nath and Parvati,while another one on the first floor is dedicated to LordKrishna and Radha. Sadly, due to the Babri retaliation, thetraditional architecture of the Indian subcontinent has beenreplaced by modern, lifeless buildings.

There are currently only two hundred Hindu families living inLahore, but on the day I visited - the birthday of Baba GuruBalmik Swami - there were eighty people celebrating theoccasion by singing bhajans (religious songs) andparticipating in various rituals. Following the event, localHindu activist Manuhar Chand told me that the former federalminister Dr Khalid Ranjha, during a visit to the temple, hadsaid every place of worship should reflect its origins, yet theETPB had yet to take any action on his words. He said RajaTridev Roy, another former federal minister, had worked tohave the site opened for worship and festivals in 1972.

During our conversation, Manuhar criticised India for theBabri Mosque demolition, saying it had erected a wall of hatebetween India and Pakistan. However, the incident, whileregrettable, was just another example of society'sdevaluation of ancient traditions. Long before the 1992tragedy, property abandoned by Hindu migrants, includingtemples, was demolished to make room for residential andcommercial buildings. The reasons behind this are twofold: First, we are unwilling to accept such sites as part of our cultural heritage. State and society are both at fault in this, aswhile the state refuses to acknowledge the region's culture,heritage and identity, people refuse to resist any move todestroy their history. There are people who might questionmy connecting society with state, but until we define thedifferences, the degradation of our heritage is forever linked in this way. The government hasappointed the ETPB to oversee the protection and rehabilitation of these sites, but it seemsto prefer making money off the country's heritage sites by leasing them out at high rates,instead of preserving them for future generations.

First, we are unwilling to accept such sites as part of our cultural heritage. State and society are both at fault in this, aswhile the state refuses to acknowledge the region's culture,heritage and identity, people refuse to resist any move todestroy their history. There are people who might questionmy connecting society with state, but until we define thedifferences, the degradation of our heritage is forever linked in this way. The government hasappointed the ETPB to oversee the protection and rehabilitation of these sites, but it seemsto prefer making money off the country's heritage sites by leasing them out at high rates,instead of preserving them for future generations.

Second, while there are several cases of temples being desecrated and destroyed in thename of religious hatred or extremism, there are just as many that have no such linkages.While it can be a slow process, influential people do not hesitate to use their connections tograb any potentially commercial property. One such example is the Hanuman Temple near Shama Bus Stop on Ferozepur Road.

While once a sacred site of worship, the temple was demolished years ago, and only existsin the memories of those who are willing to risk the wrath of the current property owners. Another such example was the Sheetla Devi Temple, which has gone from being one of thelargest temples in Lahore to being nonexistent. This is an especially tragic case, as severalnotable personalities, including famous musicians Kamal and Qawwal Aziz Mian, lived in itscompound for some time after migrating to Pakistan during Partition.

The same story was repeated with the Ratan Chand Temple on McLeod Road, the MataTemple near Lorry Adda and the Moll Chand Temple at Landa Bazaar near the City RailwayStation. The latter used be a huge compound with over five hundred rooms. However, all thatremains of it now is a ramshackle arrangement of shops. I was personally most appalled bythe situation at the Ratan Chand Temple, because it was the site whose destruction I have looked at first hand.

During a visit to observe the remaining temple site, I encountered some locals who wereattempting to find a way to stop the ongoing "heritage carnage". They were collectingmaterial about the history of Lahore for research, and had a lot of photos showing what thecity used to look like before Partition. One such photo from 1870 was of the Ratan ChandTemple. The picture showed a site vastly different from the one I was familiar with. Itdepicted an expansive, magnificent structure surrounded by gardens that opened onto a vastpond - most likely used by worshippers for cleansing themselves before they entered thetemple, as there were no water supply schemes at the time. This trend was also reflected inthe mosques built throughout the Indian subcontinent, with the pool at Badshahi Mosquebeing a typical example of local Indian architecture in former times.

Encouraged by the picture, I decided to revisit the Ratan Chand Temple and travelled toRang Mahal in the Walled City. It was here that I learnt the true extent of the commercialismthat now pervades former Hindu worship sites throughout Lahore. The entire area wasringed with narrow streets that were made all the more claustrophobic by the smallbusinesses that have been tacked on, one after the other, along the street. Talking to locals, Ilearnt that the commercialism of this particular area started in 1985, when Nawaz Sharif became chief minister of the Punjab.

According to them, Nawaz Sharif, as the ambassador of the business class, supported thetraders over everything else. It must also be remembered that the 1980s were a time whenkillings and arson had become so commonplace in Karachi that thousands of businessmenwere forced to move to the Punjab, especially to Lahore. The vast majority of this businessfocused on garments and jewellery, and the businessmen set up shop anywhere they couldfind room. One former local whose family had lived in the Walled City during the 1980s toldme how astronomical the prices in the area could get due to their central location. "Look!This semi-old structure on a 1.5 kanal property, surrounded by narrow streets, has fetchedRs 420 million in a recent sale," he said. Shocked at the high property value, I asked himwhat the price of the same land would have been in 1985. "Maybe Rs 1.5 or Rs 2 million, butcertainly no more than Rs 2.5 million," he replied. "You don't need to wonder about the pricesin the suffocating streets of this locality. People are aware that you need to spend money tomake money, and the rates can easily become astronomical," he added.

I met another person whose house - property abandoned by a Hindu family - wasdemolished in 1983. He said the debris alone sold for Rs 0.3 million at the time. One canonly imagine the magnificence of the structure itself. "When I was a little child, I went to afriend's house and was amazed by its splendour. It was full of marble of many colours. Iremember asking him how he could live in such beauty," he added during our conversation.

Moving on, I encountered a Bangles Market established in the area soon after Partition.However, pre-partition, this entire area used to be the Bengali Temple. Now, all that remainsare a few residential and commercial buildings that are centred on a mosque. Similarly,moving deeper into the streets of the Sarafa and Kinari Bazaars, one encounters over sixtyshops, most of them brand new constructions. The temple compound here used to be soimmense that it took land encroachers several decades to completely demolish it. In fact, themost recent construction took place in 2005.

Not surprisingly, local businessmen are reluctant to talk about the area's history. "I am atrader and am trying to earn an honest living for my family. I don't have time to think about what this land used to be," said one shop owner. "There is another temple not far away fromhere," the former local accompanying me said as we continued deeper into the area. "It iscalled Vichho Temple. The land mafia is already targeting it, with intense competition amongthe parties vying for its occupation."

According to some estimates, there used to be around twenty Hindu temples in the WalledCity prior to Partition. However, there are very few left now, and the ones that are present arein a very dilapidated condition. The heritage of the city, in fact the country, is beingabandoned in the name of commercialism, as we shape everything in a manner that willgenerate maximum profit.

The encroachment, however, is by no means restricted to temples alone. In fact, the RangMahal temple itself has fallen victim to the scourge of commercialism. It doesn't end thereeither; another hundred and fifty yards onwards, the road splits into a fork due to a smallmarket. This market used to be one of the smaller Hindu temples of the city, but wasconverted into a market complex a long time ago in the name of progress.

Finally, we must look upon another victim of the encroachments that have overtaken somany heritage sites: the Baoli Sahib (Sikh Baoli). Traditionally, a Baoli was a communitycentre built around deep, sunken wells that provided water to the surrounding areas in thedrier parts of the subcontinent, especially Rajasthan and Gujarat. Some historians believethe idea dates back to the twelfth or thirteenth century, but several older Baolis have alsobeen discovered. Due to their central water source, villages and temples would be builtaround Baolis, making them an essential part of the Hindu and Sikh tradition in thesubcontinent.

This particular Baoli is said to have contained several underground rooms that wereconstructed over the well to provide cool rooms for use during the hot summer. However,due to the encroachments on the site, no pathway remains to confirm these claims. The onlyoption would be to, quite literally, "dig for the truth", but that itself comes along with severalproblems, as the current owners do not want their way of life to be disturbed.

Currently, this once proud centre of a Sikh community is home to a series of poorlyconstructed small shops. Unless one is aware of its background, the only way to perceivethe site's true history is to observe the small red bricks used in the construction of one of theboundary walls. Perhaps this was the boundary wall of the Baoli itself, which has now beenincorporated into the new community that has usurped the old land for itself.

What is particularly troubling, more so than the people's unwillingness to recognise their heritage, is that the ETPB, the one organisation that is supposed to oversee the preservationof such sites, seems to have given up on the matter entirely. Its inaction and lack of interestcan be gauged by the treatment I was accorded when I visited its office in Lahore to obtainsome information for this article. Every single employee seemed to be desperately anxiousto hide their affairs from me - despite a senior official directing them to help me with myqueries. However, no one was willing to so much as point me in the right direction. "We areserving the country, and Pakistan always comes first," was the only answer I got when Iasked why it was so hard for them to help me obtain information on a single temple in Lahore.

My temples, too by Raja Arsalan Khan

How do Hindu Temples become 'our heritage' ? I can understand the logic being applied to Ranjit Singh's Samadi or Lakshmi Chowk but how does a Temple, a Synagogue or a Cathedral becomes 'our heritage' ?

Should they be preserved & protected ? Indeed they should be if (a) there are adherents of that faith somewhere in the vicinity or (b) if they have veritable Historical Importance, but if not then I see no reason why it couldn't be demolished for something else & hopefully something more useful !

I would employ the same rationale in case of a 'mosque' - Demolishing the Badshahi Masjid is most unacceptable to me as is demolishing the Cathedral here in Lahore but whats wrong with demolishing these makeshift mosques & other places of worship that have cropped all over if they can be put to some other & hopefully better use !

And while we're at it - Can anyone please define this ever so elusive 'heritage' for me ? What is that ?

How do Hindu Temples become 'our heritage' ? I can understand the logic being applied to Ranjit Singh's Samadi or Lakshmi Chowk but how does a Temple, a Synagogue or a Cathedral becomes 'our heritage' ?

Should they be preserved & protected ? Indeed they should be if (a) there are adherents of that faith somewhere in the vicinity or (b) if they have veritable Historical Importance, but if not then I see no reason why it couldn't be demolished for something else & hopefully something more useful !

I would employ the same rationale in case of a 'mosque' - Demolishing the Badshahi Masjid is most unacceptable to me as is demolishing the Cathedral here in Lahore but whats wrong with demolishing these makeshift mosques & other places of worship that have cropped all over if they can be put to some other & hopefully better use !

And while we're at it - Can anyone please define this ever so elusive 'heritage' for me ? What is that ?

Butt sb. ainay okhay okhay sawal na pocho - Don't forget that we have Hindu community they are as much Pakistanis as you & me are

Cultural heritage ("national heritage"[citation needed] or just "heritage") is the legacy of physical artifacts (cultural property) and intangible attributes of a group or society that are inherited from past generations, maintained in the present and bestowed for the benefit of future generations. Cultural heritage includes tangible culture (such as buildings, monuments, landscapes, books, works of art, and artifacts), intangible culture (such as folklore, traditions, language, and knowledge), and natural heritage (including culturally significant landscapes, and biodiversity).

The deliberate act of keeping cultural heritage from the present for the future is known as Preservation (American English) or Conservation (British English), though these terms may have more specific or technical meaning in the same contexts in the other dialect.

Cultural heritage is unique and irreplaceable, which places the responsibility of preservation on the current generation. Smaller objects such as artworks and other cultural masterpieces are collected in museums and art galleries. Grass roots organizations and political groups, such as the international body UNESCO, have been successful at gaining the necessary support to preserve the heritage of many nations for the future.

Butt sb. ainay okhay okhay sawal na pocho - Don't forget that we have Hindu community they are as much Pakistanis as you & me are

Cultural heritage ("national heritage"[citation needed] or just "heritage") is the legacy of physical artifacts (cultural property) and intangible attributes of a group or society that are inherited from past generations, maintained in the present and bestowed for the benefit of future generations. Cultural heritage includes tangible culture (such as buildings, monuments, landscapes, books, works of art, and artifacts), intangible culture (such as folklore, traditions, language, and knowledge), and natural heritage (including culturally significant landscapes, and biodiversity).

The deliberate act of keeping cultural heritage from the present for the future is known as Preservation (American English) or Conservation (British English), though these terms may have more specific or technical meaning in the same contexts in the other dialect.

Cultural heritage is unique and irreplaceable, which places the responsibility of preservation on the current generation. Smaller objects such as artworks and other cultural masterpieces are collected in museums and art galleries. Grass roots organizations and political groups, such as the international body UNESCO, have been successful at gaining the necessary support to preserve the heritage of many nations for the future.

Tou sir where did I say that Hindus aren't as much Pakistanis as the rest of us - If there is a temple or a whole list of temples that they think have a special place for them in their Religion those Temples should not only be preserved but protected & given a proper grant by the Government ! But as far as I can tell there are hardly any Hindus in Lahore & so what harm is there in demolishing any Temple that holds neither a special place in Hinduism nor is servicing any Hindu Community ?

Besides the Legacy inherited from Past Generations is a very....very normative thing - The mosque near my place was built perhaps 20-30 years ago & yet I would have no problem if in a hundred years time the people who live here decide to do away with the mosque !

Badshahi Mosque isn't venerated because its a Mosque its venerated because its a Badshah's Mosque & an Architectural Masterpiece in its own right !

Similarly if there is a temple or any other place of worship with veritable historical importance - Keep it ! If not - Why bother ?

@LoveIcon i respect u bro but in this case @Armstrong is right. Further more if they demolish Babri Masjids in their country and attack this very city with Air, Arty bombardments in all the wars we have fought then its natural that people will develop a negative reaction to them and their followers.

Lets not forget Lahore has always been a prime target for the Indians.

Further more even if we rebuild them like we did with 10 temples like Katas Raj What is the guarantee that they will be used as a place of worship or even we will attract tourism from the hindu dominated countries? We had spend 10 millions on them in 2010 in hope of getting tourism but all of it has been failed and now they r white elephant on our already striving economy.

Lets be realistic the Indians hate us and their hate will not change even if we give our entire country to them it is also deeply rooted in them as well. So really i dont think anyone will visit them from their country anyways. As the Hindus we have r more or less then 1% in our total population

Tou sir where did I say that Hindus aren't as much Pakistanis as the rest of us - If there is a temple or a whole list of temples that they think have a special place for them in their Religion those Temples should not only be preserved but protected & given a proper grant by the Government ! But as far as I can tell there are hardly any Hindus in Lahore & so what harm is there in demolishing any Temple that holds neither a special place in Hinduism nor is servicing any Hindu Community ?

Besides the Legacy inherited from Past Generations is a very....very normative thing - The mosque near my place was built perhaps 20-30 years ago & yet I would have no problem if in a hundred years time the people who live here decide to do away with the mosque !

Badshahi Mosque isn't venerated because its a Mosque its venerated because its a Badshah's Mosque & an Architectural Masterpiece in its own right !

Similarly if there is a temple or any other place of worship with veritable historical importance - Keep it ! If not - Why bother ?

Butt Sb. kis dunia mai rahtay ho, people here don't let to demolish fake mazaars even if they are hurdle in day to day life and you are saying that they will allow to demolish mosque. But anyway - as per your logic even wall city can be demolished, sites of taxila can also be demolished as we don't have any budhist, we have few sikhs so their gurdwaras can also be demolished. IMHO - Every historical structure religious or non-religious should be preserved - It tells history of society & nations.

@LoveIcon i respect u bro but in this case @Armstrong is right. Further more if they demolish Babri Masjids in their country and attack this very city with Air, Arty bombardments in all the wars we have fought then its natural that people will develop a negative reaction to them and their followers.

Lets not forget Lahore has always been a prime target of the Indians.

Further more even if we rebuild them like we did with 10 temples like Katas Raj What is the guarantee that they will be used as a place of worship or even we will attract tourism from the hindu dominated countries? We had spend 10 millions on them in 2010 in hope of getting tourism but all of it has been failed and now they r white elephant on our already striving economy.

Lets be realistic the Indians hate us and their hate will not change even if we give our entire country to them it is also deeply rooted in them as well. So really i dont think anyone will visit them from their country anyways. As the Hindus we have r more or less then 1% in our total population

Dude - I don't know why we have to take revenge from India by destroying our own historical structures - and i am not saying to build new temples but to preserve historic ones.

What happens in India should not effect the way we treat the heritage we have. @Armstrong, brother, nearly 9% of Sindh is Hindu, we cannot go all demographic about this, in any case. Any such historical structure must be preserved and respected, why? Simply because that's the right thing to do. Let's leave the Indians out of this, shall we? I'm with @LoveIcon about this.

Dude - I don't know why we have to take revenge from India by destroying our own historical structures - and i am not saying to build new temples but to preserve historic ones.

Bro lets be realistic Tit for Tat does exist everywhere. If the Indians themselves r not serious with us then what we can do? as our own Nation also expects us to do the same. Nothing works on Idealism u need to take certain hard steps to maintain your self respect, sovereignty and Moral of the Nation.

Also let me put it in this way Was Babri Masjid not part of Indian heritage? A Mosque which was build by Zaheer ud Din Babar and named after him has to no heritable value?

I dont see Indians ever whinning abt our Mosques being destroyed there on daily basis but seems we have taken a thayka to preserve every Religion in our country? Let me quote my post again .....

even if we rebuild them like we did with 10 temples like Katas Raj What is the guarantee that they will be used as a place of worship or even we will attract tourism from the hindu dominated countries? We had spend 10 millions on them in 2010 in hope of getting tourism but all of it has been failed and now they r white elephant on our already striving economy.

Now what do u say about this? There is no such thing as a free lunch u see many indians saying that in PDF.

we certainly dont want more while elephants on our hard hit economy do we?

Granting heritage status to a building/area is not a exact science, there are some parameters using which people judge whether it should be granted heritage status or not.
English heritage org publishes detailed guildelines for heritage here, you can get from website I guess.

In general though, a heritage site is one that if created new will not have the same value. There is no cut off date, it does not have to be man made, some heritage sites could be natural rock formation, or parks with old ecosystem.

@LoveIcon @Armstrong
Good debate that with valid points from both of you. Iran is probably the best example that Pakistan can hope to emulate. They too had an indigenous culture & religion before the advent of Islam. Yet today, they pride themselves on their ancestry and have always protected their historic legacy. The teachings of Islam have not prompted them to destroy their Zoroashtrian fire temples and sites like Persepolis and the symbol of the winged God AhuraMazda are still seen as definitive pieces of Iranian identity.
On the other end of the spectrum lies Afghanistan, which has destroyed the Bamiyan Buddhas, allowed the defiling of it's own National Museum and just about every statue inside it's boundaries.
Pakistan seems to be somewhere in between in this regard. The excavation of the IVC settlements and the efforts put into their preservation is actually heartening to see within Pakistan. Hope this is extended to every historic monument in Pakistan.

Bro lets be realistic Tit for Tat does exist everywhere. If the Indians themselves r not serious with us then we can do much as our own Nation also expects us to do the same. Nothing works on Idealism u need to take certain hard steps to maintain yrself respect, sovereignty and Moral of the Nation.

Also let me put it in this way Was Babri Masjid not part of Indian heritage? A Mosque which was build by Zaheer ud Din Babar and named after him has to no heritable value?

I dont see Indians ever whinning abt our Mosques being destroyed there on daily basis but seems we have taken a theeka to preserve every Religion in our country? Let me quote my post again .....

Dude - Whatever is in Pakistan is ours not India's --- I don't know what morality & sovereignty or self-respect we have achieved by retaliatory demolishing of our own property except being looked as idiots. If you calculate the losses of destroyed public property in now and than protests you will be surprised that this uncivilized behavior have done great loss to Pakistan. Tit for Tat has no place in Islam if you are talking from religious POV.

even if we rebuild them like we did with 10 temples like Katas Raj What is the guarantee that they will be used as a place of worship or even we will attract tourism from the hindu dominated countries?

We had spend 10 millions on them in 2010 in hope of getting tourism but all of it has been failed and now they r white elephant on our already striving economy.

Point here is preserving whatever is left for preserving history not monetary gains or gaining sympathy from India or any other nation, who cares what India think.

Dude - Whatever is in Pakistan is ours not India's --- I don't know what morality & sovereignty or self-respect we have achieved by retaliatory demolishing of our own property except being looked as idiots. If you calculate the losses of destroyed public property in now and than protests you will be surprised that this uncivilized behavior have done great loss to Pakistan. Tit for Tat has no place in Islam if you are talking from religious POV.

Point here is preserving whatever is left for preserving history not monetary gains or gaining sympathy from India or any other nation, who cares what India think.
Well bro if u put it like that then i have no words to disagree with u. But again bro who is gonna visit them anyways because certainly i wont.

One more thing bro nothing works on idealism. Hamain Idealism ka shikar nahi hona chahea.

There will be certain reactions and u and i r very small in 200 million pakistanis...Opinion of majority is supposed to be followed in a democratic system. So if there is a demolition in India then certainly there is a reaction bound to happen as well we r afterall connected culturally.

@LoveIcon @Armstrong
Good debate that with valid points from both of you. Iran is probably the best example that Pakistan can hope to emulate. They too had an indigenous culture & religion before the advent of Islam. Yet today, they pride themselves on their ancestry and have always protected their historic legacy. The teachings of Islam have not prompted them to destroy their Zoroashtrian fire temples and sites like Persepolis and the symbol of the winged God AhuraMazda are still seen as definitive pieces of Iranian identity.
On the other end of the spectrum lies Afghanistan, which has destroyed the Bamiyan Buddhas, allowed the defiling of it's own National Museum and just about every statue inside it's boundaries.
Pakistan seems to be somewhere in between in this regard. The excavation of the IVC settlements and the efforts put into their preservation is actually heartening to see within Pakistan. Hope this is extended to every historic monument in Pakistan.

Islam don't permit to demolish places of other religion, It's philosophy of nut jobs of this region. Even in KSA many historical sites are there. IVC is persevered because whites are involved in excavation project, Taxila is preserved because it has status of UNICEF World Heritage otherwise we don't have any special love for these sites. People will be more than happy to build housing societies & markets there if allowed.

What happens in India should not effect the way we treat the heritage we have. @Armstrong, brother, nearly 9% of Sindh is Hindu, we cannot go all demographic about this, in any case. Any such historical structure must be preserved and respected, why? Simply because that's the right thing to do. Let's leave the Indians out of this, shall we? I'm with @LoveIcon about this.

I can't recall where I mentioned Indians in such a context in either of my posts ! :unsure:

I dunno if 9% of Pakistanis in Sindh are Hindus or not I've heard different but say they are 15% - So what ? I'm not nor will I ever advocate socially ostracizing them or tearing down their places of worship or anything of the sort I'm simply asking how does the Mosque or the Temple around the corner becomes a part of 'my heritage' ? Its a place of worship nothing less nothing more - the Badshahi Mosque is a part of 'my heritage' not because its a mosque but because its the King's Mosque & is as unique as it gets ! Similarly the Gurdwara near Lahore Fort is not 'my heritage' because its a Gurdwara it is 'my heritage' because its right next to where Ranjit Singh's Samadi is located & some say even an extension of it !

And the 'right' thing to do is a very....very subjective 'thing' to do !