Mumbai terror - a reason to attack Pakistan?

Ali.009

The Voltaires of India are quiet, too scared to question the carnage. The mighty Indian media controlled by corporatism has become more obsequious than Pravda or Izvestia. Icons of the press freedom like Tehilka cannot survive amid the tough commercial environment. Bigotry sells. Pakistanphobia sells even more. The words of Arundhuti Roy are either marginalized or ignored because she is labeled as a communist.

Other than the Murdock media, the world media is skeptical about the Indian media’s innuendo and sensational finger pointing at Pakistan. The Indian officials are now backing off from their knew jerk reaction on blaming Pakistan for any and all evil in India.

Why is the Indian media so immature? Why does sensationalism override journalistic sanity? Why is breaking news the diety on which truth and altruism is sacrificed on a daily basis?

In 1971 India RAW orchestrated a fake hijacking of an Indian plane called “Ganga”. The plane was ostensibly “hijacked” by Kashmiri militants. India used the “hijacking” as an excuse to stop Pakistani overflights over India. The hijackers disguised as Kashmiri militants, however were Indian intelligence agents. Several years ago, an attack on the Indian parliament was used to place 300,000 Indian soldiers on the Pakistani border in a threatening manner. Eventually the Indian withdrew. The reason for the withdrawal was not Pakistani Generals but General Electric and General Motors which threatened to move out of India if the “state of war” continued.

“Indians will have a strong incentive to link this to Al Qaeda. ‘Al Qaeda’s in your toilet!’ But this is a domestic issue. This is not India’s 9/11.” Christine Fair, senior political scientist and a South Asia expert at the RAND Corporation. Terrorists’ identity remains a mystery By Mark McDonald and Alan Cowell, Published: November 27, 2008.

The BJP orchestrated an attack on the Babri Masjid and demolished it. As a result it unleashed communal violence against Muslims. The BJP used the attack to win the elections. Many Pakistanis are wondering, if this attack on Mumbai is also part of a some sort of plan.

Fareed Zakaria in a seminal speech on Indian democracy says that Indian “democracy” is shackled by vested interests and powerful lobbies that place the profits of the few over the profits of the pullulating millions steeped in penury and kept down by caste or religion. Under the facade of a secularism, India remains a conglomeration of opposing conflicts ready to explode like Yugoslavia or implode like hte USSR. The BJP orchestrated an attack on the Babri Masjid and demolished it. As a result it unleashed communal violence against Muslims. The BJP used the attack to win the elections. Many Pakistanis are wondering, if this attack on Mumbai is also part of a some sort of plan.

“India’s secular political creed has never been able to stem violence between Hindus and Muslims; yesterday’s attacks are likely to be the prelude to an even greater shedding of blood. The prime minister’s call to preserve peace and unity was no doubt well intentioned. The problem is that there’s no unity to preserve and there’s never really been any in his country. It’s rather more likely that short-fused Hindus will be motivated by revenge.”

“A vengeful response by radical Hindus would only fertilize the ground from which the jihadists feed, and it would accelerate the chain reaction that the Mumbai terrorists desired. The country would descend into a spiral of violence and vigilantism. Politicians are now called upon to prevent this scenario. But, they are preparing for an election campaign, where the attractions of power are more powerful than the appeals of reason.” Germany. Süddeutsche Zeitung

The world awaits the other shoe to fall in Mumbai, Delhi, Gujarat and other places. Election politics and lust for power by Indian politicians will ensure that Indian traditions are upheld at the highest levels of the gutter. If Modi and Advani can take advantage of the current crisis, it will push the country towards oblivion.. If Gujarat type of massacres are in the works, India is headed towards a civil war that the world has never seen.

Psephocracy is a form of government decided by “elections”. Orientalists will tell us all that the Greeks supposedly invented the ballot box when they voted with the psephos or ‘pebble’ in ceramic urns. Psephologyis the study of elections and voting, and a psephologist is an electoral scientist or analyst. In a psephocracy, the media is focused on inconsequential events and issues while the pullulating millions are unable even to see the affluence of those who manipulate the electorate through fear mongering and other tested mechanisms

Illusionary Democracy depends on Psephocracy as a way to legitimize the dictatorship of dynastic plutocracy-as practiced in the Brahamin corridors of power in India.

What happens after elections in a Psephocracy? Nothing. Elections simply endorse the will of the plutocrats who perpetually remain in power.

The poor of India, the Dalits, the scheduled classes, the Christians, the Naxalites and the Muslims left behind the onward march towards…march towards what? No one know. Ask the irredentist Akhand Bhartis who hated the vivisection of Mother India. Wars with all her neighbors. All this for the reabsorption of all states surrounding it into a huge monolith which may have existed for 80 years under the reign of Ashoka. Many question whether the mythical king ever existed. Ashoka’s kingdom is the Nirvana of India. Few Indians know that Ashoka is as fugacious as his mythical kingdom. Ashoka’s name first appeared in British journals when the White man was writing “Indian history”. But don’t tell the pundits (the real ones, not the talking heads on Fox and CNN)–thier entire life depends on churning out the youth who believe in Akhand Bharat. A brianwashed nation unable to comprehend simple facts like–if one cannot control the current states, how can it control hundreds of millions that are forced into “India”–especially if the million are belligerent and don’t wnat to be part of the mess called “India”. However these are details that are not mentioned in a nation that resembles Weimar Germany–fed on a steady dose of hatred, xenophobia and hostility towards real and perceived enemies.

Terrorist are holding hostages in the upscale Taj and Oberoi hotel. About 100 hostages are held in the Norman House. There are conflicting reports on the number of hostages that seem to be well planned. Pakistan and India have strived to improve their relations by re-starting the cross-border trains. In the early hours of February 19, 2007 sixty-eight people, mostly Pakistani civilians were burned alive in the train after IEDs exploded on the train. Malegaon bomb blast accused Lt. Col. Prasad Purohit was caught red handed for his involvement in blowing up the Samjhota Express. Purohit as an army officer was in charge of 60 kg RDX in the Deolali army camp near Nashik during his posting there in 2006 and that some of the explosive material was supplied to Bhagwan Das, an absconding accused in the Samjhauta Express blast. Several Hinduvata members in the Indian army were arrested in blowing up the train which plies between Pakistan and India.

Westerners were rounded up in at least two five-star hotels, including the exclusive Taj Palace, which were among seven targets stormed by men armed with AK-47 machine guns and grenades. Security forces continued to fight gunbattles with the terrorists last night, hours after the initial attacks in Bombay, also known as Mumbai.

Guests in the restaurant of the five-star Oberoi were challenged on their nationality as they were herded upstairs from the Oberoi restaurant. “They told everybody to stop and put their hands up and asked if there were any British or Americans,” said Alex Chamberlain, a British businessman. “My friend said to me, don’t be a hero, don’t say you are British. “I am sure that is what this is all about. They were talking about British and Americans specifically.” BBC

All of Mumbai is pretty much under Martial Law. It seems the city is in total control of the terrorists. There is total and absolute anarchy in capital of finance and currency. Many in the press have been saying for the past few weeks that the BJP will stage some spectacular attacks to spark ethnic rioting and then use the communal card to come to power. Narendar Modi has done this in Gujarat before. An attack on a train was staged and then in a prep-planned effort, 2000 innocent people, mostly women were raped, murdered and burned.

“Indians have long known that their land is vulnerable. But no year on record has seen so many bloody attacks. Jaipur, Delhi, Ahmedabad — since May, more than 350 people have died by the hands of terrorists. What India has long wanted to deny must now be confronted. The country has become a center for Islamic extremism. Even if the name of the group was unknown until now, the investigations won’t be able to escape the sad truth that India has its own terrorist scene.”

“It might be understandable that India wants to avoid losing its hard-won status as a rising economic power. But, in the long term, India is going to suffer greater damage if the word spreads that the country’s politicians shut their eyes to reality. That is going to be one of the major challenges coming out of the Mumbai tragedy.” — Cameron Abadi, 12:30 p.m. C.E.T. Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

While the current crisis caused much emotionalism in Pakistan, is this a Hinduvata orchestrated tactic to win the election? In a blind orgy of insane hatred the Indian population supported eight years of Bush–just because he bombed four Muslim countries, and threatened a couple of other three of them long time Indian allies. All notion of independence and non-alignment were thrown into the Indian ocean–all under the lure of the ephimeral transfer of technology (ToT) which will never happen. No corporation in the world will give up it “Coke formula” and commit hari kari.

Sajjad Karim, an MEP for the North West of England who was a member of an EU delegation visiting Bombay said he had seen a gunman opening fire in the lobby of Taj Mahal Palace Hotel.

Speaking via mobile phone, he said: “I was in the lobby of the hotel when gunmen came in and people started running … A gunman just stood there spraying bullets around, right next to me. I managed to turn away and I ran into the hotel kitchen and then we were shunted into a restaurant in the basement.” “We are now in the dark in this room and we’ve barricaded all the doors. It’s really bad.” Outside the Taj hotel, injured guests were being stretchered away on the hotel’s golden-coloured luggage carts. The weekly Standard

NEW DELHI - Coordinated terror attacks struck the heart of Mumbai, India’s commercial capital, Wednesday evening, targeting at least two five-star hotels, the city’s largest commuter train station, a historic movie theater and a hospital.

The state’s highest ranking police official, A.N. Roy, said the attackers, armed with machine guns and grenades, opened fire and disappeared. Local television reported deaths tolls as high as 80, none of them could be confirmed and the police were yet to give an official count of their own.

A spokesman for Mumbai’s St George’s Hospital told Agence France-Presse: “Fifty-eight bodies have been brought in. There are another 50 who are injured, some critical, who have been transferred to the nearby J.J. Hospital.”

Leopold’s restaurant, a Mumbai landmark popular with tourists, was also targeted in the attacks, The Associated Press reported, and the news agency quoted a top state official, Johnny Joseph, chief secretary for Maharashtra State, as saying that at least 78 people had been killed and 200 more injured.

There were initial unconfirmed reports of hostages having been taken at one of the hotels.

Around midnight, more than two hours into the serial attacks, television images from near the movie theater, the Metro Cinema, showed journalists and spectators ducking for cover as gunshots rang out in the city.

A fire raged inside the Oberoi Hotel, a luxury hotel that is popular with foreigners, according to the police. Television footage showed the charred shell of a car in front of the train station, Victoria Terminus, apparently from the impact of an explosion. A nearby gas station was blown up. New York Times. November 27, 2008, Death Toll Rising in India in Coordinated Attacks, By SOMINI SENGUPTA

Rupee News for the past several years has been discussing the Indian support for terrorists in Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal and Pakistan. India has been playing with fire. Goyem: India support for Frankensteins will create blowback. it appears that the analysis of Rupee News was correct.

The knee jerk reaction of the Indian media is to blame the neighbors. “Deccan Mujahideen” has never been heard of before and seems to be a made up name to malign Muslims–a favorite tactic of the Hinduvata extremsis.

At 1 a.m., local time, two guests trapped inside the Taj Hotel, which is next to the iconic Gateway of India, said by telephone they heard a fresh explosion and gunfire in the old wing of the hotel.

The Maharashtra state chief minister, Vilasrao Deshmukh, told the private CNN-IBN station that the military had been called in to assist local police. He said there had been five to seven targets in the attacks, concentrated in the southern tip of the city, known as Colaba and Nariman Point.

The Indian home minister, Shivraj Patil, said that two suspected attackers had been killed in shootouts with the police.

One witness, at 31-year-old who was inside the Taj attending a friend’s wedding reception. He was getting a drink around 9:45 p.m., he said, when he heard what first sounded like firecrackers - “loud bursts” interspersed with what sounded like machine gun fire.

A window of the banquet hall shattered, guests scattered under tables, and they were quickly escorted to another room in the hotel, he said. No one was allowed to leave. Just before 1 a.m., another loud explosion rang out and then, about a half hour later, another, said the man inside the Taj.

His friend, the groom, Anil Thadani, was two floors above him, in the old wing of the hotel, trapped in a room with his wife. One of the explosions, Mr. Thadani said by telephone, took the door off its hinges. He blocked it with a table. Then came another, and gunfire throughout the evening.

The State Department immediately condemned the attacks but said there were no immediate reports of American casualties. “Our sympathies go out to the families and friends of those killed and injured, and to the people of Mumbai,” said Robert A. Wood, a spokesman, in a statement. New York Times. November 27, 2008, Death Toll Rising in India in Coordinated Attacks, By SOMINI SENGUPTA

this is rediculus excuse that we always always use "brothers and sisters are getting murdered and raped". muslims means lot other thnigs as well dont just stay behind sceni front. we are staying in hypotheasis always. we are just jealous a bigest looser. we had chances to be democratic country but we lost it keep islam in our heart and dont let it take over our brain.

Greatpaki,

Kindly request you to change your name into something more approperiate.
Please PM me.

Thanks!

Greatpaki!
Clear this in your mind that India can never defeat Pakistan. We were not spared in Kargil in fact they underestimated us in 2002 when they brought their forces on our borders, why didn’t they attack Pakistan then???

We must care about Muslims of India and they are not only Muslims but we have our relatives living there. Don’t you care about your relatives????

The appropriate sentence would be that Pakistan is suffering from problems but it doesn’t provide you an excuse not to care about Muslims.

You need to read rupeenews to believe in the theory of India attacking Pakistan.

this is rediculus excuse that we always always use "brothers and sisters are getting murdered and raped". muslims means lot other thnigs as well dont just stay behind sceni front. we are staying in hypotheasis always. we are just jealous a bigest looser. we had chances to be democratic country but we lost it keep islam in our heart and dont let it take over our brain.

I used to think that islam is a dead thing like other religions, there is nothing in religion except killing people. but things make you change. Actually we are in state of war with non-muzlims (Christs, jews, Hindus),who says that Crusades are over.A old age story?
well either you except it or not. but we are in state of war.

who is brave a person comes on combat aircraft and drop bombs on inconnect people and the this civilized world says it "Brave hero" or a terrorist fighting for its own freedom,
We are so called terrorist. Americans were also terrorist before the independence, Irish people are also terrorist for English people.
Tibetan people are also terrorist for china.

@hypotheasis
What if some one is killing your family or hitting your bro in front of you.. what will you do. keep this thing up to you heart?

29 Nov 2008

Such a question may seem premature, given that on Friday India had yet to conclude the battle for Mumbai that terrorists began two nights earlier.

Secondly, war usually aims at regime change, but Pakistan’s businessman president looks like he genuinely wants peace, offering a visa-free regime and a no-first-use nuclear weapons policy, the latter repudiated by his own army (never a good sign).

Thirdly, even if Pakistanis are involved, that does not automatically implicate the State, particularly if the terrorists are linked to “rogue-elements-within-the-state-within-the-state”, a dubious formulation for ISI cliques of the kind linked to the July bombing of India’s embassy in Kabul. Fourthly, if we go to war, what do we attack – things like a radical camp in Muridke and a mosque in Karachi? Lastly, if it turns out that most of the boys in the attack were from Gujarat, then there is little point in bombing the GHQ in Rawalpindi.

The fact, however, is that no matter who is involved, and no matter what their motivation, the blame-game – as the visibly nervous Pakistani foreign minister visiting India called it – is already on. Our alpha-male prime minister said three things on TV: 1. “The well-planned and well-orchestrated attacks, probably with external linkages, were intended to create a sense of panic, by choosing high profile targets and indiscriminately killing foreigners.” 2.“It is evident that the group which carried out these attacks, based outside the country, had come with single-minded determination to create havoc in the commercial capital of the country.” 3.We will take up strongly with our neighbours that the use of their territory for launching attacks on us will not be tolerated, and that there would be a cost if suitable measures are not taken by them.” For good measure, our PM has called Pakistan’s ISI chief to Delhi.

Our foreign minister has followed with some stubby finger-pointing of his own, saying that Pakistan was involved, maybe. The Gujarat chief minister, not bound by the discretions of diplomacy, has challenged the government to take Pakistan to the UN for letting terrorists use its sea waters. All leaders are undoubtedly aware of the fact that Indians, despite being jaded by decades of terrorism, have been deeply angered, saddened, frustrated, depressed and embittered by the terror attack. They are also aware that general elections are around the corner.

The government also knows that there has been massive intelligence failure, a fact which is obvious to even otherwise disinterested citizens. To blame Pakistan is to absolve oneself from any responsibility for this failure. But the blame is a double-edged sword, for it makes the government vulnerable to public pressure that will build in the coming days.

Talking heads and newspaper columnists will feed upon this anger and fuel it further, adding to the pressure. There will be a common thread: our politicians are self-serving, the state is soft, and there has got to be payback.

Even if the terrorists are Gujarati youngsters, there will be expert declarations of the trans-natlinkage: the Gujarati who e-chats with a Malayali who bought a houseboat from a Kashmiri whose cousins live in ***. Not an example: an extortionist shopkeeper who holidayed at a Kathmandu casino.ional “linkages” of terrorism, leading to cross-border culpability. An example of this

Some will even argue that India should take advantage of the transition from the Bush administration to the Obama administration to “teach Pakistan a lesson”. The world is well into a recession, and the US is waiting for Obama to take office on January 20, 2009. Thus, a window of opportunity exists, since once Obama is in the White House it is likely that his administration would “discourage” any Indian action. In any case, he would be too distracted by the urgent need to stabilize the US economy and thus the world economy, even as time rapidly slips away.

Such arguments would be ridiculous.

Even Operation Parakram in 2002 took several weeks to mobilize (meaning the window of opportunity is too narrow), and in the end, its results were debatable. It is equally absurd to think that simply because Obama spoke of pursuing al Qaeda in Pakistan, he might allow any Indian initiative, albeit with a nudge and a wink, or even shoot from India’s shoulders. More likely, in the aftermath of this week’s terror attack, Obama will now forgo any initiative to push Indo-Pak peace (as part of a strategy to focus Pakistani energies on al Qaeda), or appoint a special envoy for Kashmir.

Yet the pressure on the government will grow, and, let’s face it, whichever new government takes power after the next general elections will face the same pressure, particularly if there is another terrorist strike which, from all indications, looks unavoidable.

Maybe a good way to relieve the pressure would be to bomb some known training camps in Bangladesh. But that would probably influence their national elections in December. Perhaps we should bomb a few camps in Pakistan; it is said that the training camps in *** which were destroyed in the 2005 earthquake have been rebuilt. That, however, would probably mean the end of the goofy but amiable Asif Ali Zardari. Maybe we should just go and lob a few bombs in Iraq.

If war is ruled out, then we don’t have much choice besides the prosaic option of beefing up our internal security. As unsexy as it sounds, it serves a dual purpose of a fiscal stimulus during a global recession; as it is, the government is begging banks and companies to unfreeze liquidity, but all that it’s getting for its troubles are a couple of blue faces. Government expenditure on a security infrastructure and central government loans to the states to modernize their police forces requires deficit financing, but these are times when deficit financing is a good thing, so long as it gets the wheels of the economy into gear.

More boringly, the PM needs to come good soon on his promise for a federal investigating agency. Many existing agencies will oppose this, but they should be ignored, because India needs and exclusive, full-time antiterrorism agency. In order to avoid being another bureaucratic white elephant, it needs to be accountable on a day-to-day basis; accountable to the PM. Implicit in this accountability is a refocus of India’s intelligence community. As our executive editor pointed out yesterday, the intelligence agencies of late have lost the plot. Terrorism needs to be made their priority again. Terrorism needs to be at the top of the intelligence chief ’s daily morning briefing to the PM.

Such a charter will ensure that the new agency does not degenerate into another bureaucratic dumping ground. It may take time to settle down, but it can be as effective as the US department of homeland security has been the past seven years. This administrative refocus and re-prioritization is the sensible way for our country to fight terrorism, even if it isn’t as sexy or viscerally satisfying as preparing for war.

editorchief@epmltd.com

About The Author:

Aditya Sinha is the Editor-in-Chief of The New Indian Express and is based in Chennai

Clear this in your mind that India can never defeat Pakistan. We were not spared in Kargil in fact they underestimated us in 2002 when they bought their forces on our borders, why didn’t they attack Pakistan then???

That was totally lame.

You lost Kargil miserably, no two ways about it, howmuch ever you would like to salvage sunken pride.

2002>>> Who told you that victroy can be achieved only by going all guns blazing. Parakram was a brilliant stroke of Indian Public diplomacy in which the armed forces were only a part of the equation. Pray tell me what we could have achieved by attacking you, except for occupying few miles of barren land. Not even one shot was fired and we got what we wanted" Your beloved general running all over the world, promising to reign in on home grown elements". Ever wondered why Kashmir millitancy is on an all time back burner since 2002.. Think.

2002 also sent the message that India will not necessarly hesitate to scale up the conflict at all levels even in response to low level skirmishes.

IPF

These were the most saddening comments and great souls like Mohd (PUBH), Jesus, and Gandhi didn't promote love and humanity for us to live by this type of mindset. Promoting nationalism (Iraqi, Indian, Pakistani, Bangladeshi etc) over humanitarians was the 'Recipe for disaster' and part of 'Divide and rule’ scheme IMO. Look at the knowledge and perceptual bases of Michael Akhlakh, Nehru, Sheik Mujib and Zinnah. Weren’t all of them been groomed under English’s contained, controlled environments? And if you didn't know that boundaries among India & PAK, Iraq & Kuwait etc were all artificially created then look at if there existed any natural sign or symbol in that regard. Furthermore, try to figure out that people, who exported nationalism to us, actually stayed imperialistic. Wasn't it the most hypocritical double standard then? Think about why U.S is so strong? Isn't it because it possesses bigger, resourceful and connected land masses, so it can have a large economy to leverage its dominance mission? And finally doesn't U.S stand for United States? Got my drift at the end, brother?

Think about why U.S is so strong? Isn't it because it possesses bigger, resourceful and connected land masses, so it can have a large economy to leverage its dominance mission? And finally doesn't U.S stand for United States? Got my drift at the end, brother?

You need to learn economics to understand why U.S is so 'strong'.

That was totally lame.

You lost Kargil miserably, no two ways about it, howmuch ever you would like to salvage sunken pride.

2002>>> Who told you that victroy can be achieved only by going all guns blazing. Parakram was a brilliant stroke of Indian Public diplomacy in which the armed forces were only a part of the equation. Pray tell me what we could have achieved by attacking you, except for occupying few miles of barren land. Not even one shot was fired and we got what we wanted" Your beloved general running all over the world, promising to reign in on home grown elements". Ever wondered why Kashmir millitancy is on an all time back burner since 2002.. Think.

2002 also sent the message that India will not necessarly hesitate to scale up the conflict at all levels even in response to low level skirmishes.

IPF

did we use our AirForce our defence i dont think so kiddo everything you have is Russian and Isreali we have had make our own Nuclear-weapons without no help and check IDEAS 2008 Pakistan get a order to built 800 JF-17 for eight different countries your commandos take to long to kill 20terriort i wonder how is going to turn out with SSGs.:bunny::china:

actually..

" Rasm - e - duniya bhi hai, mauka bhi hai, dastoor bhi hai.
This is what someone in Lucknow said to me last eve , most Indians echo the sentiments.

That was totally lame.

IPF

Man your so lost. You just regained your own territory after getting @ss raped by some freedom fighters and claim victory over PAK?

Are you brain dead or something, or been watching the movie LOC to much?
Pak gov did not support that with rest of our military like they would have done in a normal outbreak of a war. US was asking us to stop the militant's and their support.

So you really think you would have regained kargil if it was backed by PAK ARMED FORCES? Do you think your the only nation to have forces?

Are you able to grasp the idea of what Pak Armed Forces could have done, if they were backed by the PAK GOV to help those freedom fighters?

You victory is over some Pak freedom fighting villagers. You have not tasted the might of PAK. Go and claim your victory to those that would love to listen to these bedtime stories.

And instead of talking, next time, bring it on..
Now go and tell that to M.Singh..

:pakistan: