More than 150 people have died in Bahawalpur

first of all according to hadiths collecting waste oil is no stealing. no body put a gun to the head of the driver of the tanker and hijacked it. better get your facts straight. and dont compare them with elite and middle class of the society. i shared a link about the act of great hazrat Umar R.A who temporarily withheld the punishment of thievery in a part of his under control territory during famine.
A companion asked the Prophet Muhammad SAW about finding a lost goat. what he should do if he finds someone's lost goat.The prophet told him to take the goat to his house and use it till he finds the owner of the goat because if doesn't take care of that goat it will be killed by predators. then someone asked him the same question about a camel. the Prophet told him to leave the camel on its own. it will graze and drink water at his own and will reach his owner's place as it has no danger to be killed by wolf. now these are mentioned in sahi bukhari . very important principle is given here about finding a lost object but ONLY FOR SENSIBLE PEOPLE.
as far as our politicians are concerned yes they are corrupt and must be punished according to the laws.
now we are living in a corrupt society where rich dont take care of the poor. where govt is not providing the basic essentials to a common man. where so called muslims dont like to pay zakat and if they do through banks zakat fund is misused by the corrupt elite. and when a poor man becomes greedy we say "shame shame".
one more thing hos u can compare lost goat with a thing which has known own. Which is still in ownership of some one. There greed let them kill their self as well as the tanker. Now wat about the loss of tanker. See the thing is wat ever angle u use u cant defend it in any way. They were not poor they came there with 80+ bikes n cars. At 6 am In morning. It means they were not road passers.

The nation can justify mass murder its that shameless. I guess this is the same justification when an accident happens, people take out the victims purses and mobiles. This is the level we are at. Everyone of them who were collecting petrol would be also stealing from an accident and people would shamelessly blame government, poverty, illiteracy and give justifications on technicalities rather than condemn the heinousness. Had ho gaye is qom ki. There is a reason that we are in such a pathetic state and have such pathetic leaders.

wat i believe, if something is not urs n u r taking it without permission it is still stealing. One more thing wat Islam says about puting ur life in danger? Its halal or haram?.
it doesnt matter what you believe if you are muslim. the things that matter are the instructions in quran and sunnah. i told you hadiths now its your choice. you can consult these books yourself. as far as putting life in danger is concerned again the circumstances must be taken into consideration. probably they were not expecting it. we see thousands of lower and middle class people risking their lives daily . hanging with the buses, sitting on the roofs of vehicles, driving motor bike without helmet. providing education is the duty of the govt.
just watching news of the basta*d achakzae who shamelessly killed a traffic warden in quetta . he will be released . this show the attitude of our leaders towards the people from lower class of the country.

what a country we are living in. i am a rich man. i will not give a penny to help the needy. i will treat them as slaves. i will use all means possible to fraud the poor. i will keep them illiterate . i will not even pay zakat.i will show off my wealth in front of them. and when some one from the poor shows frustration i will call him greedy, jahil, will give fatwas using religion against them. what a fuc*ing human society we are living in? or is it a human society at all? i say it a group of vultures.MAJORITY OF US DONT EVEN HAVE A HEART IN OUR CHESTS. i am done here. this is my last post in this thread.

it doesnt matter what you believe if you are muslim. the things that matter are the instructions in quran and sunnah. i told you hadiths now its your choice. you can consult these books yourself. as far as putting life in danger is concerned again the circumstances must be taken into consideration. probably they were not expecting it. we see thousands of lower and middle class people risking their lives daily . hanging with the buses, sitting on the roofs of vehicles, driving motor bike without helmet. providing education is the duty of the govt.
just watching news of the basta*d achakzae who shamelessly killed a traffic warden in quetta . he will be released . this show the attitude of our leaders towards the people from lower class of the country.

what a country we are living in. i am a rich man. i will not give a penny to help the needy. i will treat them as slaves. i will use all means possible to fraud the poor. i will keep them illiterate . i will show off my wealth in front of them. and when some one from the poor shows frustration i will call him greedy, jahil, will give fatwas using religion against them. what a fuc*ing human society we are living in? or is it a human society at all? i say it a group of vultures.MAJORITY OF US DONT EVEN HAVE A HEART IN OUR CHESTS. i am done here. this is my last post in this thread.
well best wishes to u for all excuses. Put all blame on rich people. Its delima in itself.

all the nations that were destroyed by the Allah had one thing in common . the rich did massive corruption. bye

well here its other way around. Every one is doing corruption on his level. From poor to rich only level is different. There is a reason poors are mostly victim of ALLAH's azaab.

worst comment that can be expected out of a person who can use a keyboard. now i am sure i have wasted my time.

wats wrong in it. Jese awam wese hukmraan. Simple and straight forward truth. Bec at the end mjhe smjh ni ati k ALLAH k sab azaab ham logon per e kio atay ha. There is something wrong some where. think about it.

beacuse He is still warning us so that we may come on track. the day He gives us "dheel" we will enjoy for few years and then ultimate disaster. we will cease to exist. read Quran and you will understand.

apkay teacher bach gaey kya? Woh zinda hain? Unhon nay bhi tel chori kiya tha?
Baqi your ist is very sad, everyone acted out of greed but then it is a third world country where even educated act like illiterates even in a first world country some people could see a leaking tanker as a gold rush opportunity,and here we are talking abt pakistan where even if people are better off they still dont miss a chance to loot, steal or act corrupt. One of our neighbours stole away bricks from our house's boundary wall and used them on his own wall. Now what to say of our qoum.

That is so crude and selfish. Tbh bohat say log jo zinda bach jain gay unki zindagi bohat mushkil gee. 40-50 pc burn survivors live very hard lives. But still that doesnt mean one should wish death etc.
Hamaray mulk may itnee khudgarzi keu hai samajh nahi ata.
Yes of course my teacher is very well, first thing I want to clear he was my teacher (2 year back) and now for tuition, he have a job in NTDC so he was on his way so he saw everything, 2nd thing he saw Mother way police give free hand to them, rather then ask them to leave, only oil tanker driver ask them to leave

@litman read this post when truck driver asked them to stay away then these people WERE SUPPOSED TO BACK OFF.

but the real question here is what made these people to become so selfish?
the real culprits are those who have taken them to such a lowest level of humanity. it is very easy to teach morality with stomach full but poverty as per hadith can take a person to "kuffar". how many of us ever tried to lower down our living standards a bit. save some money for the needy around us. the poor see the rich living in big homes, driving in big cars, having dinners in restaurants . have we ever thought what goes inside a mind of a poor person ? they have emotions too. they develop inferiority complex. do you know why wearing silk and gold was forbidden for men by the Prophet Muhammad SAW? because it was considered to be a status symbol. now that silk and gold has taken the form all means of show off. i.e big house, lavish life style, big cars etc. how many of us think that instead of buying a 3 million rupees car i should go for a 2 million rs car and spend 1 million to help a poor?
Some people are there acting like they are so kind heart and only they feel sorrow for mankind, I already mentioned that some people go there from city, and rich people on car for loot, and please don't count me as a molviiii fatvah, I'm a student and only 20 years old, so some of you will be senior from Me, I just said what I think,
I feel sad because they died because of less education, they saw cars on fire but they didn't leave, I am sad because they don't deserve that kind of death on that mistake, but only Allah knows well

Truck driver also died today

Another gasoline burning incident in the same area five years ago:

https://www.nation.com.pk/national/05-Jul-2012/man-lynched-in-ahmedpur-east/amp

Burning alive is absolutely prohibited in Islam as decreed by Prophet Mohammad (PBUH). We can guess the general mental aptitude of people of the area by both incidents.

Getting burned is indeed one of the most horrible ways to die. This incident has however nothing to do with religion or poverty, hence no reason to justify quoting Hadith and bringing Islam into it.

This accident could have been avoided if the vehicle was in good condition and the driver was not speeding.

An oil spill on a highway should trigger an immediate response from the local authorities who should cordon the area and stop people from pilferage & danger.

People were greedy and gathered en mass to pick up free petrol despite warning from the driver. People were also ignorant as they did not know the how dangerous petrol can be.

Lack of health facilities in the nearby area also contributed to the increase in the deaths. This is directly due to negligence of the provincial gov’t. Shah Mahmoud Quraishi was a very important member of the PPP for a long time. Did he do anything to improve health and education facilities of his constituency when PPP was in power?

As I said in my earlier post, in my opinion the fault lies on the society as a whole. Accidents will happen, but let us hope that we learn a lesson from this tragedy and avoid loss of life at such a large scale in future.

I agree with many of the sentiments expressed on this thread. Just shocking on so many levels.