Modi's Article 370 remark: Is it time to end special status for J&K?

Should Article 370 be removed?

• Total voters
Yeah but can someone explain to me when congress comes to power in 2014, why would they change article 370?

don't forget tan asshole vp singh set up mandal comission and brought the quota for obc's
I think he has done a Good thing ... or else we would have seen Scores of OBC Hindus, Buddhist and Sikhs getting converted by the hand of Evangelist...

But I am all for Uniform Civil code with reservation based on BPL ...

I think he has done a Good thing ... or else we would have seen Scores of OBC Hindus, Buddhist and Sikhs getting converted by the hand of Evangelist...

But I am all for Uniform Civil code with reservation based on BPL ...
yup

reservation should be based on bpl

Yeah but can someone explain to me when congress comes to power in 2014, why would they change article 370?
But the question arisis, Why will congress win again? You really want to see that pappu become PM of our great country? If so, you need a mental checkup.

Read an article which makes me believe that J&K has the same status as Hong Kong under 370.So time to kick the bucket.

Your are under estimating modiji ... yes he is an A$$hole for Pseudo Secularist , Leftist ...

He will case and Hunt u down ... if he makes up his mind, he wont compromise on anything...

Example just Todays news ... He had challenged that he will make UPA change the unfair treatment given to gujarat in CNG price ...

And he achieved it ...

HC orders Centre to supply CNG under APM to Gujarat in a week - The Economic Times

Same is the case with US rejecting his Visa... he challenged that he will make US to come on his Door steps for grating him Visa ...

and u see a sudden change in policy ... US would be desperate after 2014 ...

I'm not under estimating NaMo. I'm just telling the bitter truth. Sir ji, I have many Kashmiri friends, and know bit of ground realities. :drag:

PS: I'm NaMo suppoter and just in few minutes I'm going to cast 1st ever vote to BJP. :drag:

why are all posters acting so naive here??
TO SCRAP THIS WE NEED
1)2/3 majority in the parliament
2)50 percent approval in j&k assembly

ain't gonna happen,impossible

NaMo will make that possible :cheers:

Subramanium Swami said, President can do it.

Its a complex position in law.

Strictly going by the clauses of 370, the article can be removed by a Presidential Notification IF recommended by the state govt.

There is a separate point in the law that removes the need for state govt. recommendation after the first state assembly was formed and dissolved. It has much to do with the explanations attached to the article by those who drafted it and by subsequent notes by the then President of India, Dr. Rajendra Prasad.

But the question arisis, Why will congress win again? You really want to see that pappu become PM of our great country? If so, you need a mental checkup.

I don't mind chidambaram as PM- congress has never said pappu will be PM, only that he will be 'face of congress' against Modi

I think this news is relevant to the discussion on Article 370 and why it must be scrapped.

The 2500 years old Jyesteshwara Shiva temple in Kashmir near Dal Lake and the hill on which it is located has now summarily been renamed as Takht-e-Suleiman.

Shankaracharya_temple.jpg

This was the Temple and hill on which Adi Shankaracharya in 800 AD meditated and had religious discourse and debate with the then greatest scholar of Shaivism, Pandit Abhinavgupta and defeated him thus paving way for spreading Advaita philosophy in North India. Adi Shankaracharya himself installed the Shivling in this temple. This was the place where the worship of shakti was reintroduced to India.

Kashmir was the place where Swaraswati (Sharada) is said to have resided. Here is a verse from Saraswati Stuti.

Namaste sharade devi kashmirapuravasini, tvamaham prarthaye nityam vidya-danam cha dehi me.

Its translation is "I bow to you, Goddess Sharada, the one who Resides in the Kashmir, I pray to you daily, please give me the charity of knowledge. "

Now this Hill has been renamed as Takht-e-Suleiman or "Throne of Soloman" !!

There is record of King Gopaditya (426–365 BC) repairing this temple and later King King Lalitaditya (697–734). But the plaque installed by ASI at the temple now says that the roof of the temple was constructed by Mughal emperor Shah Jahan in 1644 AD.

The irony is that Shah Jahan actually destroyed the shiv lingam inside the temple and the Shiv lingam was later replaced by the Dogra rulers of Kashmir.

This is a 2002 article, but the facts mentioned here are still valid for 2013. It demonstrates how J&K manages to blackmail India and take us for a ride.

Kashmir sucking India dry

I have been reading statistical information about the rate of poverty in different states in India. Gentle reader, take this test: what do you think the rate of poverty in Kashmir is? Below the average, above the average in India? 10 per cent? 20 per cent? 30 per cent?

The astonishing fact is that, despite all the wailing and the beating of breasts, J&K is the least poor state in the country, with a rate of poverty of about 3.4 per cent, compared to 26 per cent for the country as a whole! And no prizes for guessing how it got that way: a hint, it is not because they earn lots of foreign exchange from tourism, dried fruits and nuts, and pashmina shawls.

In effect, Kashmir is extracting royal tribute from the rest of India. Strangely reminiscent of what the British did during colonial times. That is, there is massive funds flow from the Centre to J&K. Look at the magnitude of that largesse:

Fiscal Year .............Amount (Rs, in Crores)
CAGR 1991-2002.....14%

The Union government's aid to J&K has therefore far outstripped the growth in the GDP, which has averaged roughly 5% in this time frame. What does this mean? J&K gets a larger and larger share of central expenditure on states. In fact, it gets 10 percent of all central assistance and J&K has received more than any other state since 1995! Far out of proportion to its fair share, which by population should be about 1 percent: that is, J&K gets roughly ten times what it deserves.

Reminds me of the story of the koel and the crow: how the koel lays its eggs in a crow's nest, and the loud, demanding, hungry koel chick deceives the foster-parents. In the end, the crow's chicks are starved or elbowed out of the nest, and the interloper flies off, fully grown at someone else's expense. That is exactly what the good folks in J&K seem to want: fatten at the trough of Indian taxpayer expense, and then secede or join Pakistan.

To put it another way, the per capita central assistance is Rs 8,092 per man, woman and child in J&K. Kindly compare this to the per capita GDP in India, roughly $460 or Rs 22,000. Therefore, each man, woman and child in J&K is being subsidized to the tune of 36 per cent of the per capita GDP! Each J&K person gets eight to ten times more money from the Centre than citizens from other states. This is a true rip-off. And all this money is given by the Center to the state directly, to use as it pleases.

By the way, this largesse does not include major projects that have been funded by the Centre to the tune of Rs 25,000 crores.

All this is in addition to the enormous amounts of money to keep Islamist barbarians from overrunning the place. This amounts to thousands of crores of rupees a year, much of which ends up being spent in Jammu and Kashmir. No wonder that the population there, despite years of militancy, and the hollowing out of the tourism industry, is still remarkably better off than most of India's population.

Tharoor and Ramesh are lightweights. I don't they can match the clout of Chidambaram.
Chidu is shady he represented companies as lawyer when govt stance was against the company i don remember the company name....