New Delhi, Dec 3: It seems that all controversies over "Rs 50 crore girlfriend" has been forgotten as Sunanda Pushkar's opinion over Article 370 sounds similar to Narendra Modi's recent statement which sparked off a debate in the country. Pushkar, wife of Congress MP Shashi Tharoor, said, "I want someone to re-look at this article (Article 370). I am not asking to abolish it but please give us back our home also." During an interview with NDTV, Sunanda Pushkar also said, "I have not benefited from this article. Kashmiri Pandits have not benefited from this article many Muslim girls have not benefited from this article." While being questioned about Article 370, Mrs Tharoor said, "Actually I am quite sure my husband would be annoyed with me answering this question but I do also have a voice I am a woman I am a Kashmiri very proudly Kashmiri and I do beg pardon of my husband if I say this but because he is a very big fan of Jawaharlal Nehru but what I don't understand when this accord was formed ....... why is about Kashmir that we can't do it."
Mrs Tharoor, who hails from Kashmir, married Mr Tharoor in 2010. She explained the ordeals which she had experienced when she wanted to buy a property in the valley in 2006-07. According to Mrs Tharoor's statement, she was denied permission to buy land as she is married to a non-Kashmiri. She even told how Jammu Kashmir CM Omar Abdullah had tried to help her out but had alerted her that her son might not able to inherit the land. All these hullabaloos over Article 370 popped up when BJP's PM candidate Narendra Modi asked for a debate in Parliament over the article. Now, Mrs Tharoor's statement may irk Congress. Here it can be recalled that Modi and Mr Tharoor were engaged in a debate following a statement of the former who had taunted the latter saying, "Wah kya girlfriend hai. Apne kabhi dekha hai 50 crore ka girlfriend (What a girlfriend. Have you ever seen a 50-crore-girl friend)?"
Art 370: Controversy forgotten, Modi gets support from Sunanda Pushkar - News Oneindia