Mir says Pakistan more focussed on religion than cricket

HAIDER

KARACHI, April 6 (Reuters) - Pakistan's media manager at the World Cup told an inquiry committee of Pakistan Cricket Board on Friday that there had been more focus on religion than cricket in the team. “I told the committee that the players were not focussed on cricket in the World Cup. They were more into religion,” Pervez Mir told Reuters adding that he was disturbed to see focus on cricket missing in the team in such an important tournament. “I told the committee that Pakistani players, rather than pray privately, tried to make it a public spectacle,” he said. To highlight his point he said some players, led by captain Inzamam-ul-Haq, even made it a point to pray in the galley of aircrafts on flights rather than privately in their seats. (Posted @ 20:48 PST)
http://dawn.com/2007/04/06/welcome.htm

There is absolutely nothing wrong with it.

There is every thing wrong with it.Islam dose not allow you to cheat.and in this case they were cheating there employer.by not paying attention to there work.

They did everything they could. Our main players were out of the game, and there were several other reasons.

Cheetah, may be you should watch to Waseem Akrams interview.

http://stopdesi.com/view_video.php?viewkey=295f8076b1c5722a46aa

You will realize how our players go through the game of politics while playing cricket. Waseem totally admits that they were made to lose the 1999 world cup.

Plus, there is nothing wrong with players being too religious, or having different beliefs. Mohammad Yosuf is the great example of this. When he made centuries you people had no problem with him being religious and were actually proud of him, and when he didn't perform well, you wanted to kick him.

Mohammad Yosuf is the great example of this. When he made centuries you people had no problem with him being religious and were actually proud of him, and when he didn't perform well, you wanted to kick him.

Good post :tup:

There u go guys, no more arguments ;)

KARACHI, April 6 (Reuters) - Pakistan's media manager at the World Cup told an inquiry committee of Pakistan Cricket Board on Friday that there had been more focus on religion than cricket in the team. “I told the committee that the players were not focussed on cricket in the World Cup. They were more into religion,” Pervez Mir told Reuters adding that he was disturbed to see focus on cricket missing in the team in such an important tournament. “I told the committee that Pakistani players, rather than pray privately, tried to make it a public spectacle,” he said. To highlight his point he said some players, led by captain Inzamam-ul-Haq, even made it a point to pray in the galley of aircrafts on flights rather than privately in their seats. (Posted @ 20:48 PST)
http://dawn.com/2007/04/06/welcome.htm

AsSalam o Alaikum.
We have to be very careful here. Let us not decieve ourselves. We never expected this team to get anywhere on the basis of its current form. They have traditionally been suspect against the swinging Ball and a green Wicket. In the Ireland match they found both and were Undone. Considering all the "Playboys" of the past have not done much |(IMRAN AND MUSHTAQ BEING EXCEPTIONS) why should we expect these boys to do any different. They are out to find scapegoats. If religion and its persuance serves these devious peoples purposes, so be it. No wonder we are in this decadent state.
It disgusts me how people will find scapegoats rather than focusing on finding the real problems and trying to solve them.Ther will be no progress unless people find the real issues and solve them.
Wa Salam
Araz

sports need personal interest. Now we have to wait another four years to see some world class cricket. But in 1999 alteast we saw some sports, but this time knockout in first two matches. World number three time goes down the drain. Didn t even see game spirit. More sounds like born to loose. They are getting paid hefty amount of money and carry Pakistan logo on their shirts. And played effortless game. I am sorry to say webby pardon my lingo in advance in our street sports lingo we call it " siir sajjda ma or gaand dagabazi maa". If religion is more important or tabligh is more important then leave cricket. :disagree:

Pakistan won the world cup already in 92, and we should be very happy about that.

That was 17 years ago........and considering that Pakistan has a population of 165 million to work from and Australia has 20 million (and has won it many times), there is very little excuse for the PAK team to do so badly.

How many of the 92 team were overtly religious BTW?

The problem with Pakistan is that it has too heavily relied on the good players. Waseem, Waqar, Saeed, after they leave. The team is gone! We have no leadership, nothing. On the basis of seniority NOT on the basis of leadership, Inzimam Sahib is given captainship to lead the team. His lazy face could hardly perform well anywhere outside the slip, but giving the credit where it is due. He was a great batsman, but that is limited to it.

What our team lacked was HUNGER. We have a habit of dwelling on past performances. Even politically we still think we are great because muslims in centuries past ruled half the known world. Even though they were Arab or Turks and not Indian muslims.

What is past is bygone. 1992 was a generation ago. We make it too easy for our players, we pay them too much. There should be a system of bonus based payments. These days virtually every Pak team player can make about 15 laks a year if he plays in 15 matches. This is too comfy. Why not pay a minimum living wage say 30/40 thousand rupees per month to the players on central contract and pay one lakh bonus for each victory and another one lakh to one making a century or taking 5 wickets.Thus if you dont perform, you miss out on perks. We want players hungry enough to give 200% for a WIN.

I saw Bangla Desh beat SA last night. The way they were fielding and bowling was a delight to watch. That is what I call a hungry team.

What our team lacked was HUNGER. We have a habit of dwelling on past performances.

niaz,

We lack Hunger because our players are Fed well.