Ministers celebrating $2.9bn exports but avoid reporting $7.85bn imports, trade deficit at about $5bn in moth of Nov 2021.

Only speech is different and result is same. PMLN had some better result but both method are same in a different manner. No one can govern like Musharf did. He was one the best with Shaukat Aziz.
In misharaf erra pakistan has faced worst load shedding , due to that whole garments industries suffered

Pakistan is going to have highest ever trade and current account deficit this year. Unfortunately remittances cannot cover the impact. Time for safeguarding your hard earned rupee by converting them to dollars.

Your Pain gives me so much pleasure! Burn Baby Burn...

Desperado AKA Miriam Safdar

Islamabad, Pakistan – When the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) party swept to power after general elections in 2013, chief among their promises was to turn around an economy in dire straits, revitalising growth and overcoming a chronic energy shortage that had crippled many industries.
The situation was, by any definition, dire.
Keep reading
Economic growth had dropped to just 3.5 percent, with foreign reserves dropping fast in the face of a huge import bill, and a balance of payments crisis looming.
As the PML-N took office, central bank foreign exchange reserves stood at $6.5bn, their lowest level in 10 years. Facing the possibility of default, by September the government had approached the International Monetary Fund (IMF), seeking a three-year $6.68bn programme to help stabilise the economy and introduce macroeconomic reforms.
It would be Pakistan’s 12th IMF programme in almost three decades, and came with conditions enforcing discipline on managing fiscal deficits and privatising state-owned entities, many of which were not fully met.
Five years on, the PML-N will tell you, Pakistan’s economic situation looks markedly rosier.
Helped by low international oil prices and boosted by the start of work on the $56bn China Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC), economic growth stands at a projected 5.79 percent, its highest level in 13 years, taking the gross domestic product to an estimated $297bn this year.
CPEC, an economic corridor project that links southwestern China to the Arabian Sea through Pakistan, has spurred huge spending on development projects, coming with $36bn in loans to construct a series of power plants across the country.
Some of those power plants have already begun to come online, bringing reductions to rolling power blackouts that have plagued the South Asian country for years.
The PML-N, in turn, is bullish, and feeling confident that they have delivered on their promises to turn Pakistan’s economy around.
“This is the highest growth rate in 15 years, and the highest in the manufacturing sector in 10 years,” Miftah Ismail, Pakistan’s outgoing finance minister, told Al Jazeera.
“We’ve brought in growth and stability to Pakistan, so that big promise that we made, that has actually happened.”
But not everything, analysts warn, is as rosy as it seems.
A Pakistan Navy soldier stands guard while a loaded Chinese ship prepares to depart, at Gwadar port [Muhammad Yousuf/AP Photo]
‘Unsustainable’ growth
“They have succeeded in restarting growth and […] in executing some mega projects, and in activating CPEC,” says Khurram Husain, an economic analyst and journalist. “But the manner in which they have done so has raised many questions.”
A major chunk of Pakistan’s economic growth, Hussain says, is led by consumption, most of it government spending on development projects, which raises questions of long-term sustainability.
“What is driving it is a sharp increase in development spending [by the government]. So that leaves a lot of people wondering what happens if the government is not able to sustain this level of development spending?”
Moreover, repeated government attempts to widen the country’s tax base has had only limited success, leading to a widening fiscal deficit, as the government continues pumping money into the economy.
The rise in consumption, Hussain points out, has not been accompanied by a rise in investment in the private sector, leading to a growth trajectory that may be inordinately dependent on the government.
“There have been various incentive schemes and packages, but the private sector says that they are losing their competitive edge in international markets due to a rising cost of doing business, including high energy prices, high transaction costs, and a poor state of infrastructure.”
In 2017, Pakistan ranked 147 out of 190 countries on the World Bank’s ‘Ease of Doing Business Index’, a metric that measures how conducive regulatory and infrastructure environments are to allowing private enterprise to flourish.
The challenges faced by industry have seen Pakistani exports drop from $25bn in 2013 to $22bn in 2017, according to central bank data, stretching Pakistan’s foreign exchange reserves and putting further stress on the country’s current account deficit.
“To put the external sector in a more sustainable footing it will be important to address constraints to exports’ competitiveness, including an overvalued exchange rate, a weak investment environment and a trade policy that at times hurts rather than supports exports,” says Enrique Blanco Armos, the World Bank’s lead economist on Pakistan.
All of that means that there is a larger, familiar crisis on the horizon.
‘Beggars can’t be choosers’
In July, Pakistan’s central bank foreign reserves dropped sharply by $601.8m to just $9.6bn, which is enough to cover just two months of imports.
The fiscal deficit, meanwhile, has ballooned to 5.5 percent of GDP, from the targeted 4.1 percent, the central bank said on May 25.
The external current account deficit rose to $14bn in the first 10 months of the 2018 financial year, a 50 percent rise from the same period last year.
“[Pakistan’s] growth has been accompanied in the past 18 months with an increase in macroeconomic imbalances,” says the World Bank’s Armos. “These imbalances will need to be corrected […] we think that further adjustments will be needed to put the economy on a much stronger footing, narrowing fiscal deficits and a combination of policies to reduce the trade deficit.”
The outgoing government, however, said it was not worried.
“We are borrowing from the international market, and there is no difficulty in that, and we will be borrowing again,” said Ismail, the outgoing finance minister.
In May, days before its term was completed, the government announced it would be taking an additional loan of up to $2bn from Chinese lenders in order to avert a balance of payments crisis.
“We understand the importance of reserves and the importance of being liquid, even before the [loans] we took a currency devaluation in December and again in March,” Ismail told Al Jazeera, speaking before a further devaluation took place in June.
The PML-N says it will focus on increasing exports if it returns to power, but analysts warn, that it may not be enough.
“If the past is anything to go by, then the present appears to be taking us back towards the IMF,” says Hussain.
“This is how it has always worked, for the last 20 years we have seen this pattern. Reserves rise for a period, then they hit a peak, and then as they fall they do not autocorrect.”
Opposition leaders, too, have been pointing to rising debt levels as the government struggles to control macroeconomic imbalances as being of significant concern.
“It is pretty much in the same spot that we were five years ago, except this time as we get ready for a new bailout, we are starting with a current account deficit which is far bigger, and a significantly larger external debt,” said Asad Umar, of the opposition Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party.
Umar’s PTI, led by cricketer-turned politician Imran Khan, has been tipped by many to replace the PML-N government, if it is able to displace the party from its stronghold of Punjab province. If that were to happen, would the PTI be open to going back to the IMF?
“We are burning cash much faster and the debt load is much bigger, and the danger is just as real as it was last time, except the odds are even worse,” he said.
“No option is off the table […] Beggars can’t be choosers, so we will have to look at all possible options.”
Asad Hashim is Al Jazeera’s Digital Correspondent in Pakistan. He tweets @AsadHashim.
Source: Al Jazeera

Well This year our CA deficit is high is not bcz of debt repaymenta bcz PTI managed to convert lots of short term debt to long term in first couple of years. Despite that debt repayment per year stand at 10 billion which are all short term debt like the ones we got from China 3 billion UAE 1.5 billion KSA 2 billion IMF repayments almost 5-6 billion in next 1-2 years.

This year our CA deficit is high bcz 1- Petro products Oil and LPG prices are sky rocketing 2- Edible oil prices are high 3- All consumer product prices are sky rocketing bcz of 1 and 2. All these 3 make up almost 25-30 billion of our import bill. Rest are associated with machinery imports which we simply cant get rid of if we want to give boost to export industry.

Let not forget Ishaq dollar left us with 20 billion in CA deficit and 40 billion in Trade deficit.
Sir 750 million dollar per month on cars import is being spend according to Shaukat Tarin. Listen your self.

bro Khan sahab said this LOL
Fir wahi logic :lol: O bhai he was talking about nwazu era when export was decreasing and import was increasing it clearly means economic downfall , now situation is different out exports are increasing while imports are increasing too it means our purchasing power is increasing
He is Yothia.
Alhamddullilah

Fir wahi logic :lol: O bhai he was talking about nwazu era when export was decreasing and import was increasing it clearly means economic downfall , now situation is different out exports are increasing while imports are increasing too it means our purchasing power is increasing

Alhamddullilah
It is cancer same like Patwari. PMLN downfall was due to Patwari and PTI downfall will be due same Youthia. Both are same in a different manner.

Sir 750 million dollar per month on cars import is being spend according to Shaukat Tarin. Listen your self.

750 million is a just a drop in overall import budget which hovers around 60 billion. Like i said these are small expenses granted they need to be curtailed but still these are small. You are not getting simple fact that oil which used to hover around 50-60 now stands at 70-80 even reached 85$. Our oil imports crude and processed are around 15-20 billion$ now add 30-40% more to that figure goes up by 4.5 - 6 billion. I am not quoting acurate figure just trying to make a point.

Also Edible oil which we import is around 4 billion rougly it price went up from 700-1400 this year. That is double than last year. Also Pakistan imported 24% more oil than lst year so make that 4 billion to 8 billion approx. Lets put just these two together. Almost an increase of 10-15 billion on import bill by no fault of govt.

Orignal stats you can google i just quoted you roundabout figures. Hope this clarifies.

Import restrictions will often exacerbate the problem and unintentionally make your exports expensive. Except for certain luxury items, the gov. cannot be blamed for allowing imports.

750 million is a just a drop in overall import budget which hovers around 60 billion. Like i said these are small expenses granted they need to be curtailed but still these are small. You are not getting simple fact that oil which used to hover around 50-60 now stands at 70-80 even reached 85$. Our oil imports crude and processed are around 15-20 billion$ now add 30-40% more to that figure goes up by 4.5 - 6 billion. I am not quoting acurate figure just trying to make a point.

Also Edible oil which we import is around 4 billion rougly it price went up from 700-1400 this year. That is double than last year. Also Pakistan imported 24% more oil than lst year so make that 4 billion to 8 billion approx. Lets put just these two together. Almost an increase of 10-15 billion on import bill by no fault of govt.

Orignal stats you can google i just quoted you roundabout figures. Hope this clarifies.
Listen 750 million dollar per month he said. Listen carefully.

https://twitter.com/i/web/status/1465963957743669248

https://twitter.com/i/web/status/1465939608835964933

Razak skip Import figure due to backlash. Some kids mods banned me when i said that PTI will change 70% of there budget and it is happening this week. PTI wanted to win election and do early election in 2022 that is why they did a deep Freeze IMF program, which backfired so bad that he entire budget has to changed and interest will hike to 11 to 12% in Dec.

Import 7.5 billion highest ever in Pakistan. Why PTI fans only post one side of Story. If Yothia say that import is increasing due to international prices than it also that export are increase due to that. PTI is munafiq party.

It is human nature that usually to look for success even maybe it is partial, it is evident since the creation of Pakistan.
'Munafiqs' are an integral part of every political party of Pakistan, even parties claimed 'Isalmic' are not pure Islamic.
Just check in a few years back, what are the opinions of PML(N) about PPP and vise versa. What were the opinions of IK about Sheikh Sahib and vise versa.
Try hard and you will miserably failed to segregate such 'Munafiqat' from political parties.

I an not an economist, could you shed some light on our chronic and real issue? Apart from necessities, why we are importing. IMO till we are not debt free, Pakistan should not import anything which is not necessity. It is shameful for us that we were/are begging for loans and on the other hand, importing make-up/luxury items/ready-made garments/Indian cloth (ladies) and even luxury food items. Pakistan should heavily tax the fast-food chains (KFC/Pizza Hut/Subway etc.), soft drinks and dairy products from multinationals. Only promote local food chains. Further, we should shift our focus from a consumer economy to an Agricultural and Engineering based manufacturing economy. Definitely it will reduce our import bills in par with the export, to some extent.

Listen 750 million dollar per month he said. Listen carefully.

Bhai jo likha hai wo tu parh lo? 750 million was for last month not per month. Its been high bcz of import of electric vehicles which has been banned for next 6 months now so it will return to normal level next month.

@Desprado are you that dumb? oil price increases per barrel so our import bill increases so you are saying we should cut down oil import as well and other imported items?

Man people like you who just have access to internet and makes thread on stock market etc who never had any stock account just some self thinking expert claiming here and there.

This totally suits you.

1627331057428.png

Bhai jo likha hai wo tu parh lo? 750 million was for last month not per month. Its been high bcz of import of electric vehicles which has been banned for next 6 months now so it will return to normal level next month.
Listen karo. 1.5 billion dollar will saved from just banning CBU in these coming month. Remaining 500 million dollar CKD import per month cannot be reduced as it is source of tax Shaukat Tarin.

We are taking debt to pay or import this in Imran Khan government?

Even today after corona and high oil import price we are better than 2018 which pmln left.

IMG_20211201_203919.png

Listen karo. 1.5 billion dollar will saved from just banning CBU in these coming month. Remaining 500 million dollar CKD import per month cannot be reduced as it is source of tax Shaukat Tarin.

We are taking debt to pay or import this in Imran Khan government?

FFVB0gZXwAw12YE.jpeg

our remittance increases, tax collection increases, export increases. import is yet lower than pmln time and you are complaining.