Mian Atif, PTI and Oriya Maqbol Jaan..

He was offered a role, within 48 hours the offer was revoked because of public pressure about his religious views. That's not normal. He didn't even have the opportunity to take on the role, or do any work. It has nothing to do with the role or his performance related to it.

At this point you're just being silly. Did he ask to be identified as a Muslim in order to take this job?

You are applying secular principles to Pakistan. It's easy to get sucked into the Western Secular thinking.

I'm just thinking, something a lot of us aren't doing.

If there was a problem with his suitability for the role in terms of his economic understanding/perspective, then he should never have been offered the role.

If he was unwilling to meet the criteria required to accept the role (ie recognise himself as a non Muslim on the paperwork), then he should have never been offered the role.

If there was a problem with his politics and his political suitability (ie he's too unpopular) then he shouldn't have been offered the role.

He was offered the role, it was then retracted after public pressure from bigots who don't like his religious views. Others may have also not liked his economic views, which is valid criticism. The official govt spokesperson has stated they took away the offer to avoid disunity and then went on to speak about the governments religious credentials.

This is not insaaf. At the very least the person responsible for putting him forward, or agreeing the decision to offer the role should be forced to resign too.

---

As Muslims in the UK, whenever a public figure speaks out against Islam, islamaphobic hate crimes rise. This is statistically proven. Boris was defending the rights of women who wear Niqab when he called them letter boxes - yet this led to a rise in Muslim women being attacked/abused in the streets.

What impact do you think this action will have on the security of Qadiani's in Pakistan? When right wing trolls can force the government to revoke a job offer, do you think people of this cult can get justice in our legal system?

I'm just thinking, something a lot of us aren't doing.

If there was a problem with his suitability for the role in terms of his economic understanding/perspective, then he should never have been offered the role.

If he was unwilling to meet the criteria required to accept the role (ie recognise himself as a non Muslim on the paperwork), then he should have never been offered the role.

If there was a problem with his politics and his political suitability (ie he's too unpopular) then he shouldn't have been offered the role.

He was offered the role, it was then retracted after public pressure from bigots who don't like his religious views. Others may have also not liked his economic views, which is valid criticism. The official govt spokesperson has stated they took away the offer to avoid disunity and then went on to speak about the governments religious credentials.

This is not insaaf. At the very least the person responsible for putting him forward, or agreeing the decision to offer the role should be forced to resign too.

---

As Muslims in the UK, whenever a public figure speaks out against Islam, islamaphobic hate crimes rise. This is statistically proven. Boris was defending the rights of women who wear Niqab when he called them letter boxes - yet this led to a rise in Muslim women being attacked/abused in the streets.

What impact do you think this action will have on the security of Qadiani's in Pakistan? When right wing trolls can force the government to revoke a job offer, do you think people of this cult can get justice in our legal system?

That guy is probably not bothered about the appointment retraction but people here are going absolutely berserk!

No leader and government can ignore public sentiments.

Look at West and the treatment of muslims and legislations over the dress code.

Pakistani public doesn't want a Qadyani in an important council, so be it. Just like Secular France can ban a simple headscarf and burkinis, we can retract appointments of Qadyanis from sensitive positions.

Get over it!

Guess Naya Pakistan is not that different from Purana Pakistan. I just hope that Khadim Rizwi does not come up with another nutty demand.

That guy is probably not bothered about the appointment retraction but people here are going absolutely berserk!

Pakistani public doesn't want a Qadyani in an important council, so be it. Just like Secular France can ban a simple headscarf and burkinis, we can retract appointments of Qadyanis from sensitive positions.

Get over it!

Headscarf isn't banned in France, the niqab is. Lying about issues and buying into propoganda is second nature to you people isn't it?

The nature of Atif's role meant progress for Pakistan, a country on the brink of economic collapse. His input would have been very valuable in formulating a policy.

Lastly, tell me something, how was this a sensitive position?

A person praised by IMF cannot be your well wisher., even how big or famous economist he or she is. IMF, World Bank etc. are tools of Capitalist n Zionist to trap already poor countries and make them their slaves forever. Imagine a person continuously talks about a country, its constitution, its policies on Khatm-e-Nubuwwat etc. How can he be loyal to you and work for your well being. There will be a big storm in India if such a "Anti-National" person is selected for any such service. Where is your 'Ghairat' and 'Hamiyat' goes when you talk in favor of such a person?
When his community is marginalized, , threatned, places of worship attacked , indivisuals / intellectuals are selectively picked up , targeted killed & worst of all discriminated constitutionally .. you want him to shut the f up , not utter a sound suck it all up & not even tweet !!?? ignorats and intolerants like you understand when other sects and factions do the same to your sect and kind ..

Headscarf isn't banned in France, the niqab is. Lying about issues and buying into propoganda is second nature to you people isn't it?

The nature of Atif's role meant progress for Pakistan, a country on the brink of economic collapse. His input would have been very valuable in formulating a policy.

Lastly, tell me something, how was this a sensitive position?

It doesn't matter. I am personally OK with the appointment as long as the long term policy is interest free system.

Sensitive = if public at large has strong reservations on it, it becomes sensitive. We don't want unrest and chaos over a matter that is easily put to rest by a simple retraction.

Public needs grooming and that policy takes precedence. There is a right way of doing things and then there is confrontational way (like the Khatm-e-Nabuwat bill by PMLN).

Alhamdolillah Atif Mian is seperated from economic advisory comitte :-):-). Purana Pakistan mubarak!!
Problem solved and End of discussion.

Get over it!

I hold myself to higher standards than France, or the white man. We are talking about an Islamic republic, if we are going to use the Islamic label to define ourselves, then our standards have to be upto scratch with those of Islam.

I protested against injustice against Muslims, I will also give the same respect to non Muslims.

Sad. But we will see a brighter day InshAllah.

I hold myself to higher standards than France, or the white man. We are talking about an Islamic republic, if we are going to use the Islamic label to define ourselves, then our standards have to be upto scratch with those of Islam.

I protested against injustice against Muslims, I will also give the same respect to non Muslims.

But you are expecting Pakistan to uphold to the secular standards immediately!

Look, be realistic. You can't change people overnight. Even prophets couldn't!

Pakistan is infested with problems and that backlog will take a while to clear up. Qadyanis and their appointments in the government roles is not an urgent matter that needs to be resolved ASAP. Neither is a revision of Blasphemy Law an urgent matter.

Health (including food), Education, Economy and Security are at the top of the list. Rest are irrelevant in the short term so it is counter-productive opening up fronts on those.

Atif was one of the many in the council. He was only an advisor, not the policy maker/owner.

Timely decision by PM Imran Khan, thankfully they nipped this in the bud before it escalated. This Ahmadi was toxic asset whose twitter account would've given huge headache to PTI in the coming days. His background is even worse. He was'nt born a Qadiani which would've unleashed fury ever worse than what Nawaz Sharif faced. On outside pressure they quietly tried to pass an amendment to remove the oath and all hell broke loose. His Law Minister house was attacked and himself tendered his resignation. Most of the PML-N MPAs left the party on this issue. The vote for TLP in this election were PML-N voters who were angry on this very issue.

These social media pro-west scum who are'nt even liberals, just agents who are there to bark whether it destabilizes or kill many people as long as their paymasters are happy. I initially thought they have a reform agenda or believe in certain ideals. In reality they are pathetic cowards who cry on social media and can do little else publicly. Not one supporter publicly can support Ahmadi. Only lionizing and putting good intent people liike Ch. Fawad lives on the line to pursue their goals. Atif Mian also is an IMF tool, the one organization which has badly strangulated the middle class of Pakistan. Pakistani public never gave mandate to mullahs outside of KPK and Karachi. They have been destroyed by the so-called progressives and munafiq corrupts who have suck PAkistan's blood like a vampire and trying to lecture rights from abroad which they themselves denie an dlooted their fellow Pakistanis.

They only bark about Zia but if one remembers how they left Musharraf and army alone to suffer suicide attacks after Lal Masjid tragedy. Yeh kisi ke sagay nahi or nah yeh liberals hain.
I think we should'nt label them as desi liberals and give them the ideological tag which they don't owe. They should be called 'pro-western scum' or 'agents'.

But you are expecting Pakistan to uphold to the secular standards immediately!

Look, be realistic. You can't change people overnight. Even prophets couldn't!

Pakistan is infested with problems and that backlog will take a while to clear up. Qadyanis and their appointments in the government roles is not an urgent matter that needs to be resolved ASAP. Neither is a revision of Blasphemy Law an urgent matter.

Health (including food), Education, Economy and Security are at the top of the list. Rest are irrelevant in the short term so it is counter-productive opening up fronts on those.

Atif was one of the many in the council. He was only an advisor, not the policy maker/owner.

Bhai, to treat someone fairly is an Islamic standard, not a secular one.

Regarding the rest of your post, I agree. As i mentioned in another topic, if this guy was such a political hot potato they should have had the foresight to not offer him the role, or if they really wanted him, arrange a discrete back channel.

This U-turn has made the government look weak, it's emboldened bigots and embarassed us on the international stage.

Bhai, to treat someone fairly is an Islamic standard, not a secular one.

Regarding the rest of your post, I agree. As i mentioned in another topic, if this guy was such a political hot potato they should have had the foresight to not offer him the role, or if they really wanted him, arrange a discrete back channel.

This U-turn has made the government look weak, it's emboldened bigots and embarassed us on the international stage.

Yeah, a lot of Islamic standards we have in Pakistan and in our families! One only has to look at our weddings!

PTI government is new so they are going to encounter a lot of issues. IK may not care about someone being of a different faith as long as he/she can do the job but the public is not ready for that. But it's about taking a firm stance and this matter doesn't warrant such a stance.

There is no embarrassment. No one looks weak. This will be forgotten next week, unless people keep discussing it on social media.

Slavery in USA was only abolished about 150 years ago. Nations take a long time to take corrective actions. So do not expect Pakistan to turn around overnight.

Mods please CLOSE this thread, as matter is setteled now and now its going to be only hate speech against ahmadis now
Atif Mian is seperated from govt, no need to keep abusing him now.