Mi-17 down, 26 troops martyred

Pakistani airstrikes kill at least 12 militants

http://www.defence.pk/forums/416284-post1.html

May be Sir Murad's wish is coming true.

DAWN.COM | Pakistan | Army helicopters attack militants near crash site

This article from Dawn says that 10 militants were killed in helicopter attacks in the same area where the MI-17 crashed. They're still saying it was due to a technical fault, but whatever it was, I hope the army & airforce manage to brutalise all Taliban fighters in Orakzai as soon as possible, with as few civilian casualties as possible. We must not forget that this is war and such incidents may happen again. We must retaliate and end this conflict as soon as possible in the best way we can. Innalilahi wa inailahi rajioun and god bless the Pakistani Armed Forces.

DAWN.COM | Pakistan | Army helicopters attack militants near crash site

This article from Dawn says that 10 militants were killed in helicopter attacks in the same area where the MI-17 crashed. They're still saying it was due to a technical fault
Bro are you trying to suggest that it was the same chopper which crashed after it engaged the militants? The crash took place on Friday and this heli took on the militants today i.e Saturday.
You also missed that the news also said that it was due to tech fault.

Bro are you trying to suggest that it was the same chopper which crashed after it engaged the militants? The crash took place on Friday and this heli took on the militants today i.e Saturday.
You also missed that the news also said that it was due to tech fault.

Nahi yaar, I'm saying that it seems there were militants close by on nearby mountain peaks, so unfortunately, it may be possible that the chopper was shot down, even though I personally think it's unlikely. We can't be sure until the official enquiry is over.

Well what if the militants had sneaked in to get hold of some pieces from the crash and they were kicked by the military today?:azn:

AoA,

Well i dont know the names, but as for my knowledge there is a Lt Col involved who might be one of the pilot, also an officer doctor, a Major i guess. Other officer rank are involved too.

And chances of the helicopter coming down due to ground fire are high as per what i have known so far from someone. One thing is to be seen that the helicopter was to a large extent overloaded with 40+ guys. So it must have been flying at a very low altitude, which would have been enough to fire upon.

Whatever the case its very sad and if this was the case as stated above, the army aviation must make sure that SOPs are followed strictly and in future no such incident happens.

Well, when the chopper came down, cobra helicopters were sent to the area to secure it. They engaged the militants in the area where the heli went down and did manage to kill many. As for capturing a pilot it may not be true as all on board died due to the impact and then fire caused the rest fatalities.

You can see on TV as a lot of news coming about strikes in Orakzai Agency, which may be the result of this incident as military will be taking revenge.

Helicopter crash kills 26 soldiers in Orakzai

PESHAWAR/KALAYA: Twenty-six soldiers, including an officer, were killed and six others seriously injured when a helicopter carrying them from Parachinar to Peshawar crashed near the Ferozkhel area in the Taliban-controlled Orakzai Agency on Friday.

The Darra Adamkhel-based Taliban militants led by commander Tariq Afridi claimed responsibility for shooting down the military chopper and said their fighters later killed most of the injured soldiers when the chopper crashed in the mountains.

Pakistan Army spokesman Maj-Gen Athar Abbas, when reached by telephone, said the MI-17 military chopper crashed due to a technical fault. He rejected the militants� claim of shooting the chopper down.

Military sources said the chopper was carrying 37 soldiers of Pakistan Army and paramilitary Frontier Corps (FC) from Parachinar to Peshawar when it crashed in the mountains near Samkani village close to Ferozkhel � a border town between Lower Orakzai and Khyber tribal regions.

The paramilitary Frontier Corps (FC) personnel, who lost their lives, were returning to their respective units in Bajaur, Mohmand and rest of the troubled spots after spending their vacations in Kurram Agency.

Similarly, the Pakistan Army soldiers were on their way home on leave. Among the soldiers on board, the sources said, was a senior military officer. The officer was reportedly transferred from Parachinar to Peshawar and was supposed to take charge of his new assignment.

All government servants, including personnel of the armed forces, had long stopped travelling on the dangerous Peshawar-Parachinar Road after frequent incidents of kidnapping of soldiers and government employees by the Taliban militants.

They said the injured soldiers were airlifted and admitted to a military hospital in Kohat. According to sources, the army aviation helicopter took off from the Parachinar military camp and landed for a while at the Thall military base in Hangu district.

Some reports suggested that the helicopter landed at the Thall military base after developing a technical fault. Other reports said it landed at Thall for fuel and immediately took off for Peshawar.

The paramilitary Mahsud Scouts were later sent to Ferozkhel in Orakzai Agency from nearby Bara subdivision in Khyber Agency to collect bodies of the slain soldiers and rescue the injured.

After hectic efforts, the Mahsud Scouts personnel recovered 25 bodies and collected wreckage of the chopper and shifted them to Peshawar. There were reports that some of the bodies were still missing and efforts were under way for their retrieval.

Military officials said the ill-fated 37 soldiers, who had boarded the chopper from Parachinar, included Subedar Sher Zaman, Naib Subedar Javed Khattak, Havaldar Fareedur Rahman Khattak, Havaldar Sher Mohammad Raneezai, Naik Taj Hussain Orakzai, Naik Shahid Rahman Mahsud, Lance Naik Nasirullah Afridi, Lance Naik Aziz Khan Afridi, Lance Naik Najab Ali Turi, Lance Naik Mohammad Idrees Orakzai, Lance Naik Naseeb Hussain Bangash, Sepoy Inamullah Khattak, Havaldar Nazar Ali Turi, Sepoy Jabir Hassan Turi Lance Naik Ghayur Hussain Turi, Sepoy Izzat Ali Turi, Sepoy Sadiq Hussain Turi, Sepoy Mir Hasan Turi, Sepoy Noor Alam Turi, Sepoy Syed Hidayat Hussain Azizur Rahman, Sepoy Manzar Hussain, Sepoy Sarfaraz Hussain Turi, Sajid Aqeel, Sohail Rana, Ali Hassan, Nazar Abbas, Tanveer, Sabir Hussain, Aslam Sher, Maad Ali, Khalid, Muddasir Hussain, Ghaniullah, Lal Rahman, Zubair, and Tahir Mahmood.

However, they were not sure whether all of them were flown to Peshawar or some of them were dropped at the Thall military camp. A senior military official, on condition of not being named, told The News that all the 37 soldiers on board had been killed in the incident. �It�s a big loss for the armed forces. We lost all the soldiers on board,� a military officer remarked when approached by The News. He wished not to be named.

Tribal sources said the mountains where the chopper crashed were very high. They said the Taliban militants affiliated with commander Tariq Afridi and Hakimullah Mahsud had set up their strongholds in the mountains.

According to sources, the militants based there never missed a chance to fire at almost every aircraft and helicopter flying over the area. They saidthe militants might have shot down the chopper as after the incident, six gunship helicopters arrived there and started heavy shelling on suspected locations of the Taliban fighters on hilltops in the surrounding mountains of Orakzai and Khyber agencies.

Tribal sources said the choppers continued heavy shelling over the mountains till Friday evening. There were, however, no details about losses suffered by the militants in the shelling.It was second military chopper destroyed in the troubled tribal areas, where Pakistani security forces have been engaged in fierce fighting against the al-Qaeda-linked militants since 2002 and have suffered heavy human and financial losses.

On February 6, 2008, seven senior Pakistan Army officers, including General Officer Commanding (GOC), Kohat, Maj Gen Javed Sultan, were killed when a military helicopter crashed in the troubled South Waziristan Agency (SWA).

The military helicopter was carrying senior military officers back to Kohat from Wana, South Waziristan�s regional headquarters, when it crashed near Tanai town. The military authorities had argued that the chopper crashed due to a technical fault.

One of the pilots was a very close friend!!

i remember the shine in his eyes when he was getting some briefing about ISSB from me before he joined the Army, never knew this is how it would end.

My dear God, rest in peace my dear, rest in peace.

i remember the shine in his eyes when he was getting some briefing about ISSB from me before he joined the Army, never knew this is how it would end.

May he rest in peace.

But still, I think the media should stop reporting figures of 41 if the number of people onboard was 37 or lower. It's not responsible to report figures till they've been completely confirmed.

"One of the pilots was a very close friend!!"

I am very, very sorry for your personal loss. My deepest condolences to you.

Bureau Report
Saturday, 04 Jul, 2009 | 11:14 PM PST |

PESHAWAR: Investigations have begun into the cause of the helicopter crash that killed forty-one security personnel but there were indications that the ill-fated MI-17 might have gone down due to over-loading.

Experts from the Army’s Aviation Wing are looking into technical aspects to determine the cause of the crash.

But Dawn’s own inquiries revealed that the Russian-made military transport helicopter can carry 32 people or the equivalent of 4000 kilograms of weight.

As one former aviation expert commented, the helicopter carrying forty-one people on board was obviously over-loaded.

Local residents in Parachinar also witnessed the helicopter flying at an unusually low altitude throughout its flight over Lower Kurram that might have been caused by excessive weight.

The road to Parachinar from Hangu has been closed for the last four months due to militant attacks and the resultant insecurity, thus creating a rush and demand for helicopter ride out.

One official said that the increase in the number of those who found a place on MI-17 could be explained by the lack of frequent helicopter service to Parachinar.

The military is hard-pressed with few transport helicopters, most of them aging, in view of the expanding war theatre to fight militancy in Fata and Malakand.

Meanwhile, the last rites of those killed in the helicopter crash in Chapri Ferozkhel on the boundary between in Orakzai tribal region were performed at Pando Ground here on Saturday morning, a security official said.

Sixteen bodies were to be dispatched to Parachinar, headquarters of Kurram tribal region by helicopter, which however, could not fly due to inclement weather.

Some of the bodies were flown to Multan in southern Punjab, while others were taken to their ancestral areas through ambulances.

"One of the pilots was a very close friend!!"

I am very, very sorry for your personal loss. My deepest condolences to you.
Thankyou S-2

He was an infantryman turned aviator. The last time we talked was a week back when he told me that he would meet me when he would fly to the place where i am currently stationed. There was less of seniority/juniority factor between us, we were more of the friends, a relation that was there before we both joined the military. i remember how he used to pamper my parents when he passed out from PMA and i was posted at Siachen!:tsk:

Bureau Report
Saturday, 04 Jul, 2009 | 11:14 PM PST |

PESHAWAR: Investigations have begun into the cause of the helicopter crash that killed forty-one security personnel but there were indications that the ill-fated MI-17 might have gone down due to over-loading.

Experts from the Army’s Aviation Wing are looking into technical aspects to determine the cause of the crash.

But Dawn’s own inquiries revealed that the Russian-made military transport helicopter can carry 32 people or the equivalent of 4000 kilograms of weight.

As one former aviation expert commented, the helicopter carrying forty-one people on board was obviously over-loaded.

Local residents in Parachinar also witnessed the helicopter flying at an unusually low altitude throughout its flight over Lower Kurram that might have been caused by excessive weight.

The road to Parachinar from Hangu has been closed for the last four months due to militant attacks and the resultant insecurity, thus creating a rush and demand for helicopter ride out.

One official said that the increase in the number of those who found a place on MI-17 could be explained by the lack of frequent helicopter service to Parachinar.

The military is hard-pressed with few transport helicopters, most of them aging, in view of the expanding war theatre to fight militancy in Fata and Malakand.

Meanwhile, the last rites of those killed in the helicopter crash in Chapri Ferozkhel on the boundary between in Orakzai tribal region were performed at Pando Ground here on Saturday morning, a security official said.

Sixteen bodies were to be dispatched to Parachinar, headquarters of Kurram tribal region by helicopter, which however, could not fly due to inclement weather.

Some of the bodies were flown to Multan in southern Punjab, while others were taken to their ancestral areas through ambulances.

So much for the fringing aerial recce luxuries, Raven drones and IED-proof vehicles!!!:frown:

God loves soldiers. He's in good hands now. I'll pray for his family and friends (including you) tonight.

Take care...

Very sorry to hear that Xeric. One of my childhood buddy, Tassadduq Baloch lost his life in Afghanistan (these bastards took him there to fight against the opposition fraction). Until today I fail to convince myself he is no more. Man I can understand the pain of yours. May Allah enter him in Jannah and give peace to the hearts of his parents and his friends. What else is left to say:tsk:.