Media Distortions on 11th Anniversary of Musharraf's Coup

RiazHaq

On the 11th anniversary of General Musharraf's coup today, the dominant political rhetoric on the airwaves of Pakistan completely obscures Musharraf's daring rescue of the nation's economy from total collapse in 1999. Instead, Musharraf's enemies are focusing entirely on his missteps.

To set the record straight, let me quote from the current PPP government's letter it signed and sent to the IMF in 2008. Here is how it hails Musharraf's economic record without mentioning his name:

"Pakistan's economy witnessed a major economic transformation in the last decade. The country's real GDP increased from $60 billion to $170 billion, with per capita income rising from under $500 to over $1000 during 2000-07.....the volume of international trade increased from $20 billion to nearly $60 billion. The improved macroeconomic performance enabled Pakistan to re-enter the international capital markets in the mid-2000s. Large capital inflows financed the current account deficit and contributed to an increase in gross official reserves to $14.3 billion at end-June 2007. Buoyant output growth, low inflation, and the government's social policies contributed to a reduction in poverty and improvement in many social indicators". (see MEFP, November 20, 2008, Para 1).

In the 1990s, economic growth plummeted to between 3% and 4%, poverty rose to 33%, inflation was in double digits and the foreign debt mounted to nearly the entire GDP of Pakistan as the governments of Benazir Bhutto (PPP) and Nawaz Sharif (PML) played musical chairs. Before Sharif was ousted by General Musharraf in 1999, the two parties had presided over a decade of corruption and mismanagement. In 1999 Pakistan’s total public debt as percentage of GDP was the highest in South Asia – 99.3 percent of its GDP and 629 percent of its revenue receipts, compared to Sri Lanka (91.1% & 528.3% respectively in 1998) and India (47.2% & 384.9% respectively in 1998). Internal Debt of Pakistan in 1999 was 45.6 per cent of GDP and 289.1 per cent of its revenue receipts, as compared to Sri Lanka (45.7% & 264.8% respectively in 1998) and India (44.0% & 358.4% respectively in 1998).

The IMF has acknowledged that Pakistan became one of the four fastest growing economies in the Asian region during 2000-07 with its growth averaging 7.0 per cent per year for most of this period. As a result of strong economic growth, Pakistan succeeded in reducing poverty by one-half, creating almost 13 million jobs, halving the country's debt burden, raising foreign exchange reserves to a comfortable position and propping the country's exchange rate, restoring investors' confidence and most importantly, taking Pakistan out of the IMF Program.

Since the return of the current PPP government and its incompetence and corruption, economic growth is barely keeping pace with population growth, per capita gdp has decreased, prices of basic commodities have risen 3 to 4 times of the level in 2008, the Pakistani rupee has lost about 30% of its value against the US dollar, and the nation's economy is on IMF's life support as it was prior to Musharraf's coup.

The corrupt and incompetent politicians from the 1990s have crushed all of the hopes and dreams Pakistani voters yet again, and their faith in democracy is being sorely tested.

Haq's Musings: Musharraf Coup Revived Pakistan's Economy and Reduced Poverty

May be not due to Musharraf ... but due to International circumstances ... Pakistan got identity during Musharraf era. earlier to him ... Pakistan was less known and generally unfamiliar state.

Musharraf's another mistake is that he is straightforward and often talks opposite of prevailing mass sentiments. Hawa k rukh k against chalne ki koshish kerta hai.

Nawaz Sharif Hawa k rukh ka pehle andaza laga k khud osi taraf chalna shuru ho jata hai. Hawa (general sentiments) autometically os ko follow kerti hai:)

But reality and truth ka general opinion ko bhi theek pata nahi hota. General opinion ko follow kerne wale apni popularity ko maintain rakhne main successful rehte hain.... Lakin wo iss tara koi real problem kabhi solve nahi ker sakte.

Real problems ko understand kerne aur solve kerne k liye straightforward approch ki zaroorat hoti hai. Jo K Musharraf main hai. Lakin iss tarah general popularity maintain nahi reh sakti.

Agar generqal popularity maintain nahi reh sakti then political success ka scope bhi finish/reduce ho jata hai.

It's hard to read romanized urdu because everyone spells words differently. Don't make long arguments in urdu here; english is the forum's primary language, so use it please.

Actually who need to understand this point can understand only roman urdu. Who know only english --- they already know these points.

Pakistani Merdia is playing Absolute Shameful. They are probably all on pay roll of Nawaz ''Sharif''. Making money and burrying truth under piles of lies. Shame on them.

And you have proof of it?

Their Actions prove it, If you could ever notice.

Which actions are you refering to here? How can you even claim 'ALL'...

Kindly refrain from generalizing a whole community as corrupt on the basis of your perceptions without any proof.

Which actions are you refering to here? How can you even claim 'ALL'...

Kindly refrain from generalizing a whole community as corrupt on the basis of your perceptions without any proof.

There is no question that Pakistani media often present only one side of the story, violating the very basic tenet of journalism to report the news without editorial bias.

Any reports on Musharraf's coup of 1999 on GeoTV mention only the mistakes he made, without mentioning the following facts:

1. When Musharraf launched his coup in 1999, the economy was near collapse with less than a billion dollars left in foreign exchange reserves...Musharraf built them up to $16 billion by 2007.

2. Poverty in Pakistan decreased from 34% to 17% during Musharraf years, according to World Bank data. Prices of basic commodities remained quite stable, as did the value of Pakistan rupee.

3. Without Musharraf's restructuring and reform, there would be no deregulation of media, and no mass media revolution that has created tremendous opportunities for the reporters who hate Musharraf.

4 . Pakistan's GDP and tax revenues more than doubled on Musharraf's watch from 1999 to 2008, after the lost decade of the 1990s under Bhutto and Sharif.

Haq's Musings: Musharraf's Economic Legacy

Well, Geo is openly supporting Nawaz league, they speak about NRO and Mushi, but Nawaz and Co is clan of angels.They never did anything wrong when they been elected twice.....

There is no question that Pakistani media often present only one side of the story, violating the very basic tenet of journalism to report the news without editorial bias.

Any reports on Musharraf's coup of 1999 on GeoTV mention only the mistakes he made, without mentioning the following facts

This is again a gross generalization. Most of the people in the journalist fraternity criticise JANG Group, of which GEO is a part, for it's news bias. You have mentioned one example. But may i quote DAWN as an example of unbiased journalism. I hope you get the point.

The Real story of Lal Masjid - Spread the Truth ..

Even dunya tv with that clown azizi hits musharraf even if someone loses chappal. I've witnessed that dunya tv too sides nawaz bozo.

Media forgot nawaz's decision freezing of foreign currency accounts hurting Pakistan's economy and people living in Pak/foreign lands.

Media forgot in the name of Debt reduction karz utaro mulk sawaro scheme when the money was solten by millions of Pakistanis went into London accounts.

Media forgot nawaz is an open firm supporter of mullahs and terrorists.

Media forgot nawaz sharif is also involved in operation in Karachi.

Media forgot nawaz is tax choor.

Media sees on side of the story of October 12 1999.

Media forgot nawaz prominent party workers/members attack Supreme Court on his order that in itself is a crime for which he has to be prosecuted. And the list goes on.

Sorry but the Pakistan media still has no standards set to deliver validated information to its viewer but one sided lotta views.

Media forgot in the name of Debt reduction karz utaro mulk sawaro scheme when the money was solten by millions of Pakistanis went into London accounts.

All the money borrowed during that scheme was returned to the payers with interest. Not that i'm a Nawaz Sharif fan but this has been twisted. The State Bank's Report of 2002 clears this issue.

Media forgot nawaz is an open firm supporter of mullahs and terrorists.

Months before his govt was toppled, Nawaz had ordered a review of Pakistan's support of Taliban. This was after the massacre at Mazar-e-Sharif and subsequent bombings in Kenya. 'Taliban are a threat to Pakistan', ran the headline.

As far as PML-N and PPP's flirting with moulvis goes, there were several stories on that when Rana Sana campaigned with the head of a banned outfit. I don't think you saw it.

And, didn't Musharraf support the Mullahs as well? Infact, it was during his regime that MMA was granted electoral power in two provinces.

Media forgot nawaz sharif is also involved in operation in Karachi.

Well, so was Benazir. But the MQM still became Nawaz's coalition partner in 97.

Media forgot nawaz is tax choor.

There have been several stories and talk-shows on this issue.

Media sees on side of the story of October 12 1999.

That it was unconstitutional ? Sorry, if that is not to your liking but it's the truth. There have been debates on whether it was a right way to dismiss Musharraf or even Gen Karamat and why was the flight drama created.

Media forgot nawaz prominent party workers/members attack Supreme Court on his order that in itself is a crime for which he has to be prosecuted

Yes, he should be. But does that absolve Musharraf?

And the list goes on.

I would like to see it.

Sorry but the Pakistan media still has no standards set to deliver validated information to its viewer but one sided lotta views.

Sorry, but your view is also biased.

GUNNER..Hello gunner i think my family and my closest families are the living proof that money was not released many people got it with loss and many are still awaiting.

Our US $16000.00 Dollars went missing and Yet be paid by nawaz bastard so spare me the BS that money was returned with interest. No it never was. PS. Add that taxi scheme, billions looted in it should i tell you my close cousins paid for 2 haundai cars and never got the cars.

You need to go through in detail i see you more of pro nawaz than being a neutral step outside of nawaz's court and see through general bird eye view.