Massive Show of Support for Muslims in Silicon Valley after Trump's Ban

http://www.riazhaq.com/2017/01/massive-show-of-support-for-muslims-in.html

Thousands of protesters and dozens of civil rights lawyers from ACLU and CAIR flocked to San Francisco International Airport (SFO) to free Muslim travelers detained by the US Customs and Immigration Service after President Donald Trump's Muslim Ban executive order over the weekend.

Anti-Ban Protest at San Francisco International Airport

While the scene with anti-ban protesters and civil rights lawyers was repeated at all major international airports across the United States, what was special about San Francisco was the presence of Silicon Valley tech elite, including Google cofounder Sergey Brin and Y Combinator president Sam Altman, among the protesters. The Who's Who of America's technology world work with tens of thousands of Muslim technologists everyday. They have all spoken out against Trump's Muslim ban. Meanwhile, several Silicon Valley venture capitalists have committed to match donations to American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), the biggest organization of civil rights lawyers in the United States. ACLU says it has already raised over $10 million so far to fight Trump's Muslim Ban in the US Court system.

Silicon Valley Muslims:

Silicon Valley companies rely on technology talent from many Muslim nations around the world. They also do significant business in the Islamic world. It is in Silicon Valley's best self-interest for the United States to have friendly ties with world's 1.5 billion Muslims. Among the most famous sons of Muslim immigrants was the legendary Apple founder Steve Jobs.

The US-born Muslims make up the largest percentage at 34% of all Muslims in San Francisco Bay Area, followed by 14% born in Pakistan, 11% in Afghanistan, 10% in India, 3% in Egypt and 2% each in Iran, Jordan, Palestine and Yemen.

Bay Area Muslims by Country of Birth

There are 35,000 Pakistani-born Muslims in San Francisco Bay Area, or 14% of the 250,000 Muslims who call the Bay Area home, according to the study. Bay Area Muslim community constitutes 3.5 percent of the area’s total population and is one of the highest concentrations of Muslims in the country.

As of 2013, South Asian Muslims, including Pakistanis, have the highest income levels, with nearly half (49%) of them having a household income above $100,000. In comparison, those groups with the lowest proportion of household incomes above $100,000 were Hispanic Muslims (15%), Afghans (10%), and African American Muslims (10%).

The Bay Area Muslim community is very diverse in terms of race and ethnicity:

South Asians (30%)

Arabs (23%)

Afghans (17%),

African Americans (9%)

Asian/Pacific Islanders (7%)

Whites (6%)

Iranians (2%)

Silicon Valley Tech Elite Protest:

While Sergey Brin (Google) and Sam Altman (Y Combinator) physically joined the protest at San Francisco International Airport, there are many more among the Who's Who of the tech world who have voiced their opposition to Trump's Muslim Ban: Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg, Tesla founder Elon Musk, Netflix founder Reed Hastings, Apple CEO Tim Cook, PayPal cofounder Max Levchin, AirBnB founder Brian Chesky, ******* founder Drew Houston, and many many more. They all know how critical the Muslim immigrant talent is to the success of their companies.

Many of the tech elite cite the fact that legendary Apple founder Steve Jobs was the son a Syrian Muslim immigrant father Abdul Fattah Jandali.

Summary:

Silicon Valley tech elite have joined the growing protests against Trump's Muslim Ban. Some have shown up at San Francisco International Airport while others have issued statements through social media to voice their opposition. Several venture capitalists have committed to match all individual contributions to ACLU, the civil rights lawyers' organization that has already raised $10 million over the weekend to fight Trump's executive order banning Muslims. They all know how critical Muslim immigrant talent pool is for the continuing success of Silicon Valley technology industry.

Here's video clip of a discussion on Trump's Muslim Ban:

Related Links:

Haq's Musings

Trump's Muslim Ban

The Trump Phenomenon

Islamophobia in America

Silicon Valley Pakistani-Americans

Pakistani-American Leads Silicon Valley's Top Incubator

Silicon Valley Pakistanis Enabling 2nd Machine Revolution

Karachi-born Triple Oscar Winning Graphics Artist

Pakistani-American Ashar Aziz's Fire-eye Goes Public

Two Pakistani-American Silicon Valley Techs Among Top 5 VC Deals

Pakistani-American's Game-Changing Vision

Minorities Are Majority in Silicon Valley
RnNZfQn2o2xpggJQqefCOervMbPIci5mujDPJnvl43kv6Rtxjyh5gHN_JKVzeU-aaGz3pePFgxfoAAtZJZNx8mveVTc-11j98EfuAJVcumUenA=s0-d-e1-ft

http://www.riazhaq.com/2017/01/massive-show-of-support-for-muslims-in.html
My cousin who lives in the states works in silicon valley and he's been very vocal against Trump's Muslim ban. It's very pleasing to see people of all faiths and backgrounds come together and stand up against Trump's racist and discriminatory policies. It's gonna be a bumpy four years ahead of us i'm afraid.

Massive Show of Support for Muslims in Silicon Valley after Trump's Ban??

We are talking about Trump here........... These massive show only work for just two days and then Trump will do issue another order.:yahoo:

.neither is the 6 months done by Obama for Iraq.

Wrong, Obama never banned Iraqi Visas for 6 months in 2011.

Why comparing Trump's and Obama's immigration restrictions is flawed
http://www.politifact.com/truth-o-m...mparing-trumps-and-obamas-immigration-restri/

As you can see he never once banned Iraqi Refugees for any period of time. He introduced stricter vetting which slowed down the process.

The Obama administration in 2011 delayed processing Iraqi refugees for six months following evidence of a failed plot by two Iraqi refugees.

Trump’s executive order temporarily bars travel to the United States for all citizens from seven countries, and it is not in direct response to actions from citizens of those countries.

Furthermore, Iraqi refugees were nonetheless admitted to the United States during the 2011 suspension while Trump has put an indefinite ban on Syrian refugees.

DO NONE OF YOU FACT CHECK!

Not at all, Sikhism.
Oh, okay okay, that is nice. Many of my childhood friends who were born sikhs have converted to Islam because Sikhism draws allot of its teachings from Islam but infused with hinduism. Here in the UK we have alot of sikhs who are converting to Islam too.

True but remember they won 31 percent of the vote. That means that 69% of Indians did not vote for them. Also, in a two major party scene people have to vote for somebody. Since he just denied killing Muslims (I agree with you that he is culpable) I'm pretty sure most of the 31 percent did not believe they were voting for a mass murderer either. I don't identify as Indian but I firmly believe that the vast majority of people in this world are good and would get along with each other given the chance.
Yes but in india they have lynched Muslims for slaughtering their cow "god" which i think is very disturbing. And so many indians i have met in real life, particularly hindus are very paranoid about Islam and complain that muslims in india are "breeding like rats". this is very disgusting.

Sab band hoga bas randi rona nae . Droves lol .

Equality ki ladai me islam ki chati peet raha hai . I am sure kal saare lefties convert ho jaengey and mosque me PUSSY GRABS BACK chillaengey :D .
FYI mein sirf urdu samajh ta hoon. ye teri hindi bakwas mujhe samaj nahi aa rahi.Jao ja ke urdu seekho aur pir aak ker bakwas marro jo marney hai. samajhey? buth pooj.

Islam is spreading Alhamdulilah. Already we Muslims are the majority here in London and we have elected a Pakistani Muslim mayor Alhamdulilah. In Sha Allah aik din hum Khilafat ka jhanda bhi lahrain ge big ben pe.

khilafat-e-rashida-is-the-only-solution.jpg

5-year-old boy handcuffed at Washington Dulles airport for being 'security threat'. #Trump's #MuslimBan

http://metro.co.uk/2017/01/31/boy-5-handcuffed-at-us-border-for-bei...

The little boy was seen on CNN being showered by kisses from his mum as they were reunited.
According to the Mirror, Senator Chris Van Hollen, who revealed that the child was from America, described the incident as ‘outrageous’.
He allegedly added that the boy was detained despite authorities having advance notice of his arrival.

Van Hollen added that he later tried to see if the child had been released – but was refused information by airport authorities.
On Friday, Trump signed an executive order banning refugees from entering the country, during a Pentagon swearing-in ceremony for Secretary of Defence, James Mattis.
He claims that the order is designed to ‘prohibit radical terrorists from entering the country’ – however, it will temporarily ban any refugee from entering the United States.
No new visas will be issued from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria or Yemen for at least 30 days.
An indefinite ban will be implemented on Syrian refugees.
Refugees from the other six countries will be banned for 120 days.

Oh, okay okay, that is nice. Many of my childhood friends who were born sikhs have converted to Islam because Sikhism draws allot of its teachings from Islam but infused with hinduism. Here in the UK we have alot of sikhs who are converting to Islam too.

Yes but in india they have lynched Muslims for slaughtering their cow "god" which i think is very disturbing. And so many indians i have met in real life, particularly hindus are very paranoid about Islam and complain that muslims in india are "breeding like rats". this is very disgusting.

FYI mein sirf urdu samajh ta hoon. ye teri hindi bakwas mujhe samaj nahi aa rahi.Jao ja ke urdu seekho aur pir aak ker bakwas marro jo marney hai. samajhey? buth pooj.

Islam is spreading Alhamdulilah. Already we Muslims are the majority here in London and we have elected a Pakistani Muslim mayor Alhamdulilah. In Sha Allah aik din hum Khilafat ka jhanda bhi lahrain ge big ben pe.

khilafat-e-rashida-is-the-only-solution.jpg

India is NOT a Muslim country ; so we are not joining your caliphate

Your Muslim population is growing at an alarming rate (Alhamdulillah) and in the near future you will have a Muslim majority in india. We will reclaim east Bengal and every inch of India in a demographic conquest.

The future is Islamic my friend, whether you like it or not.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/...christians-populations-pew-research/70769318/

PF_15.04.png

http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tan...e-the-worlds-fastest-growing-religious-group/

Allah (swta) promised us victory and Allah (swta) delivers on his promise. No one, not your Trump, not your Modi, not your Bush, Clinton, Cheney or Blair can stem the tide of Islam. They have all tried and they have all failed and so too will Trump the liberal fascist will fail as well and with him the decadent liberal west will succumb.

Mashriq aur maghrib, doono Islam ke parcham ke neechay hon gey. Chahey tumhe ye bura lagey ya acha, koi farak nahin perey ga.

Wrong, Obama never banned Iraqi Visas for 6 months in 2011.

Why comparing Trump's and Obama's immigration restrictions is flawed
http://www.politifact.com/truth-o-m...mparing-trumps-and-obamas-immigration-restri/

As you can see he never once banned Iraqi Refugees for any period of time. He introduced stricter vetting which slowed down the process.

The Obama administration in 2011 delayed processing Iraqi refugees for six months following evidence of a failed plot by two Iraqi refugees.

Trump’s executive order temporarily bars travel to the United States for all citizens from seven countries, and it is not in direct response to actions from citizens of those countries.

Furthermore, Iraqi refugees were nonetheless admitted to the United States during the 2011 suspension while Trump has put an indefinite ban on Syrian refugees.

DO NONE OF YOU FACT CHECK!

The point is precedent was set by Obama. Delayed processing is a ban, given the current "ban" is also temporary....its effectively "delayed processing" as well.

The refugees that were admitted during the Obama ban were previously approved refugees (approved before the 6 month ban was put in place). Obviously Obama couldn't stop those since he kept the "delayed processing" secret, rather than overt.

Thats the only difference between the two policies (pre-approved get stopped now under this new ban I believe).....but thats not the detailed specific thing any of the protestors protest about....they are more concerned about promoting the false news that this is a "muslim ban"....so they rightfully lose credibility while they do that.

The point is precedent was set by Obama. Delayed processing is a ban, given the current "ban" is also temporary....its effectively "delayed processing" as well.

The refugees that were admitted during the Obama ban were previously approved refugees (approved before the 6 month ban was put in place). Thats the only difference between the two policies (pre-approved get stopped now under this new ban I believe).....but thats not the detailed specific thing any of the protestors protest about....they are more concerned about promoting the false news that this is a "muslim ban"....so they rightfully lose credibility while they do that.

No it isn't a slow down and extra vetting is not banning, what kind of idiot thinks that?

You are an idiot grasping at straws that don't exist so cut it. You're just embarrassing yourself.

No it isn't a slow down and extra vetting is not banning, what kind of idiot thinks that?

You are an idiot grasping at straws that don't exist so cut it. You're just embarrassing yourself.

Read the sentence again.

"The Obama administration in 2011 delayed processing Iraqi refugees for six months "

It wasn't delayed processing during the six months, six months was the duration of the delay. Delay here is being used as a verb, not an adjective.

That is effectively a ban of 6 months (for fresh applications) and definitely more stringency on previously approved cases admittance too for that same time period.... no matter how you cut it. If you are unable to understand basic english, not my fault.

Yes there is a flaw comparing both situations on one to one basis of being totally equivalent, there are differences.....but its a much bigger serious flaw to call the Trump ban as a "muslim ban".

There is no doubting the Obama 6 month "delayed processing" was a ban and set more recent precedent for the Trump admin to use, on top of the temporary ban on Iranians entering the country set during the Carter administration and the much more serious internment of Japanese American Citizens by FDR...and probably other actions I can't immediately recall right now.

All of these are legal actions by the US govt concerning its security. You can debate the morality of it, but not the legality or that they all stem from the same precedent branch.

Just like Obama saw a threat from the refugee plot, Trump sees a larger scale general threatening situation and wants time to apply new security measures in specific countries admittance procedures.

Read the sentence again.

"The Obama administration in 2011 delayed processing Iraqi refugees for six months "

It wasn't delayed processing during the six months, six months was the duration of the delay. Delay here is being used as a verb, not an adjective.

That is effectively a ban of 6 months (for fresh applications) and definitely more stringency on previously approved cases admittance too for that same time period.... no matter how you cut it. If you are unable to understand basic english, not my fault.

Yes there is a flaw comparing both situations on one to one basis of being totally equivalent, there are differences.....but its a much bigger serious flaw to call the Trump ban as a "muslim ban".

There is no doubting the Obama 6 month "delayed processing" was a ban and set more recent precedent for the Trump admin to use, on top of the temporary ban on Iranians entering the country set during the Carter administration and the much more serious internment of Japanese American Citizens by FDR...and probably other actions I can't immediately recall right now.

All of these are legal actions by the US govt concerning its security. You can debate the morality of it, but not the legality or that they all stem from the same precedent branch.

Just like Obama saw a threat from the refugee plot, Trump sees a larger scale general threatening situation and wants time to apply new security measures in specific countries admittance procedures.

Do you know the definition of delay?

verb
  1. 1.
    make (someone or something) late or slow.
    "the train was delayed"
    synonyms: make late, slow up/down, bog down; More

Refugees were still accepted, they just had to take more time to vet. So don't give me that complete horseshit. Stop grasping straws.

Do you know the definition of delay?

verb
  1. 1.
    make (someone or something) late or slow.
    "the train was delayed"
    synonyms: make late, slow up/down, bog down; More

Refugees were still accepted, they just had to take more time to vet. So don't give me that complete horseshit. Stop grasping straws.

And it was delayed for 6 months. My god you are dumb:

i.e 6 months with ZERO new approvals....completely based on being from a country and a terrorist threat perceived to emanate from that country. That's a ban. If you want to claim it was partial (since it only governed new approvals), thats fine....its still a ban however and added precedent. Trump goes one step further in stopping pre-approved as well and having 7 countries on the list. Again temporarily and legally. Its effectively a delay as well given its temporary nature.

Not that a permanent ban would be illegal btw. Each country can decide for itself which country's people it wants to admit and not admit (have you ever looked at how many countries ban Israeli citizens from admittance?...or even those that just have evidence of having visited Israel?). It however cannot be done on the basis of religion like all the protestors are hollering about....just like the anti-Israel countries dont do it on basis of being Jewish.

Only few thousands protestors??
Before America Iraq war, Million + protester gathered but still they couldn't stop war.