Man killed after US diplomat's vehicle hits motorcycle in Islamabad
By Arsalan Altaf
Published: April 7, 2018
SHARE TWEET EMAIL
1680036-suv-1523114207-263-640x480.jpg

The US diplomat's land cruiser. PHOTO: EXPRESS

1680036-suv-1523114235-500-160x120.jpg
1680036-suv-1523114207-263-160x120.jpg

ISLAMABAD: A man was killed while another sustained injuries as a land cruiser being driven by the US military attache rammed into their motorcycle on Saturday.

The accident occurred in the Daman-e-Koh area at around 3pm when the defence and air attache Col Joseph Emanual’s vehicle, bearing no. QM-058 (64-48) hit the bike bearing no. ARM-900.

The impact of the accident killed Muhammad Ateeq Baig, son of Muhammad Idrees on the spot, while his cousin Raheel son of Changez was injured.

image-1523114124.jpg
Ateeq Baig. PHOTO: EXPRESS

The diplomat’s SUV was later shifted to Kohsar police station. Though an investigation has been started, there have been no reports of the attache’s arrest.

Meanwhile, the Foreign Office spokesperson released a statement, saying the incident is being looked into.

US reaches out to Pakistan to foster diplomatic ties: sources

“An accident involving a US embassy vehicle occurred in Islamabad. MOFA is looking into the matter,” said Dr Mohammad Faisal. “Investigations are being carried out.”

Further, the US embassy in a statement confirmed the incident, saying they are in contact with the local authorities.

In a stark similarity, in February 2013, a Capital Development Authority (CDA) employee died and his companion was injured critically when an over speeding vehicle with US embassy number plate hit their motorcycle.

. . . . .
Time to ask for the traitor Hussein Haqqani. Americans will go to any level to save their dogs.

I can't name the country, I was posted there and a Pakistani diplomat crossed red signal and sped away...he was arrested sitting in my office and when I intervene they told me whatever you can do must be through court till then he is criminal and must visit lock up.

He was released after 15 days just over traffic rule violation...

Have some spine and arrest the driver since US diplomats prefer Pakistani drivers.

Even we don't have courage to arrest civilian Pakistani drivers.

I can't name the country, I was posted there and a Pakistani diplomat crossed red signal and sped away...he was arrested sitting in my office and when I intervene they told me whatever you can do must be through court till then he is criminal and must visit lock up.

He was released after 15 days just over traffic rule violation...

Have some spine and arrest the driver since US diplomats prefer Pakistani drivers.

Even we don't have courage to arrest civilian Pakistani drivers.
Bro little while back I was out of country and in hostile environment I over sped infront of police later I had a fist fight inpolice station and told them to touch me if they can in a mix of english and there native language and then I left :partay:

That country must be Gujranwala or Nepal since you can't get rid of violation with such behavior and don't tell me you are talking about Afghanistan.

Few years back I was in Sri Lanka and they arrest me for making a fight with local in desi bar.
Few phones from Pakistan from high ranks worked when I spent full day in police station.

It happens only in Pakistan " Mujhe janta nahien hai paytee utrwa doun gha...mera chacha brigadier hai".

I think we deserve this until and unless corruption from political and military elite is eliminated.

That country must be Gujranwala or Nepal since you can't get rid of violation with such behavior and don't tell me you are talking about Afghanistan.

Few years back I was in Sri Lanka and they arrest me for making a fight with local in desi bar.
Few phones from Pakistan from high ranks worked when I spent full day in police station.

It happens only in Pakistan " Mujhe janta nahien hai paytee utrwa doun gha...mera chacha brigadier hai".
NO! that country was in West Asia:D
True only in pakistan u can go away with diff references:pakistan:

Read my above post....#7

US humiliates female Indian diplomat and searched strip searched her.

You are talking about Devyani Khobragarde. At the time of her arrest, she worked at the Indian consulate in New York and had consular immunity, which is different from diplomatic immunity. Those with consular immunity have fewer rights than those with diplomatic immunity. They can be arrested. This might pertain to the Pakistani diplomat you mentioned in post #7.