Major oil find near Pak-Iran border

Hussain Haqqani and PML(N) are responsible for the existing political climate. PTI can fix it.

We should honor existing contract at minimum. When it is complete, we can look for alternatives but Shale oil extraction is a difficult and hazardous affair, my friend. Alternatives key chakr mein nuqsaan naa hoo yaa suboptimal output nah ho.
shale has huge environmental implications so its better to keep away from it until better extractions are available. I am sure alternatives are available for offshore oil drilling just need to explore all options.

Scores of members here are not aware of shady dealings with Chinese companies in these matters, I suppose. We should elect good politicians to lead our country - all will be good
All such deals with china or halal and any word against CPEC and those deals at personal level would qualify you for being a RAW agent and yahoodi alakar.

KARACHI: Minister for Maritime Affairs and Foreign Affairs Abdullah Hussain Haroon on Friday said that ExxonMobil has indicated that it is close to hitting huge oil reserves near the Pak-Iran border, which could be even bigger than the Kuwaiti reserves.

Addressing business leaders at the Federation of Pakistan Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FPCCI), the minister said that ExxonMobil — an American multinational oil and gas company — has so far drilled up to 5,000 meters close to the Iranian border and is optimistic about the oil find.

The Government of Pakistan, he said, has already taken an undertaking from the company to set up a generation complex worth $10 billion.

The government is also encouraging Chinese and Western investment in the country, he added.

He further said that there is a need to integrate the Karachi Port and Port Qasim so that they could supplement each other in the larger interest of the country.

On the occasion, he said the Pakistan National Shipping Corporation (PNSC) has sufficient funds for purchasing two vessels but this will be done by next government.

The minister said that there is greater need to have new area for fish harbour because the existing one has many issues and there is shortage of land. However, he regretted that the harbour is not well kept and hoped that the European Union (EU) will give subsidy for new fish harbour.

“Foreign investors are interested in coming to Pakistan, provided we manage to meet their standards and attract them to make investment,” he stressed.

The minister advised that ports should be developed so that they could meet the country’s demand on the basis of its markets and products and fully supported the Karachi Port Trust (KPT) development projects highlighted by KPT Chairman Admiral Jamil Akhtar.

Responding to a question, Mr Haroon said that there was no need to give Pakistani land to foreigners, adding: “There is need that as a nation should take up such projects of national importance.”

Published in Dawn, August 4th, 2018
I work for Exxon owned company, they're good to their workers. Hope they build something in Pakistan

ExxonMobil ain't drilling anywhere in Pakistan.

A recent well in that region was drilled by PPL, but that has gone dry (no discovery found) and since has been plugged.

No other discovery found there as of yet.

More reserves than Kuwait?

I call BS on this report.

You don't declare reserves based on undrilled resources. You can make some assumptions based on seismic data but not quantify presence of hydrocarbons. You need exploratory wells for that.

ExxonMobil did acquire exploratory lands for 2019 drilling. We are not in 2019 yet. No wells have been completed yet.

Does Pakistan have potential for significant additional conventional reserves? Yes - but unproven

Does Pakistan have unconventional reserves? Yes - proven & possible

KARACHI: Minister for Maritime Affairs and Foreign Affairs Abdullah Hussain Haroon on Friday said that ExxonMobil has indicated that it is close to hitting huge oil reserves near the Pak-Iran border, which could be even bigger than the Kuwaiti reserves.

Addressing business leaders at the Federation of Pakistan Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FPCCI), the minister said that ExxonMobil — an American multinational oil and gas company — has so far drilled up to 5,000 meters close to the Iranian border and is optimistic about the oil find.

The Government of Pakistan, he said, has already taken an undertaking from the company to set up a generation complex worth $10 billion.

The government is also encouraging Chinese and Western investment in the country, he added.

He further said that there is a need to integrate the Karachi Port and Port Qasim so that they could supplement each other in the larger interest of the country.

On the occasion, he said the Pakistan National Shipping Corporation (PNSC) has sufficient funds for purchasing two vessels but this will be done by next government.

The minister said that there is greater need to have new area for fish harbour because the existing one has many issues and there is shortage of land. However, he regretted that the harbour is not well kept and hoped that the European Union (EU) will give subsidy for new fish harbour.

“Foreign investors are interested in coming to Pakistan, provided we manage to meet their standards and attract them to make investment,” he stressed.

The minister advised that ports should be developed so that they could meet the country’s demand on the basis of its markets and products and fully supported the Karachi Port Trust (KPT) development projects highlighted by KPT Chairman Admiral Jamil Akhtar.

Responding to a question, Mr Haroon said that there was no need to give Pakistani land to foreigners, adding: “There is need that as a nation should take up such projects of national importance.”

Published in Dawn, August 4th, 2018

More reserves than Kuwait?

I call BS on this report.

You don't declare reserves based on undrilled resources. You can make some assumptions based on seismic data but not quantify presence of hydrocarbons. You need exploratory wells for that.

ExxonMobil did acquire exploratory lands for 2019 drilling. We are not in 2019 yet. No wells have been completed yet.

Does Pakistan have potential for significant additional conventional reserves? Yes - but unproven

Does Pakistan have unconventional reserves? Yes - proven & possible

I Have Some Background On This.The Area Forms Part Of The Balochistan Basin.This Is Known To Geologists To Contain Large Hydrocarbons.Actually Geologists Have Likened It To Cook Inlet In Alaska.

So It May Not Be Surprising

2265-1 is not situated near Iran but at the south of Sindh coast below Thata-Badin .... read map at page-6, BTW if there was no further misreporting about this new than probably the discovery might be of substantial size as this is area where our oil belt exist
http://www.ppisonline.com/gov-policy/@dm!n/uploadImage/63/InvestmentBrochure2013.pdfhttp://www.ppisonline.com/gov-policy/@dm!n/uploadImage/63/InvestmentBrochure2013.pdf

or this one: http://www.shahzadintl.com.pk/companies/PEL/activity_map.pdf

The Real Problem Is The Lack Of Oil Refinery In Badin.You See National Refinery and Pakistan Refinery Cannot Refine Badin Crude.Now B'coz Of This Many Oil Wells Were Capped(Back In 1990s More Than 40 Wells Were Capped and Remained Unutilized In One Block Alone).Oil Experts Have Said That If A Refinery Is Established Multifold Increase In Badin Can Take Place

Kuch bhi nhi kar pai gai. Inki aukaat nhi hai kuch karna ki chaha jitni bharri luuli ku na ho.
main aur app apni maserati ghuma gai aur gawader beach par phoondhi karain ga :partay:

Bhai Ko Saath Le Kar Nahi Jaye Ga??????:-):-):-)

I Have Some Background On This.The Area Forms Part Of The Balochistan Basin.This Is Known To Geologists To Contain Large Hydrocarbons.Actually Geologists Have Likened It To Cook Inlet In Alaska.

So It May Not Be Surprising

The Real Problem Is The Lack Of Oil Refinery In Badin.You See National Refinery and Pakistan Refinery Cannot Refine Badin Crude.Now B'coz Of This Many Oil Wells Were Capped(Back In 1990s More Than 40 Wells Were Capped and Remained Unutilized In One Block Alone).Oil Experts Have Said That If A Refinery Is Established Multifold Increase In Badin Can Take Place

Bhai Ko Saath Le Kar Nahi Jaye Ga??????:-):-):-)
Bhai app tou waisa hee S wing ke jiyala hai app Ferrari par honga aur kunka main B aur T wing ka jiyala hoon tou main maserati par hoon ga baki phoodi full tight karen ga8-):chilli::thinktank::mps:

If wishes could be fishes .........

I Am Saying There Is A Good Chance.The Area Mentioned In The Report Is Balochistan Basin Which Is Totally Unexplored Until Now.But According To Geologists Like V.N Quadri and S.M Shoaib This Region Is Analogous To Alaska's Cook Inlet So The Potential Of Super Large Oil Deposits Is High.

I don't know why but this reason look illogical .... why the oil could not be transferred to oil refinery in Karachi .... ??? it a routine thing ....

Even Then It Costs Money And The Refineries Of Karachi Can Only Refine Iranian and Arab Crude.The Badin Crude Is Relatively Waxy Containing High Parrafin Content.Therefore Transport It To Port and Exporting To Foreign Refineries.For Oil Companies Who Worked At That Time(Union Texas) This Was Uneconomical Since International Oil Prices Were Quite Low At That Time.Remember I Am Talking About The 90s

I'll wait until its confirmed, if its true it would be a game changer for us. I still hope we focus on getting 100% of our energy needs from renewable sources. That should be the long term target.