Maharashtra ‘scraps’ jobs reservations for Muslims, Asaduddin Owaisi’s MIM to launch protests

Reservations were and are a silly idea. There is no tomorrow to such demands- and because they are popular demands- legislators will necessarily bow to them. The Constitution should have been extremely firm on Article 14- or at least the courts should have.Like there is no good Taliban, there is no good discrimination. Merit should be the only guiding principle. This will be an albatross for the future.

Forget about giving reservation based on religion, reservation to even SC/ST/OBC, region and ethnicity need to be scrapped.

A mordern state provides equal opportunities to all.. provide free education in government institutions at power with private institutions and then let them be chosen to on the bases of merit.

Scholarship to deserving for higher education shall be provided on the basis of merit and need and not caste and community..as is done in reputed educational institutions of western hemisphere.

Survival of the fittest is the law of nature...it should not be tampered with.

I have already given more than 1 reason in this thread.

We are the most discriminated and persecuted community in India. Our econimic condition is very bad. Remember it was the Hindus who promised us fair treatment if we stayed in India after the partition. SCs and STs have already benefitted a lot from reservations now it is the time of Muslims.
Reservations to Hindus should be scrapped and instead only Muslims should be give reservations.

This is what I propose:
  1. 25% reservations in jobs(pvt as well as Govt) and education
  2. Graduation level education of Muslims must be sponsored totally by the government.
  3. 0% interest loans to Muslim entrepreneurs
  4. 25% Reservation in Legislature
  5. Haj subsidy must be scrapped instead the state should totally sponsor the expenses of Muslim pilgrims

..i wrote a detailed answer for you , had a look at your profile , ur only 22 son. please listen , if you are educated , no one can stop you from getting a job which you deserve... same goes for others who ask for Quotas .
so pls study , do sports etc. whatever but stay away from people like owaisi etc... these people use young and naive ones , before you know they will have a little hanky-panky with BJP if it will suit them. its all about their own interest , they are not interested in other people. They are leeches and vampires . Think about your family too yaar. they must have high expectations off you.
take care.

Forget about giving reservation based on religion, reservation to even SC/ST/OBC, region and ethnicity need to be scrapped.

A mordern state provides equal opportunities to all.. provide free education in government institutions at power with private institutions and then let them be chosen to on the bases of merit.

Scholarship to deserving for higher education shall be provided on the basis of merit and need and not caste and community..as is done in reputed educational institutions of western hemisphere.

Survival of the fittest is the law of nature...it should not be tampered with.
Social security in the West is based on this criteria. They don't make distinctions based on caste, creed, religion or colour. Purely based on individual's financial & social circumstances! This works wonderfully well.. & no one complaints! Unfortunately this kinda system wouldn't appeal to our law makers... simply 'cause there isn't enough incentive to convert this into votebank. A bold, honest & impartial initiative is needed by the political class to overcome this!

Excellent. No more freebies. Either work for it like all other communities or sod off to whichever country they feel if right.

Their sense of entitlement is amazing. They hate 'kafirs' , live in kafir nations, get kafir benefits, but will go and join ISIS from Maharashtra.

Good move by Fadnavis.

@Stephen Cohen No muslim is afraid of prison. If they imprison us, then expect more Muslim support for MIM.

And you're proud of going to prison for some freebies which make our societies in equal? Indeed secularism of years has given too much say.

Go ahead and support them. this only shows the real colors of your community. you'll prove Bajrang Dal and Shiv Sena right again.

Why the Fook do we even need reservations
I hope the high corurt will take the right des vision
Exactly! Why should Muslims get reservations? On what grounds? For God's sake they aren't even a minority community what with a population of more than 180 million, the third largest in the world after Indonesia and Pakistan.

Why can't they stand on their own feet and get government jobs on merit? Enough of these freebies and reservations in jobs and promotions. They've been spoilt silly by Congress' 'sickularism' of pandering to their vote banks. Enough is enough.

Asaduddin-Owaisi-PTIL.jpg

Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) will launch an agitation against Maharashtra government’s decision to scrap job reservations for Muslims.

MIM MLA from Aurangabad, Imtiaz Jaleel and Byculla MLA Waris Pahan will also be addressing the gathering which will be attended by party workers from across the state.

The party has asked all MIM units to submit a memorandum to respective district collectors or tehsildars on January 6 to register their protest against the state government’s indifferent attitude towards reservation for Muslims, Jaleel said.

“The state government has brought a bill in the Nagpur state legislative assembly session in December that will enable 16 per cent reservations for Marathas while refusing to bring an ordinance for continuing reservations for Muslims,” he said.

The matter related to reservations for Muslims and Marathas is scheduled to be heard in the Bombay High Court, after the Supreme Court refused to entertain the petition of the state government.

The party will hold a rally in Beed on January 6, to be addressed by party President Asaduddin Owaisi.

Maharashtra ‘scraps’ jobs reservations for Muslims, Asaduddin Owaisi’s Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen to launch protests | The Financial Express
@jamahir @acetophenol

All religion and caste based reservations should be scrapped. Selection should be based on merit and merit alone, not because one was born under a religion or caste.

Their opinion may not change ground reality but yes my posts can certainly change their perception and there are many in India who hold a similar opinion. Well coming to the point, what does the following mean if OBC muslims are already getting reservation?

"“The state government has brought a bill in the Nagpur state legislative assembly session in December that will enable 16 per cent reservations for Marathas while refusing to bring an ordinance for continuing reservations for Muslims,” he said."

Source:Maharashtra ‘scraps’ jobs reservations for Muslims, Asaduddin Owaisi’s Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen to launch protests | The Financial Express
They can't just do away reservations for OBC Muslims, it is unconstitutional. All Muslim castes which are declared OBC in Maharashtra will get reservations under OBC quota. They will have to remove every Muslim caste from OBC for this report to be true which they can't . If there's a separate provision for reservations only for Muslims in Maharashtra and they are talking about discontinuing that then its a different matter. Muslims will still get reservations under OBC quota.

Time for Indian Muslims to stand up for their Rights ..:close_tema:check that document again

What rights janab? A student who performed better in the exams and who has much greater experience and talent will be overtaken unfairly by others just based on these stupid reservation and quota things. Selection should be on the basis of merit alone, not because of your parent happened to be a muslim or christian.

if muslims have castes they are not following islam then. they need to be executed as per islam isn't it?
Muslims have no caste, there are no separate mosque for each and every caste. A muslim from SC/ST/OBC is free to lead prayers, worship shoulder to shoulder with other muslims. The backward muslims are categorized in above castes in accordance with other religions as per existing standards in India. Though I wouldn't prefer caste based reservation and instead would want reservation based on one's financial condition for every Indian irrespective of their caste but since caste based reservation is the norm, then backward muslims and christians should also get it...

All religion and caste based reservations should be scrapped. Selection should be based on merit and merit alone, not because one was born under a religion or caste.

We need more people like you

Muslims must stop demanding reservation: Najma Heptullah - The Times of India
Jan 4, 2015

MUMBAI: Union minister for minority affairs Najma Heptullah said on Saturday that Muslims should stop demanding reservation and should, instead, concentrate on empowering themselves with education and skills.

On her second trip to the city after she joined the Narendra Modi-led cabinet, she was speaking the media and Muslim activists at Sahyadri Guest House, Malabar Hill, on Saturday, Heptullah said, "I have always maintained that reservation is a crutch, which saps the energy to face challenges. Muslims will not get reservation as the Constitution doesn't allow quota on religious ground. I am a Muslim and a woman. Did I ever need reservation? The same applies to my fellow community members," said Heptullah, claiming ignorance of the grounds on which the BJP government in the state has brought in a bill for Maratha reservation (16%) while keeping mum on the 5% Muslim reservation in government jobs and education declared by the Congress-NCP government.

"I reiterate that Muslims should not waste time and energy, demanding quota as it is mere tokenism," she said.

She, however, promised to convey the disappointment of Muslims to the Maharashtra CM and the PM .

Heptuallh said that of 7 lakh Wakf properties across the country, Maharashtra alone has 30,000. "If fully utilized, Wakf properties will generate around Rs 20,000 crore annually which can make the community self-reliant," she said.

Heptuallh announced the regional offices of National Minorities Development Finance Corporation which will undertake skill training of minorities. She said her department plans to set up a western regional office in Mumbai to take centre's schemes to the beneficiaries in this part of the country.

Indian Muslims should not get reservation on religion basis but they can benefit from schemes from the state and central government.

Jains got minority status and i think because of this only the demand of Muslim reservation is being demanded.

Minority status to benefit Jain students - The Hindu
Now, Jain students whose family’s annual income is less than Rs. 2.5 lakh are eligible for scholarship given by the State government, which recognises Jains as minority community.

But with national minority status accorded by Union government, this limit goes up to Rs. 4.5 lakh, under Centrally-sponsored scholarships.

“One of the biggest benefits from the minority status will be in the education sector both for students as well institutions run by Jains. Students from our community will now have access to a number of Central scholarships, which were hitherto not available to us,” said Jitendra Jain, president of Karnataka Jain Association.

"I reiterate that Muslims should not waste time and energy, demanding quota as it is mere tokenism," she said.

What sell-out Muslims think doesn't matter. The fact is that 99.99% of Muslims want reservations. It is our fundamental right.