Your father / you can actually Open a fraud case against your uncle , and demand the Banks where he deposited the checks show if the money indeed was removed from it after check cleared
How long the courts will take to pass a judgement so Banks would be obliged to disclose the financial track history of your uncle god knows if they is possible.
However owning Property in Pakistan while abroad is not illegal
However , let it be known in Pakistan , you can't move that kind of Money easyly
This is a good idea, you can lodge a complaint with Banking Mohtasib, my father money was taken from his account without permission recently from the Bank Manager and my father wrote to the Banking Mohtasib and they got the problem sorted in a few weeks. Very good service.
http://www.bankingmohtasib.gov.pk/complaints.php
Yes you're right, my bad, it was lost within a span of 15-20 days - I misunderstood my father.
Also, we gave my uncle the rights to sell the property.
Yes you're right, my bad, it was lost within a span of 15-20 days - I misunderstood my father.
Also, we gave my uncle the rights to sell the property.
I doubt he would do that, he has recently tried to commit suicide multiple times but was discovered and stopped by family members.One of my mate’s uncles’s "lost" their money in a similar way (around same amount). Later came to know he bought a house with some that he denied, but documents came out on his name. Focus on your "Uncle" first...
No you don't have any legal or other mean to recover the money, only you can press your Uncle if he have left any but I think he is laying, investigate yourself and find tge truth and in case he actually loose all money in gambling then say Inna lillahe wa ina alhe rajeon and move on.My father and I live in the U.S and we have a lot of property in Pakistan in which we sell and buy to make money. We cannot make constant trips, so my father's handler for this business is his brother who my father trusted really well and we had bought/sold many properties through him.
We sold a plot worth around 3 crore (around 260,000 dollars) and the check/cash was given to my uncle in his name by the buyer. My uncle lost all of the money within a span of 15-20 days to gambling inflicting a large financial and emotional blow to the family.
There is little that we can do against the gambling mafia as they are dangerous and have lots of influence and connections, taking any action against them can threaten your life and the life of your family members.
Is there anything that can be done to recover this money through legal methods considering that gambling is illegal in Pakistan? I know it's pretty hopeless at this point, but are there any options?
My uncle was near to committing suicide and we would not like to press any legal actions against him. If it's possible, legal action should be directed towards the gamblers instead.
He has tried to take his life and my father does not want to add any extra-pressure on him, especially trying to lodge a case against him. Even if we lodge a case, where will we get the money back from?You gave him the rights to sell the property but by no means authorise misuse of money. This is fraudulent and you can actually lodge a case - I know it’s not nice when it’s family members but the other best option is get him to retrieve the money or name his asset to you guys of an equivalent amount to compensate
I doubt he would do that, he has recently tried to commit suicide multiple times but was discovered and stopped by family members.
My father and I live in the U.S and we have a lot of property in Pakistan in which we sell and buy to make money. We cannot make constant trips, so my father's handler for this business is his brother who my father trusted really well and we had bought/sold many properties through him.
We sold a plot worth around 3 crore (around 260,000 dollars) and the check/cash was given to my uncle in his name by the buyer. My uncle lost all of the money within a span of 15-20 days to gambling inflicting a large financial and emotional blow to the family.
There is little that we can do against the gambling mafia as they are dangerous and have lots of influence and connections, taking any action against them can threaten your life and the life of your family members.
Is there anything that can be done to recover this money through legal methods considering that gambling is illegal in Pakistan? I know it's pretty hopeless at this point, but are there any options?
My uncle was near to committing suicide and we would not like to press any legal actions against him. If it's possible, legal action should be directed towards the gamblers instead.
It's gone bro. Most organised gambling involves kick backs to the police to turn a blind eye. You could try approaching the police but all that will happen is you will pay bribes to police officers, judges and fees to lawyers just to get your case heard. In the end nothing will come of it.
It's most unfortunate, no matter how wealthy you are, $250,000 is a lot of money. My advice, if you don't live in Pakistan, invest in America.
Banking Mohtasib still might be able to help you, this is because technically you gave your uncle rights to do business in your father's name, it's kind of like a business partnership. They will probably be able to pressurize the bank into telling you if the money is still in his account.When he sold the property, he put the money into his own account.
He has tried to take his life and my father does not want to add any extra-pressure on him, especially trying to lodge a case against him. Even if we lodge a case, where will we get the money back from?
His assets are no where close to $260,000, so he cannot compensate and nor can he retrieve any of the money back.
We checked the account and noticed deposits, only around 18 lakh is left.Banking Mohtasib still might be able to help you, this is because technically you gave your uncle rights to do business in your father's name, it's kind of like a business partnership. They will probably be able to pressurize the bank into telling you if the money is still in his account.
Even if we were to hypothetically lodge a case against him, how would we get the money? He has no means to provide it.Dekh Bhaiya , either you want your money back or go hug the Uncle
This is the course of action to follow. It will at the very least rule out any suspicion.He must have bought OTHER property under his name
Actually financial trail or investigation involve tracking down if he registered new property under his name and inquire source of income for these
It is almost IMPOSSIBLE .. to see 260k being deposited and then mere 15 days it is reduced to 18 k
He must have just bought 10-15 property and put it under his name you said he was a Property broker, your uncle will wait for those property to rise in value and then he will sell it later and claim profits
If he said to you he has no money , while on other hand he registerd 10-15 plots under his name, that strengthens the case in court that some thing odd was taking place.
Yes the money can be recovered but your uncle will have to face a jail time along the gambler Mafia as Gambling is illegal in Pakistan. The money will be recovered by police and then you will claim it via court.My father and I live in the U.S and we have a lot of property in Pakistan in which we sell and buy to make money. We cannot make constant trips, so my father's handler for this business is his brother who my father trusted really well and we had bought/sold many properties through him.