Letters : HAL replies to Ajai Shukla’s columns

arp2041

This refers to Ajai Shukla’s column “Making the Tejas fly” (Broadsword, December 11) and his report “Rs 1,500 crore more for combat aircraft Tejas as HAL fails to meet target” (December 9). We are pained that he has chosen to criticise Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) based on half-truths and comments made by a retired personnel.

Let us not forget that there are delays in aerospace projects worldwide. Singling out HAL is, therefore, not fair. Given the national interest involved, comments against HAL and its “monopoly” too should be taken with a pinch of salt. We can confirm that the project is under consideration for upgrade of facilities to enable HAL to ramp up its production-capacity. The benefit of the funding is not intended for the current order that HAL already has in hand, but the actual requirement will be for future orders.

It should be noted that Tejas is currently not produced to frozen designs, as it has been conceived as a concurrent design and manufacturing programme. Inputs from flight trails are utilised to refine the design of the various systems and are incorporated in builing the next aircraft. Hence, changes take place in the hardware (structure) and considerable effort is involved to absorb these modifications in the subsequent aircraft. It is not that HAL does not have the capacity for production of Tejas aircraft. The production facility is already in place and the manufacturing of LSP (Limited Seried Production) aircraft is under progress. Contrary to what is suggested, HAL and the Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) have cordial relations.

The writer says HAL-built Sukhois are costlier when compared to the job done in Russia. He ignores the “life-cycle costs”, though difficult to estimate at this stage, would be significantly higher if India depends on foreign suppliers in sustaining such sophisticated aircraft. After all, these Sukhois are likely to serve us, say, up to 30 years, and would need overhauling, repairs and upgrades that need to be carried out on Indian soil.

Gopal Sutar
Chief of Media Communications
Hindustan Aeronautics Limited
Bangalore

Ajai Shukla’s response:
My opinion piece argues, among other things, that poor production quality erodes the Indian Air Force’s confidence in Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL)-built aircraft. These points are known, acknowledged internationally and accepted by credible analysts in the Indian aerospace community — the Indian Air Force, the Ministry of Defence, private sector defence companies and a growing number of people within HAL. I stand by the views expressed in my column.

The report in question is based on an official briefing by Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA), and multiple conversations with serving Ministry of Defence and Indian Air Force officials, who are obviously sensitive about being quoted. While rebutting nothing factual in the article, HAL wrongly says the report suggests bad blood between HAL and ADA. The report quotes ADA Director P S Subramanian to defend HAL. How does the article allege poor relations between HAL and ADA if it quotes the ADA chief defending HAL?

HAL does not deny that the Sukhois it builds are far more expensive than buying from Russia directly. Instead, it claims that building in HAL lowers the aircraft’s life-cycle costs. Actually, despite paying its workers less than Russian manufacturers, HAL is costlier in manufacturing, repair as well as overhaul. HAL also claims that delays are endemic to fighter production and, therefore, nothing need be said. In fact, HAL has long exhausted all the slack that the Ministry of Defence and Indian Air Force could cut for it. In the eyes of its customers, HAL’s delays can no longer be condoned.

Letters can be mailed, faxed or e-mailed to:
The Editor, Business Standard

Letters : HAL replies to Ajai Shukla

Wow. I'm surprised that HAL even bothered to respond to criticism. Atleast Mr.Gopal Sutar of HAL seems to take his job seriously.

What this tells you is that govt entities like HAl and defence/intel agencies read what is on such sites including this. Don;t be surprised if our input makes significant changes in policy

According to him we should just SCRAP MMRCA & LCA Tejas & go for "5th gen" F-35s :hitwall:

Im not surprised such ppl can be easily paid by foriegn entites to skew a certin view for PR and influence. Hell, Look at Indian news and how they can be corrupted and bribed.

Shukla must know that HAL is the only company in india capable of making such aircraft and absorb technology.......HAL made sukhois are more expensive because of the licensing fee involved,though it may cost higher now in the future such expertise will be invaluable....

What Shukla says is none of HAL's business. Its nothing but a manufacturing company.

There are problems are HAL there is no denying this the recent Su30 MKI crash was due to a servicing error and also in 2009 there was another crash linked to HAL due to a fault in the assembly line so I do agree in part with Shukla but do not share his whole view.

Its good to see HAL shaken up enough to respond to Shukla's article :enjoy:. ....maybe the news of HAL going public must have made its senior officials nervous and they seems desperate to keep their jobs.

Sadly its reply makes it look worse, not better. It would have been better for HAL to have kept its mouth shut !

Its good to see HAL shaken up enough to respond to Shukla's article :enjoy:. ....maybe the news of HAL going public must have made its senior officials nervous and they seems desperate to keep their jobs.

Sadly its reply makes it look worse, not better. It would have been better for HAL to have kept its mouth shut !

Agreed, one of the major failings of the GoI/MoD is that they allow such mis-information and,frankly, malicious lied to go unchallenged as a result such fallacies that are written or spoken by fools is accepted into the public consciousness and taken as fact. The term "desi journalism" doesn't convey the harm these fools are doing to their nation or public services. We can see how this played out earlier this year when a routine military excersie was manipulated into an attempted coup attempt by VK Singh! Equally the news about Walmart and lobbying in the US was manipulated by those with vested interests to accuse them, wrongly, of conducting such activities in India.

The GoI/MoD has to take responsibility for their part in not correcting these fallacies swiftly.

Mr shukla is a JackA$$, and it is clearly known who is bankrolling such articles.

He is a @ss but I didn't understand why HAL didn't explain why cost per Sukoi is higher ??? "Life cycle cost" is lower good thing. But why per unit cost hasn't come down ???
Are we lacking something ??? Nobody is against home production but we got to know what is eating up resources.
Can you explain it Sir ???

Wow. I'm surprised that HAL even bothered to respond to criticism. Atleast Mr.Gopal Sutar of HAL seems to take his job seriously.

I would have preffered a press confference than replying to the individual. It will just make him more crazy

He is a @ss but I didn't understand why HAL didn't explain why cost per Sukoi is higher ??? "Life cycle cost" is lower good thing. But why per unit cost hasn't come down ???
Are we lacking something ??? Nobody is against home production but we got to know what is eating up resources.

HAL sukhois are costlier b'coz of two reasons:

first, we have to pay a royalty to the Russians to produce it.
second, we have to source the parts from a no. of vendors (private, public, Russians) while this is not the case with Russia + Russia make more sukhois than HAL each year (since they have to export to many nations while HAL has to make it only for IAF) hence there cost reduces - "ECONOMIES OF SCALE".

I would have preffered a press confference than replying to the individual. It will just make him more crazy

No need for HAL to do a PR exercise, IAF needs there planes not there press conference, people like Ajai will not get satisfied even with a press conference b'coz they think F-35 is a God Send plane & we should accept it with both hands.

HAL sukhois are costlier b'coz of two reasons:

first, we have to pay a royalty to the Russians to produce it.
second, we have to source the parts from a no. of vendors (private, public, Russians) while this is not the case with Russia + Russia make more sukhois than HAL each year (since they have to export to many nations while HAL has to make it only for IAF) hence there cost reduces - "ECONOMIES OF SCALE".
production reduces per unit cost. And we are producing good number of them. So cost should same as Russia.
Are you sure about Royality thing ??? I think we purchase the licences. So that's it. Nothing more.

No need for HAL to do a PR exercise, IAF needs there planes not there press conference, people like Ajai will not get satisfied even with a press conference b'coz they think F-35 is a God Send plane & we should accept it with both hands.

that's wrong. HAL definatly need to do a good PR exercise. Not for some idiots but to keep its name good in country and aboard. Forget Ajay I don't think his opinion matter anywhere. I want HAL to do a press confference just to clear their side to general public. Relping to his blog hasn't produce anything but they increase his value for no reason. Just see how this Moran will use this to propaganda.

With pleasure! It's the extra cash that's needed to line the pockets of our beloved netas and bureaucrats! (Oh, how I love them!) Shades of the TATRA acquisitions by BEML where they still sell each truck at twice the cost of those sold directly by the manufacturer! Elementary, Dr Watson! :smokin: