Kashmiri women are strictly forbidden from nose piercing

Unfortunately many Gangstas from Lahore (Gogi butt, Tipu truckanwala etc. ) and Gujranwala (Saen palwan, Achu pandeyawala etc.) did hail from kashmiris, so there is some misconception among other punjabis in central punjab that kashmiris have a tendency to be gangsta people. Almost all the famous punjabi wrestlers from Lahore and Gujranwala (Great Gama, Bholu, Jhara, Rahim Bakhsh Sultani wala, Aslam butt, Goga Butt etc.) also hailed from local kashmiri families. But most kashmiris are definitely not in "Badmashi" , some definitely are.

mashallah, thanks for educating that palao eater Aussie:omghaha:

Yes, but Kashmiris converted from Hinduism. Kashmiri Valley had primarily only two tribes: Brahmans, and Khatris.
Isolated valleys in Himachal, india, have similar breakdowns

In Southern Punjab, we have the Baloch, another major tribe in Punjab based on Geographical origin.

This guy does not even knows Kashmir History . Ask him how is kashmir named ( Rishi Kashyap) . Also Kashmiri Brahmins played a large role in hinduism and today they are muslims through sufis . Only Gelaanis in kashmir can trace their ancestory to Iranians. Bhatts/Butts were Kashmiri Pundits/Brahmins in the past .

Not only through Sufis, I'm afraid. There is a long history, but let's not get into that.

But it was by and large Sufis . Anyways this kind of debate is not suited on this platform .
Wrong again. It was by and large NOT Sufis. But yer right - not suited here. Sufis are respected by everyone, hundreds of monuments were not turned to dust by Sufis. And of course, all Sufis were not saints either.

I would suggest you go through these :)
1. Shah Miri Dynasty's rule
2. Sikander Butshikan's rule and if possible his own Baharistan-i-Shahi.
3. Rajtarangini
4. Ferishta of Muhammad Qasim Hindu Shah (he was not Hindu :D )

Every Kashmiri knows about these. :tup: I am outta here :stop:

It comes as no surprise that mainlander Indians also know so little about Kashmir.

BuTTs are Kashmiri Brahmins Pundits, who accepted Islam due to the efforts of Sufi Saints

Nawaz Sharif is a Kashmiri Wani, Khatri Shaikh

Bhatt surname is common all across India, not just Kashmir.

You post shows you too are ignorant about Kashmir.

Kashmir is FULL of Muslims of Iranian/Arab/Central Asian/ Afghan/Turk/Mongol background. Not just the Geelani family.

We are NOT any pandit shandit, Kashmiri Batt/Butt are a large collections of kashmiri muslim settlers whose origin is from diverse tribes of kashur speaking muslims of kashmir valley. We kashmiris in punjab use "Batt/Butt" only as a surname for all kashmiris, it is same as "khan" used for all pashtuns.

Jee bhai, you are right. BuTT is also used as a Surname by Kashmiris like Khan by Pashtuns

You post shows you too are ignorant about Kashmir.

Kashmir is FULL of Muslims of Iranian/Arab/Central Asian/ Afghan/Turk/Mongol background Muslims. Not just the Geelani family.

I am specifically talking about Butts and Geelanis , not other people .

Blame goes to people for corrupting the surname, in entire India still the original surname Bhatt is used.
Yes, but Kashmiris converted from Hinduism. Kashmiri Valley had primarily only two tribes: Brahmans, and Khatris.
Isolated valleys in Himachal, india, have similar breakdowns

In Southern Punjab, we have the Baloch, another major tribe in Punjab based on Geographical origin.

Yes there are some who have converted from brahmin among kashmiri muslims but I doubt they even make 10% of kashmiri muslims. Most kashmiri muslims are Dar, Lone, Wani/Wain, Rather, khan, Mir etc. but all of us use "Batt/Butt" as a collective surname just like pashtuns use "khan" as a collective surname.

I am specifically talking about Butts and Geelanis , not other people .

Meri jaan, "Butt" is not used by us as some kind of tribe it is a collective "surname" which is used for all kashmiris in punjab.

Yes there are some who have converted from brahmin among kashmiri muslims but I doubt they even make 10% of kashmiri muslims. Most kashmiri muslims are Dar, Lone, Wani/Wain, Rather, khan, Mir etc. but all of us use "Batt/Butt" as a collective surname just like pashtuns use "khan" as a collective surname.

mashalllah, you have got it right. jazakAllah for clarifying. What you said is exactly the case with Kashmiris.

Though I believe the Brahmins are more than 10% because like in Punjab, they were largely assimilated into the other tribes after conversion.

Meri jaan, "Butt" is not used by us as some kind of tribe it is a collective "surname" which is used for all kashmiris in punjab.

Meri jaan there are many kashmiris in Kashmir using that . They might be using it in pakistani punjab for Identity purposes .

sometimes I wonder, how can the frail looking, slim Kangri Kashmiri become Pehlwaans in Punjab

:o:

It all depends on your diet, the diet in punjab incorporates a lot of dairy which is not the case back in kashmir valley.

Meri jaan there are many kashmiris in Kashmir using that . They might be using it in pakistani punjab for Identity purposes .

So you know more than me on kashmiri muslims and their (our) origin. The world has really come to an end, now strangers will tell us who we are :hitwall:

Wrong again. It was by and large NOT Sufis. But yer right - not suited here. Sufis are respected by everyone, hundreds of monuments were not turned to dust by Sufis. And of course, all Sufis were not saints either.

I would suggest you go through these :)
1. Shah Miri Dynasty's rule
2. Sikander Butshikan's rule and if possible his own Baharistan-i-Shahi.
3. Rajtarangini
4. Ferishta of Muhammad Qasim Hindu Shah (he was not Hindu :D )

Every Kashmiri knows about these. :tup: I am outta here :stop:

It comes as no surprise that mainlander Indians also know so little about Kashmir.

Kashmiris became Muslims due to Sufis. It is a well known fact, just as almost all converts in india, one way or another.

indian muslim villages, and every nook and corner of Kashmir, and india are filled with shrines to sufis

I am myself a kashmiri from srinagar.But nose piercings are not forbidden,but in old generation there was a cliche that if u are from low caste then u pirce ur left nostril and if u are from high caste then you pirce ur right nostril.Younger generation abstains from nose piercings as it looks old fashioned and gives an impression that u r not well educated and r indecent in behaviour.We eat rice coz of our climate.It is better suited due to our weather.But yes we kashmiries have very high intellect(no offence intended).The best poets and the best intellects.Although we are coward and would prefer pen to sword.