Is it worth it to build Shivaji Statue in India?

530 million dollars? are you serious....how can it be that expensive. This world's highest bridge just cost $144 Million

World's Highest Bridge Opens In China, Cost $144 Million

When arabs where enslaving,raping,murdering your ancestors our ancestors r building hindu temples in Cambodia,Indonesia.
Come to tamilnadu you will see lakhs of lakhs of temples build by stones proudly stand.
Changing religion does not change your ancestors.

You seem to be under the illusion that Delhi, Somnath etc seem to all be in Pakistan:disagree:

Where did Tamerlane kill hundreds of thousands of hindus?

Where did ghauri and Ghaznavi raid and destroy temples

Where were the mighty hindu armies and why couldn't they crush these muslim armies?

Delusions of grandeur sonny, its an infliction of the indian mind

Sorry Indians don't have hooked noses. That is pretty much a semitic feature.

Once in a while locusts descend on healthy fields and crops and set it to ruin. A good farmer learns to deal with locusts. This time around we have many pesticide control techniques to deal with all varieties of locusts and any mutations in future. The world does not live in fear of locusts :)

Black and ugly is about as indian as you can get, hence your obsession with fair snd lovely

And who are you, sorry?:unsure:

Arre, kahin aap woh meri purani hindutvawadi dost to nehi? :D

I will be surprised if you ever had an Hindutvawadi as your dost. But we have crossed swords many times in the past. Let it be at that.

As a Bengali you have every right to voice your opinion.

Equally Maharashtrians have every right to ignore your opinion...they are building a statue to their hero using their money. The day that Mamta didi contributes to the statue fund using Bengali tax payer money will be the day that Maharashtrians are duty bound to care what you think. .....right now Maharashtrians tax payers are subsidizing the impact of a lot of Bengali state level foolishness, and I can understand their exasperation with you guys.

I don't see the British crying sorry tears over Churchill monuments...or Russians over Stalin statues....

I never thought I have to deal it with a Marathi-Bengali tangle.
Not from an ethnicity perspective. From a resident perspective.
A resident, tax payer and voter of Bengal has no beef in the game.

If you were a resident/voter of MH and a tax payer of MH (regardless of whether you are an ethnic Bengali or Bihari or Tamil), listening to your opinion would be duty of the fellow people and Govt.of MH.

You seem to be under the illusion that Delhi, Somnath etc seem to all be in Pakistan:disagree:

Where were the mighty hindu armies and why couldn't they crush these muslim armies?

This is your Mughal empire.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...um-washes-street-struggles-feed-children.html

Black and ugly is about as indian as you can get, hence your obsession with fair snd lovely

What obsession? No one wears fair and lovely to get fairer but just to avoid further tans. Most of Indian women do not even wear makeup and live make up free lives unlike Pakistanis who are caked in 1 inch makeup and fake hair extensions.

It's your ancestors who failed to protect against invading arabs.Raja dahir is your ancestor

Not from an ethnicity perspective. From a resident perspective.
A resident, tax payer and voter of Bengal has no beef in the game.

If you were a resident of MH and a tax payer of MH (regardless of whether you are an ethnic Bengali or Bihari or Tamil), listening to your opinion would be duty of the fellow people and Govt. of MH.
Deadpool, when I am just expressing my opinion here as a forum member, I am really not sure how the argument turns to the authority of the poster to express his/her opinion in an online forum. And when a government does something good/bad, as a fellow citizen it is my right to express my concern. How difficult it is to fathom minimum liberty someone enjoys in a constitutional democracy?

Deadpool, when I am just expressing my opinion here as a forum member. I am really not sure how the argument turns to the authority of the poster to express his/her opinion in an online forum. And when a government does something good/bad, as a fellow citizen it is my right to express my concern. How difficult it is to fathom minimum liberty someone enjoys in a constitutional democracy?
You have full right to express your opinion Sir.
My sincere apology if you felt from my post that I am discouraging you from giving your opinion. It is not my place to stop you or any Indian citizen to not air their views. In fact, cliched as it may sound, I would defend your right to it regardless of whether I agree with your view or not.

I have nothing but disgust for those who try to coerce other's into not speaking if the view being aired is unfavourable to their own.

However, I completely agree with @Sky lord 's post as well. Just as you are within your right to air your view. The other's (voters and tax payers of MH) have a right to ignore your view because you are NOT a voter or tax payer of MH. They are however duty bound to give thought to any opposition voiced by voters/resident/tax payer of MH.

I reiterate my background - I am NOT a voter or resident or tax payer of Maharashtra.

Wasent this bloke a short fat ugly dwarf?

He weakened the Mughal empire and his SUCCESORS
destroyed the Mughal empire

He was short but not fat

He led his troops personally into Battle and fought like a Tiger

His courage ; bravery ; leadership skills are what made him successful

He made an empire out of absolutely Nothing

Oh thanks. I have just stated my opinion, that this much of spending on a statue is misplaced priority by the government. If anyone feel differently why should I have a problem? My concern was entirely as an Indian for a fellow Indian who happens to be farmer, women and children died of malnutrition. I never thought I have to deal it with a Marathi-Bengali tangle.

Misplaced priorities is facilitating Illegal migration

Misplaced priorities is destroying Bengal's Industrial base
and Higher educational institutions AND forcing millions of educated Bengalis
to go seek jobs outside Bengal

Misplaced priorities is opposing India's Nuclear program and
relations with Israel

Misplaced prorities is opposing Economic reforms after 1991

Misplaced priorities is supporting China in 1962 war

Misplaced prorities is romanticising Naxalism with " lal Salam"

Is that enough for you

Given the fact Bengal has Not produced any Warriors and has
NOT fought for its sovereignity ; you are in No position to lecture Us

Bit of Paradox. Maharastra have some of the largest suicide rates of farmers in India, and yet pouring thousands of crores into so-called canals and everything, still some parts of MH are still dry. Corruption has eaten them.

Even if one divert the 530M into farming, building canals, de-silting lakes, reservoirs, its still going to be a failure. Doesnt matter if its a BJP or Congress govt. So its not bad to build a statue. If I remember right, the Thiruvalluvar statue built on an Island in Kaniyakumari always creates an steady state of income for the government. As such, its the responsibility of MH voters to see the decision and positive out of it. More power to federalism.

relations with Israel

Is that enough for you

This is too much. People of Bengal have been revolutionaries on whether or not someone lectures us otherwise. Nethaji is still an National hero,who is adored in far away Tamil Nadu to this day. Bose, Tagore are revolutionary scientists and poets as well.

Just cos they chose an ideology that others dont accept with doesnt mean they cant air any ideas or thoughts. They chose their way, and if they are suffering from lack of industries, its their own bidding and free will to elect as they please. We are no one to question their nationalism. Or have any rights.

He weakened the Mughal empire and his SUCCESORS
destroyed the Mughal empire

He was short but not fat

He led his troops personally into Battle and fought like a Tiger

His courage ; bravery ; leadership skills are what made him successful

He made an empire out of absolutely Nothing

relations with Israel

Is that enough for you

I thank God Bengal has not produced warriors who are dumb enough not to form a coherent argument or understand simple English.