Is barbed-wire fencing consistent with friendly relations?

@topic

Yes it is. Iran is building 2 meter high concrete wall on its border with Pakistan, and Iran-Pakistan has brotherly relation. so don't see why barbed wire fence should affect India-Bangladesh friendship.

@Mr Akmal....I agree with the intent of your article....Basically you are trying to say that if we both are thinking that we are friends then why sud be a barrier in between?...Your question is genuine...but the problem is on assumption....let us assume that India and BD are not friends....Then i believe alot of misconception will go away.. See in case of India and Pak relationship....it is a established fact that India and Pakistan are rival and enemy to each other...so any gentle step or goodwill gesture is well appreciated from both sides... But unfortunately with respect to BD...India has always felt that BD is not enemy rather we have a cultural linkage with BD...So that creates an unnecessary expectation within India that BD sud always be friendly with us....And when ever this never happens and Indian people feels frustrated...

Coming to the point...I feel that India BD relation can not improve as long as there is a political consciousness among BNP and Awami leage about its relation with India....See the basic issue, BD people dont like to provide access for transit to India. What is the reason?
The reason is not more about BD is getting badly impacted or loosing economically rather BD dont want that India should get some benefit with the help of BD..I would have really appreciated if BD gov/opposition would have told that providing transit is acceptable to BD in case India provided more amount of transit fee....It would have made more sense as every country has right to decide and bargain about the economics of business...But rather than that BD people simple dont want to provide transit with the argument that it will help out the Hindu India.....

So in this type of situation,how can u expect that relationship will flourish?...

@ Why every time the question of Hindus are comming here ???? We donnot hate the Hindus but historically it is a fact that once you give them power and money they start dreaming of "Akhand Bharat". Hating India or criticising India by the Eastern People had a long history. Let me refresh your past history :

1. It is a fact that Islam is a foreign religion in Indian Sub-continent. Even when Islam was not there in our areas, most of the people were Bhuddist. For your information in those days (in 8-10 century once Pal Dynesty was in power) no non-hindus were allowed to be Hindu or in other words no convertee were allowed in "Hinduism" like the Jews. That is reason the "Hinduism" could not flourish world wide. It is only concentrated in Indian Sub-Continent with a little bit in Indonesia, Malaysia, Sri Lonka and Singapur.

2. Now once the Sen Dynesty came from Deccan most of the Bhuddist religious people fled to South (Sri Langka), North towards Tibet and China and then towards Korea and Japan, South East towards Burma, Thailand, Vietnam and other Far East countries. But the problem arose about the local common people which now they have no religion. Nor they were allowed to be converted to Hindu. Soon the muslim Peer, Fakir Mashak came from Arakan, Delhi, Afganistan, Central Asia, Iran and Arab and started preaching Islam in this furtile country. Till than there was no Muslim ruller in East Bengal. Than came Iktiyar uddin Muhammad Bakhtyre Khiljee who defeated the Sen Dynesty and established Muslim Rule in Bengal.

3. So, basically we the Muslim Bengalees of East Bangal were the Buddist convertee to Islam and not from Hindus but in course of time many Hindus also became muslim either by force or for their existance or vollentarilly. But this is not the end here about the spreading of muslim population in East Bengal. There were many other muslims of the Indian Sub-continent who took shelter here. During the muslim rules at Delhi there were many tug of war, and during this tug of war many muslims came and settled in Bengal since Bengal is a riverine country and their rivers are quite big. Even there are evidences the during the civil war between Omayyat and Abbassite Dynesty many muslims came from Iraq and took shelter in Bengal. So, for centuries together East Bengal became a "Safe Heaven" for the Muslim fugitives. Than you remember the great "Maratha Cannel" at the heart of Calcutta city, it was built to protect the people from the hands of "Borgi" means Marathas from the Deccan. In those days every year the Marathas used to plunder Bengal and their main targets were muslims so bulk of the muslims of West Bengal crossed the Padma river and finally settled in East Bengal. Then in 1947 and 1965 many muslim refugees came from India and settled in Bengal. And today the whole demography is completely changed. As per my accessment around 50 to 60 % muslims of East Bengal have a foreign origin. 25 to 30 % having a mixed blood and remainig 10 to 15 % your brother are still intact. But who knows the way our population is increasing like pigs (as per the IG of West Bengal) you may not find them in the long run. Most of them have the tendency to join with you. What to talk about East Bengal, in the long run the whole demography of Assam and West Bengal will be changed. " Abhi dar nahi hoi " Sorry I went out of topic.

What is the source tha 60/ of bd is not native. Demography of Assam is already changing due to illegal migrants from your end. And u are right you guys do breed like pigs and that's causing a problem to the whole area.
Bd has been supporting terror in India until recently and by holding good relations we are only insuring India against Muslim terror. Millions of illegal bdeshis live n ndia and millions want to cross and to stop them we need to build the fence. This has nothing to do with friendship

Is barbed-wire fencing consistent with friendly relations?

Very much so.

If you want friendly relations with your neighbor, you do not bring down the wall. You just make a door in it, to let the humans in and keep the dogs out.

PERFECT.......

@ Just now I got the message in my mobile that Manmohan Singh has already landed at Dhaka.

@ Welcome to Bangladesh. " Manmohan ki joy ho ". Long live Manmohan Singh.

. . . . .

@ "App bangla nahi jante, aur bagalio ke sat dosti karne ai hai ! What a strange ! Pakistanio ne bhe ye bhool kia tha "

Brother, India has very good relations with France and Russia, and Indians speak neither French, nor Russian. Very few Pakistanis speak Chinese, while few Chinese speak Urdu. And Americans are hell bent on redefining English (American) to be different from the one spoken in England.

To be friends, we do not need to learn each others' the languages, we only need to have a similar mindset, and mutually shared goals. West Pakistanis and East Pakistanis had neither of those.

@ "App bangla nahi jante, aur bagalio ke sat dosti karne ai hai ! What a strange ! Pakistanio ne bhe ye bhool kia tha "
This post has created doubt on the credibility of this poster and his attitude toasted India. I think he can be safely categorized as a troll

Brother, India has very good relations with France and Russia, and Indians speak neither French, nor Russian. Very few Pakistanis speak Chinese, while few Chinese speak Urdu. And Americans are hell bent on redefining English (American) to be different from the one spoken in England.

To be friends, we do not need to learn each others' the languages, we only need to have a similar mindset, and mutually shared goals. West Pakistanis and East Pakistanis had neither of those.

@ " Itne din aplok kaha the bhai !!! Itni dosti hai me mar jawa !!!!

@ " Sun balori rakh walia, asa dil tere nal lalia "

If thats the case you may have to learn atleast 15+Hindi+English languages to be friends with Indians and eventhough I don't speak Bengali I know 2 Bengali Songs-Our national Anthem & National Song.