Inflation hits 11-year low in December

Lifafa people of Lifafa party can't think beyond Lifafas. Which again is clearly evident from two above Lifafa jokers. :lol:

So saying something against PTI makes me a nooni automatically? Is this the logic your leader is teaching you?

aisi rants ka kya faida hai mere bhai

How do you know if he receives lifafa for his service? It is simply his love for PTI, same as you love your party. It is really inappropriate to accuse anybody without solid evidence
Koi faida nahi, I agree.

But it is slightly suspicious that the guy has disappeared from the day dharna was cancelled. Maybe he stopped being a supporter lol.

Potato prices have gone from Rs. 80 to Rs. 20 per Kg. Now go and eat it :)

Yes, that's about 10 American cents/pound!
Pakistan--especially Karachi-- is considered one of the cheapest countries to live in. But some people are just too hard to please..

Yes, that's about 10 American cents/pound!
Pakistan--especially Karachi-- is considered one of the cheapest countries to live in. But some people are just too hard to please..
Cheapest amongst the metropoles. But there is a great diveregence in price not only within city (2x in posh areas vs x in northern areas) vs rest of the country (~0.6-0.8x).

ISLAMABAD: Inflation continued its tame run in December 2014, rising by only 4.3%, the lowest level in over 11 years, largely on the back of tumbling global oil prices.

The rate of increase in prices, as measured by the Consumer Price Index (CPI), clocked in at 4.3% in December compared to the same month in the previous year, the lowest level since February 2004, when the CPI rose by 4.31% on an annualised basis. Core inflation, a measure that excludes the more volatile food and energy prices, also came in at a relatively low level of 6.7% compared to 6.9% in November 2014 and 8.2% in December 2013.

Some commentators have questioned the Pakistan Bureau of Statistics’ (PBS) methodology in calculating the CPI. They argue that excluding the surcharges and other components of the electricity tariffs from the electricity prices used in the index will result in a lower measurement of inflation than the reality. However, the concurrent fall in core inflation suggests that the pace is truly slowing down.

The CPI captures prices of 481 commodities every month from at least 300 markets in 40 cities around the country. However, like in October when the government increased electricity prices by 2.5% through an equalisation surcharge, the national data collecting agency once again did not factor in 5.4% increase in power tariffs through the surcharge.

Last month, the government imposed a Rs0.60-per-unit surcharge on electricity prices to keep prices level even as the fuel component of prices declined. Like many governments around the world, Islamabad is seeking to use the opportunity afforded by falling oil prices to lower the fiscal burden of electricity subsidies by keeping prices level and pocketing the difference in the form of lower subsidies.

Electricity prices in most countries, including Pakistan, have a fuel price component that varies with the average cost of fuel used to make electricity. Given the fact that roughly a third of electricity in Pakistan is produced through oil-fired thermal power generation, the global drop in oil prices meant that the average fuel price component of the tariffs set by the National Electric Power Regulatory Authority (NEPRA) have been declining. However, the government has used surcharges to keep prices the same price so as to lower its subsidy burden.

Furnace oil prices have plunged 45% in the last three months, currently standing at Rs43,015 per ton, said Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Wednesday.

“The PBS did not take the Rs0.60 per unit power surcharge into account. Despite the surcharge, consumer prices [of electricity] would remain constant,” said Shaukat Zaman, the Director of Prices at PBS.

In December potatoes prices saw dropped 38.6% over November, breaking a long cycle of high prices of the commodity. The government’s decision to import 200,000 tons potatoes and arrival of fresh crop helped in lowering prices.

Average inflation during first half of the current fiscal year (July-December) was 6.1% compared to the same period of the previous year, according to the PBS. For fiscal 2015, the government had set the inflation target at 8%, which it is expected to achieve on back of reduction in commodities prices.

With the fall in both core inflation and the overall headline inflation, the expectations of further cut in the key discount rate have grown, although the International Monetary Fund (IMF) has been advocating a continued tight monetary policy as a tool to build foreign currency reserves. The benchmark discount rate is currently at 9.5%, though market analysts expect as much as a 100 basis point cut in the next monetary policy announcement later this month.

Falling commodity prices: Inflation hits 11-year low in December – The Express Tribune
Complete lie only petrol price has reduced nothing else

So saying something against PTI makes me a nooni automatically? Is this the logic your leader is teaching you?

Though I know @Leader personally in real life, I'm not here to talk about him.

I myself have been really busy at work since mid Nov, posting hardly at PDF. Now what makes you AUTOMATICALLY think that PTI has stopped sending Lifafas to me or @Leader or anyone else?

If I judge you from your post and consider you as a N-League supporter, you question me about what my leader is teaching me? So tell me, is this what you have learned from your leaders / teachers (whoever they might be)??

PS: Stop acting like everyone's grand mother. Everyone has life outside PDF.

I myself have been really busy at work since mid Nov, posting hardly at PDF. Now what makes you AUTOMATICALLY think that PTI has stopped sending Lifafas to me or @Leader or anyone else?

If I judge you from your post and consider you as a N-League supporter, you question me about what my leader is teaching me? So tell me, is this what you have learned from your leaders / teachers (whoever they might be)??

I just love the way I keep these morons guessing and cry about it all the time, I guess I have made quite an impression on their minds :lol:

Yes if you consider being a paid shill for a political party "quite an impression".

Lol. So much butthurt. No need to get mad at me if things didn't turn out how you wanted them to. My original post didn't even mention you so not sure why you are getting overly defensive.

You may have a life outside of PDF but your homeboy with 27,000 posts clearly doesn't.

Hahaha. When did sole potato prices became the overall indicator for countrywide inflation? What about other daily consumables such as tomatoes, wheat, milk, meat, eggs etc. Are they down as well? Don't think so. :)

You know what is the main ingredient of Samosa? Aalu!

And what can Samosa do?

"However, the Supreme Court has set aside a notification of the Punjab government regulating the price of samosas. As reported in the media, in 2009 the Lahore local government had fixed the price of the crispy delight at Rs6 a samosa. The local government’s machinery took action against some shopkeepers found to be selling more expensive samosas. However, not satisfied with the price set for their product, the bakers and sweet-makers of the Punjab went to court. When the Lahore High Court turned down their petition, the bakers appealed to the Supreme Court. They felt the samosa did not fall within the purview of the Punjab Foodstuffs (Control) Act, 1958, hence the government could not fix its prices, a notion the apex court seemed to agree with."

Samosa justice - Newspaper - DAWN.COM

Believe it or not, but in Pakistan, potato is the killer :P

Looks like both Pakistan and India are doing well with controlling inflation.

Lol. So much butthurt. No need to get mad at me if things didn't turn out how you wanted them to. My original post didn't even mention you so not sure why you are getting overly defensive.

You may have a life outside of PDF but your homeboy with 27,000 posts clearly doesn't.

WoW, so you want to move around freely, judging others and passing sweeping statements about others with no one raising a finger at you. But when anyone else paints you with same brush, you are going to call him butthurt?

PS: Again I'm not defending @Leader. If you want to judge people based on nothing, then be prepared to get same treatment in response.

WoW, so you want to move around freely, judging others and passing sweeping statements about others with no one raising a finger at you. But when anyone else paints you with same brush, you are going to call him butthurt?

PS: Again I'm not defending @Leader. If you want to judge people based on nothing, then be prepared to get same treatment in response.
Judge me in the same light when I make 10 topics a day to advance the agenda of a political party. Until then you have no right.

Now you're to decide who has what rights? WoW!!!

You also don't have right to conclude that someone is on payroll of a political party, even if he posts 20 topics in a day in favor of a party. A lot of people here, including senior moderators share multiple threads daily about army related topics, they too are at payroll of army?

People do things for time pass, or out of their love for a political party or whatever. Who are you to judge them and make sweeping statements about them?

Now you're to decide who has what rights? WoW!!!

You also don't have right to conclude that someone is on payroll of a political party, even if he posts 20 topics in a day in favor of a party. A lot of people here, including senior moderators share multiple threads daily about army related topics, they too are at payroll of army?

People do things for time pass, or out of their love for a political party or whatever. Who are you to judge them and make sweeping statements about them?
How dare you compare our Army to the lunatics sitting in parliament?

Mind your tune. I haven't compared army with anything, re-read my post. If you can't comprehend what I wrote, then find someone to assist you.

Anyways, I'm done arguing with you. Can't waste more time banging my head against a wall.

Mind your tune. I haven't compared army with anything, re-read my post. If you can't comprehend what I wrote, then find someone to assist you.

Anyways, I'm done arguing with you. Can't waste more time banging my head against a wall.

Oh I understood your post completely and for you to even suggest something along those lines is a farce. That being said, it seems you have a problem with understanding one point which I'll make again for the fourth time. My intial comment was regarding ONE person and not a sweeping generalized statement. Understand the difference or should I continue to repeat it everytime?

So far, to defend your buddy (even though you claim you aren't defending him every time), you have called me a grandma, questioned my intelligence and told me what I have the right to do and not do. All because of a cheeky comment I made a couple of days ago. So yes you do seem butt hurt and it appears pretty big time as well.