India's turn to become 'factory of the world': Chinese media

Rs 90k crore ($14 billions)investment proposals for electronics manufacturing in last two months
By PTI | 23 Aug, 2015, 01.16PM IST

rs-90k-crore-investment-proposals-for-electronics-manufacturing.jpg

NEW DELHI: Government has received investment proposals totalling Rs 90,000 crore in the last two months for electronics manufacturing in the country, with significant interest in making mobile phones by local and foreign firms.

"About Rs 90,000 crore worth of proposals were received in the last two months. There is hardly any company which has not shown interest to manufacture in India," said Ajay Kumar, Additional Secretary in Ministry of Communications and IT.

India is already the fastest-growing smartphone market and it is now also becoming the fastest growing manufacturing destination of phones in the world, Kumar told PTI.

Proposals worth about Rs 1.10 lakh crore have been received in the last 12 months from various companies for electronics manufacturing in the country under the Modified Special Incentive Package Scheme (MSIPS). Out of this, over 80 per cent have materialised in the last two months itself.

"There is a significant interest in mobile phones. Now we are seeing a lot of players are coming in, both Indian companies, who were till now importing, as well as foreign companies. We are seeing that they are increasing their presence and starting to manufacture here," Kumar said.

He named global players like Airbus, Phillips, Thomson, Samsung, LG and Flextronics among those having shown interest to start manufacturing in the country.

According to CyberMedia Research, 24.8 per cent of smartphones shipped in the country during April-June quarter of 2015 were made locally, up from 19.9 per cent in the preceding quarter.

Government has been pushing to promote manufacturing in the country, especially electronics.

While players like Samsung, Micromax and Spice have been assembling handsets in India, firms like HTC, Asus and Gionee have also evinced interest in setting up their manufacturing base here.

In the past few weeks, Xiaomi and Motorola, along with Lenovo, have commenced assembling smartphones in the country through contract manufacturing by Foxconn and Flextronics, respectively.

According to the Department of Electronics and IT, the demand for electronics in India is expected to reach USD 400 billion by 2020, while the sector has potential to attract USD 100 billion investment and provide jobs to 28 million people.

The government last month extended the MSIPS policy by five years to boost electronics manufacturing.

The scheme was originally approved by the government in July 2012. It provides capital subsidy of 20 per cent in SEZ or 25 per cent in non-SEZ units engaged in manufacturing of electronics items. The original scheme was for a duration of three years.

Rs 90k crore investment proposals for electronics manufacturing - The Economic Times

micromax has started manufacturing phones in india itself since end of 2013 at Rudraprayag facility in Uttarakhand:coffee: and micromax is an Indian mobile giant that competes with world famous and more powerful mobile companies worldwide
Microsoft is the No 3 phone maker in the world, Micromax No 10 - IBNLive
do u have anything in your country that can take on samsung, asus, LG, apple, nokia, microsoft, and etc???
I'm getting tired of babies jumping up and down without reading.

Stop quoting me unless you have something meaningful to say.

Check again:D
You are taking about oxygen os, man that is like cyanogenmod minus all its goodies
Btw installing oxygen os on one plus one is real pain in ***:partay:, I did it once and revert back in next day :agree:
Oh OK, I thought you were still thinking that CM and OnePlus are working together.

For a ROM-hog like me you have to be specific lol

I had CM for ages over many Sony and Sammy devices. :D

Untill india wont resolve issues with neighbors no one will invest fully bdcoz current indian mindset will broke a war with pak which make investors doubtfull

In just one year (2014 Fiscal year), India received more FDI (35 billion USD) than the total that Pakistan has got in its whole history combined (less than 25 billion USD).

Total FDI stock received link: List of countries by received FDI - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

35 bn USD received by India: India's FDI increased by 26% in 2014: UN - timesofindia-economictimes

That too the FDI picture in Pakistan is looking very worrisome:

Falling FDI inflows - Newspaper - DAWN.COM

The Chinest investment corridor is the last desperate lifeline being thrown now....we have to see how it is implemented and what amounts actually materialise.

So keep telling yourself that no one will invest "fully" into India with this information in mind if you can.

No we are not interested in resolving any issues with pakistan. happy with status quo.

We wiill now only focus on our economy. Coz time to resolve these issues have already passed now, no looking back again.

No we are not interested in resolving any issues with pakistan. happy with status quo.

We wiill now only focus on our economy. Coz time to resolve these issues have already passed now, no looking back again.
Than dont cry over and over again for terrorism

If you cant tesolve cancer and other issues from your body it will hurt you

If you dont resolve issues you cannot become ecnomical power

So please time has passed now to even talk with you on terrorism let have one big war and we through nukes on each other than you can work on your economy very good plan

In just one year (2014 Fiscal year), India received more FDI (35 billion USD) than the total that Pakistan has got in its whole history combined (less than 25 billion USD).

Total FDI stock received link: List of countries by received FDI - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

35 bn USD received by India: India's FDI increased by 26% in 2014: UN - timesofindia-economictimes

That too the FDI picture in Pakistan is looking very worrisome:

Falling FDI inflows - Newspaper - DAWN.COM

The Chinest investment corridor is the last desperate lifeline being thrown now....we have to see how it is implemented and what amounts actually materialise.

So keep telling yourself that no one will invest "fully" into India with this information in mind if you can.
Bhai why u compare with pak which is 10 times smaller bring comparison with your father china

Several MNCs are already investing.What's your point ?

Bhai why u compare with pak which is 10 times smaller

Pakistan is 7 times smaller..but fdi is 21 times smaller...

We have been hearing this since 1947..hardly anything has happened.

Bhai why u compare with pak which is 10 times smaller bring comparison with your father china

First of all, India population is about 6.7 times that of Pakistan (as of August 2015 population clock). This number will only decrease in the coming years as Pakistan population growth % is higher than India's.

List of countries and dependencies by population - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

We can do an in depth China comparison whenever you want. But right now there is one important number: 4.

China is about 4 times the economic size of India whether it comes to GNP, investment, FDI etc etc....but the interesting thing is that when we are talking about investment specifically, India's total FDI stock received by 2013 was roughly equal to China's number in 2007 (300+ billion USD). This equates to India being roughly 6 years behind in FDI....so India is definitely in the race.

You want to know another sad piece of news for Pakistan?

In 2007, Pakistan FDI stock was about 20 billion USD, India's was only about 80 billion USD.

By 2013 Pakistan FDI stock had gone to 23 billion USD, India's had increased to 310 billion USD).

So India has gone from about 4 times of Pakistan's FDI stock to about 13.5 times in the space of 6 years.

Compare these ratios with 6.7 times the population of Pakistan.

India FDI stock at both instances is 1/4th of China which means FDI has grown at the same pace as China's. Lately China's has flatlined at under 3% growth yoy and India's FDI growth was more than 26%, so India in one complete term of Modi will definitely reduce the investment deficit it has w.r.t China. With two terms, it will probably get to 1/2 FDI stock of China, a marked improvement....especially if invested efficiently and sustainably compared to a lot of the NPA now dogging Chinese economy.

Comparing how much China, India and Pakistan have in turn invested outside their countries.

In 2013:

China - 540 Billion USD
India - 120 billion USD
Pakistan - 1.5 billion USD

So again China is about 4 times India (with India now starting to reduce this gap)....and India is about 80 times what Pakistan has managed to invest abroad....and pulling away much faster.

So please bhai, dont start claiming that investors are for some reason going to not invest "fully" or be "reluctant" or "avoid" investing in India. They are much more concerned about watching India's economic parameters like debt/GDP, NPA%, long term interest rate, CAGR indices of their sectors, taxes and incentives etc...than any kind of security/instability trump card that Pakistan can try to hold over India and try pull India down to its economic climate/sentiment level.

The figures and facts simply do not agree with you.

For your reference:

List of countries by received FDI - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

List of countries by FDI abroad - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

China has plenty of issues with tons of its neighbours. Are you saying they have not become an economic power?

First of al when it happens we talk and who said ur population reducing few days ago bbc show report of 10 percent increase in your population and who made u think once you will be at par with pak in population