Indian Political Corner | All Updates & Discussions.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Abhiyan and National Youth Policy 2014 has been launched to empower youth to achieve their full potential, and through them enable India to find its rightful place in the community of nations.
1796911_706643929379644_1298480713_o.jpg

Whistleblowers protection bill संसद में पारित। भ्रष्टाचार से लगातार लड़ने के लिए प्रतिबद्ध कांग्रेस।

The Whistleblowers protection bill has been passed in the parliament. This bill is one of the 6 Anti-Corruption bills personally endorsed by Shri Rahul Gandhi.
1794625_407896722687608_936533812_n.jpg

1920368_526112370834773_744671657_n.png

Today Shri Rahul Gandhi launched ‘Rajiv Gandhi Khel Abhiyan’ under ‘National Youth Policy-2014' at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. He interacted with Vijender Singh and Mary Kom and spoke to various young sportspersons in the event, emphasizing that youngsters should get access to sports in India.
923146_407908116019802_675462833_n.jpg

Rs. 10 as entry fee for Youth in Modi’s Ahmedabad Rally – Rs. 10 lakhs for a class-III job!
Pratik Sinha February 21, 2014 | 2 Responses

Kalyansinh Champawat Caught Red Handed collecting 10 lakhs worth of cash from a candidate
On 20th February, 2014, in the Vijay Shankhnad meeting of youth at Ahmedabad, while Modi was sneering at the UPA Government for not creating job opportunities for the Youth, the police was busy arresting BJP activists who had taken crores of bribe money to give jobs to the unemployed! In one of the most shameful acts of corruption, a leading activist of BJP, Mr Kalyansinh Champawat and his accomplices had charged an amount of Rs 10 lakhs from each unemployed youth in Gujarat to get a class-III job! The recruitment scam of the 1200 posts of Talati, senior clerk , multi-purpose health worker etc that came into light very recently, has once again exposed the dirty underbelly of Gujarat governance and the fraud the Government is playing with the lives of the unemployed youth.

Kalyansingh Champawat – BJP Leader
The modus operandi for the collection of bribe money was by organizing a coaching class for giving training to the candidates who would participate in the recruitment examination. The organizers of the coaching class were influential BJP leaders like Dr. Kalyansinh Champawat who due to their proximity with Government, had arranged with the examiners of the written test to “pass” the selected candidates who were asked to make a special mark on their answer paper for identification. Those candidates who paid the money were secretly told to mark their answer paper for being passed. Champawat and his assistant Nisal Shah were arrested on Wednesday and were remanded in police custody for a day. During remand they disclosed the names of two more accomplishes, Anil Mewada and Nainesh Jaiswal who used to bring the prospective candidates to the coaching class. Around 20 students appeared have admitted before the police that they had paid money to Champawat.

In the last ten years, almost all the recruitment to Government jobs in Gujarat has been marred with allegations of corruption including the recruitment of police constables. This is the manner in which the “clean” governance of Modi works and the youth are “empowered”. This post would remain incomplete if we do not disclose that while on one hand government jobs are being sold, on the other hand jobs to implement central schemes like MNREGA are being abolished. Three years back, Government of Gujarat which is the implementing agency for MNREGA had employed over 13000 persons as Gram Rojgar Sevak (GRS) to implement the project. By a recent circular, over 10000 posts have been abolished with effect from 28th February, 2014. Thus while ten thousand young people will lose their jobs, the rural employment guarantee scheme would also suffer due to want of necessary man power.

Share this:

China was amongst the first countries to start treating Narendra Modi like a PM-in-waiting even before he had won his latest term in Gujarat. This was well before the Europeans beat a path to Gandhinagar, and years before America decided to reluctantly smell the coffee. There was prescience in the Chinese move to host Narendra Modi like a head of state in China. Done a couple of years ago, it was an acknowledgement and an intelligence assessment that was on target.

Is it any wonder then that China is on its way to overtaking the US as the biggest economy in the world even as there are natural apprehensions on its hegemonic tendencies? We are especially traumatised by our experience in 1962, at the bitter end of the Hindi-Chini-Bhai-Bhai era, but this could be potentially a very different world now.

India-China relations: 2014 can be great leap forward

Standing as a bulwark against Western manipulation together may work to benefit both India and China more than alternate scenarios. After all, the US-Chinese economic and diplomatic relationship continues strong, even as Chinese power and assertiveness, economic and military, keeps growing steadily. But first, the trust deficit between India and China must be bridged, and this can happen gradually in a cautious and calibrated manner, if we determine to do so.

But in 2014, should our fear of Chinese ulterior motives, the tensions on the borders, the blatant alliance with Pakistan, and help being given to some of our insurgents, turn us away from the opportunity for economic growth and betterment on offer? Can the economic opportunities be regarded separately from the other contentions? The present UPA Government seems to think so.

What, after all, have we really gained by our overtures and diplomatic leanings towards America and the West over many decades besides the George W Bush era Nuclear Power Deal? Things have gone into a semi-freeze thereafter during the Obama years, and China has given practically the same deal to Pakistan alongside.

Some defence analysts state that Pakistan’s nuclear arsenal is actually bigger and better than ours, and Indian access to nuclear fuel and high technology has not, in fact, improved dramatically. Bush and the Republicans might have wanted to create an unequivocal Indian ally, but there has been some revision in the thinking of the Democrat-run US since. The EU, Japan, Australia and the rest must therefore follow suit, if in a muted fashion.

An economic cooperation with China now, and the consequent mutuality, may thwart some American globocop ambitions in the Indian Ocean, the Pacific and South Asia, but need not necessarily put India at increased military risk. Besides, these tilts tend to engender healthy competition from other ‘providers’ that could benefit both countries. Besides, it must be noted realistically, that all our neighbours are already on board the Chinese omnibus.

Now China, with trillions in investible funds, has said it wants to invest $300 billion, an estimated third of the present requirement, to create, upgrade or modernise our quaint infrastructure. This is the biggest offer that has come to India from any country in the world. Currently, China has a strong balance of trade surplus of around $40 billion in its favour, but a miniscule share of just 0.15 per cent of India’s FDI inflows between April 2000 and December 2013. There are plans to ramp up bilateral trade between our two countries to $100 billion by 2015, but this cannot come about without some bold initiatives being taken.

On infrastructure, the Chinese have offered to work in Telecom, Nuclear Power, Solar and Hydel Power, Railways, Roads, Sewage Treatment, Tunnel building etc. as well as in agro-processing and manufacturing. They are particularly keen on transforming our Railways with enhanced electrification, high-speed trains, modern wagons, last-mile connectivity and gauge conversion. This should surely be welcomed by the incoming Government, because the once proud Railways, amongst the most elaborate in the world, is now out-dated, inadequate, over-burdened and notoriously unsafe.

India needs to catch up with China’s Brahmaputra strategy

The Indian Railways however, remains a major employer, and is of enormous strategic importance because it links the length and breadth of the country. That it gets a separate Budget presentation every year speaks for itself. It therefore merits the Government’s urgent attention to arrest its terminal decline, particularly as it is also rapidly losing money. A recent CAG audit puts the loss figure at over Rs 1,155 crore between 2010-2013 in engineering and operations alone. This is a tremendous comedown for one of India’s proudest institutions which was once a major revenue earner for the nation. With no money being self-generated to spend on modernisation, safety, comfort and capacity enhancement, the Railways are being slowly abandoned by both passengers and freight whenever possible.

While the fulsome Chinese offer has come in the dying days of the UPA dispensation, in which very little actual progress can be expected, it needs to be taken up promptly by the incoming Government. China is undoubtedly one of the most adept manufacturing nations in the world and also has stellar infrastructure development experience under its belt, both at home and abroad.

With $3.8 trillion in reserves and counting, it is already contributing to the development of the South Asian region — in Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Myanmar, and extensively in parts of the African continent as well. We must therefore take a fresh look at our suspicions and induct Chinese expertise and money in a phased manner as this kind of economic engagement tends to also go a long way to ease tensions and promote trust. If the West is interested in the Indian market opportunity on favourable terms, then why not the Chinese?

Soft India can’t tame tough China

The scale of the offer is indeed unprecedented, and dwarfs our economic engagement with the West and Japan too. The Japanese, who have recently financed some of our infrastructure projects, have only invested a fraction of the Chinese offer. That too, over the years, inclusive of the Delhi Metro and the work ongoing in the Delhi-Mumbai Industrial Corridor.

The Chinese offer is also in harmony with Narendra Modi’s stated dream to develop India on fast-track to catch up to China by 2020. NaMo reportedly wants to provide 24×7 Power throughout the nation as a spur towards this objective. He has repeatedly stressed that employment generation is a top priority in this country with its huge demographic dividend. He wants to enhance employment by promoting big and medium industry, the IT, financial, and other service sectors, the backbone of infrastructure and the initiative of entrepreneurship across the board.

The roads in some parts of the country may be fairly good now thanks to the Vajpayee Golden Quadrilateral initiative, but in other parts of the nation they remain quite basic or practically non-existent. This road sector alone can be viewed as a metaphor for all the work that remains to be done. Infrastructure development such as this, on multiple fronts, in a new phase of dynamic activity, will boost the GDP to near or above 10 per cent per annum by itself, and open up a wealth of unprecedented opportunity for everyone.

China recognises NaMo as future PM | Niti Central

Modi is pro-business, and friendly to Chinese investment.

Much of Chinese investment into India went straight to Gujarat, even while the Congress party shunned good money due to their ideological bias towards some kind of Nehruvian socialism.

We may not like Japan, but we do business with them. We do business with America too. In vast amounts. If we can make our historical enemy Japan into one of our biggest trading partners, then why would we turn down anyone else?

This is an interconnected world, it's better to be pragmatic and accept FDI (into non-vital sectors), regardless of the source.

Much of Chinese investment into India went straight to Gujarat, even while the Congress party shunned good money due to their ideological bias towards some kind of Nehruvian socialism.

We may not like Japan, but we do business with them. We do business with America too. In vast amounts. If we can make our historical enemy Japan into one of our biggest trading partners, then why would we turn down anyone else?

This is an interconnected world, it's better to be pragmatic and accept FDI (into non-vital sectors), regardless of the source.

Do you have any proof of this actually?

China Looks to Increase India Investments - India Real Time - WSJ
But China’s investment in India was a meager $135 million from April 2000 to August 2012
The Chinese investment has been fairly small. Can you quote any source about where it went?

The problem is, unlike Japan, China would be involved in importing made in China stuff if the deal is accepted, or so I have read. There is already a huge trade imbalance, this would just add some more. This is big part of the worry, apart from choosing those non-vital sectors.

What? India's own FDI rules state that around 30% must be sourced from domestic Indian firms, or am I remembering that wrong?

Do you have any proof of this actually?

I just picked a few quick links from your media:

Chinese firms to invest up to Rs 10,000 cr in Gujarat industrial park | Business Line

Modi courts Chinese investment, showcasing the 'Gujarat model' - The Hindu

Gujarat eyes $10 billion investment from China | Latest News & Updates at DNAIndia.com

Watch the video. ^^

It's no secret that Gujarat is focused on manufacturing and exports, and friendly to outside investment.

This is why we are strong, and India isn't.

We weren't a manufacturing or electronics giant, we made westerners and East Asian nations come, they earned big, they exploited our people and land, but we were silently learning, we look at how they do things, we see how they manage, and we talk to their contacts.

Today, we have kicked out large number of foreign companies, not with force, but being better.

The Chinese smart phone market, the car market, the electronics market and a lot of other markets are dominated by Chinese companies because we learn and we compete.

You think all that came free? You think you can be a giant if you just wishes to? Don't hide, learn. But you don't have to, if you don't want to, remain third world, what do I care.

What? India's own FDI rules state that around 30% must be sourced from domestic Indian firms, or am I remembering that wrong?

I am not sure about the policy, but it still mean 70 percent can be imported. Increases the trade imbalance, when the country is already troubled by CAD.

I just picked a few quick links from your media:

Chinese firms to invest up to Rs 10,000 cr in Gujarat industrial park | Business Line

Modi courts Chinese investment, showcasing the 'Gujarat model' - The Hindu

Gujarat eyes $10 billion investment from China | Latest News & Updates at DNAIndia.com

Watch the video. ^^

It's no secret that Gujarat is focused on manufacturing and exports, and friendly to outside investment.

Future projects, which hopefully be brought to fruition.

Gaanv to basa nahi aur Bhikari pahle aa gaye ...

P.S Don't post article of Niti central which is mouth piece of BJP. No independent source.

This is why we are strong, and India isn't.

We weren't a manufacturing or electronics giant, we made westerners and East Asian nations come, they earned big, they exploited our people and land, but we were silently learning, we look at how they do things, we see how they manage, and we talk to their contacts.

Today, we have kicked out large number of foreign companies, not with force, but being better.

The Chinese smart phone market, the car market, the electronics market and a lot of other markets are dominated by Chinese companies because we learn and we compete.

You think all that came free? You think you can be a giant if you just wishes to? Don't hide, learn. But you don't have to, if you don't want to, remain third world, what do I care.

What China did wasn't import. It let the companies set up plants. This only brings in foreign currency. India has no problem with foreign companies setting up plants in India. The problem lies when the manufactured equipments etc are imported. If a Chinese company set up a plant in India, more than welcome. But importing stuff to India just increases already big trade deficit.

We are the second biggest importer on Earth.

We imported over $2 trillion USD worth of products in 2013 alone.

Financial Times - China overtakes US as world’s largest goods trader

I am not sure about the policy, but it still mean 70 percent can be imported. Increases the trade imbalance, when the country is already troubled by CAD.

Well the CAD is India's own business.

We also have large trade deficits to places in East Asian like Japan, South Korea, and Taiwan. But we can handle it, it's not just about exports, imports especially are vital for economic health.

You think we don't want to setup plants? China is moving plants away now, we still have about 10-20 years of good manufacturing income, but we are starting now. Who would turn down money if India offers good opportunities, but you are not ready for that kind of investments.

India has no good infrastructure and other require reforms, as well as men power, educated men power, what you have is just men.

These things take time, you can make it in India, but it will cost an arm and a leg as well as the quality is no guarantee. .Due to men shortage, there would be either delays or quality problem, due to reforms, it make take time to just setup if possible at all, and there's the problem of policies, due to no infrastructure, the transportation out and in, as well as work living and transportation and electricity, internet and tons of stuff.

You got either none or little of that, get it first before you talk to us about setting up plants.