Indian Navy News & Discussions

5-6 missiles ejection firing tested on Arihant. It will be commissioned by third quarter of this year, at the same time Aridhman will head for trials and third boat will be launched as fabrication completed of third boat. BTW report published by "The New Indian Express" was anti Establishment, so please ignore that. Going forward all SLBMs will be launched on depressed trajectory only. All speculations based on some movement visuals.

HSL to build 5 Navy fleet support ships from 2017

Visakhapatnam: The Hindustan Shipyard Limited (HSL) is gearing up to build five fleet support ships (FSS) awarded on a nomination basis from the Indian Navy by the end of next year. According to top officials of HSL, the defence ministry has given the go-ahead to HSL for the project, which is estimated to cost around Rs 10,000 crore. At the same time, HSL, which had successfully retrofitted INS Sindhukirti, is now expected to also begin normal refit of INS Sindhuvir from January 2017.

Having faced financial troubles due to the lack of orders from the ministry of defence until recently, the shipyard is expected to bounce back into profits by the end of the 2017-18 fiscal.

Confirming to TOI about the fleet support ships, HSL chairman and managing director LV Sarat Babu said, "We have already got on a nomination the go-ahead for five FSS and it will start from the end of next year."

"The total anticipated order book for HSL is expected to go to Rs 20,000 crore by the year-end, but the commencement of cash will start by the end of 2017 or early 2018," the CMD said.

Stating that the FSS is one of the major projects for HSL, he said that the focus will be on providing the ships to the Indian Navy on time and with high quality.

He also mentioned that INS Sindhuvir, which is a Sindhughosh-class diesel-electric submarine of the Indian Navy, will undergo normal repairs for a period of two years at HSL. According to sources, the normal repairs are as per initial estimations expected to be around Rs 400 crore. HSL is also looking at SOVs (Strategic Operation Vessels) and landing platform docks (LPDs) to boost its ship and submarine building operations.

Meanwhile, HSL's partnership with South Korea-based Hyundai Heavy Industries is also expected to provide a major push towards upgradation of the shipyard. HSL officials said that discussions were held last week and with the tie-up going on at the government to government level and also at the shipyard level is likely to be wrapped in another two to three months.

With the tie-up between Hyundai and HSL, transfer of technology, upgradation of shipyard and joint construction at the HSL's yard in India is expected to kick off. HSL has already tied up with BHEL (Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited) and Mishra Dhatu Nigam Limited (MIDHANI) to ramp up its profile in order to bag major orders from the Indian Navy.

Don't know what is type of these ships but this is new news I got.
Any update on our deep sea replenishment ship project ?

INS Vikramditya:

12ash-parrikar.jpg

ashton-carter-vikramadtiya.jpg

59b86de6ab55614ffa27eb0dee9df750_330.jpg

160411-D-DT527-251.JPG

hi . i was wondering , does anyone here know how and who choses the names for indian navy ships ?

hi . i was wondering , does anyone here know how and who choses the names for Indian navy ships ?
I don't know who proposes names of ships but final decision is made by President who is supreme commander of Armed forces.
I think for missiles, Army vehicles & Air force aircrafts names are given by agency under which it comes, like
for HAL Dhruv/Tejas
HAL(under MoD so maybe DM/PM)
Missiles(under MoD so again DM/PM)
TATA Kestrel(TATA+DRDO so both)
Mahindra Rakshak(Mahindra)
I'm sure for IN ships(maybe also for ICG ships) final decision is made by President but don't know who proposes names but about other I'm not sure.
Also friend please tell about launching ceremony, handing ceremony & commissioning ceremony of ships & some ships are dedicated to nation after commissioning by PM.

I don't know who proposes names of ships but final decision is made by President who is supreme commander of Armed forces.
I think for missiles, Army vehicles & Air force aircrafts names are given by agency under which it comes, like
for HAL Dhruv/Tejas
HAL(under MoD so maybe DM/PM)
Missiles(under MoD so again DM/PM)
TATA Kestrel(TATA+DRDO so both)
Mahindra Rakshak(Mahindra)
I'm sure for IN ships(maybe also for ICG ships) final decision is made by President but don't know who proposes names but about other I'm not sure.
Also friend please tell about launching ceremony, handing ceremony & commissioning ceremony of ships & some ships are dedicated to nation after commissioning by PM.
ah.. alright . quite lengthy process then . i was really hoping that the navy names one of their future ships after one of the north-eastern states or state capital . something like ins shillong or ins guwahati .

ah.. alright . quite lengthy process then . I was really hoping that the navy names one of their future ships after one of the north-eastern states or state capital . something like ins Shillong or ins Guwahati .
P15B was Bangalore class & it was changed to Vishakhapatnam class in just less than 15 days, you can find thread on Bangalore class destroyer in PDF.

First Project 15B Bangalore-Class Stealth Guided Missile Destroyer Ready For Launch Next Month

Source: https://defence.pk/threads/first-pr...y-for-launch-next-month.363927/#ixzz46HTBvjQ3
First Project-15B Bangalore-class DDG hull : satellite pics

Source: https://defence.pk/threads/first-pr...ddg-hull-satellite-pics.325439/#ixzz46HTLwknR

You know P15B Bangalore class was ready to launch but what was launched was Vishakhapatnam class, hilarious isn't it?
Well, I don't know the reason why it was changed but among these four names, as I remember other names was INS Hyderabad, INS Jaipur & INS Shillong.
I don't why Delhi class are INS Delhi, INS Mumbai & INS Mysore.
P15B is named after four ports...
Revision history1
Revision history2
Revision history3
Revision history4

I too hope we have 32 capital class ships as four ships are there named after capitals(Delhi, Chennai, Mumbai & Kolkata).
Actually in IN ships naming coastal states have high share.
Doesn't matter much but it's good name after north-east capital, I hope P17A will be named after "Seven Sisters or their capitals".

you.

QUESTION MORE
LIVE
  • HomeNews
    India tests 1st nuclear-propelled ballistic missile submarine
    Published time: 19 Apr, 2016 07:16
    5715d59cc46188e6188b457f.jpg

INS Arihant. © Wikipedia

India’s first submarine capable of firing nuclear ballistic missiles, the INS Arihant, is undergoing sea acceptance trials and will be commissioned after their completion, the Navy has announced.
    "INS Arihant is now undergoing sea acceptance trails as it had already passed several deep sea diving drills. The submarine will be commissioned after completing all the sea trials," said H.C.S. Bisht, Vice Admiral of the Indian Navy.

Read more
    Russian 'Storm' top candidate to be India's new aircraft carrier - report
    The 6,000-ton vessel is the first nuclear-powered submarine that can launch nuclear-capable missiles manufactured by India – the first nation to announce it has accomplished this feat after the five original nuclear powers. It was built at the Ship Building Centre in Visakhapatnam, one of 13 major ports in India, with some help from Russian specialists and launched in 2009.

The submarine was expected to be commissioned after finishing a round of sea trials in February and participating in the International Fleet Review the same month. On February 23, it was declared ready for operations.

Additional trials were launched in March. The Arihant reportedly fired a dummy K-4 missile on March 7 and later on March 31 test-fired a live K-4 missile from a depth of 20 meters underwater.

The K-4 is an indigenously developed Indian intermediate-range nuclear-capable submarine-launched ballistic missile and the designated weapon for Arihant-classs submarines. INS Arihant, the lead ship of the class, can reportedly carry four K-4 missiles or 12 smaller short-range K-15 missiles.

5715dad5c46188dd468b459d.jpg

© AFP
    India is currently building 45 new ships at various shipyards around the country, Vice-Admiral Bisht said. Among them are two more Arihant-class submarines.
  • https://www.rt.com/news/340146-arihant-nuclear-submarine-trial/

P15B was Bangalore class & it was changed to Vishakhapatnam class in just less than 15 days, you can find thread on Bangalore class destroyer in PDF.

First Project 15B Bangalore-Class Stealth Guided Missile Destroyer Ready For Launch Next Month

Source: https://defence.pk/threads/first-pr...y-for-launch-next-month.363927/#ixzz46HTBvjQ3
First Project-15B Bangalore-class DDG hull : satellite pics

Source: https://defence.pk/threads/first-pr...ddg-hull-satellite-pics.325439/#ixzz46HTLwknR

You know P15B Bangalore class was ready to launch but what was launched was Vishakhapatnam class, hilarious isn't it?
Well, I don't know the reason why it was changed but among these four names, as I remember other names was INS Hyderabad, INS Jaipur & INS Shillong.
I don't why Delhi class are INS Delhi, INS Mumbai & INS Mysore.
P15B is named after four ports...
Revision history1
Revision history2
Revision history3
Revision history4

I too hope we have 32 capital class ships as four ships are there named after capitals(Delhi, Chennai, Mumbai & Kolkata).
Actually in IN ships naming coastal states have high share.
Doesn't matter much but it's good name after north-east capital, I hope P17A will be named after "Seven Sisters or their capitals".
yea even i was wondering why they changed the name from bangalore to vishakhapatnam .
any idea whats happening with the project 17a frigates ?

yea even i was wondering why they changed the name from bangalore to vishakhapatnam .
any idea whats happening with the project 17a frigates ?
May be because...it's the eastern naval command headquaters?! Home for largest shipbuilding yard?

That's not, it's now named after 4 port cities.
There any other reason, may be because all cities can't have names so only coastal cities have, but that is not matter of discussion.
Friends, please tell about launching ceremony, handing ceremony & commissioning ceremony of ships & some ships are dedicated to the nation after commissioning by PM.

The biggest question that arises for the destroyers like Kolkata and Visakhapatnam is arent they undergunned than that is required for them
For eg. KOLKATA has 32 Barak 8 and 16 Brahmos.
Whereas the Chinese 052d has a 64 VLS

Its reasonable to assume they have some space reserved for Nirbhay cruise missile when its ready for induction.

Please note there is a certain ratio which has to be maintained for optimum resources utilization. Most cells goto SAM, then land attack while lower percentage VLS is used for anti ship and anti sub warfare. So consider if 64 is the maximum limit in type 52D, then standard & optimum load will be 42 cells will be occupied by SAM, 8 anti ship and 8 anti sub rockets, 8 land attack missiles(optional). In case of P15As we would like to devide increase in cells between SAM and long range land attack missiles. Further BRAMHOS count should be decreased and long range ASROC type anti sub weapon should be placed in cells.