Indian Army soldier demands justice for brother lynched in Nagaland.

worlds biggest democracy?? i dont think so.... shame on you people.
Yes, it is the world's biggest democracy. I don't know what you think democracy means - it does not mean a Utopia, where nothing bad ever happens. I find it amusing to hear India's democratic credentials being questioned, every time something nasty happens there.

Democracy simply means that lawmakers are elected directly by the people - nothing more, nothing less. The country can be rich or poor, peaceful or violent, hot or cold or temperate - but as long as the legislature is elected by the people, and powers of governance are meaningfully demarcated, the country is a democracy. If India's history was that every now and then, people with guns would throw out legislators and ministerss and courts and declare themselves the supreme rulers simply because they have guns, then you could question whether India is a democracy. But that is not India's story, is it?:pakistan:

f osama was in pakistan.... can you prove it?? like a dead body or something??
Well two can play this game. Are you sure this happened in India? Can you provide us with the dead body? And all the forensic evidence? How do you know it wasn't happening in Burma?

We have to first see whether his brother was guilty or not... Having an army connection does not absolve any one of the crime..
Well it's too late for that now, isn't it? You should indeed, first have determined if he was guilty or not, before torturing him to death. Army connection does not absolve anybody, but an allegation doesn't condemn his guilt either.

Yes, it is the world's biggest democracy. I don't know what you think democracy means - it does not mean a Utopia, where nothing bad ever happens. I find it amusing to hear India's democratic credentials being questioned, every time something nasty happens there.

Democracy simply means that lawmakers are elected directly by the people - nothing more, nothing less. The country can be rich or poor, peaceful or violent, hot or cold or temperate - but as long as the legislature is elected by the people, and powers of governance are meaningfully demarcated, the country is a democracy. If India's history was that every now and then, people with guns would throw out legislators and ministerss and courts and declare themselves the supreme rulers simply because they have guns, then you could question whether India is a democracy. But that is not India's story, is it?:pakistan:
so what is a republic then???

Well two can play this game. Are you sure this happened in India? Can you provide us with the dead body? And all the forensic evidence? How do you know it wasn't happening in Burma?
yes... i can show you a video of the guy... and pictures of indian police with the guy and the indian mob that beat him to death.... so now your turn... show me the body of obama .... or admit that india is a big shit hole...

so what is a republic then???
Well if you are unaware of basic political terminologies and concepts, I would suggest that you refrain from questioning the democratic credentials or opining about the government system of India or any other country. In the USA, schoolkids learn this at age 14. In most colleges, they teach this in Political Science 101-105.

There is only one difference between a democracy and a republic, but that difference is very significant. A simple google search will give you thousands of pages explaining it. Note that even political scientists sometimes disagree on that. To get you started:

Democracy vs Republic - Difference and Comparison | Diffen
democracy :: Democracy or republic? | Encyclopedia Britannica
An Important Distinction: Democracy versus Republic

Most countries have aspects of both a republic and a democracy - the official name of the country is "Repulic of India", and the nation is defined in the constitution as a "democratic republic".

yes... i can show you a video of the guy... and pictures of indian police with the guy and the indian mob that beat him to death.... so now your turn... show me the body of obama .... or admit that india is a big shit hole...
What kind of logical leap is that? If I can't show you the body of Osama. then India is a shithole? In addition to PS 101, I would also recommend Logic-101. These courses are offered cheap in most universities and community colleges. For good reason - it is important for people to be aware of these things.

Now, back to the pointless and silly game - you can only show me photographs, not the real body or physical evidence, right? How can I know that it is not a photoshopped image, with Indian policemen being superimposed on a Burmese crowd? You asked us for the body of Osama after the US govt, Pak govt and the friggin Al qaeda all admitted what happened. Surely I'm entitled to hold you to the same standard of evidence? Show me the body, then prove forensically that he died because of mob violence, and then prove that it happened in India. I mean, I can show you official acknowledgement from the Pak military, Pak govt and Al qaeda, and pictures of Osama's safehouse smouldering inside a Pak military canttonment, with Pak security forces standing guard cluelessly, with only the wreckage of a crashed helicopter available to them, and reports of interviews of Osama's surviving wives and children by Pakistani authorities, etc etc. Accept all those, or bring me the body of the lynched man. Hold yourself to the same evidentiary standards you require from others.

Or just leave these futile exercises, and admit what everybody knows.

@ayesha.a

Yes mam, perhaps you are right. Your argument seems valid.

About considering Bengali Speaking muslims to be 2nd grade , although it seems true, but I consider them fellow Indians. That being said, yeah, its becoming a popular perception among people in NE. Maybe the only way to ascertain whos who, quick & honest updation of NRC. Atleast we will know which are illegal migrants, which aren't. Maybe only then, the mistrust thats cripping in among us can be cured. Sad but true.
Although it seems irrelavent, that being sole reason I brought in illegal immigration problem at the first place. I hope you undertand. :)

what the fcuk you are talking??

our NE brothers are as much indian as any one. if you have any problum with that then you can get the fcuk out of india. stop being a racist.

Stop being a racist ? Are you telling it to me or the 5000 guys who lynched a man cause of his race ?

Reverse psychology doesn't work here.

If you can not see my point, it may sound otherwise. See my point and put a oil on yar butt.

Very shameful indeed. Little did people realise that he was not a rapist.

Today it has claimed an innocent's life.

I am sad to be blown away by that sentiment as well of that of a rapist molesting a helpless woman.

Pray that the family of the departed gets justice.

Do you live here in NE? Theres nothing like bengali phobia exist here. Its easier to read crap articals from various megazines. Do you know most of bengali families living here have family ties with local tribes. We treat them as our own. Past hatred was due to language struggle where your bengali kin living here were trying to stop local languages as official languages. It has been five dacades since everything happened.

One more thing, one or two terrorist organisations killing a few dozen poor labourers be it bihari or bengali doesnt reflect on the entire society.

All I am hearing from you is anti bengali anti bengali foul cry. You have bern a member here for just a few weeks, & your making a nuisense of yourself. Just visit previous ne affairs threads, maybe that will help you to understand what is actual point of view of NEterners to rest of India.

All I can Assume is that someone you knew must felt victim to resist slur in NE. But jusging entire society because of a few incedents is not wise.

About Joining china, I quote you," Your land ? Your waza waza tribe lives in
Indian land. Indian land. Not your land,
waza waza ! There is a reason
missionaries came gave you a piece of
jaggery and made you a Christian and
made huge churches in your homeland.
You deserve the racism you face in rest
of India. Racist f***s !!! "

who brought those things up ha?? Its our land. We hasve been living here since thousands of years. If you.love bangladeshi's so much, take them to West Bengal & keep them there. Oh I forgot, your great Mamta di is already doing that.

Your the most racist bengali I ever met.

@Mike_Brando bro is it a phenomenon among some bengalis to assume NEterners to be highly recist towards bengali speaking population. :sarcastic:
Nah bro,i am a Bengali and it never occured to me that the NEterners are highly racists to the Bengali population.To be honest,i have never heard of this so called "racism" from my family members who live in the N.E. and yeah they are also Bengalis.There may be an existing problem between the N.E. Indians and the illegal Bangladeshi immigrants(Heck,despite being a Bengali i hate those lungis for illegally pole vaulting into our country) but that doesn't mean that you guys hatred towards the entire Indian Bengali community or vice versa as far as i have understood:coffee:.

Oh really?

Otherwise a mob of 5000 people attacking a police station, abducting an undertrial, stripping and parading him naked, dragging him through the streets, beating him to death while recording the entire episode on cell phones to be gleefully watched later and circulated on the social media, would not have become news? If he was not a muslim? Much less shocking events make it to the news, irrespective of the religion of the victim. The reason it made news and shocked the consience of the country was because of the barbarity and cruelty, and not because of his religion.

In fact, on the contrary - it is because he was a muslim that some people are offering feeble justifications, and instead of simply condemning the perpetrators, trying to picture the perpetrators as victims of illegal immigration and whatnot. None of these "oh its the previous govt's fault" or "oh so many illegal immigrants" or "they in the NE hate Bangladeshis" would have been remarked here, had the victim not been a muslim. Now that we know he was a muslim, irrelevant explanations are being given to explain and almost excuse the mob frenzy.

In your post, in a part that I have not quoted, and in some other posts, there is this talk of "it is unfortunate that the victim was Indian." Victim of what, exactly? Was this a case of shooting an enemy, but accidentally hitting a friend? Was he an unfortunate collateral damage? No, he wasn't - he was the intended victim.

Let's be clear about this - that mob of 5000 men and women were eagerly, gleefully, sadistically watching the whole episode, with malicious pleasure. If they wanted, they could have easily ascertained his nationality, especially since he has 3 family members in the armed forces. A mob of 5000 doesn't just pop up in a trice - they had to plan and organize and consiously orchestrate it. In a fraction of the time and effort that it took them to even present themselves, they could have established his identity. They were just not interested - they were there to humiliate and torture a man, and have a day of fun for themselves in the process.

If anything, his religion is the reason it happened at all - not the reason that it got publicity. The reason for the latter is, quite simply, the sheer brutality of the mob.

I beg to differ. It was a mob out to prove that they are not Hindu rape culture people, but rather civilized Christians and hence won't tolerate rapists on their soil kind of sentiment which led to this gruesome action. That the man turned out to be an Indian Muslim is just incidental to the fact.

if osama was in pakistan.... can you prove it?? like a dead body or something??

Osama's whole family was taken from there and probed by the Pakistani army and police. How come they never refuted him being there? Or how is it that all his wives and children were living there and Americans got his family home right, but are just lying about him being there?

I beg to differ. It was a mob out to prove that they are not Hindu rape culture people, but rather civilized Christians
Yea, we saw how civilized the mob was.:rolleyes:

The civilized thing to do is to follow the due process of law, give the accused person a chance to defend himself against the accusations over the course of a free and fair trial, and then set him free or punish him.

Civilized people by definition follow a justice system. Mob mania is the very opposite of being civilized.

But you know all this, don't you? It's obvious that you are trying to troll, and hoping that somebody here will take the bait at your phrases like "hindu rape culture", and start a troll war. You are a bit too transparent in your intentions. Try harder. There are quite a few experienced trolls on the forum from whom you can learn the art, if you follow their modus operandi.

The civilized thing to do is to follow the due process of law, give the accused person a chance to defend himself against the accusations over the course of a free and fair trial, and then set him free or punish him.

Civilized people by definition follow a justice system. Mob mania is the very opposite of being civilized.

But you know all this, don't you? It's obvious that you are trying to troll, and hoping that somebody here will take the bait at your phrases like "hindu rape culture", and start a troll war. You are a bit too transparent in your intentions. Try harder. There are quite a few experienced trolls on the forum from whom you can learn the art, if you follow their modus operandi.

Of course I was taking a dig :D. Do not know if that constitutes as trolling. This is a fallout of the media's attempt to inflame passion in India against "Hindu culture." The mob action to follow was to be expected in such a scenario. That is the prevalent view about this incident across India. Perhaps majority of India is trolling when it holds that view.

Can i ask you a question ? @ayesha.a ji ?

Well well well, how can I dispute such an eloquently put argument? Such nobility of though, such grandeur of expression, such a logically rigorous exposition. " **** off, what I say is known to everybody, what everybody has admitted cannot be proved and didn't happen."

Now I have to reconsider my previous advice to you. Before enrolling in a first year undergrad course, you might want to take AP credits or GED equivalent courses first. I mean, if this is how you argue your point in a freshman class, your tuition fees would be a colossal waste. AP or GED will help you attain enough abilities to get into first year of college.

I feel kinda bad now - I mean it is fun to see somebody frothing at me when he has nothing substantial left to say, but sometimes I wonder if I should be gracious even under such circumstances. Your ignorance and rudeness may not be your fault, it could be a result of your upbringing. So, with no hard feelings, I'll urge you to take my advice on post HS courses.

Nope - India is a democracy because democratic political institutions have flourished there since independence (except a brief period of emergency rule). Mob rule can and does happen anywhere - dictatorships or democracies or totalitarian states or monarchies. That will not make them a democracy.

Anyway, I can't spend much time educating you - my time would be better spent doing what I do in real life.

Actually every citizen has equal rights in India, and is equal before law. Yes, religious inspired violence has happened, but that does not mean that India doesn't recognize the rights of minorities. Violence has happened against "baniya yindoos" as well, btw. Not because they don't have rights, but because many people harbour hatred in their hearts.

Are you saying that the mob assembled there first and then somebody branded him an illegal immigrant, which caused the mob to enter a state of frenzy? By all accounts, malicious rumours of him being an illegal Bangladeshi had been circulating the social media before the incident happened.

I'm not fully aware of the situation, but from what I have heard, yes it is real. It doesn't matter at all to my point, which I will repeat below. So let's agree that it is real, and not argue over that.

Could be the birth rate or migration from W Bengal, but as I said above, let's just agree that it is due to illegal Bangladeshi immigration alone.

Oh come on, do I really need to answer that? How is this any different from asking why you shouldn't judge every muslim to be a terrorist, because most terrorist groups today are adherents of that religion? Even if every terrorist is a muslim (they aren't, btw), does it mean that every muslim is a terrorist?

If A is a subset of B, it does not follow that B is a subset of A, unless A and B are equal sets.

Muslims don't have the burden of proof to show that they are not terrorists - and similarly, Bengali speaking muslims do not have the burden of proof to show that they are not Bangladeshis.

How is that related to this incident? Was this man disrupting the process of NRC upgradation? No, he was in jail because a girl made an accusation of rape against him. That's it. Neither was this man a Bangladeshi, nor was he disrupting any NRC upgradation.

BTW, how do you want to be treated if an allegation of rape is made against you? Would you want to be taken to a court where you can defend your innocence, or would you want to be stripped and tortured by thousands of maniacs, and your body hung on a pole?

Remember, anybody can be the victim of a frenzied mob. If something like that happens to you, would you want a discussion of Nepali hindus producing cannabis or something tangential like that?

Again, you are missing the point when you are asking about the stance regarding illegal Bangladeshi immigrants - the fact of the matter is that the victim here was neither illegal, nor Bangladeshi. It makes as much sense to ask this question, as to ask about any illegal activities of Nepali hindus when an Indian hindu is a victim of violence.

The very fact that you talk about Bangladeshis and illegals in this thread, gives me the impression that you don't consider muslims (especially Bengali muslims) as equal citizens, but as a foreign group that you are hesitantly tolerating. Put yourself in a muslim Indian's shoe and think abut it, if you want to understand why this entire discourse would make her feel like a second class citizen.
you sound a arrogant idiot, im not wasting my time on a dumb idiot like u.

when the jail lynching happened, all the sanghis on pdf were cheering that abhorrent incident... and now when the background of the dead man has turned out different, the sanghis are talking about bangladeshis and all... how callous, cruel, anti-human.

We have to first see whether his brother was guilty or not... Having an army connection does not absolve any one of the crime..

been too busy in nagpur all this time?? :D

Very shameful indeed. Little did people realise that he was not a rapist.

didn't you cheer his lynching just after it happened??

Yes, it is the world's biggest democracy.

you are back.

and no, india sadly is no real democracy... establishment-wise and culturally, it is a capitalist theocracy whose establishment is towards traditional pre-muslim pre-christian tendencies, whether it be in not banning loans-upon-interest right in 1947 or whether it be in retaining the anti-human and idiotic panchayat system... in fact, india is the most capitalist and materialistic society in history, and since the 90's, india has become more "indian" than ever.

another example, i give you "the states reorganization act" done in 1956... most states were organized along languages spoken by hindus... were other communities asked before imposing marathi, kannada, tamil etc on them as "state official languages"?? my language is urdu and much much superior to any of those languages in that list, yet i was imposed with them... this is not democracy but dictatorial imposition, yes?? much language is also english which really should have been national language, but it is not.

india is now "suicide capital of the world"... dogs kill people and yet there are monthly dog shows... 69 tea garden workers died of hunger some months ago while you probably fed dogs and did idolatry... amaanat's innards were torn with iron rods... female foeticide/infanticide is the highest in the world... what insanity is this... you should rebel against the social structure you were imposed with rather than write cliched fakery... rebel you must, to bring humanity to your society... nationalism is artificial an unnatural... natural is crying when you see psychopathy around you... cry and decide to work to bring your society to order.

you are probably a college student or young jobnik... discard that life, mostly and join a progressive group being where you are or in india.