India vs Pakistan Music Nostalgia: Reshma vs Jagjit

Meengla

Given below are clips of music. One by Pakistan's Reshma. The other by India's Jagjit Singh. Both are masterpieces. I am old enough to remember Reshma's live performance (or it's early recording) in black and white. That was great. And then came Jagjit Singh--many years later.

Both should touch your hearts deeply, especially when you want to reflect back on your life, long gone by, with some pics or thoughts...

Just remember your childhood through Jagjit or your youth through Reshma.

For your younger years: Jagjit:

For your youthful years: Reshma:

Given below are clips of music. One by Pakistan's Reshma. The other by India's Jagjit Singh. Both are masterpieces. I am old enough to remember Reshma's live performance (or it's early recording) in black and white. That was great. And then came Jagjit Singh--many years later.

Both should touch your hearts deeply, especially when you want to reflect back on your life, long gone by, with some pics or thoughts...

Nostalgia I must say but a very good one at that.
here's something for you to enjoy:

Nostalgia I must say but a very good one at that.
here's something for you to enjoy:

Playback disabled for playback on website--myopic publishers??

Now...for nostalgia what's the cut off point? 1980s or beyond? Depends on how old you are??

From one of the Comments to the video, this was in 1974:
upload_2020-8-15_0-30-40.png

Pakistan was normal country all the way till into early 1980s!!! The audience in the Reshma's videos are not wanna-be liberals or 'burgers'. Normal Pakistanis with men and women sitting together in modest clothes in respectable distances from each other.
But, oh, boy, how soon it changed under Zia!!!! How so terribly soon!
I bet most of you in this forum don't know what Pakistan was before Zia and what it was after him.

and such stories such as hers, from her era.... are receding as time goes forth too.

My American neighbor comes to my house every few weeks and we discuss everything under the sun. One of my main, in sort of Devil's Argument, is that we are too hard on the new generation and that there is a geneational-bias. He thinks that the world has indeed changed since the mass adoption of the digital ways.
I haven't formed a final opinion yet.

My American neighbor comes to my house every few weeks and we discuss everything under the sun. One of my main, in sort of Devil's Argument, is that we are too hard on the new generation and that there is a geneational-bias. He thinks that the world has indeed changed since the mass adoption of the digital ways.
I haven't formed a final opinion yet.

I just find the older generations (across world) went through so much more pain and strife in their lives, it comes out in their music and other sensibilities much more I feel.

Not taking anything away from those that still go through great trial and tribulation today with their talents, so we may partake of it all too..... but I feel the previous generations overall had much more to deal with.

Just look at Reshma story, partition and all challenges of new but poor country..and she comes from such humble background....no formal training in music.....but she produced this level of vocal masterpieces by her sheer talent alone.

It would be very rare to have another situation quite like that now for today's nightingales, so very rare to harness the same unique music from another nightingale today.

Today its definitely much different world (and there is struggle peculiar to it now too of course), but you wont get that earlier era again, it is kind of a time warp with its own set of struggles unique to it....the music is thus quite unique to it...to each era. It is why i find a quality in the older tunes, absent today largely.

It is also why we dont build those magnificent buildings (churches, mosques, temples etc) anymore that we once did unique to their eras...at their great size and gravitas.

There was such a pain and suffering back then among so many people, that their faith in God was quite something else. You see, my friend, God to them meant the final way to see all those loved ones, esp children, they had lost (which we dont lose today nearly as much...thus maybe our faith is not so poignant overall) that they will see again only in afterlife....it pushed them to work such miracles with what little they had....the pain had to have a final meaning...a final redemption.

We stand in such awe each time at these things for a reason.

I just find the older generations (across world) went through so much more pain and strife in their lives, it comes out in their music and other sensibilities much more I feel.

Not taking anything away from those that still go through great trial and tribulation today with their talents, so we may partake of it all too..... but I feel the previous generations overall had much more to deal with.

Overall a very thoughtful post by you. And agree with this observation, in particular. Life has been much easier in modern times then even half a century ago. And that's not necessarily a bad thing: Like rivers always flow downhill, people would always look for the path of least resistance.

Both great singers but there was something so unique about Reshma, her voice really touched the heart.

Playback disabled for playback on website--myopic publishers??

Now...for nostalgia what's the cut off point? 1980s or beyond? Depends on how old you are??

Sir jee cant really say the cutoff point because found some 60s (Ahmed Rushdi, some indian Rafi, lata), 70s songs/ghazals/nazams (Movie Pakeezah, a song from muqaddar ka sikandar, many Pakistani songs) to be too good. Nayyara Noor's "Kabhi hum khoobsurat" and "Aye Jzaba e dil gar mein chahoon" are still a treat to listen to.

Purchased a collection of vinyls from the heirs of a tasteful gentleman after his demise, still love to enjoy listening to them even artists like Naseem Begum, Saleem Raza, Tina Sani "dashte tanhai".

But frankly from among the singers of 80 and onwards Asad Amanat Ali, masood malik, Jagjeet, Pankaj (not all of his ghazals but some) and among the female there are too many including afshan ahmed, naheed akhtar, reshma, abida parveen, munni begum and many others.

BTW: A request if you ever come across a ghazal by Asad Amanat Ali "Hum say to tum ko zidd si parai hai" please do let me know, been after that for almost a decade but haven't been able to find it.

Aisi chezon main VS ka Lafz Acha nai lagta. :lol:

Sir jee cant really say the cutoff point because found some 60s (Ahmed Rushdi, some indian Rafi, lata), 70s songs/ghazals/nazams (Movie Pakeezah, a song from muqaddar ka sikandar, many Pakistani songs) to be too good. Nayyara Noor's "Kabhi hum khoobsurat" and "Aye Jzaba e dil gar mein chahoon" are still a treat to listen to.

Purchased a collection of vinyls from the heirs of a tasteful gentleman after his demise, still love to enjoy listening to them even artists like Naseem Begum, Saleem Raza, Tina Sani "dashte tanhai".

But frankly from among the singers of 80 and onwards Asad Amanat Ali, masood malik, Jagjeet, Pankaj (not all of his ghazals but some) and among the female there are too many including afshan ahmed, naheed akhtar, reshma, abida parveen, munni begum and many others.

BTW: A request if you ever come across a ghazal by Asad Amanat Ali "Hum say to tum ko zidd si parai hai" please do let me know, been after that for almost a decade but haven't been able to find it.

Oh Bhai, I totally agree with you on your great post but I wasn't comparing the best songs of India and Pakistan. Far from it. Just the two songs from different countries but both are focused on the nostalgia of the years gone by! Speaking of Asad Amanat Ali, I too have been looking for one of his Ghazals by Ahmad Faraz, something like 'Jo Ranjishe Thi' but can't find it--so anyone finds that then please tag me!

Speaking of the songs about the years gone by, here is one more; one of the most difficult songs to truly understand in Urdu!

Oh Bhai, I totally agree with you on your great post but I wasn't comparing the best songs of India and Pakistan. Far from it. Just the two songs from different countries but both are focused on the nostalgia of the years gone by! Speaking of Asad Amanat Ali, I too have been looking for one of his Ghazals by Ahmad Faraz, something like 'Jo Ranjishe Thi' but can't find it--so anyone finds that then please tag me!

Speaking of the songs about the years gone by, here is one more; one of the most difficult songs to truly understand in Urdu!

Sir wasn't making any kids remark (prevalent here) but just presenting my POV on music, my regrets if you took any offense.

Uhhhh Malika Pukhraj mother of her more famous daughter, from what I remember she came from a Kashmiri family and was associated with ustaad Baray Ghulam Ali, indeed a very difficult song.

Now that you mention, I think I'll send a query to the family of Ustad Amanat Ali Khan about both the songs by Asad Amanat Ali, and one of my friends is at a key position in PTV so might as well send him a query. Lets see. One of the drawback I feel about Pakistan's music industry was lack of vinyl and music preservation before digital medium era. I have a large collection of vinyls, love to listen to them but any day I would prefer listening to the songs of "Armaan" Pakistani movie over Opera in Carnegie or some concert hall in Vienna.

I will have to explore EMI at youtube:

Here are two links Asad Amanat Ali compilations by EMI:

A treat for you:

Sir wasn't making any kids remark (prevalent here) but just presenting my POV on music, my regrets if you took any offense.

Uhhhh Malika Pukhraj mother of her more famous daughter, from what I remember she came from a Kashmiri family and was associated with ustaad Baray Ghulam Ali, indeed a very difficult song.

Now that you mention, I think I'll send a query to the family of Ustad Amanat Ali Khan about both the songs by Asad Amanat Ali, and one of my friends is at a key position in PTV so might as well send him a query. Lets see. One of the drawback I feel about Pakistan's music industry was lack of vinyl and music preservation before digital medium era. I have a large collection of vinyls, love to listen to them but any day I would prefer listening to the songs of "Armaan" Pakistani movie over Opera in Carnegie or some concert hall in Vienna.

I will have to explore EMI at youtube:

Here are two links Asad Amanat Ali compilations by EMI:

A treat for you:

You really seem like a true classic music expert! 'Ghar Wapis' and 'Woh Ishq' are in the same nostalgic realm which is the purpose of this thread. Magical pieces of music!

Please do let me know if you find my requested Amanat Ali Khan Ghazal! I will let you know if I find the Amanat Ali Ghazal that you have been looking for!

You really seem like a true classic music expert! 'Ghar Wapis' and 'Woh Ishq' are in the same nostalgic realm which is the purpose of this thread. Magical pieces of music!

Please do let me know if you find my requested Amanat Ali Khan Ghazal! I will let you know if I find the Amanat Ali Ghazal that you have been looking for!

Sir thanks for your kind words but I am in no way an expert I am just an enthusiast. Perhaps age does have that effect on people or may be after seeing so much of the west I have come to appreciate what we already had.

There are some very tasteful people here on PDF when it come to music, most of them hang out here:

https://defence.pk/pdf/threads/what-are-you-listening-to-right-now-round-2.146915/page-824

As for your request, I mentioned in the above thread that my family has a long association with the Patiala family of musician, they have been performing for my family since early 20th century. I will send a query to the family if they have kept any recordings of Asad Amanat Ali. I will also check with PTV when I am in Pindi next weekend.