India to be home to 4.37 lakh millionaires by 2018: Study

1. "panchayat" or "coucil of village elders" is not just a indian system but found all over south asia... it is a traditional-culture system and in most cases composed of reactionary people and in most cases is anti-democracy... if we accept panchayats, we also need to accept the anti-human crimes it propagates, things like honor killings and economic oppressions.
Do you know there is election for panchayats ?

As per article 243 C (2) of Panchayat Raj Election Laws (73rd Ammendement of 1992)
(2) All the seats in a Panchayat shall be filled by persons chosen by direct election from territorial constituencies in the Panchayat area and; for this purpose, each Panchayat area shall be divided into territorial constituencies in such manner that the ratio between the population of each constituency and the number of seats allotted to it shall, so far as practicable, be the same throughout the Panchayat area.

Can you define how its anti democracy, when panchayats are elected democratically?

2. has any panchayat in maharashtra, karnataka and andhra come up with solutions for farmer suicides there??

Panchayats can help in development, but cannot stop someone taking bad loans and making decisions of life.
For that matter suicides happen in cities and developed countries also due to financial hardships. I agree more has to be done for better counseling so that farmers dont have take such harse steps.

3. the structure of the current indian political system ( as shown in the diagrams ) is a unnecessarily complicated one, derived in parts from the british system and the traditional south asian system... it is not guided by progressive thought... it is a undemocratic system that allows others to make decisions without you consenting and does not seek to turn the citizens into a enlightened mass... it has not succeeded in removing oppressions and bringing material comforts to people but has succeeded in creating wrong political structures like parties and criminal and reactionary elements associated to those parties.

the jamahiriya system i described earlier is very simple to implement and is necessarily a progressive system because it is guided by socialism.

Seriously which school did you studied all this shit stuff?

Panchayat raj system is system of indian sub continent from arround 2000BC. It been mentioned in Rig Veda at that time it was called sabhas which then developed to panchayats where panch means 5, so it constitued of 5 people. Casteism and feudalistic system of governance under Mughal rule in the medieval period slowly eroded the self-government in villages. A new class of feudal chiefs and revenue collectors (zamindars) emerged between the ruler and the people. And, so began the stagnation and decline of self-government in villages.

The panchayat had never been the priority of the Britishers, they were interested in the creation of 'controlled' local bodies, which could help them in their trading interests by collecting taxes for them. The panchayat was destroyed by the East India Company when it was granted the office of Diwan in 1765 by the Mughal Emperor as part of reparation after his defeat at Buxar. As Diwan the Company took two decisions. The first was that it abolished the village land record office and created a company official called Patwari. The Patwari became the official record keeper for a number of villages. The second was the creation of the office of magistrate and the abolition of village police. Thus killing the panchayat system.

During late 1800 and early 1900 when british empire was facing financial troubles and also the regional unrest the Royal Commission of Decenteralisation was established, who then recognized the importance of having panchayat systems, thus they recomeded that is good to decenteralize in order to assoicate people with local tasks thus they attemped to setup village panchayats but it never happen due to financial as well as organizational constraints, later Congress took it up as part of there SWARAJ model of development.

I hope this helps you understand the system.

Panchayats can help in development, but cannot stop someone taking bad loans and making decisions of life.

if the political system does not bring harmony to self and society, it must be replaced with a real scientific system.

Seriously which school did you studied all this shit stuff?

the school called "life".

Panchayat raj system is system of indian sub continent from arround 2000BC.

this single sentence discredits your entire argument.

there were hindus in india 4000 years ago??

and you are equating a traditional village-bound reactionary system to a modern socialist system that actually worked wonderfully for 40 years??

and you better look up the greek concept called "demokratia"... it is real.

Casteism and feudalistic system of governance under Mughal rule in the medieval period slowly eroded the self-government in villages.

yeah, otherwise india was a paragon of human rights before the mughals and other evil invaders,

A new class of feudal chiefs and revenue collectors (zamindars) emerged between the ruler and the people. And, so began the stagnation and decline of self-government in villages.

The panchayat had never been the priority of the Britishers, they were interested in the creation of 'controlled' local bodies, which could help them in their trading interests by collecting taxes for them. The panchayat was destroyed by the East India Company when it was granted the office of Diwan in 1765 by the Mughal Emperor as part of reparation after his defeat at Buxar. As Diwan the Company took two decisions. The first was that it abolished the village land record office and created a company official called Patwari. The Patwari became the official record keeper for a number of villages. The second was the creation of the office of magistrate and the abolition of village police. Thus killing the panchayat system.

During late 1800 and early 1900 when british empire was facing financial troubles and also the regional unrest the Royal Commission of Decenteralisation was established, who then recognized the importance of having panchayat systems, thus they recomeded that is good to decenteralize in order to assoicate people with local tasks thus they attemped to setup village panchayats but it never happen due to financial as well as organizational constraints, later Congress took it up as part of there SWARAJ model of development.

I hope this helps you understand the system.

talk sense, man.

if the political system does not bring harmony to self and society, it must be replaced with a real scientific system.
No system is 100% fool proof, but a system that brings harmony and growth to maximum members of society is selected in democratic setup.

this single sentence discredits your entire argument.

there were hindus in india 4000 years ago??

You dont belive is not my problem, we have documented evidence from 1500-2000BC in form of Rig Veda.

yeah, otherwise india was a paragon of human rights before the mughals and other evil invaders,
Who said so, every governance has its own model to control and manage, Mughals where not locals so obiviously they brought a system that brings power into there hand so they can control and manage the system.

talk sense, man.

Read it again, if it doesnt make sense, then read it once again, still if it doesnt make sense, then take rest, go back to history books on Governance models of South Asia and then comeback and read what i have said. It will make sense :)

You dont belive is not my problem, we have documented evidence from 1500-2000BC in form of Rig Veda.

and no one else documented this ancient hindu presence?? not some greek, not some prior version of ibn batuta??

No system is 100% fool proof, but a system that brings harmony and growth to maximum members of society is selected in democratic setup.

ah yes... (a). india is such a harmonious and calm place :rolleyes:, (b). india has democracy because bjp was elected without my consent... :what:

has any panchayat in maharashtra, karnataka and andhra come up with solutions for farmer suicides there??

Water off a duck's back? Again, farmer suicides per 100,000 are lower than national average. Guyana has almost twice the suicide rate of India and there is some concern that this may be related to the use of certain types of fertilizers that cause depression and suicide. Research is ongoing and may be relevant to india also.

Here are some of the reasons for farmer suicides in India

Reasons for farm suicides.
(Percent of suicides)
Habits like drinking, gambling, etc. 20.35
Failure of crops 16.81
Other reasons (e.g. chit fund) 15.04
Family problems with spouse, others 13.27
Chronic illness 9.73
Marriage of daughters 5.31
Political affiliation 4.42
Property disputes 2.65
Debt burden 2.65
Price crash 2.65
Borrowing too much (e.g. for house construction) 2.65
Losses in non-farm activities 1.77
Failure of bore well 0.88
¶Note: "Reasons were given by close relatives and friends.
There are multiple reasons for suicides.

As you can see the biggest reasons for farmer suicide are bad habits like drinking and gambling. More than a third of the suicides are due to fights with spouse and alcohol abuse. Even if you add up all the economic reasons it is still only about 1 in 4 of an already low rate.

ah yes... (a). india is such a harmonious and calm place :rolleyes:, (b). india has democracy because bjp was elected without my consent... :what:

What do you mean ? India is certainly calmer than many other countries including Libya and certainly more so than communist countries which killed by some estimates 100 million people in the 20th century. And why should YOUR consent be necessary? You have the vote do you not? That's all any of us have.

Water off a duck's back? Again, farmer suicides per 100,000 are lower than national average. Guyana has almost twice the suicide rate of India and there is some concern that this may be related to the use of certain types of fertilizers that cause depression and suicide. Research is ongoing and may be relevant to india also.

Here are some of the reasons for farmer suicides in India

Reasons for farm suicides.
(Percent of suicides)
Habits like drinking, gambling, etc. 20.35
Failure of crops 16.81
Other reasons (e.g. chit fund) 15.04
Family problems with spouse, others 13.27
Chronic illness 9.73
Marriage of daughters 5.31
Political affiliation 4.42
Property disputes 2.65
Debt burden 2.65
Price crash 2.65
Borrowing too much (e.g. for house construction) 2.65
Losses in non-farm activities 1.77
Failure of bore well 0.88
¶Note: "Reasons were given by close relatives and friends.
There are multiple reasons for suicides.

and you quoting statistics again, to hide the political system that makes these suicides happen.

why are you separating "debt burden" from most of the the causes above it??

a proper socialist system would not allow those causes to exist.

below is a previously living example from libyan jamahiriya...

-----------
1. any person interested in engaging in farming was given free land by the system, along with seeds, tools needed and housing, for free.

2. electricity and water was free ( that too in a largely desert country ), and libya had history's largest irrigation system, "the great man-made river" project ( gmrr ).

3. housing for any citizen was to be lived rent-free until the resident wished... rent was considered a compromise on the freedom of the citizen and therefore anti-human.

4. medical system was free, and if treatment was available outside, the costs would be borne by the system.

5. education system was free, and if that course was available outside, the costs would be borne by the system.

6. education was of one's choice and could not be forced by parents or circumstance.

7. food was at low cost.

8. any person interested in establishing a business was given a start-up amount of 20,000 dollars, interest-free.

9. all loans were interest-free.

10. no private banks operated in libya.

11. for a person not in employment, he or she was given the average salary ( stipend ) for the person's choice of field of employment... in fact, this was a coming-down in later years from the early days of the al-fatah revolution... in 1979, a unemployed person was given 7000 dollars per month !!

12. libyan jamahiriya being socialist, all wasteful traditions were frowned upon, like 600-guest four-day weddings like what happens in south asia.

13. at weddings, the bride and groom were together given 50,000 dollars to help them set up a new home etc.

14. car purchase was subsidized by the system.
-----------

1. why would any citizen suicide in such a system??

2. compare now to the indian system.

As you can see the biggest reasons for farmer suicide are bad habits like drinking and gambling.

incorrect... let us not believe mathematicians.

besides, why is alcohol not banned and gambling not punishable??

What do you mean ? India is certainly calmer than many other countries including Libya and certainly more so than communist countries which killed by some estimates 100 million people in the 20th century.

why do so many indian members on pdf choose to ignore the fact that libya was invaded in 2011 by thousands of terrorists and then 40+ nato militaries??

And why should YOUR consent be necessary? You have the vote do you not? That's all any of us have.

vote?? no, i do not vote.

voting is a system where you cannot state your opinion... and those people who candidate has lost the election must have their rights trampled on by those whose candidate has won... there is no consensus here, no debate.

consent... (a). societal decisions taken without the consent of the citizens makes the system undemocratic, (b). my enlightened consent and opinion are more important than of a software engineer or college boy who has voted in favor of a reactionary party.

speaking of parties, why should parties even exist, if the political system supposedly is for welfare of all citizens??

and you quoting statistics again, to hide the political system that makes these suicides happen.

I quote statistics as provided by scientists, you quote your mentally challenged cousin, who do you think is more likely to be factually correct ?

my enlightened consent and opinion are more important than of a software engineer or college boy who has voted in favor of a reactionary party.

So your opinion matters more than that of a software engineer or a college boy? Typical islamo-fascist supremacist talk, in a republic your opinion and the software engineer and the college boy all weighs the same. If your opinion is more rational it is up to you to persuade the soft ware engineer and college boy to your way of thinking.

incorrect... let us not believe mathematicians.

besides, why is alcohol not banned and gambling not punishable??

You don't want to believe mathematicians then who should we believe? Stalin? Chairman Mao? Pol Pot? Gadafi? Your village cousin?

We cannot ban alcohol and gambling, because a lot of people like to drink and bet. Prohibition never works, all it does is drive it under ground and criminalize it. Banning will only lead to the bootleg mafia and a lot of drunkards. Name a place where it has been successful.

why do so many indian members on pdf choose to ignore the fact that libya was invaded in 2011 by thousands of terrorists and then 40+ nato militaries??

Why do you chose to ignore and mis represent why the Americans came after Libya?

Muammar Gaddafi war crimes files revealed
Muammar-Gaddafi-007.jpg

Thousands of documents that reveal in chilling detail orders from Colonel Muammar Gaddafi's senior generals to bombard and starve the people of Misrata have been gathered by war crimes investigators and are being kept at a secret location at the besieged Libyan port.

The documents, some of which the Observer has seen, will form damning evidence in any future war crimes trial of the Libyan leader at the International Criminal Court. The court's prosecutors are expected to travel to the city to view the documents once the daily bombardments have ceased.

One document shows the commanding general of government forces instructing his units to starve Misrata's population during the four-month siege. The order, from Youssef Ahmed Basheer Abu Hajar, states bluntly: "It is absolutely forbidden for supply cars, fuel and other services to enter the city of Misrata from all gates and checkpoints." Another document instructs army units to hunt down wounded rebel fighters, in direct violation of the Geneva Conventions.

Plans to bombard the city are also in the archive, say investigators, who also claim they have a message from Gaddafi relayed to the troops ordering that Misrata be obliterated and the "blue sea turned red" with the blood of the inhabitants. The documents are expected to form a crucial element of any trial against Gaddafi, his son Saif al-Islam and his intelligence chief Abdullah Senussi if, as is expected, ICC judges confirm indictments for war crimes and crimes against humanity that are demanded by its chief prosecutor Luis Moreno Ocampo.

They represent a landmark in international justice because no significant war crimes trial in the short history of international courts has had access to documents directly implicating the lead players in the commission of war crimes.

"From what we have here, the case is already proved," Khalid Alwafi, a Misrata war crimes investigator, told the Observer. "All the evidence is here. Signed and stamped." The documents have yet to be revealed to the ICC, according to the 60-strong team of Libyan lawyers who brave daily shelling to collect evidence from the city. "We are ready to show them to the ICC," said Alwafi. "They are free to contact us."

The fierce shellfire that has pounded Misrata since late February has kept ICC investigators away, and the indictments so far requested deal with crimes elsewhere in Libya.

The documents were saved when lawyers supporting the rebellion told protesters who broke into army bases and police stations to protect the buildings against arson. Elsewhere in the rebel-held parts of Libya, such buildings have been completely destroyed along with their contents.

Government forces who surrender to the rebels are searched, and any documents they carry are preserved in case they can be used as evidence.

Alwafi said that he believed Gaddafi's forces had not been ordered to destroy documents because they had not expected to be overrun.

Sir Geoffrey Nice, the former lead prosecutor of Slobodan Milosevic at The Hague, writes in the Observer: "When the citizens of Misrata made the decision not to burn the archive left to them, they were certainly serving history well."

Gaddafi continues to show defiance to Nato, greeting another night of heavy bombing of Tripoli by broadcasting a furious message through the capital's public address system.

"Nato will be defeated," he yelled in a hoarse voice that was piped across the city. Within minutes, the emotive tones of the speech were mixed with the sound of automatic gunfire and car horns from supporters across the city.

In a sign of the growing desperation felt by Libya's opposition, Ali Tarhouni, the rebel finance minister, said that they had almost run out of cash.

International loans have failed to materialise and continued fighting has made it impossible to repair damaged oil installations that halted production in April. "We don't have any [cash]. We are running out of everything," he told the Reuters news agency. "It's a complete failure. Either they [Western nations] don't understand or they don't care."

Nato has yet to find an answer to the Libyan dictator's defiance, with missiles continuing to fall on Misrata. "It is unfortunately still the case that pro-Gaddafi forces continue to show shocking determination to harm the Libyan people," said Oana Lungescu, a Nato spokeswoman.

"It is hard to imagine the end to attacks on civilians while the pro-Gaddafi regime is still in power."

Residents of Misrata hoped for just such an ending last week, when Nato leafleted government lines around the city with lurid pictures of Apache helicopters and warning of dire retribution if the bombardment continued.

Since then, the bombardment has only intensified. On the streets of the shell-shattered city, journalists are now asked at regular intervals by the frightened populace: "Where is Nato?"

• This article was amended on Sunday 19 June to correct the spelling of Khalid Alwafi's surname.

NEW DELHI: India will be home to 4.37 lakh millionaires by 2018 with the count doubling by 2023, as a rapid rise is expected in the ultra-rich population over the coming 10 years - making it 'India's Decade' in terms of wealth creation, a new study says.

Over the past year, the number of millionaires in dollar terms in the country rose from 196,000 to 250,000, registering an increase of 27 per cent.

"Looking forward, India will continue to generate new millionaires at a rapid pace; we forecast 437,000 millionaires by 2018, and potentially double that number by 2023," Wealth-X said in its report titled 'Decades of Wealth: The Next 10 Years In Wealth and Luxury'.

Read more at:
India to be home to 4.37 lakh millionaires by 2018: Study - The Economic Times

Are we talking about rupee millionaires or dollar millionaires???

NEW DELHI: India will be home to 4.37 lakh millionaires by 2018 with the count doubling by 2023, as a rapid rise is expected in the ultra-rich population over the coming 10 years - making it 'India's Decade' in terms of wealth creation, a new study says.

Over the past year, the number of millionaires in dollar terms in the country rose from 196,000 to 250,000, registering an increase of 27 per cent.

"Looking forward, India will continue to generate new millionaires at a rapid pace; we forecast 437,000 millionaires by 2018, and potentially double that number by 2023," Wealth-X said in its report titled 'Decades of Wealth: The Next 10 Years In Wealth and Luxury'.

Read more at:
India to be home to 4.37 lakh millionaires by 2018: Study - The Economic Times

Man...the millionaire is common now a days..Whoever buys a house or owns a home they have to cough up 40-50 lakhs at min if this is a good city...So if start counting no of homes who purchased in Metros and capital of all states, it will be many times more than it is presented..

I think it is Rupee one...

umm article is pointing towards dollar millionaire.

not everyone has 6 crore rupees assets