India Suddenly in Love with Sri Lanka

Well i think atleast now our diplomatic machinery has awakened from deep slumber. Its high time that we concentrated on these string of pearls around us with confidence and assertiveness rather than skepticism and mistrust, afterall the so called string of pearls would be of our own making rather than by the Chinese.

I agree with some of Srilankans points above as a bigger neighbour we should reassure Srilanka of our best intentions, particularly in the light of LTTE episode.

I don't think just money and arms would earn the much needed trust my brother. Look at us we are so deeply mistrustful of China for a variety of reasons, the same goes to Srilankans too, don't u think so??

Some money and trust building measures will do a lot to ease Lankan tensions.

I think Sri Lanka guy is correct.

What we did was wrong and we need build up trust now with them.

Firstly I do think Sri Lanka guy missed the point of Peace Keeping force and we can say that period was from when we did tried to get with Sri Lanka.

All Indians, kindly don't be against this Guy. I am here and seen all his post. He is one of the sensible guy at this forum.

why is everyone giving so much importance to this postings from srilankan....

sri lanka is a developing country and obviously china has helped them a lot by building ports, railway n/w, and also monetary help for upliftment of their economy....

we could not do so in all these years......y is india having probs with its neighbours and this might be one of the reason....not helping our small developing neighbours at the right time......and this chance gets stolen by some other country....

its not good to see all indian members bashing poor srilankan for posting something that might be true, instead we should focus on damage control mode....

bhai log.....Paisa bolta hai sub jagah, sri lanka kya, koi aur ko jab tak paise doge woh tumhara wafadar rahega, jis din tum band karoge woh kisi aur ke pass jayega aur phir tumhe blackmail karega.....

This guy is attention seeker. Srilankan, why you have changed the title of the thread?????

I think Sri Lanka guy is correct.

What we did was wrong and we need build up trust now with them.

Firstly I do think Sri Lanka guy missed the point of Peace Keeping force and we can say that period was from when we did tried to get with Sri Lanka.

All Indians, kindly don't be against this Guy. I am here and seen all his post. He is one of the sensible guy at this forum.

Good to see this attitude bro,

Not only Srilanka perse but also other neighbours (excluding the obvoius) our foreign policy has been unimaginative.

This is the reason that today we are reading about these string of pearls.

Its time we accept our faults and rectify them.

why is everyone giving so much importance to this postings from srilankan....

sri lanka is a developing country and obviously china has helped them a lot by building ports, railway n/w, and also monetary help for upliftment of their economy....

we could not do so in all these years......y is india having probs with its neighbours and this might be one of the reason....not helping our small developing neighbours at the right time......and this chance gets stolen by some other country....

its not good to see all indian members bashing poor srilankan for posting something that might be true, instead we should focus on damage control mode....

bhai log.....Paisa bolta hai sub jagah, sri lanka kya, koi aur ko jab tak paise doge woh tumhara wafadar rahega, jis din tum band karoge woh kisi aur ke pass jayega aur phir tumhe blackmail karega.....

What u have said is 100% true but our close geographic proximity could have been used by our government effectively. Also there are other ways to help a country develop don't u think so??

India was never ever against or distant from Sri Lanka. Even India tried and offered help to Sri Lanka to stop ethnic clashes between Tamils and Sinhalees but arrogant Mr Bhandarnaike neither stopped atrocities against Tamils nor he listened India. Mrs Indira Gandhi initially offered diplomatically support but after his refusal he warned him for other ways. Later Mr Rajiv Gandhi's dubious stand on LTTE and LTTE's unnecessary provocation against India stopped all relations with Sri Lanka.

India helped Sri Lanka actually to provide data of LTTE and his no-interference policy in this regard hence claiming India is suddenly interested is actually wrong. India was and is always concerned about Tamils groups there.

In current scenario, China and India both needed as many countries on their side for new markets as well as for strategic position. Hence if Indian strategic team is visiting Sri Lanka, there is no hidden wonder.

India is not in love with Sri Lanka. India is concerned about the big bro next door. All South Asian countries (except, you know) are beginning to appreciate the fine art of playing one against another. Gud for them..

Firstly, we have to see the root of Indias foreign policy problems. Our politicians work as though they are dealing with everyday goons and hoodlums. If you ask me they were so Indocentric that they didnt even know the rest of the world existed. Accordingly they treated their neighbours, with callousness and no wisdom whatsover. I dont think they meant harm or prejusice against their neighbours, but indifference as they treat their very own citizens. Unfortunately, our neighbours didnt see it that way and their response is very validated. Once upon a time, India was so self centered and socialistic, but with the opening of the economy and the recognition that India has received worldwide, newer responsibilities have arisen. Newer threats have arisen. All said and done, I do appreciate the Indian governments response to the new challenges. Firstly, they have recognized (thanks to China) and begun rapprochment with its neighbours, which is fundamentally the one most inportant thing that India must do (Sri Lanka, very very very importantly Bangla Desh, Nepal and other smaller states)As India progresses, I believe they have to also lift the other nations of South Asia (except of course Pakistan) with them, keeping them happy and content, so that they dont leer at other nations for help. Joint military and econmic policies will go a long way in keeping these nations friendly to India. Open borders in the long run, will also help achieve this objective. Once we are are confident we have peaceful borders then we can concentrate our resources on our main security threats. India should do all it can to include Burma in the SAARC, this will go a long way with trade and military acievements via the land route. Naval base in Burma and Singapore would help put the checks on the Chinese navy. I sincerely believe India should put a lot of effort in developing a supreme relationship in its immediate negihbourhood even as it forges ahead with mighty strides in the rest of the world

What? India invested 1 billion doller for the war revanged people. for the development tell me which country giving money that much after war?

Srilanka rankd much better than all countries in South Asia- in education, child health, mortality rate etc....... Love them or hate them .....but try to learn from them.

Be largehearted, Indian army chief to Sinhalese | VIjay Kumar Singh | | Indian Express

COLOMBO: The visiting Indian army chief General Vijay Kumar Singh has asked the Sinhalese, the majority community in Sri Lanka, to be largehearted towards the minority Tamils and help them quickly re-build their war-shattered lives.

In an interview to The Sunday Island, Gen Singh said, “All Sri Lankans should move on by burying the bitterness and antagonism that existed all these years because of the civil war.” The Indian General said that during his five-day tour, he would not only strengthen bilateral defence cooperation but also “see how things are shaping up in the northern and eastern provinces.

Asked specifically what kind of defence cooperation he envisaged in the post-Eelam War scenario, Gen Singh said that it was for the political leaderships of the two countries to decide what it should be. Interestingly, Gen Singh was part of the Indian Peace Keeping Force (IPKF) which was in Sri Lanka to implement the 1987 India-Sri Lanka Accord between July 1987 and March 1990.

On Monday, Gen Singh will place a wreath at the monument for the IPKF in Sri Jayawardenepura, adjacent to Parliament. The monument has names of the 1,165 Indian personnel killed in the operations, inscribed on it.

The Indian Army chief ’s five-member delegation includes Maj Gen Harminderjit Singh Sachdev, General Officer Commanding an Infantry Division. Gen Singh is scheduled to meet Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapaksa, Prime Minister D M Jayaratne, Minister of External Affairs G L Peiris, Secretary of Defence Gotabhaya Rajapaksa, Chief of Defence Staff and Commander of the Air Force, the Commander of the Army and Commander of the Navy, among others.

Gen Singh will visit the Security Forces Headquarters of the Wanni in Vavuniya and see Indian de-miners at work in Omanthai. In Trincomalee, he would see the Indian-run oil tanks and the Sri Lankan naval dockyard. He will then visit the Sri Lanka Military Academy (SLMA) at Diyatalawa.

In the final leg of his visit Gen Singh will address student officers at the Defence Services Command and Staff College (DSCSC) in Sapugaskanda.