India seals Rs 70,000 crores missile deal with Russia : MOD sources

@batmannow is my friend and for long we do make some fun to each other.

Translation is -- Sir, where are you been these days, haven't seen you for long, and what does these Indians talking about s400 about (I prosume to have no knowledge at all ) and what happens to ur Su-35(Since we had lot of fun in the thread related to su-35 probable purchase by PAF)

Its fun nothing serious and he called BABA PADORI -- Baba is the first name of the op @BABA AGHORI and Padori is the one who FART too much.
Darling ,
I think its just another Ariel fire from , desperate Indian media , which is still shock of the Russians offer of their top of line , attacker /fighter /bomber SU-35 m to P in AF ?
There is no official confirmation from Indian or Russian MOD till yet about any deal done with India on the subject ?
@SU-35
The deal is in shadows , but our teams are in Russia , don't know what they are in to , maybe some test flights & avionics check inns , but picture will be more clear in just very short future with our ACM , s official tour Putin's land .

I am also interested in the reliability of the reported news of Russia linking the S400 deal with PAK-FA/FGFA deal. If the S400 deal is already done, does that mean that PAK-FA/FGFA deal was also done but not yet announced?

The coming summit would be interesting. Hopefully, it would have some pleasant surprises.

On the other hand if these news items turn out to be false then it would be a great PR disaster for the government.

PAKFA will happen because the Russians want it to happen. India is the only serious customer they have and they trust and who has the money to buy it in large numbers. Besides Russia is now under embargo so they have to sell the family jewels.

Negotiations, however is going to be tricky and could take some time primarily because Russia is still old school.

LOL...looks like Armchair experts in pdf know more about IAF requirements than MoD :lol:

So far the news is MMRCA has been scrapped and 36 rafale is being purchased off the shelf. Period. Not amount of mental masturbation is going to change this so stop wasting my time by sharing your "expert opinions".

S400 has 3 kind of missiles assigned for a single threat which is Ballestic Missiles. Such an expensive ABM system is unlikely to be used to target Aircrafts. To really is you need to take those 252 missiles and divide them by 3 and then you get 84 which is the number of target it can take out. Do you even know the maximum G value of these missiles ? :lol:

Now ALL radars can be jammed. All you need to do is fill the space with High energy EMW across all spectrum. Solid state amplifiers make this a reality and you can be pretty sure that one of the first things an enemy will do is try and take out the radars even if the price is to be paid by blood. That is the first step to ANY attack.

All the "active radards on the missiles" are useful ONLY after they have been launched post detection. So if they are never launched, they cease to matter.

I am not interested in worthless speculation based on your desires and fantasies. If you have any more facts to present do so by posting links.

Get your ahead out of your ***, read up before you open your mouth, coz its stinks. A Sanskrit poem comes to mind
Utthamum dadhdadaath paadam...Madhyam paadam thuchuk chuk ...Ghanisthah thud thudi paadam...Surr surri praan gatakam.. suits you

http://cdn2.img.sputniknews.com/images/102757/72/1027577253.png

Almaz-Antey 40R6 / S-400 Triumf / SA-21 SAM System /Самоходный Зенитный Ракетный Комплекс 40Р6 / С-400 'Триумф'

http://www.infiniteunknown.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/S400-Missile-Air-Defense-System.jpg

Armchair aside, you seem to be writing crap straight from the toilet bowl. The S-400 is able to deploy upto 5 types of missile (40N6, 48N6DM, 48H6D3, 9M96E2, 9M96E) with an additional type being currently deployed. The new missile series namely 77N6 is the one meant for pure ABM roles. India will acquire a mix of these missiles most likely the 77N6, 40N6, 48H6 & 9M96E2. With 4 battalions per regiment and 4 missile types, the S-400 will form a formidable layered defense net that few can get through. Different missiles are meant for different target types and 9M96E for instance is a formidable missile to kill fighters, a twin shot at any fighter is 95% kill rate which is good enough.

A single battalion armed with 9M96E2 missiles can have 256 missiles (16 launchers *16 missiles per launcher) ready to fire while 3 other battalions in the regiment armed with 40N6, 70N6 & 48H6 missiles will have an additional 192 missiles. Together a regiment of 448 missiles can counter significant amount of a variety of threats.

I never said the S-400 can't be jammed but said that even existing birds like Growlers lack the jamming range required to jam it from stand off ranges. The 40N6 was designed specifically to counter AWACS, JSTARS, Growlers etc. Besides none in our neighborhood have the capability to jam it let alone getting close enough to over-power one truly behemoth radar apart from other sets of fire control radars. S-400 comes with counter measures. Moreover, you are pretty dumb to assume that once established & integrated in the Indian context they will be sitting ducks working alone. With upcoming nation wide air & space defense command, all such elements will be fully integrated with other systems, even if some one manages to jam the Birg bird radar, we have many other radar types for target acquisition and handover to the fire control radars. FCRs can be 100 km away from the main radar.

So why not educate your dumb *** before posting garbage.

As for off the shelf Rafale purchase, its still waste of time and money, won't add any additional value that buying more MKI won't.

S 400 offensive in what way? it won't strike enemy territory.. rather it just protect our sky...
S-400 can enforce a no fly zone across the border for a quite some distance. As said, it can play both offensive and defensive roles.

Darling ,
I think its just another Ariel fire from , desperate Indian media , which is still shock of the Russians offer of their top of line , attacker /fighter /bomber SU-35 m to P in AF ?
There is no official confirmation from Indian or Russian MOD till yet about any deal done with India on the subject ?
@SU-35
The deal is in shadows , but our teams are in Russia , don't know what they are in to , maybe some test flights & avionics check inns , but picture will be more clear in just very short future with our ACM , s official tour Putin's land .

Indian defence minister has himself confirmed the S-400 sale interview to Russian Tass news on Oct.30.This will be among several deals that will be signed during Modi's visit to Russia in December when he will meet Putin himself.
The recent visit of Defence minister was to lay groundwork for these deals.

They may not take final shape during my visit but we’d like to prepare some of them for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit to Russia in December — for example, the project for joint production of Kamov Ka-226 helicopters. I hope to use my visit to have it inked on paper when the prime minister arrives. Also the purchase of S-400 missile systems. We anticipate these projects to be coordinated by next month.

TASS: Military & Defense - Indian Defense Minister: I have always seen Russia as an all-weather friend for India

Darling ,
@SU-35
Inshah Allah, but Janab I still feels PAF should opt for Su-34 rather than Su-35.

Lets see what happens, but Su-35 was very unlikely directly, either China purchase them and lease them to PAF, otherwise there don't see them coming to pakistan.

This is my openion Baki Khuda Khair Kare.

Hi , even though both are different parts of war plan , with our budget which one should be acquired first ?

Which one is a game changer ? Rafale or S400
Which one do we need at the moment ? Rafale or S400
That is a No Brainer.

1. Rafale is Offensive platform.

2. S400 is Defensive platform.

3. Offence is the best defence.

We need both but if we need to prioritize between the two then it should be s400s followed by RAFALE.

We need to ensure that our defenses are impregnable before we get a free hand to go on the offensive (read my earlier post below). There is a reason why India did not respond to the incidents like 26/11.

India seals Rs 70,000 crores missile deal with Russia : MOD sources | Page 18

Well this is simply illogical. By nature the S-400 is a defensive platform and one with a very specific mandate in mind- comparing it to a multi-role fighter jet is simply nonsensical. I have honestly never heard this sort of discussion anywhere else- no air force in the world has stated SAMs (no matter how capable) are substitutes for fighter jets. They aren't even remotely competing for resources in the IAF- it is not a "either or" situation.

Why keep talking about Pakistan? The threat from them (conventionally) has been neutralised for decades. The S-400 (and Rafale) are far more important against China and this is the adversary the entire Indian Military is concerning itself with.
Unlike Pakistan, many of China's military bases are found far away from India's borders and no SAM system will threaten them, it requires a capable long range strike fighter (aka the Rafale).Yes, a few S400 batteries deployed 100 or so KM inside Indian territory can harass the majority of PAF air bases- the same is not true for the PLAAF.

When they are not substitutes for one another AND the MKI (especially the "Super" standard) is not even that much cheaper then the Rafale this is illogical.

Which is why the 36 figure is in no way the final number- the writing is on the wall.

MiG-21s (and their successor- the LCA) are not air supremacy fighters that would be the tip of the spear- they are point defence aircraft meant to act as a rear guard for the "heavy hitters".

Neither the MKI nor the MiG-29UPG are equipped (or certified) to conduct the kind of low-level long range strike missions the Rafale would be tasked with. "Ground pounding" is within their remit but it is not where they excel.

First you have to penetrate enemy airspace in order to carry this out, as I have stated above, this is not a role the MKIs are designed to do- they are through-bred A2A beasts (I'm not even 100% sure the SFC has imparted any nuclear delivery role to any MKI SQN). The Jaguars are becoming increasingly redundant as stand alone strike aircraft in the modern age and would hence would be not be able to carry out such long range penetration missions with an assured degree of success- the Mirage 2000s don't have the range for such a mission.

+ the Jags and Mirages will both be out of service in 15 years so who will pick up the slack?

Rafale is the only logical solution to all of the above issues- and a lot of them.

Well I am not the one who started comparing fighters to SAMs. That said S-400 can play both offensive or defensive roles. Enforcing a no fly zone over the border either in PAK or TAR does that.

China has at least 5 air bases in TAR, sure it won't deter them that much but again their ingress into our air space gets virtually shot down due to the S-400 and if the no fly zone applies well a lot of their birds including key recon uavs, awacs, transports etc. are easy meat. Regardless of what anyone says, you really think Rafale can go hundreds of km into China for striking targets and come back, you're seriously mistaken, not happening even with the likes of F-22s around. With China we only have to hope that any skirmish is quickly put to an end we shoot down a few of their birds. A few soldiers die on both sides and we call it truce with new cease fires in place. Sure we can leave them with a bloody nose like in the 80's but we should hope for a quick draw down. Any extensive war with China is not good for anyone.

More so, Rafale's French weapons are far too expensive to acquire in numbers required. The DM so far has made it clear if its acquired it will be 36 and no more. 36 Rafales are not going make any difference in the grand scheme of things. The writing on the wall has been up for over 4 years now but nothing yet. I'll believe it when it happens. I always said, Rafale makes sense only when acquired in numbers over 4-5 sqds, ideally around 200. Let's wait till the 36 are signed first, chances of it happening slim by the day. Even then we have to spend quite some time integrating plenty of our local stuff on it before it becomes an effective platform in the Indian context.

Super MKI at least can be made and maintained at home and cost the same will come with better radar, OLS, engines etc. Moreso, the MKI at least will carry Brahmos, Brahmos mini, Nirbhay and others in due time. MKI also deploys ARMs like KH-31P, heavy bombs like the KAB 500/1500 guide bombs, Betabs, Griffins, Popeye cruise missiles, KH-59 ME/MK, KH-29Ls, Kh-35s while also being very good at A2A.

You underestimate Jags, with the CBU-105SFW, Paveways, Griffins integrated on it, it became one of the deadliest ground pounder in the IAF's inventory with an ability to take 40 moving targets with a single smart cluster bomb. Jag is also quite a reliable fleet with numbers of around 120, they can all be updated to Darin 3 standard with AESA and new engines for decent price. With new engines, it will also be able to lug more bombs out to longer ranges.

As for SFC having Nukes of MKI, well even if done, no one will hear about it. My guess, the Jag, Mirages and MKI already deploy gravity nuke bombs with the 1st set of Super MKI being readied to deploy nuke armed Brahmos and N-Nirbhay soon.

@Immanuel

S 400 will have to be placed near major cities and other High Value Targets
for BMD purpose only

Placing them at more than 200 KM away from the border is necessary
to prevent them from being targetted by HARPY like SEAD drones

IAI Harpy - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

China can also build such a drone and give it to Pakistan

It is our Rafale which will take out the enemy AWACS

The Indian AWACS will vector in the Rafales and MKI s to the PAF AWACS and Refuellers

Rafales can also knock out the F 16 s protecting the AWACS
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
@Immanuel @PARIKRAMA
@Abingdonboy

Indian Rafale Fighter Contract 'Soon Enough'; Dassault CEO

@Immanuel

S 400 will have to be placed near major cities and other High Value Targets
for BMD purpose only

Placing them at more than 200 KM away from the border is necessary
to prevent them from being targetted by HARPY like SEAD drones

IAI Harpy - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

China can also build such a drone and give it to Pakistan

It is our Rafale which will take out the enemy AWACS

The Indian AWACS will vector in the Rafales and MKI s to the PAF AWACS and Refuellers

Rafales can also knock out the F 16 s protecting the AWACS

I seriously doubt that, all major cities will eventually receive AAD/PAD as Delhi and Mumbai already are. using S-400s for city defense is quite silly and if done will kill internal local ABM programs, that's not the case here. The numbers of 12-13 regiments being suggested point to a nation wide coverage. When placed closer to the border 3 regiments can cover 70% of Pak, actually we can place them within 50km of the border and still have significant coverage across, it can shoot down most targets well within enemy territory why allow any targets to cross the border in the first place? Same goes for TAR, we can cover 200km into TAR in all directions by having around 4 regiments spread out over the north east. Having 1 regiment with battalions spread out in Kashmir protects all of it from all directions.

Harpy style killer drones are easy target practice for s-400, Akash , Spyder ADS, sorry but they won't even get with-in a 100km of the S-400. Harpy is a slow moving killer drone but if it manages to get through will still be shot down by Akash or Spyder as the road to S-400 will be littered with these. To kill the S-400's radars one needs at least supersonic or preferably hypersonic brahmos style very low terrain hugging cruise missiles which have to get through a layered defence system which will including air defense guns. In Russia, the S-400 batteries are protected by Pantsir S-1 with plenty of their own missiles and guns. As I said the net gets thicker the closer in and it becomes a strangle point for the enemy.

Rafale doesn't have the A2A missile range to get close enough to take down enemy awacs without having to fight the awacs's escorts, its MICA missiles can't shoot anything beyond 60km. Besides why risk a Rafale for shit duty of going after a distant protected flying asset while its best suited for moving ground. S-400's 40N6 missile makes easy kills for the their refuellers, awacs, transports and other large non maneuvering targets.

@Immanuel

Pakistan will have satellite imagery about S 400 Location
courtesy of China

It will definitely be the first target for them

If we want to shoot down AWACS and enforce a No fly Zone we can use
S 300 for it

They are quite cheap FOUR Systems for 900 Million USD
and place them close to the border just 100 KM away

Iran to Buy S-300 Missile Systems from Russia for $900 Million - Washington Free Beacon

Our AAD and PAD are taking Time
They are at least Five years away

Pakistan will use Ballistic and cruise missiles for attacking our Western Air Command Air bases

They are quite close to Pakistan

We need something for protecting them also

Western Air Command (India) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Hi all,

It's me who started, Rafale vs S400 Only on priority

Both weapons are needed in different areas of war,
However my intention is know which one is needed more for us

With sukhoi, mig29, LCA all primarily for A2A role, jaguar, mirages primarily for A2G role, How bad Rafale is needed
On other hand with SPYDER, AKASH, BARAK 8, PAD, AAD, How bad S400 is needed

sir, each and every point of your was Bang on target but, Rafale is not the only logical solution if the cost is too high or the French tries too make too mess.

Option 1 Why Su-34 MKI is not explored.

Option 2 MKI is designed for A2A beast Sure, so whats stopping MKI to do Rafale Job --
1, Certification of airframe at low altitude profile at 8G by OEM Sukhoi,
2 Upgradation of Bars N01 MMR for Terrain hugging,
3. terrain avoidance profile, autopilot, SAR Mode ,
4. Upgradation of ECW Suite to Spectra

So why do you think all 4 points cannot be fulfilled with Super Sukhoi MKI.

We have no idea what super sukhoi will be..

Hi all,

It's me who started, Rafale vs S400 Only on priority

Both weapons are needed in different areas of war,
However my intention is know which one is needed more for us

With sukhoi, mig29, LCA all primarily for A2A role, jaguar, mirages primarily for A2G role, How bad Rafale is needed
On other hand with SPYDER, AKASH, BARAK 8, PAD, AAD, How bad S400 is needed

We have no idea what super sukhoi will be..
I said exploring the posibility. If super sukhoi is not finalized, so it be to fulfill that needs.

Actually its this way.. S400 need is complementary to Rafale jets. Sam is always first strike and Jets second strike.

S400 SAM can be used as defensive or offensive based on the individual role assigned to it. For example its primary role is Airspace security guardian role in a multi tiered ABM shield for the country. Rafales with its omnirole (primarily i see them as DPSA) along with jags/Mirages complement Su30MKI/Mig29 Air superiority platforms with LCA as point defence.

Without Airspace Security guardian the IAF jets are less potent as eminent aerial threats and tracking can be used to counter such offensive capabilities of IAF jets. This is where S400 becomes offensive as its ability to target and take out Awacs, Drones, jets and other reconnaissance platforms makes enemy blind about what is going on in Indian Airspace (bcz they can see via radar but cant do much with any platforms due to guardian).

On top defensively it acts as guardian protecting us from hostile aerial and ballistic threats too. Why the word air space guardian bcz of its full mobility, 100% area sensors and firing coverage, 400km range of enagegment and 600 kms range of detection, all network centric warfare, a complete package

In the words of another boarder
"Planes and SAMs will supplement each other. SAMs will make a first shot on enemy airspace threats and then will go offline to change positions and reload. This time is fighters part - they will fire the second strike, covering SAMs during reload/position change process, than withdraw when SAMs will be ready to not to be shot down by SAMs next shot"

S-400 is a completely mobile system. It works in 15-mins battle Tic-Toc (5 mins for unpacking, 5 mins for aim and fire, and 5 mins to pack and get out).Pantsyr-S1 and the others like PDM (anti-diversions machines) and Gazetchik-M radar defence siuts (to catch ARMs) are very useful and highly recommended options to sustain this tactics. Thus the multi tier defense of S-400 systemm itself is formidable to any threat. Even if you detect its radar, the hostile interception plan to take out radar itself is a challenge. Thats why you see NATO crying over just S-300 itself and S-400 is a class ahead

Well about placement, radar modules itself within 150-200km range gives full 400km plus inland (inside pakistan) detection and even if we place say the 250km TEL (just 1 TEL of 48N6) within further 50km towards the border (implying the TEL is 100km from the border) the range of operations is still within 100-150 km inside Pak airspace. NOw the 40N6 can be further inside our borders at say 200 kms from the border giving us an inside range of 200 kms into Pak airspace.We can of course keep moving it between the range of 100-200kms giving us 200-300km inside range in pak airspace (mobility benefit). This implies S-400 can beat Pak IRBMs on launch route (active trajectory part) if their launch sites will be within the S-400 hit radius. And if not, than it will beat them on targeting routes in a mid course intercepption. If it still fails then terminal interception is always there as a solution (of course the N bomb in terminal interception may not do huge damage but of course Electromagnetic pulse impact will be there)

In other words the positioning of TELs itself can help us define how much inside pakistani Airspace we want real and formidable coverage and ability to neutralize or restrict. This is purely bcz of geographical benefit of india pak borders having no mountainous regions in guj-raj-punjab sector and breadth of pak as a country being limited. (no offense)

(Courtesy to gadeshi for lot of inputs and Austin)

@Immanuel

Pakistan will have satellite imagery about S 400 Location
courtesy of China

It will definitely be the first target for them

If we want to shoot down AWACS and enforce a No fly Zone we can use
S 300 for it

They are quite cheap FOUR Systems for 900 Million USD
and place them close to the border just 100 KM away

Iran to Buy S-300 Missile Systems from Russia for $900 Million - Washington Free Beacon

Our AAD and PAD are taking Time
They are at least Five years away

Pakistan will use Ballistic and cruise missiles for attacking our Western Air Command Air bases

They are quite close to Pakistan

We need something for protecting them also

Western Air Command (India) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Well S-400 sites won't be easy to find, firstly since they can move in and out of very well hidden shelters near mountains with clear fields of fire. Other than the Big Bird radar which will be more or less in a steady location, all other elements can move in and out of secret underground shelters and bunkers, there are tons of such shelters across the breadth and length of the Western, eastern and northern frontier. Again off course the enemy will try to target it but it won't be easy at all and they'll pay a heavy price for it, when placed carefully, batteries can pop in and out of shelters, launch a barrage of missiles and scoot. Any incoming cruise, tactical ballistic missiles, fighters, uavs etc. will be shot down as we can afford to fire multiple missiles against a single target. The threat could come from IRBMs but Pak doesn't have accurate enough missiles to hit such a target. The volume of fire that can come from a fully armed S-400 regiment is quite dramatic

Why get S-300 when S-400 wraps in the capabilities of the S-300 into one. What we need is each full scale S-400 regiment armed with 4 types of missiles for 4 battalions. 1 battalion deploying the 9M9E2 (120km range ideal against high G fighters, maneuver cruise missiles, recon UAVs etc.) (4 batteries of 4 TELs each) 16 TELs*16 missile sper TEL, 256 missiles, 1 battalion with 40N6 400km range missile to counter non maneuvering Transports, AWACS, Electronic Attack aircraft, 16 TELs*4 missile 64 missiles, 1 battalion with 64 48H6E2 250km range missiles to counter, cruise missiles, bombers etc. 1 battalion with 64 77N6 ABMs to counter theater and SRBM and IRBM up to a certain range. We are looking at upwards of 400 missiles in ready to fire mode. Even if we get a semi regiment with 2-3 battalions and 3 types of missiles, the numbers are still pretty hefty. The volume of fire required from the enemy is far too great to defeat such a single regiment. China can afford a fight like this one but Pak can't but even China would think hard as the cost of such engagement can put a strain on resources. Looking at the cost of the deal of 11 billion and taking into account make in India we can easily have 12-13 full regiments enough to guard Indian skies.

Bases & key installations will automatically fall under its protective cover due to large areas of coverage. More over IAF will also deploy Barak NG, Akash and Spyder to protect key assets. The over-all coverage achieved is quite spectacular. The key point remains that the S-400 allows us engagement possibilities well beyond enemy lines.

AAD and PAD in early phases are already ready. The failures have been in terms of expending their engagement ranges i.e killing targets at higher altitudes. Phase-1 goals have been achieved. We are more stuck at delivering initial phase 2 capabilities.

An interesting view from a boarder..

The biggest implication of a $11 billion S400 purchase is saturation of air and short/intermediate range missile defence of virtually all Indian airspace. That will totally negate the current Pakistani nuclear retaliation rheortic for any Indian anti terrorism action into Pakistan i.e. it will free up India to use its conventional weapons superiority to deal with Pakistan and Pakistan backed terrorism without worry that New Delhi/Mumbai will be nuked. It will also provide India protection against large scale conventional Chinese short range missile attacks against Indian airbases in the opening round of any Chinese attack on India. (primarily from Tibetian Autonomous region)

IMO, the S400 is worth its weight in gold and a small price to pay for the policy options it opens up for India in dealing with Pakistan.
(courtesy Idev)