India says no to Afghan arms plea

thestringshredder

SINGAPORE: India has turned down Afghanistan's request for supply of lethal weapons, saying it was not "either in a position or willing" to contribute lethal weapons right now, days after Afghan President Hamid Karzai raised the issue with Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

"We are going to help with non-lethal equipment but I don't think we are either in the position to or willing to contribute lethal weapons right now," external affairs minister Salman Khurshid said.

Noting that India already supplies important elements of supporting equipment, transportation- which includes helicopters, the minister said,"..we think it is not advisable to go beyond that. It is a fragile area, there are stakeholders, there are other people. We don't want to become part of the problem."

During his recent visit to India, Karzai had handed a "wish list" to Indian leadership seeking greater military and civilian support in the wake of proposed withdrawal of US-led forces from Afghanistan in 2014.

Khurshid, in an interview to Straits Times, said there are lots of people who have perceptions about the future of Afghanistan and "if we can help Afghanistan without creating further problems for them, I think that would be a preferred way to do it."

He said, "we are in touch with them constantly, and we are committed and have said very categorically... We are not looking at exit routes for ourselves which means we are there to stay for a long term. We are very comforted by the fact that Afghans have confidence in us. We won't let them down."

Link - India says no to Afghan arms plea - The Times of India

ohhhh no man . please give him poor man karzai come to your home ask for weapons . you have heart inside or stone ??????:undecided: at least give him few guns so he fire on evil pakistanis :)

Though a good decision, it shouldnt have been told such openly in Public. Our foreign minister is really a comedy piece.
It should always be in ambigiuos way, such that we can supply arms in future if need arises.
Completely declaring no help of support is a stupid declaration to media

[
"We are going to help with non-lethal equipment but I don't think we are either in the position to or willing to contribute lethal weapons right now," external affairs minister Salman Khurshid said.

even jets, tanks do not work on Afghanistan, and they are talking about non-lethal stuff ........waste of money, Afghans need mental lesson

Haathi ke daant dikhane ke aur hai ,,khane ke aur ,,,

Ye to dikhane wala daant hai,,,

dil ke behlany ko ghalib ye khayal acha hai :omghaha:

even jets, tanks do not work on Afghanistan, and they are talking about non-lethal stuff ........waste of money, Afghans need mental lesson

they need education only education

Damn it, the ball was in our court, only if our PM had balls.

Never become trouble maker when USA is around and capable of exporting arms to Afghanistan, It was USA's invasion that brought Afghanistan to this state and let them take care of Taliban and Afghan defense.

India only gives aid, Trains afghan security forces and participates in the development of Afghanistan, enough to win the hearts of Afghans.

non lethal equipment can save lives and help the troops.

SINGAPORE: India has turned down Afghanistan's request for supply of lethal weapons, saying it was not "either in a position or willing" to contribute lethal weapons right now, days after Afghan President Hamid Karzai raised the issue with Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

Noting that India already supplies important elements of supporting equipment, transportation- which includes helicopters, the minister said,"..we think it is not advisable to go beyond that. It is a fragile area, there are stakeholders, there are other people. We don't want to become part of the problem."

During his recent visit to India, Karzai had handed a "wish list" to Indian leadership seeking greater military and civilian support in the wake of proposed withdrawal of US-led forces from Afghanistan in 2014.

Khurshid, in an interview to Straits Times, said there are lots of people who have perceptions about the future of Afghanistan and "if we can help Afghanistan without creating further problems for them, I think that would be a preferred way to do it."

He said, "we are in touch with them constantly, and we are committed and have said very categorically... We are not looking at exit routes for ourselves which means we are there to stay for a long term. We are very comforted by the fact that Afghans have confidence in us. We won't let them down."

Link - India says no to Afghan arms plea - The Times of India

Indian has done the right thing....Afganistan is not facing any direct enemy that it can go on a war with weapons from abrod. Afganistan's problem is different...It is a problem that Afganistan has to behave as a nation first...And the solution to this problem has to come from its people than any one from outside can do by providing arms...

Somehow I like the way how Japan has earned a lot of respect though out the world. India should get involved in all non military ways like trade, education, medical assistance and training to their civilian and military persons....This will help to GOV of AFganistan is strengthening the GOV.

Well to be honest, there is a point.

What do we supply them with?

Our tanks are being made so slowly that they won't be over in time for our own military.

Our gunship is still in testing phase and has to first complete a massive 180 order by IAF and IAA.

BrahMos is something Afghanistan currently cannot afford to wield in sufficient numbers.

Tejas has become the perennial lost case.

Nuclear missiles are out of question.

Nirbhay is still in testing phase and they will still need to wield enough numbers even if it is cheaper than BrahMos.

We're making good progress in warships BUT Afghanistan is a landlocked country.

-----

So thanks to the bullshit sarkari regime and the NO-ACCOUNTABILITY-BY SARKARI-EMPLOYEES system, there is nothing we can offer the Afghans. :pissed:

Well to be honest, there is a point.

What do we supply them with?

Our tanks are being made so slowly that they won't be over in time for our own military.

Our gunship is still in testing phase and has to first complete a massive 180 order by IAF and IAA.

BrahMos is something Afghanistan currently cannot afford to wield in sufficient numbers.

Tejas has become the perennial lost case.

Nuclear missiles are out of question.

Nirbhay is still in testing phase and they will still need to wield enough numbers even if it is cheaper than BrahMos.

We're making good progress in warships BUT Afghanistan is a landlocked country.

-----

So thanks to the bullshit sarkari regime and the NO-ACCOUNTABILITY-BY SARKARI-EMPLOYEES system, there is nothing we can offer the Afghans. :pissed:

We cannot offer anything to Afghanistan militarily,we are the largest importer of arms.

@Aeronaut they blinked. :D

Everything is going according to the Indian master plan though. :lol: @Secur @balixd

Yes it is. and we dont want to give a chance to Pakistan to use it as a reason to support the Taliban. Bottom line is we are giving them something more better than weapons.

Yep we are giving them Men(Leaders) who are capable of using them.

21nxg_p6_7_petlee_g161jl329121nxg_afghan.jpg