India railway failings 'like massacre'

Ever heard of the rule of law? Charge those wrongdoers with endangering public safety and put them in jail like what China does.
India is not china. India is more like pakistan, bangladesh, nepal, sri lanka,nigeria, south africa etc(whether good or bad). That is the reality.
Govt cannot change mindset of people. The number of people who die is quite low to be frank considering the brazenness of people.
I have seen people crossing tracks in manned level crossing, they cant even wait 2 to 3 minutes.

Trains can be heard coming from a long way off, shouldn't that give them enough time to escape?

India is not china. India is more like pakistan, bangladesh, nepal, sri lanka,nigeria, south africa etc(whether good or bad). That is the reality.
Govt cannot change mindset of people. The number of people who die is quite low to be frank considering the brazenness of people.
I have seen people crossing tracks in manned level crossing, they cant even wait 2 to 3 minutes.

In that case, I still blame the Indian government of negligence of educating its own people. I believe the Govt CAN change the mindset of people but the Indian govt did not take its responsible job enough.

Could India pick our high-speed rail for its coming upgrade of railway system. :pop:

We have huge price advantage, and its quality now even surpasses that of Japan.

Why pick their old Shinkansen over our new technology? :coffee:

Could India pick our high-speed rail for its coming upgrade of railway system. :pop:

I think chinese are involved in metro rail project in many places. Depends on bidding criteria I guess.

---------- Post added at 03:12 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:10 AM ----------

Trains can be heard coming from a long way off, shouldn't that give them enough time to escape?
People cross infront of train even when it is coming towards them and they can see it.
Most of the time, it is difficult to judge speed of a train coming towards you, only when it crosses you, then you know it was travelling fast.

This is not our high-speed bullet train, it is 200kph train incorporating with the foreign technology.

BTW, eventually you cannot resist our products to occupy your market from the bottom to the top. :coffee:

Chinese will prove itself as a leading technology provider in the bullet train market after all the sensation and emotion boils down in the next few years. Last year's setback definitely slows down the export of bullet train. Lessons that were learned will make our HSR safer with more consideration of safety and reliability.

That's the point. Even when the people see that the train is coming, they will try to cross the track in order to save a few seconds and to get that bollywood feel.

This article talks of half of the deaths happening in Mumbai and being from Mumbai, I can tell you that mostly it is the people to blaim. Even if the bridge is just 20 - 40 feet away, they will still cross tracks.

Luckily, the situation seems to be improving now with lots of fencing on many stations. People are now forced to take bridges.

Yaar, 15000 people are getting killed when the speed of the train barely crosses 100. You expect them to survive at 200 :P

In China, we had problems like this in the past, so what we did was this:

Put every train track on raised reinforced concrete bridges or artificial mountain with a tunnel through it.

Fence it off with barbed wire and giant "KEEP OUT" signs. Put shark rock on the edge to prevent people from climbing on.

Now even 1 person dying per year is very rare.

India should do it like this:

build bridges every km across railroads.

Then build electrified barbed wire fences with broken glass on top to make sure no one tries.

Put every train track on raised reinforced concrete bridges or artificial mountain with a tunnel through it.

Fence it off with barbed wire and giant "KEEP OUT" signs. Put shark rock on the edge to prevent people from climbing on.

Then build electrified barbed wire fences with broken glass on top to make sure no one tries.

That sounds more like TORTURE :P

On a serious note, I think that doing that would require a very very huge investment and hence, it is not possible to do it on every station.

In any case, we have our trademark railway song warning people about the dangers of crossing ;)

For all Mumbaikars,

"Ghar par koi apna hai joh aapka karta hai ........ (confused in this line :P )

Roz shaam ko karta hai joh aapka ghar pe intezaar

Rel ki patri paar na kare, pulon ka karein istemaal.

Aap rahenge sada surakshit aur hamesha hi khushhal"

If India started out by building on raised platforms there wouldn't be this problem but yes it is a huge investment.

Lol. We cant even do that in Indo pak / indo bangla border!!!
Many more will die due to electocution, people will burn down train station if that happens.

Lol. We cant even do that in Indo pak / indo bangla border!!!
Many more will die due to electocution, people will burn down train station if that happens.

people would actually try to climb over barbed wire fences, to illegally cross a train track?

No, but if they get electicuted due to some malfunction, it can lead to chaos.
The elevated bridge is good idea( indeed it is there in many places), but not possible to do so everywhere.