India not war ready, Army Chief tells Modi

worst Defense Minister India Ever got.

Waa re Indian fauz. India has been the topmost importer of weapons for years now and the army is still running in its lungi, not war ready, not war ready.

Today India is world largest weapon Importer.... And Indian Army says we are not WAR ready....Just Imagine , When Army Says WE ARE WAR READY...What would be the meaning of that Situation....

Firepower, critical in any war, is a worry because there's been no new addition of artillery guns since the scam-tainted Bofors deal of 1986. Army air defence is outdated as well. Army aviation, which is the lifeline for soldiers deployed on forbidding border posts up to 23,000 feet high, is saddled with the over 40-year-old Cheetah-Chetak helicopters. Night blindness is a critical factor not adequately addressed.
The efforts to deal with military obsolescence over the last decade appear clumsy and incompetent. No headway has been made in the over $5 billion artillery modernisation programme, despite multiple tenders and repeated trials. It's the same story with the $1 billion acquisition of 197 light helicopters for the Army. India's big air defence programme — the $5 billion Very Short Range Air Defence Systems (VSHORAD) is stuck in red tape. So is the Short-Range Surface-to-Air Missile (SRSAM) development programme. The $1.5 billion procurement of the basic assault rifle and carbine for the infantry hasn't made any significant progress. The anti-tank Javelin missile too appears a mirage, as also the Future Infantry Combat Vehicle (FICV).
The most startling of the challenges flagged by General Bikram Singh to be addressed on a priority basis was the depletion in the war wastage reserves for ammunition, which has fallen well below 50%. "Current levels will not last even a week of intense war," sources acknowledged. General Bikram Singh wants a Rs 19,250 cr funding to replenish ammunition stocks. "The roadmap entails making up 50% of the war wastage reserves of ammunition by the end of 2015 and 100% by 2019," sources disclosed.

Is it really that bad, or are they just scaremongering?

Our General is also aim for such modernisation .That is why he explained all this to our PM.They are aiming for a mighty Army.For that General may exaggarate the situation .It may be helpful for more funding.
This will create problem to us if the opponents is too strong and I am not talking about Pakistan.May you know that.

There is no exaggeration. Indian defence industry has failed to match the needs and expectations of our defence forces. Problems in Indigenization have become a major roadblock. Even ammunition is being imported.

India not war ready, Army Chief tells Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi stepped into the War Room of the Military Operations Directorate of the Army Headquarters for the first time on Friday to review the security challenges on India's troubled frontiers. He hadn't reckoned with the inconvenient truth that India is not ready for war. Army chief General Bikram Singh did not hold back on the "critical hollowness" afflicting the Army after a decade of missed deadlines for procurement and wherewithal to face war. He made it clear that the basic weapon available to the infantry soldier — the INSAS Rifle — was obsolete. Firepower, critical in any war, is a worry because there's been no new addition of artillery guns since the scam-tainted Bofors deal of 1986. Army air defence is outdated as well. Army aviation, which is the lifeline for soldiers deployed on forbidding border posts up to 23,000 feet high, is saddled with the over 40-year-old Cheetah-Chetak helicopters. Night blindness is a critical factor not adequately addressed.
The efforts to deal with military obsolescence over the last decade appear clumsy and incompetent. No headway has been made in the over $5 billion artillery modernisation programme, despite multiple tenders and repeated trials. It's the same story with the $1 billion acquisition of 197 light helicopters for the Army. India's big air defence programme — the $5 billion Very Short Range Air Defence Systems (VSHORAD) is stuck in red tape. So is the Short-Range Surface-to-Air Missile (SRSAM) development programme. The $1.5 billion procurement of the basic assault rifle and carbine for the infantry hasn't made any significant progress. The anti-tank Javelin missile too appears a mirage, as also the Future Infantry Combat Vehicle (FICV).
The most startling of the challenges flagged by General Bikram Singh to be addressed on a priority basis was the depletion in the war wastage reserves for ammunition, which has fallen well below 50%. "Current levels will not last even a week of intense war," sources acknowledged. General Bikram Singh wants a Rs 19,250 cr funding to replenish ammunition stocks. "The roadmap entails making up 50% of the war wastage reserves of ammunition by the end of 2015 and 100% by 2019," sources disclosed.
"Of all the services, the progress in the modernisation programme of the Army has been the worst. The only significant assets we've added over the last decade are the T-90 tanks, the Smerch long-range artillery, Pinaka rocket systems and the Brahmos missiles. Very serious gaps are showing in our capability. These must be addressed by the new government on avery urgent basis. That's our urgent appeal to the political leadership," said a senior officer.
Sources said the War Room briefing for Modi lasted 2 hours and 45 minutes. The Army is hoping that its severe readiness deficit registered on the Prime Minister.
This is known to us for long time the way your Army lost soldiers in 2001 and 2002 stand off and your army refusal to fight after 2008 Mumbai Attacks made it clear Indian forces are in some serious trouble right now and their bad are not close to be over @Areesh @Windjammer

India wasn't battle ready in 1971 and 1999 either. Your senior general made such claim before Pakistan attempted the Kargil experiment which exploded on your face.

Sir your Army lost 2000 soldiers without any major war in 2002 and after Mumbai attacks they clearly refused to go to war with Pakistan sir face the reality and your Army is short of 10000 soldiers Mr for really long time still issue is not resolved

India refused because your big Daddy US pressured India and PAK PM in a statement accepted for the first time that those were PAK in order to save PAK from Indian attack..

Not in Kargil you accepted that those were NA soldiers or PAK citizens , in Mumbai you scared so much , with 2-3 days you accepted that attackers were Pakistani.

India already raising 17 crops of 80-90K soldiers including new SF units and para battalion. which will then free all 3 striking corps 1, 2 and 21 corp of offensive formation to PAK only.

Salam.. Im new here and feeling well honoured to be a part of this Site... So as per Indian Army cheif telling his New Baby Doll Minister to stay away from any junkie Moves.. :) well... Wise commander.. :) very wise.. Pakistan is a Muslim Country And not a Single Muslim Country... But India is the only Hindu Religion country of the world.. :) Pakistan will INSHALLAH prevail ALWAYS.. BUT if war comes on India... Origin of Hinduism will be in Great Trouble...

Seems there must be a war inevitable then ready to lose something India.

Is it really that bad, or are they just scaremongering?

Well, for starters, the report is factually correct. Hence, I'd rather believe this version than grandiose claims of the Army that it's ready for a Two-front War.

Salam.. Im new here and feeling well honoured to be a part of this Site... So as per Indian Army cheif telling his New Baby Doll Minister to stay away from any junkie Moves.. :) well... Wise commander.. :) very wise.. Pakistan is a Muslim Country And not a Single Muslim Country... But India is the only Hindu Religion country of the world.. :) Pakistan will INSHALLAH prevail ALWAYS.. BUT if war comes on India... Origin of Hinduism will be in Great Trouble...
Thank You for this amazing analysis. Please do open a thread and introduce yourselves. I look forward to many more similarly illuminating posts from you.

Seems there must be a war inevitable then ready to lose something India.
India will take everyone around with it

Why do you put religion into this.We got more muslims than you and many have joined our army.

So Artillery - 5 Billion
little helicopter - 1 Billion
VShorad - 5 Billion
SAM - 1.5 Billion
Ammunition - 19,250 Rs

So Total 15 Billion Dollars
Or 1,06,750 carore Rupees.

For General Hafiz Saeed , a pea shooter is more than enough!

The bloody Congress wallahs have screwed the country enough. I'm sure Modi will correct the rot that set in due to atrocious governance by Gandhi and Co.
bhai awam ko khilao kun weapons pa kharch kr rai ho

Our competition is not with Pakistan :mad:
bhai you cant compete with china or USA get out of this day dreaming stuff even u cant compete with japs or vietnam bro be rational