Shahzaz ud din
India Media Thinks Atif Aslam’s Son is Named ‘Alhamdulilah’
Wait what?
by UMMARA SHERAZabout 10 hours ago
ShareTweet
Indian media can get a crack out of you on the most unexpected of subjects. Their recent blooper really hit it out of the ballpark as they reported that Atif Aslam has named his second son, ‘Alhamdulilah’.
Do ya reckon, Atif Aslam might take that ‘name suggestion’ into consideration?
So what happened here? We take a look.
Atif Aslam made a statement
As most Muslim parents do, Atif Aslam also announced the arrival of his baby boy in a similar fashion:
“Ladies and gentlemen our NEW arrival Alhamdulilah. Both mother and baby are fine. Keep us in your prayers and don’t forget to say Mashallah”
ALSO READ
Atif Aslam Will Sing “Wohi Khuda Hai” for Coke Studio Season 12 [Video]
Atif was thankful to God and therefore, Alhamdullilah. But someone work works in the Indian media forgot what the term means. And it seems that they took the liberty (free press right?) to report that the child’s name is ‘Alhamdulilah’.
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
https://twitter.com/NargisiKoftaay/status/1209110896036978688
Atif’s post: “Ladies and gentlemen our NEW arrival Alhamdulilah. Both mother and baby are fine. Keep us in your prayers and don’t forget to say Mashallah”
Indian media:
Moments like this call for a Twitter field day, and Twitterati served some of their best swings.
Divya Rai@raidivya27
· 11h
Replying to @JehangirJm and 2 others
I came here to say that.
ThisRevolutionwillbetweeted@citizenbolario
Mash Aslam, it works !
https://twitter.com/intent/like?tweet_id=1209316427594788867
10:34 PM - Dec 23, 2019
Twitter Ads info and privacy
See ThisRevolutionwillbetweeted's other Tweets
How’s this for a nickname?
Jehangir Masud@JehangirJm
· 12h
Replying to @NargisiKoftaay @Wabbasi007
They forgot to say that his nickname was Mashallah.
Divya Rai@raidivya27
I came here to say that.
2:12 PM - Dec 23, 2019
See Divya Rai's other Tweets
Netizens even offered follow-ups.
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Atif’s post: “Ladies and gentlemen our NEW arrival Alhamdulilah. Both mother and baby are fine. Keep us in your prayers and don’t forget to say Mashallah”
Indian media:
danish@Danish_IB
And aatif aslam said: Astagfirullah
baaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Noop@soundmeister
Planning a second child soon, to be named Inshallah
Really feeling the holiday cheer with this one.
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
dee loves Louis@Tomlinstalent
I read the image first and was like wtf?! The pretext makes it so much more better oh my lord
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Hillbilly no. 1@Mutinywithme
@allergicbanda another one for you to hysterically laugh at for 7 days
https://twitter.com/intent/like?tweet_id=1209328535493586949
11:22 PM - Dec 23, 2019
See Hillbilly no. 1's other Tweets
ALSO READ
Apple Inc or Apple Fruit? Here’s The Truth Behind That Viral TV Clip! [Video]
Finally, someone who can take a joke and make one too.
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
And we named our kids hai bhagwan
10:33 PM - Dec 23, 2019
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Atulya@Atulya50095688
Oh yes. We have our fair share of idiots. Combined with our huge population, that's a lot of idiots.
https://twitter.com/intent/like?tweet_id=1209200177875054592
2:52 PM - Dec 23, 2019
See Atulya's other Tweets
Speaking of taking a joke.
Souveer@souveer
· 7h
Replying to @NargisiKoftaay @karachikhatmal
@rameezghauri
Rameez Ghauri@rameezghauri
Hahahaha hamaray sports ke journalist or aapke regular walay
5:53 PM - Dec 23, 2019
See Rameez Ghauri's other Tweets
This isn’t a first from Indian media and we don’t expect it to be their last (or forever).
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Rubbing In The FACTS! @baremetalguy
Indian media on most issues ...
https://twitter.com/intent/like?tweet_id=1209323188397592576
11:01 PM - Dec 23, 2019
See Rubbing In The FACTS! 's other Tweets
Except it is true. Screenshots last forever.
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Rahul@iamrahul982016
Wtfffan't be true
https://twitter.com/intent/like?tweet_id=1209155052339752961
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Möbius' Trip@coolkarknee
They seemed to have changed the post
Some people still want to know:
Girish Naik | ಗಿರೀಶ ನಾಯ್ಕ@gunaik
· 4h
Replying to @NargisiKoftaay
As someone who come across with this word Urdu 'Alhamdulilah' for the first time, I thought it is the name of the child. Thanks everyone for explaining the meaning - '
But seriously what's the meaning?
¯\_(ツ)_/¯@Chingri_Fiss
Praise be to God
11:21 PM - Dec 23, 2019
See ¯\_(ツ)_/¯'s other Tweets
Things got serious as people dug into how does such a blooper some to be?
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Mahnoor Bari@Wlayti
If anything this is an indication this author has never interacted meaningfully with a Muslim...
Abdul Rauf@liveAbdulRauf
· 7h
Replying to @Wlayti and 2 others
That's not the author's problem. We wrongly assume that random familiarity with religion/culture/idea to be same as its proper understanding. Muslims bemoan the prevalence of misconception, but hardly make the effort to educate people.
Angie@designphilia
It isn't the subject's responsibility to educate, it is the duty of the 'journalist' to do proper research. Looking at the platform, it definitely is stirring up a dirty martini.
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Zinia Bandyopadhyay@iamzinia
Hello all. I am the 'idiot' author of the article. It was a genuine mistake on my part, the silliest and one of the worst I have ever made. I would be grateful if all of you here can forgive this ignorant person. I will be more careful in the future.
P.S.- it's been corrected
Zinia, what is this behaviour?
In retrospect, this is the silliest and one of the worst mistakes I have ever made. But as soon as we realised, we made the change. Too late though. But I learnt two things:
1. Be very careful on the web
2. Alhamdulilah cannot be a name
Genuinely sorry though
The writer of the article clearly needs to go back to English class
The Roving Photographer@TheRovingPhotog
No. To cultural sensitivity class.
In the end, we got some pretty good laughs out of this. The post has been corrected. Atif Aslam has issued a statement. So let’s not be ‘The Grinch‘ around Whoville too long. Twitter will come up with something funnier soon enough.
Wait what?
by UMMARA SHERAZabout 10 hours ago
ShareTweet
Indian media can get a crack out of you on the most unexpected of subjects. Their recent blooper really hit it out of the ballpark as they reported that Atif Aslam has named his second son, ‘Alhamdulilah’.
Do ya reckon, Atif Aslam might take that ‘name suggestion’ into consideration?
So what happened here? We take a look.
Atif Aslam made a statement
As most Muslim parents do, Atif Aslam also announced the arrival of his baby boy in a similar fashion:
“Ladies and gentlemen our NEW arrival Alhamdulilah. Both mother and baby are fine. Keep us in your prayers and don’t forget to say Mashallah”
ALSO READ
Atif Aslam Will Sing “Wohi Khuda Hai” for Coke Studio Season 12 [Video]
Atif was thankful to God and therefore, Alhamdullilah. But someone work works in the Indian media forgot what the term means. And it seems that they took the liberty (free press right?) to report that the child’s name is ‘Alhamdulilah’.
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
https://twitter.com/NargisiKoftaay/status/1209110896036978688
Indian media:
Moments like this call for a Twitter field day, and Twitterati served some of their best swings.
Divya Rai@raidivya27
· 11h
Replying to @JehangirJm and 2 others
I came here to say that.
Mash Aslam, it works !
https://twitter.com/intent/like?tweet_id=1209316427594788867
10:34 PM - Dec 23, 2019
How’s this for a nickname?
Jehangir Masud@JehangirJm
· 12h
Replying to @NargisiKoftaay @Wabbasi007
They forgot to say that his nickname was Mashallah.
Divya Rai@raidivya27
I came here to say that.
2:12 PM - Dec 23, 2019
See Divya Rai's other Tweets
Netizens even offered follow-ups.
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
danish@Danish_IB
And aatif aslam said: Astagfirullah
baaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Noop@soundmeister
Planning a second child soon, to be named Inshallah
Really feeling the holiday cheer with this one.
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
dee loves Louis@Tomlinstalent
I read the image first and was like wtf?! The pretext makes it so much more better oh my lord
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Hillbilly no. 1@Mutinywithme
@allergicbanda another one for you to hysterically laugh at for 7 days
https://twitter.com/intent/like?tweet_id=1209328535493586949
11:22 PM - Dec 23, 2019
See Hillbilly no. 1's other Tweets
ALSO READ
Apple Inc or Apple Fruit? Here’s The Truth Behind That Viral TV Clip! [Video]
Finally, someone who can take a joke and make one too.
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
And we named our kids hai bhagwan
10:33 PM - Dec 23, 2019
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Atulya@Atulya50095688
Oh yes. We have our fair share of idiots. Combined with our huge population, that's a lot of idiots.
https://twitter.com/intent/like?tweet_id=1209200177875054592
2:52 PM - Dec 23, 2019
See Atulya's other Tweets
Speaking of taking a joke.
Souveer@souveer
· 7h
Replying to @NargisiKoftaay @karachikhatmal
@rameezghauri
Rameez Ghauri@rameezghauri
Hahahaha hamaray sports ke journalist or aapke regular walay
5:53 PM - Dec 23, 2019
See Rameez Ghauri's other Tweets
This isn’t a first from Indian media and we don’t expect it to be their last (or forever).
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Rubbing In The FACTS! @baremetalguy
Indian media on most issues ...
https://twitter.com/intent/like?tweet_id=1209323188397592576
11:01 PM - Dec 23, 2019
See Rubbing In The FACTS! 's other Tweets
Except it is true. Screenshots last forever.
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Rahul@iamrahul982016
Wtfffan't be true
https://twitter.com/intent/like?tweet_id=1209155052339752961
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Möbius' Trip@coolkarknee
They seemed to have changed the post
Some people still want to know:
Girish Naik | ಗಿರೀಶ ನಾಯ್ಕ@gunaik
· 4h
As someone who come across with this word Urdu 'Alhamdulilah' for the first time, I thought it is the name of the child. Thanks everyone for explaining the meaning - '
But seriously what's the meaning?
¯\_(ツ)_/¯@Chingri_Fiss
Praise be to God
11:21 PM - Dec 23, 2019
See ¯\_(ツ)_/¯'s other Tweets
Things got serious as people dug into how does such a blooper some to be?
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Mahnoor Bari@Wlayti
If anything this is an indication this author has never interacted meaningfully with a Muslim...
Abdul Rauf@liveAbdulRauf
· 7h
Replying to @Wlayti and 2 others
That's not the author's problem. We wrongly assume that random familiarity with religion/culture/idea to be same as its proper understanding. Muslims bemoan the prevalence of misconception, but hardly make the effort to educate people.
Angie@designphilia
It isn't the subject's responsibility to educate, it is the duty of the 'journalist' to do proper research. Looking at the platform, it definitely is stirring up a dirty martini.
Abaaay O!@NargisiKoftaay
· 16h
Indian media:
Hello all. I am the 'idiot' author of the article. It was a genuine mistake on my part, the silliest and one of the worst I have ever made. I would be grateful if all of you here can forgive this ignorant person. I will be more careful in the future.
P.S.- it's been corrected
Zinia, what is this behaviour?
In retrospect, this is the silliest and one of the worst mistakes I have ever made. But as soon as we realised, we made the change. Too late though. But I learnt two things:
1. Be very careful on the web
2. Alhamdulilah cannot be a name
Genuinely sorry though
The writer of the article clearly needs to go back to English class
The Roving Photographer@TheRovingPhotog
No. To cultural sensitivity class.
In the end, we got some pretty good laughs out of this. The post has been corrected. Atif Aslam has issued a statement. So let’s not be ‘The Grinch‘ around Whoville too long. Twitter will come up with something funnier soon enough.