India - Hindutvadis call for arrest of actress Swara Bhasker for insulting their religious sentiments in context of Afghanistan

I'm bemused that it even have to be explained or maybe I'm missing something?

@jamahir main kuch miss kar raha houn kya?

No bhai, you covered most things. I agree with you about Swara Bhasker though about that Tharoor's tweet I will state ( my belief ) that the chaotic nature of India compared to many other places probably has to do with those different number of central texts mentioned in the tweet.

Are these wonderful critics of hers rational people ? Are they the "Scientific temper" Indian citizens that Nehru wanted so many decades ago ? How is their thinking compared to the "liberandus" ? Do these critics furious with Swara's tweet ever talk about the real issues in India like the suicide of 300,000+ farmers just between 1995 and 2017 because of artificial and avoidable socio-economic reasons ? Or hunger deaths ? Or people dying of diseases not because there is no cure but because they don't have money ? Or social discrimination ? Well, the "liberandus" talk about these things.

Anyone who ignores repeated chances for discussion and gathering knowledge through rationality and empathy should be called out and lose their freedom of expression until they learn enough.

Neither am I calling all Hindus as Hindutvadis nor is she insulting the better concepts in Hinduism like Brahmaan ( One God ) and Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam ( "The world is one family" ).

Then you should provide those reasons here.

I am a Muslim and have always instinctively known since my younger years that Islam is a progressive set of ideas beyond the caricature of Brahmin-priest-style all day prayers and oppressive and silly dress code and grooming.

Please read my previous post again. The description of the marriage law and the findings of intellectual Islamic scholars in undivided India.
As Jinnah predicted the purpose of your existence is now to prove your loyalty to India and as India has become a Hindu Rashtra, your loyalty to the very people who are oppressing you.

Are you aware that I am the one who made this thread ?

South East Asians are like the Bible belters, way too obsessed with establishing a sense of control through their own interpretation of words written centuries ago.

1. There was a wonderful post by @fitpOsitive last night which I am unable to find. It was about non-Islamic-existence of things like burqa which yet exist through cultural imposition. And what rights Islam gives to women but people don't allow those rights. fitpOsitive, if you can, please repost it here.

2. The Taliban claim to be Muslim but don't follow Islamic marriage law and kidnap women and force them to marry Taliban fighters and leaders and don't give them due rights. The Taliban should read this thread of mine from 2015 which is an article by an Indian Christian woman who married an Indian Muslim under Islamic marriage law because that better secured her socio-economic future in case of divorce. She writes about the progressive rights that Islam gives to women in marriage :

Do the Taliban know this and follow this ?

3. The Taliban have renamed Afghanistan as the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan. This they also did during their rule between 1996 and 2011. But do they have the sense of not only establishing a true Islamic politically just society but also a true Islamic socio-economically just society ? I quote this thread of mine from 2016 :

Do the Taliban discuss these deep intricacies ?

So what scriptures are the Taliban following ?

1. The Taliban took the anti-idolatry aspect too far against the carvings of Buddha who had been a historic, living person and a good person at that. If the Taliban is really against idolatry then they should also rail against the mullah who has become no less than an idol.

2. Other Muslim-majority countries like Egypt and Iraq continue to have carvings of their past figures.

3. There is a belief among Muslims that humanity has had 124,000 prophets till the Final Prophet Muhammad. I don't have objection to placing Buddha in the ranks of those prophets. Will the Taliban have the intellectual patience to tolerate and debate this ?

Good. She is guilty. Cannot dispute this.

Taliban is not a homogeneous fabrib. They are a group of groups which abide most of the laws, but not all. Extortion is still a big problem, and this Pakistan really needs to handle, as TTP guys might sneak in and impose some "taxes" on our tribal side.

'Arrest Swara Bhasker' trends on Twitter as she compares 'Taliban terror' with 'Hindutva terror'
Celebrity

Shivani Dixit

Updated Aug 18, 2021 | 10:10 IST

Bollywood actress Swara Bhasker recently made a comment on the ongoing Afghanistan crisis. Her tweet was met with a lot of backlash online.

'Arrest Swara Bhasker' trends on Twitter'Arrest Swara Bhasker' trends on Twitter

'Arrest Swara Bhasker' trends on Twitter

KEY HIGHLIGHTS
  • 'Arrest Swara Bhasker' became a massive trend on Twitter
  • The actress had tweeted, "We can’t be okay with Hindutva terror & be all shocked & devastated at Taliban terror"
  • People were not pleased with her tweet
Bollywood actress Swara Bhasker is one star who is not afraid of voicing her opinions about things happening in the world. The diva is constantly in news for her opinions on social media. However, one of her recent tweets sparked a social media trend, 'Arrest Swara Bhasker'.

The reason for the same was her take on the current situation in Afghanistan. As of this week, the Taliban has taken the charge of the strife-torn country following a collapse of its democratic government post the departure of most western troops. Swara compared the situation to India in her tweet.

She wrote, "We can’t be okay with Hindutva terror & be all shocked & devastated at Taliban terror.. & We can’t be chill with #Taliban terror; and then be all indignant about #Hindutva terror! Our humanitarian & ethical values should not be based on identity of the oppressor or oppressed."
Swara Bhasker

Her take caused a massive social media outrage. One user replied to her tweet and wrote,"#arrestswarabhasker arre didi agr itni dikkt h to waha chli ja jaha pe hindu ho na hindutva yha 'HINDUSTAN' main kyu jhak mara rhi ho.... for exp = pakistan,bangladesh,turkey,kuwait,iraq etc Go nd enjoy with peace loving peoples {which does not know the word 'Terriost' meaning}."

Swara Bhasker

"@ReallySwara you are openly tweeting against my religion without any consequences,it means that Hindutva isn't terror. Had it been a terror,then next moment you would've seen "sar tan se juda" posters against you. Have some shame," wrote another user.
Swara Bhasker

Another netizen tweeted, "Section 295 A IPCWhosoever hurts religious sentiments shall be punished with imprisonment which may extend to 3 years. #ArrestSwaraBhaskar habitual offender inciting communal disharmony !! @dir_ed who pays her for this ?? Report Suspend @ReallySwara @Twitter."
Swara Bhasker

"#ArrestSwaraBhaskar She is insulting and abusing my religion and this is hurting the religious sentiments of many Hindus.I request @MumbaiPolice to arrest her for hurting religious sentiments of Hindus," tweeted another user.
Swara bhasker

---

Jamahir's comment : Hindutvadis are such unreasonable people ! Also, there was a 2004 Hindi film of Shahrukh Khan in which he is an Indian expatriate scientist working in NASA and comes back to India, to a village where he helps the people to set up an hydro-power generator and brings some modernity to that place. Side by side he challenges the Brahminical oppression in the village against Lower Castes done by the village elders and reforms these elders. Reforms their cultural outlook. If this film had been made today there would have been a "Arrest Shahkrukh" Twitter trend with many "patriots" declaring that the film insulted their religious sentiments. India has gone backwards in this kind of things.

@fitpOsitive, yesterday we were discussing the spread of hate among many "educated" Indian Hindus.

@Drizzt @Naofumi
Hindutwa is worse than Taliban, we don't see its true self because of democracy in India and adult franchisee (everyone 18+ gets to vote). Hinduism the only religion in the world which is based on racism or caste system. Every kind of shittiest, evil, bad things are their in Hinduism.

Social media like youtube and twitter should be used to show the world the real face of Hindutwa. From drinking animal urine to genital worship. Taliban should be offended for being compared with Hindutwa

Jamahir's comment : Hindutvadis are such unreasonable people ! Also, there was a 2004 Hindi film of Shahrukh Khan in which he is an Indian expatriate scientist working in NASA and comes back to India, to a village where he helps the people to set up an hydro-power generator and brings some modernity to that place. Side by side he challenges the Brahminical oppression in the village against Lower Castes done by the village elders and reforms these elders. Reforms their cultural outlook. If this film had been made today there would have been a "Arrest Shahkrukh" Twitter trend with many "patriots" declaring that the film insulted their religious sentiments. India has gone backwards in this kind of things.
The only problem I see is, now everyone started taking offence over something said and done. FIR war.
Why go to 2004, just recently a Malayalam movie "Eesho" (Jesus) has riled up Christians even before the movie is released. Their problem, why the director named Nadir Shah, a Muslim named the movie after Jesus, why he didn't name it Mohammed or Allah? Another movie was released named "Kuruthi" that antagonized both Muslims and Hindus with both sides saying it insulted Hindu/Muslim feelings. You should watch the movie, it's really a good one and will touch a raw nerve which it did.

What your comment should have been about is to do away with our covert blasphemy laws. Instead you chose to blame, yeah it's Hindutva that's the problem, she is also not right in drawing a false equivalence here. Then again, we have the leftists who have their own versions of blasphemy laws, congress, all have threatened or actually arrested people over blasphemy of their "gods".

Taliban is not a homogeneous fabrib. They are a group of groups which abide most of the laws, but not all.

Which laws do they follow ?

Extortion is still a big problem, and this Pakistan really needs to handle, as TTP guys might sneak in and impose some "taxes" on our tribal side.

Very possible.

Hindutwa is worse than Taliban, we don't see its true self because of democracy in India and adult franchisee (everyone 18+ gets to vote). Hinduism the only religion in the world which is based on racism or caste system. Every kind of shittiest, evil, bad things are their in Hinduism.

Well, both Hindutva and the Taliban are intolerant and refuse to reason. They both implement their own forms of social discrimination.

And agreed, Hinduism has to have a renaissance and purge itself of all the evil and bad things just like Christian Europe had a part renaissance a few hundred years ago.

Though I know about two nice concepts in Hinduism too, which I spoke of earlier, the Brahmaan ( One God ) and Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam ( "The world is one family" ). Hindus need to go back to these simple concepts and evolve from there. Hindutvadis claim to be true Hindus but then in that case they should have been allying with the Muslims who believe in The One God and with Communists who desire a pan-human brotherhood. But the Hinduvadis don't.

Social media like youtube and twitter should be used to show the world the real face of Hindutwa.

Agreed.

The only problem I see is, now everyone started taking offence over something said and done. FIR war.

Yes, FIR war.

Why go to 2004, just recently a Malayalam movie "Eesho" (Jesus) has riled up Christians even before the movie is released. Their problem, why the director named Nadir Shah, a Muslim named the movie after Jesus, why he didn't name it Mohammed or Allah?

That is uneducated. These offended Christians should have thought for a minute and realized that the Islamic prophet just before Prophet Muhammad was Prophet Isa ( Jesus ) and many Muslim women are named Mariam ( Mary ).

Another movie was released named "Kuruthi" that antagonized both Muslims and Hindus with both sides saying it insulted Hindu/Muslim feelings. You should watch the movie, it's really a good one and will touch a raw nerve which it did.

Yes, I have read the review of Kuruthi in the newspaper some days ago. It is a good film. Those Hindus and Muslims whose delicate feelings were insulted are not quite the thinkers.

What your comment should have been about is to do away with our covert blasphemy laws.

Yes, I should have. Thanks for pointing it out. I will add now.

Instead you chose to blame, yeah it's Hindutva that's the problem, she is also not right in drawing a false equivalence here.

Neither I nor she are solely blaming Hindutva. We are just pointing that the Hindutvadis are selectively calling some group as terrorists while they ignore ( actually celebrate ) the terrorists in their own ranks like Sadhvi Pragya. Is our point not fair ?

Then again, we have the leftists who have their own versions of blasphemy laws

Like ?

congress, all have threatened or actually arrested people over blasphemy of their "gods".

Well, what I know is the case of the later acclaimed Hindi film 1975 film Aandhi which was banned from release initially because the Congress government of Indira Gandhi thought that it was insultingly based on her life.

Hinduta terrost means vocal guys on social media. Islamic terrost are Taliban, ISIS etc. If you do too much of fingering, you see similarities between the two.

So you are not talking about this harmless and intellectual social media star ?

Pragya_Thakur.jpg

That is uneducated. These offended Christians should have thought for a minute and realized that the Islamic prophet just before Prophet Muhammad was Prophet Isa ( Jesus ) and many Muslim women are named Mariam ( Mary ).
Christians certainly don't think that way hence the rift.
Neither I nor she are solely blaming Hindutva. We are just pointing that the Hindutvadis are selectively calling some group as terrorists while they ignore ( actually celebrate ) the terrorists in their own ranks like Sadhvi Pragya. Is our point not fair ?
Hindutva types have their own skeletons. But they are not a national security threat. You need to assess who is who while making a point. Or your argument will miss the mark. Tell me, she equated Taliban to RSS, what she did was normalize the Taliban to a bunch of medical looking savages. Most videos coming from a Taliban ruled Afghanistan are destressing. Stoning women to death, firing indiscriminately at the crowd and then we have folks here saying RSS = Taliban. When ISIS came into prominence it was RSS = ISIS, all this reminds me of this pun.

Arresting people for drawing cartoons of Momta, or the Tackereys. Paying heed to Karni sena and their types. The list is long. Pick any case where someone hurt a persons feelings through 'words', be it a big politician or a community.
Well, what I know is the case of the later acclaimed Hindi film 1975 film Aandhi which was banned from release initially because the Congress government of Indira Gandhi thought that it was insultingly based on her life.
haha an Ad mocking Sonia and Rahul were taken down and their office was ransacked. That's why I said, we need to do away with the "blasphemy" laws, and that includes the blasphemy of the Supreme Court Justices.