India Donates USD 1 Mln to Palestinian Refugees

One million USD for 5 million Palestinians. That means each refugee gets a whopping 20 Cents each. I hope they dont spend it all in one place. What a display of Indian generosity. I am speechless.

Indian aid to Palestine

"India continued moral, material and technical support to Palestine and the Palestinian people. At the Washington Donors Conference in October, 1995, India pledged, and met, US$1 million for assistance to the Palestinian people. At the subsequent pledging conference in Paris in January, 1996, India pledged another US$1 million in assistance to the Palestinians, which was utilised for construction of a Library-cum-Activity Centre at the Palestinian Technical College in Deir-El-Balah and another Library at the Al-Azhar University in Gaza. At yet another International Donors Conference in Washington DC on 30 November 1998, India pledged another US$1 million as assistance to Palestine. Out of the latter, a sum of US$ 300,000/- had been disbursed to Al-Azhar University in Gaza for the construction of two additional floors to its library. The remaining amount was utilised for a Human Resource Development Programme.

Following a visit of a security delegation to India in March, 1997, led by the Head of the Palestinian Security Forces, Maj. Gen. Nasser Yussef, India offered 51 specialised security training slots to Palestinians in various disciplines during the year 1997-98, which accounted for an estimated expenditure of Rs. 55 lakhs. India also continued to offer 8 scholarships under ICCR Schemes to Palestinian students for higher studies in India, while also offering several slots for training courses under the ITEC Programme.

India added more than 50 training slots, at a cost of Rs. 40.63 lakhs, to Palestinian personnel for specialised training courses during the financial year 1998-99, where 58 Palestinian officers completed their training. During the financial year 1999-2000, 38 more Palestinian officers utilised the facilities for training.[4] In October 2008 PAP President Abbas visited New Delhi where he met with Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh who announced an assistance of US$20 million to the Palestinian Authority and promised to do all New Delhi can to help it in the PNA's endeavours."

Now arent you speechless at your own ignorance ?

BTW how much Pakistan has given ? Please make us speechless !

One million USD for 5 million Palestinians. That means each refugee gets a whopping 20 Cents each. I hope they dont spend it all in one place. What a display of Indian generosity. I am speechless.

That is meant for the schools in the refugee camp,and not meant to be distributed equally among the Palestinians.Its not alms for beggars,its a relief package.

Waste of money.. India should have built some toilets or free food to poor.

Actually,from state point of view,its not that easy.We have budget allocations for spendings,that is decided at the beginning of the financial year.We have a big budget for public services and health care.Likewise we have some money kept aside for humanitarian works as well.
The Palestinians in the refugee camp are suffering,hence the money is given through UN.Of course,it may have no direct return,but then again,thats why it is a humanitarian package.It will be hard to explain the validity of such a gesture to those who don't believe in humanitarian works.

1) Yeah , as if you know how this money is going to be used. According to you , millions of Palestinians living in refugee camps is a myth.

I have seen enough of this sort of political propaganda and been exposed to it myself, so I know it better when a situation like this springs up. It is simply relative. The Arabs' fault cannot be blamed on Israelis. When all Arab and Islamic nations kicked the native jews out of their own country, where was your sense of wisdom?

Oh I know, as per you Arabs are always right....

2) Get real , you think indian muslims don't care about arabs ? Keep deluding yourself. They will obviously care if one nation is oppressing the people of their faith.

That is Arab ideological imperialism then. We cannot risk our national level policies because of a certain section of people who chose to become somebody else in our country. They are free to practice what they want but national policy of strategic friendship with Israel covers them as well; whether they consider themselves as Arabized or Indians that's their problem.

Not that i care much , i am a supporter of Israel because of what they have done for India , but that doesn't mean that i blindly support them bombing Palestinian towns , shooting small children. When a friend goes wrong , you are supposed to correct him instead of turning a blind eye to what he does.

Hardly. Your argument so badly reflects your ignorance in this area that it is simply an argument to counter my statements. Don't worry, you're not the first of your types.

You don't know half the reality other than what some sellout sections of media explain. Seriously do you think that Israelis are de-ranged lunatics to actually shoot kids and all that nonsense Jazeera spews? Israel retaliates with ferocity on rocket bombings that are intentionally not reported in the mainstream media to demonize them.

Israel is a democracy and a powerful sane economy in middle east that's run by elected governments. They have far more freedom and rights and transparency than India could ever have post 1947. Have you even been to Israel or spoken to Israelis who are serving or have served or simply residents who have faced these un-reported deadly terror attacks against them? I doubt you have. Because I have. Both common civilians and soldiers.

If you were the leader of a country and if a thousand mortar shells and rockets keep falling into your land, what would you do? I am sure you won't got in the Manmohan Mode. You will defend by retaliation won't you?

3) Don't teach me whose the enemy and whose the friend. I can see that myself. But i am not so much blinded by hate that i would oppose this humanitarian move to support people living in absymal conditions.

Your personal feelings are kicking in here blinded by the political correctness just to counter my rational statement.

By your logic , since african countries have nothing in common with india , we should not donate anyway. So why donate to Africa? Why donate to Haiti etc ? Don't ruin the image of indians by saying that we only donate to countries for personal benefit. Aid is given for the benfit of humanity , not for personal gain.

African countries are not directly challenging a strategic partner of our country to their destruction. Haiti also isn't doing that. Either do yourself a favor and give more reasonable comparisons, or for Heavens sake, try learning more if you're not aware of ground harsh realities of geo-politics.

You know, it is always day-dreaming politically correct Indians who go to any extent of justifying their silly actions; even if it not in national interest or even if it shoots their friendship on the foot.

Suicidal political correctness is a sad ailment most of our countrymen suffer from.

But obviously , some people won't understand that , so this reply has been useless anyway.

Come out of your dreamy la-la roses land, kid. The ground reality is harsher and far more concerning to national interest than political correctness.

Waste of money.. India should have built some toilets or free food to poor.
Even if India allocated the fund to build Toilets in India, instead of giving Palestine .....the funds would have been misused anyway....most of it, would have landed in foreign banks.....read posts #31 and #34.

India's problem is NOT poverty......the real problem is Corruption.

Good job by GoI. We should work more on humanitarian aid, building schools and educating more children there.
Request BJP supporter not to see everything in their narrow political agenda.
Most muslim voters in UP dont give a sh*t how much was donated to palestine.

Request politically correct day dreamers to come out of their shell and start smelling the coffee.

No one gives a cr@p about it except some crazy self-appointed "community" leaders who guarantee votes to this scum of a government. That's what I said, no commoner gives a damn, it is just our freaking money is going to a bunch of people who were and who will never be supporting India.

Arab policies towards India in international bodies is an example o last 40 years that would prove an excellent evidence of what I am saying.

Do take the pains to read about this at least if you are really an Indian.

Request politically correct day dreamers to come out of their shell and start smelling the coffee.

No one gives a cr@p about it except some crazy self-appointed "community" leaders who guarantee votes to this scum of a government. That's what I said, no commoner gives a damn, it is just our freaking money is going to a bunch of people who were and who will never be supporting India.

Arab policies towards India in international bodies is an example o last 40 years that would prove an excellent evidence of what I am saying.

Do take the pains to read about this at least if you are really an Indian.
These Palestinian aid supporters need to ask those 5 years young kids working as rag pickers ..that how hard it is in India to get do waqt ki roti ..then talk about giving aid to others.. .....congressi bastards ....but i think BJP wud have done the same .....sadly no one cares about ..the lives of Indians ..after all unke Baap ka kya jaata hai..

1207034039882.jpg

IndiaHelp3.jpg

1236096680940.jpg

seriously people need to get their head out of their butt ......

I am a vigorous supporter of Palestine, If anybody doubts please check my posts about Palestine and the Zionist regime.
I pray the best for Palestinians and wish them well. I dont want anyone to misread my post BUT charity must start at home. There are children starving tonight on streets of India and i genuinely pray we could do all we can for these. Palestine have some extremely rich neighbors that ought to be ashamed that they are not doing more. Indian money should be utilized for indian souls. Why the heck is this happening. Please dont view my flags for a minute - Indian money for Indians first.

very sensible post .....I believe thats the policy china is following ....they usually dont give aid .....give credit if necessary.... care about your own citizens than some fcukhaed from other corner of the world

There is more to aid than just philanthropy. When countries give aid, it is as much for diplomacy and curry favours.(And to send signals to others).
There is spending cuts going on in UK, they are even closing libraries, but 5.3 or some billion pound foreign aid budget is untouched.
For BJP supporters, their govt will do exactly same. Foreign policy in India changes very slowly. And usually there is consensus.(Behind the doors).

I have seen enough of this sort of political propaganda and been exposed to it myself, so I know it better when a situation like this springs up. It is simply relative. The Arabs' fault cannot be blamed on Israelis. When all Arab and Islamic nations kicked the native jews out of their own country, where was your sense of wisdom?

Oh I know, as per you Arabs are always right....

That is Arab ideological imperialism then. We cannot risk our national level policies because of a certain section of people who chose to become somebody else in our country. They are free to practice what they want but national policy of strategic friendship with Israel covers them as well; whether they consider themselves as Arabized or Indians that's their problem.

Hardly. Your argument so badly reflects your ignorance in this area that it is simply an argument to counter my statements. Don't worry, you're not the first of your types.

You don't know half the reality other than what some sellout sections of media explain. Seriously do you think that Israelis are de-ranged lunatics to actually shoot kids and all that nonsense Jazeera spews? Israel retaliates with ferocity on rocket bombings that are intentionally not reported in the mainstream media to demonize them.

Israel is a democracy and a powerful sane economy in middle east that's run by elected governments. They have far more freedom and rights and transparency than India could ever have post 1947. Have you even been to Israel or spoken to Israelis who are serving or have served or simply residents who have faced these un-reported deadly terror attacks against them? I doubt you have. Because I have. Both common civilians and soldiers.

If you were the leader of a country and if a thousand mortar shells and rockets keep falling into your land, what would you do? I am sure you won't got in the Manmohan Mode. You will defend by retaliation won't you?

Your personal feelings are kicking in here blinded by the political correctness just to counter my rational statement.

African countries are not directly challenging a strategic partner of our country to their destruction. Haiti also isn't doing that. Either do yourself a favor and give more reasonable comparisons, or for Heavens sake, try learning more if you're not aware of ground harsh realities of geo-politics.

You know, it is always day-dreaming politically correct Indians who go to any extent of justifying their silly actions; even if it not in national interest or even if it shoots their friendship on the foot.

Suicidal political correctness is a sad ailment most of our countrymen suffer from.

Come out of your dreamy la-la roses land, kid. The ground reality is harsher and far more concerning to national interest than political correctness.

1) So , if the arabs did something to jews 50 years ago , should they be oppressed forever. What sort of lunatic psychopath are you. Why don't you just go to Britain and kill a few britons because they oppressed us for 200 years.

2) If being pro israel means supporting every crap they do , then yeah , i'm not pro israel. Hell , even many israelis raise a voice against what their country does , so i guess they are a bunch of traitors according to you. You sound more pro israel than israelis themselves. Btw , i DO NOT support the formation of a palestinian state because i am pro israel and i believe that jews have only one place in the world that they can call home.

3) Neither do you know the reality and you are telling me. All media is biased and no one can claim to know the truth. Al Jazeera nonsense? I can claim that all sources you are reading from are a bunch of crap , now what?.

4) I haven't spoken to any israelis , but i have definetely spoken to palestinians living in Qatar because i lived there for many years. I doubt you have spoken to any palestinians, They have told me more than you would want to know. But at the same time i don't believe all the stuff they say.

5) You can bark this political correctness crap to someone else. I don't want India to be a mute spectator to oppression and the least India can do is donate 1 million dollars to help those people.

This is INDIA, and you hatred filled BJP supporters might not knowing. Indian foreign policies were always legitimate and kind.