India Clears Hydropower Project On Brahmaputra To Counter China

Yes, you are right.In summer we will suffer but we can return the favour back to you in Winter by not only overflowing water into Chinese territory but also stagnant water can be cause of new disease in that low temperature.

lol causing new disease :blink: would you mind to explain? :lol:

You dont realise that chinese dams will affect BD also. How are you going to pacify them ? You cant afford to have one more angry neighbor.

No China is clearly state that Dam won't affect the water flow unless India is holding the water or divert it, but that's not our problem, BD will hold you accountable. And yes India is our angry neighbor because not only you see Tibet is water tower of the world but also the Electrics tower of the world; with all the dams we built there we will have a huge clean electric power resources to feed Chinese economy and give china even more competitive edge over India.

it really surprised me that india govt and media are doing their utmost to obstruct the development of china.

desert?Himalayas block all the warm and humid air from the Indian Ocean ,making the South Asian subcontinent one of the places that has the most rainfall in the world.so even if china transfer all waters in tibet to inland china, NE india will still be the wettest place.Indians are very clever,and i don't think they lack of such common sense.

maybe blaming china can help india govt cover their dereliction of duty of domestic economic and social development.If all Indian public eye are transferred to meaningless things, it would be not only a tragedy of India , but also a human tragedy. so india govt should focus on economy, education, public order, health, gender equality, social security,rather than fooling the people.

rainfall (mm)
51777_43729316058.JPG

No one is "obstructing the development of China". China is using the water that it has control over (rivers that originate in Chinese territory), similarly India will make dams and harness the water it has control over (tributaries of Brahmputra and the volume of water generated by rainfall).

The only country left dry will be Bangladesh. And we want to make sure that they know that India alone is not responsible for it.

No China is clearly state that Dam won't affect the water flow unless India is holding the water or divert it, but that's not our problem, BD will hold you accountable.

Thank you for proving my point.

So basically China is taking using the water however it likes, and expects India to share its own resources with Bangladesh.

No one is "obstructing the development of China". China is using the water that it has control over (rivers that originate in Chinese territory), similarly India will make dams and harness the water it has control over (tributaries of Brahmputra and the volume of water generated by rainfall).

The only country left dry will be Bangladesh. And we want to make sure that they know that India alone is not responsible for it.

so what is the meaning of "Counter China" in the title?
it should be Counter Bangladesh if you are right! and why?

Countering the dam that is being built by China.

We have a proverb in Hindi, "Saanp bhi mar jaaye, aur lathi bhi naa toote" which means hit the snake in a way that the snake dies, and your stick doesn't break.

This is what China is doing. Its damming the river trans national rivers alright, not just the ones that come to India, there is no denying that.

But in this case, China is damming the river, and India is being blamed by Bangladesh for trying to "block" the river. Mind you, India as well has given Bangladesh similar assurance of not blocking the river flow, but its not enough to pacify them.

All India is saying is, Ok fine you(China) build your dams, and in turn we will build our own dams to compensate for the loss of water due to the dams that you made.

There won't be desirable amount of water in different seasons as China will release water on her wish like less in summer or too much during monsoon, so store it properly to fulfil the seasonal requirement.

According to a Pakistani minister, making electricity out of water takes away electricity from water and it affects crops.

How can we have electricity if Chinese take it out ? :cheesy: :lol:

Kya naam hai us intelligent minister ka? :cheesy:

Leave countering aside. wouldn't it be responsible of China to consider the effects on down stream states so that they don't suffer?? have some kind of forum where these issues can be discussed??

Thank you for proving my point.

So basically China is taking using the water however it likes, and expects India to share its own resources with Bangladesh.

China didn't bother to sign the water treaty to prove one thing to India --> you don't own any of our water resource. If China decide to divert the water, where is your own resource...LMAO?

they'd better pay us some money every year in order to get help from us to reduce floods.

Pretty dumb for a Chinese.

There are massive tributaries of Brahmputra which originate in Indian territory, besides the water generated by rainfall (one of the wettest regions in the world).

So enough water for us, however Bangladesh will be left high and dry.

Countering the dam that is being built by China.

We have a proverb in Hindi, "Saanp bhi mar jaaye, aur lathi bhi naa toote" which means hit the snake in a way that the snake dies, and your stick doesn't break.

This is what China is doing. Its damming the river trans national rivers alright, not just the ones that come to India, there is no denying that.

But in this case, China is damming the river, and India is being blamed by Bangladesh for trying to "block" the river. Mind you, India as well has given Bangladesh similar assurance of not blocking the river flow, but its not enough to pacify them.

All India is saying is, Ok fine you(China) build your dams, and in turn we will build our own dams to compensate for the loss of water due to the dams that you made.

your argument is just epic failed, Dams won't cause the loss of water unless you divert it. if you use it as excuse to divert the water then don't blame China to give you same treatment to India.

Pretty dumb for a Chinese.

There are massive tributaries of Brahmputra which originate in Indian territory, besides the water generated by rainfall (one of the wettest regions in the world).

So enough water for us, however Bangladesh will be left high and dry.

Then why crying a river? :lol: I only wish that your gorverment make this kind of statement that you're safe with rainfall and your massive tributaries, that we make our days.