India arrest over rape of French national

Not saying its the industrialisation per se....but transformation from society from what it was to more urbanised one...with both more confinement and also more mobility....can create this sudden impulse in the media/perception (everyone likes a good dystopia/deterioration story).

Like how people always hanker for the "olden" times when everything was much more "ordered", "civilised" etc....but when you actually lived in it, you see the festering problems and evils back then too. When some scapegoat comes along you dont like, well it becomes even easier to lump it all with him and those that support him etc.

Yes there is much under-reporting going on in the western world too....and also the reverse (girls crying/implying rape when it was consensual - happened to a friend of mine quite recently)...but they are not in the state of upheaval and change India is experiencing and will experience for quite some time...so they have settled into the media consent stasis more or less (i.e how much long term % prevalence of different types of news the elites/banks/politicians want) whereas India is in more fluid and chaotic in that realm still (esp past lutyens brigade).

Yes, it is only a media created perception. The truth is India is a more honest society and also a safer one, not because of the police but despite them. Indians till date have never learnt to rely on the govt or anyone where the safety of their women is concerned and from my experience most family do not let their women venture out in unsafe places or situations or times where they would come to any harm alone or unaccompanied. In Northern India there is so much taboo about courting or marrying girls from the same villages let alone their neighbourhood, that safety of women is virtually guaranteed. Literally every other guy or girl in India is made a rakhi bhai or behen to induce guilt and sense of shame in society to control/reduce abuse of women. These societal safety nets are not available in the West.

I did and I think you already know by now what Indians think of you and your value.
Kisike opinion, whatever nationality, se mujhe koi fark padta to Teri tarah sanghiyon ki chat ta nahi.
And wtf do you know about what other Indians think of me? PDF Indians ? Have u talked to each and everybody to know about their opinion.
Saala mirror kya dikha diya, pichhwaare me aag lag gayi teri, huh ?

Kisike opinion, whatever nationality, se mujhe koi fark padta to Teri tarah sanghiyon ki chat ta nahi.
And wtf do you know about what other Indians think of me? PDF Indians ? Have u talked to each and everybody to know about their opinion.
Saala mirror kya dikha diya, pichhwaare me aag lag gayi teri, huh ?

Tum communists ki kitni aukad hai India mein sabko pata hai. Tu jaa Chiniyon aur Pakistaniyon ki chat. Indians do not even consider people like you worthy of their spit.

I'm just saying this is a worldwide phenomenon (all evils). Unreliable statistics really aren't going to prove who is better or worse in the long run. You even read the accounts of say the US before and during industrialisation say in its ghettos in NYC (thats really the closest equivalence to India I can think of)? Societies in transition with some level of self-critique and transparency are going to have this phenomenon ("rise" in evil actions, because information access permeates and previously rigid, brittle, insulated society made more mobile...rather than any fundamental quality in the people changing). Point is to not underplay it or overplay it.
Sir, I m not into the debate how our respective societies evolved. It's because they have already evolved, while we are at least 50 years behind.
What I feel unfair that ppl are comparing an evolved society with an unevolved one. When stray incidents of malice are put up in banners to justify the crimes committed under the garb of a paternalistic society (we are talking about no. of crimes rather than the crimes itself).
For e.g. 100 women are branded witches and lynched, 10 of the above are reported to police n maybe 2 of them got justice. I hope you don't demand a link for that. This comes from experience on ground.
While in the developed societies, almost all of the crimes are reported (u wud know better- take Canada for n example). And when they report, those links are used to show how "bad" their society is by our own morally ethically correct ppl.

m in india.
I m not a a commie. I don't to politics or take money to vomit shyte on international forums, thereby exposing our ugly nature. You wouldn't understand.
Lastly, u didn't answer my questions.
I know u won't.
Hence a meaningful conversation with u is an impossibility.
Hence ignored.
Lying scum you are on record here claiming your commie lineage. As far as your conspiracy theories, well what else would a commie shyte like you would do.

Just another day in the rape captial of the world. Where are bakhts defending the rape?

rape of a 70-year-old French woman in the northern city of Varanasi

Are u guys tucking serious??? Don't u have even 500 rupees to fck a hiv positive whore who is at least not under or over age??? ( off course with condom)

Even more shocking is the apathy shown by that troll poster Nilgiri.
We in subcontinent can not compare ourselves with west because their women have better rights, better protection, get justice.

I mean a 70 year old is violated and all that guy was concerned was countering your post with his usual venom-spitting comments.

I mean i am so shocked. And i am not even here to mock indians cause i know how women are in pakistan, as in if they are not as worst as in india then not in a very great state.
@Nilgiri is one of the most respected, informed and a critical minds among the indians in here. he has his opinions and more often than less, he is right about it. ....just like urs or mine.
regarding the rape itself, what can anybody say.
raunchy videos readily available in cheap internet satiates many in this smartfone era. mix that with "connections", power, money and the sense of impunity that comes with all of the above can create an atmosphere conducive for rape. but, this is unimaginable. what prompts any man to rape a 70y old woman or a 6 month old baby is unimaginable.
something is very wrong.
its (bollywood raunchy item songs n such) like india's taliban.
dont get me wrong, i love bollywood n raunchy songs, but actual rape is not even a remote possibility.

That stats is something like 1 rape every 2 min in India..... forget cricket, this is India's number one sport.

latest
tumblr_mg6jp09jRc1rjl9jzo1_500.jpg

While in the developed societies, almost all of the crimes are reported (u wud know better- take Canada for n example).

It depends. Several studies in west too have shown massive under-reporting and even official repression of crime activity (esp where political themes come into play). Its a long subject and I don't want to derail thread.

Obviously for better realised security you need better wealth in society. But for better prevention, you need excellent foundation of morals, virtues and logic from young age (rather than the current education models that focus on mostly pure academics). But no country I know does this adequately (govts worldwide are quite against it)....in fact India's still strong cultural connect with its ancient philosophies help more than many other "developed" countries in this regard. If it can remain strong (and I am optimistic about it) in that regard while increasing the wealth in its society over time (after having it stripped away at different rates for 500+ years), India will be in a much better balanced position. The issue is we want the change overnight essentially, forgetting what the timelines are regarding where we got to this position in first place....and then we administered pretty bad medicine (and over-medicated it too) for large majority of our current guise as modern nation state....rather than relying and nurturing what made us strong before the long term deterioration.

The french national should have been more cautious as to hire muscle for her own protection.