In Pakistan’s olive-rich tribal areas, lone oil plant begins operations

Zulfiqar Bhai, there are three ways one to import plants yourself but its an expensive and cumbersome route and not feasible for small investor. The other is to buy from the market I have no idea about the price you may check with nurseries.

There is a third way, PARC/NARC giveaway free plant under Govt scheme the requirement is at-least 10 acre or 80 kanal of land, one has to you know find some link but their quality is very good. Entire Potohar belt along large portion of KPK has been certified by NARC/PARC suitable for olives.
bro can you ask the idiots sitting in narc/parc is they have red worms (red wrigglers) i called them and they asked ya kia hota hai! if you have some contact share details or please ask them if they are available or not

Ask any mod to connect you to me via a private thread/chat and I'll share my email. I hate phone most of the time my cell is off.

here is the link to NARC/PARC.

http://www.parc.gov.pk/index.php/en/component/content/category/136-olive-promotion

@newb3e they although make compost/fertilizer from imported earthworms very expensive but very good, i even smuggled out few earth worms which are now part of our home garden and they produce excellent quality fertilizer. I think they are red worms but we can only dig them out during rainy season very thick, pretty fat, red writhing little buggers.

Ask any mod to connect you to me via a private thread/chat and I'll share my email. I hate phone most of the time my cell is off.

here is the link to NARC/PARC.

http://www.parc.gov.pk/index.php/en/component/content/category/136-olive-promotion

@newb3e they although make compost/fertilizer from imported earthworms very expensive but very good, i even smuggled out few earth worms which are now part of our home garden and they produce excellent quality fertilizer. I think they are red worms but we can only dig them out during rainy season very thick, pretty fat, red writhing little buggers.
yeh those are the ones i want i am associated with dairy industry in karachi and shit loaads of shit is wasted so i want to try out if i can make good compost and market as cheap fertilizer to farmers and make some money

Ask any mod to connect you to me via a private thread/chat and I'll share my email. I hate phone most of the time my cell is off

@Dubious can you please open a pvt thread for us?

Yaar my ideas are often crazy and wild (as my family puts it) can you imagine a 20 something pakistani student in a UK uni telling his grandfather/father that it'd be crazy to spend millions of ruppes in fixing the landscape of a tibba (un even) piece of land given to the airfoce officer as a gift, why don't you start logging/timber wood and import rosewood trees(shisham) through our family in india and wait for it to pay. Fortunately that crazy idea was bought now 21 years down the road, during the course of time he purchased two more murabbas (different places) only at the cutting of these tress (half of them) he is looking at over 2 billion ruppees income going all over the place with his "genius idea"

So it is again one of my crazy ideas, our olives are only two years old we have another couple of years for the phase, but I intend to have a study conducted about feasibility, quality and pricing may be 2021.

@Mangus Ortus Novem @Shane @graphican , @The Eagle
@Chak Bamu
That my friend is, 4.5 months of crop/vegetable vs 5 years of olive sustainable production or 5-7 years of avocado, 6 years for ginseng, or 21 years for rose wood. Its all about economics and being able to sustains/wait for such a period.

I have run all sorts of cash flow discounting models but no matter what I do there is no way I could find any scenario where an uneven 200 kanals of land give 4 billion worth of income which is about 190 million a year or 85 million for each crop cycle. Friend of mine took my advise and planted eucalyptus trees on their tibba now they have completed one cycle of 9 years each tree sold for Rs.300,000 they are in the mid of second cycle and expanding to another murabba.

This land of ours, my beloved Pakistan, which we have raped for over 70 year our motherland is so loving/caring and giving that little care and it will make you rich beyond your imagination. You can grow any damn thing here, I experimented with raising grapes from seeds of Australian and South African imported grapes, can you imagine they sprouted and are in the second year of their life in my house.

Bhai I was the first one to experiment imported strawberry in our chak shehzad farmhouse, others use their for other activities, then broccoli. Never compromised on quality now we have fixed clients and most of our produce is book in advance, not even for family use.

If you are in Karachi you may try "rambutan" from Thailand/Malaysia mother of all lychees, you can often find them in empress market and Metro cash and carry selling at Rs.2,000 for a pound. It is all about ideas, sustainability and above all "neyat" and overcoming the temptation of short cuts.
Ma sha Allah, Amazing information bhai.

May you continue to stay blessed with the gift of Barakah in your thoughts, plans and outcome by the grace of Allah Subhan Taala.

Your insight is just amazing. I used to work for a petrol-chem company for a while operating out of Potohar and could see eucalyptus tree plantations and experiments of olive plants with Kaho grafting as well as sappling plantation experiments along FatehJhang road and beyond.

Always wondered about the economics of it without having the means to be able to actually indulge but always looked at potohar and surrounding KPK landscape while traveling and wondered how come it looks so similar to the Palestinian or Sicilian landscape yet we don't have olive plantations that should compliment the land.

yeh those are the ones i want i am associated with dairy industry in karachi and shit loaads of shit is wasted so i want to try out if i can make good compost and market as cheap fertilizer to farmers and make some money
@Dubious can you please open a pvt thread for us?

PATCO is the department of PARC which deals with the sales of plants compost you might convince them for a few earthworm.

http://www.parc.gov.pk/index.php/en/patco3

A suggestion, ever heard thing called bio gas from what I remember years ago GoP used to subsidize installation of Biogas units for cow/buffalo owner it uses their dung and the residual left over is a much better quality fertilizer. Once you put red worms in it for the right people you have an excellent products, I think is one guy who specializes in kitchen garden very frequent on one of the cooking channels and hails from Karachi, I bought 10 bags of (i think 50 kg each) for over 30K from PATCO.

Ma sha Allah, Amazing information bhai.

May you continue to stay blessed with the gift of Barakah in your thoughts, plans and outcome by the grace of Allah Subhan Taala.

Your insight is just amazing. I used to work for a petrol-chem company for a while operating out of Potohar and could see eucalyptus tree plantations and experiments of olive plants with Kaho grafting as well as sappling plantation experiments along FatehJhang road and beyond.

Always wondered about the economics of it without having the means to be able to actually indulge but always looked at potohar and surrounding KPK landscape while traveling and wondered how come it looks so similar to the Palestinian or Sicilian landscape yet we don't have olive plantations that should compliment the land.

Bhai my problem is when it comes to Pakistan I am a hopeless case of optimism, not that my optimism is hopeless its just that no amount of negativity/propaganda can deter me from thinking about the future of Pakistan to be extremely bright.

As my younger son put it "our whole education system is useless, it instills fear, lack of trust and courage to experiment" understand he is not even 18 yet.

If we just filter out the negative propaganda, stop watching media wh*res news channels, delete all negative social media/whatsapp messages and start looking at small positive things around us we will find every Govt while plundered also contributed something positive to this country. 1122 and the chaudhry's. Ostrich Farming subsidies and Shahbaz Sharif.

Few minutes ago spoke with a researcher in NARC and got kicked out of my chair when he informed me that only last year the gave away 550 thousand plants of olive in Pakistan free of cost to all eligible farmers. The Target is 10 million acres of olive plantation, once we cross 4.6 million acres our entire dependence on all imported edible oils will become zero and we are talking about import in excess of 3 billion dollars going to zero.

Let me show you something in a few minutes, Alhamdolillah Allah has gifted us a paradise in the name of a country, whether this country deserves us or not is a different discussion. The picture I'll upload a few minutes later is of a plant called Mexican lime, two of them are on my roof top garden just look at the size; the plant it is only two years old, when we did cut this fruit down a damn bowl full of lime juice just one fruit weighed 672 grams. NARC is promoting its plantation in Pakistan and I am one of the beneficiary.

I was doing some research on economies of different countries and Egypt came up, I specially thank Allah for making me a Pakistani by birth instead of any other country 20+ billion dollars worth of export and 60+ billion dollars of imports no wonder they are a shit hole.

i tried it in Islamabad .bought couple of plants from NARC .. But Plant died in very hot environment

True, but there is a huge tree right next to their nursery. The gardener tipped me find a way for keeping the leaves moist during extreme hot weather so I made one spray system for all plants in my house in Rawalpindi into 2nd, 3rd and 4th year and still surviving.

Even avocado plant in PARC/NARC premises had a very high death rate in 2018/17.

It’s a very good news. We need to do the same in coastal areas for palm trees to reduce palm oil import.

If our government can focus on research to increasing yield, we will be able earn big dollars.
I also suggest we work on the strain of cannabis (and coca plant) for medicinal purpose, Cannabis oil, facial creams and high quality Hemp extract.

most-valuable-cash-crop-infographic.png

guys we have 250 acre land near multan
its use to be barren sand.but we have water which we sell.
can we plant something nice there

Dont go with the flow bro.. Plant kiwi fruit, turkish figs, hybrid louqat and possibly avocadoalong with olive. U have land so use it wisely.
Except for louqat rest will be left aside for now and for louqat and figs u can fence in patches.
U can also plant sheesham and pine at boundary or demarcation edges.. In 1.5 to 2 decades they will pay of for everything u invest now. These if plant in a line can be irrigated with the easily available threaded gas pipe transformed into a long drip irrigation pipe

I dont know if avicados can be grown but figs are common and grow well. I have a lot of family land but the problem is it requires investment and time, both of which are hard to come by haha. I have some fenced and secured places and thinking of seedless lemons as they produce fruit after 2 years and have a good yield. Our area is abit cold so sheesham growth is really slow, and is a very long term thing but yes it does pay back. Pine is a no go, govt have strict restrictions on cutting pine trees, u cannot cut ur own grown pine trees on ur own land, agri deppt gave pine tree plants for free a decade ago and ppl planted them like crazy but now cannot cut those trees lolz.
My personal motivation is to get little income from the land and most importantly make those mountains green and help the environment.

I read about olive, that if you do a plantation of olive garden it will take 4 to 5 year for full yield and with propr care will serve one's for generations/centuries who owns it.

A few yrsback i readof a shrub thtsfrom china and extremely resistant to drout. Its fruit is used in lots of things like jams, animal fodder etc... U may want to look at tht and one "hathi ghass" can be plantedin favourable areas, its a type of fodder a frnd is crazy about. Can be harvested at least 3 times.
I dont know if avicados can be grown but figs are common and grow well. I have a lot of family land but the problem is it requires investment and time, both of which are hard to come by haha. I have some fenced and secured places and thinking of seedless lemons as they produce fruit after 2 years and have a good yield. Our area is abit cold so sheesham growth is really slow, and is a very long term thing but yes it does pay back. Pine is a no go, govt have strict restrictions on cutting pine trees, u cannot cut ur own grown pine trees on ur own land, agri deppt gave pine tree plants for free a decade ago and ppl planted them like crazy but now cannot cut those trees lolz.
My personal motivation is to get little income from the land and most importantly make those mountains green and help the environment.

20191004_163630.jpg

20190622_221925.jpg

As promised first picture is mexican lime, this one is at our rooftop garden for experiment, damn bugger fruit is over 600 gm.

Second one is picture of two varieties of grapes which I brought from Brazil (Red one) and Afghanistan (Green one)

I was just telling someone I put few seeds of Ajwa (dates) and Mabroom (dates) good news is that they have sprouted 5 plants ajwa and 3 plants mabroom, another 19 years to fruit, however the point is that Ajwa and Mabroom could be grown in Pakistan. Very strange thing is my house is in Pindi not even close to any desert area like tharparkar or sind.

Wild raspberry is already in Pakistan, I failed in raising blueberries, so next two experiments are coffee and cocoa

whats the cost will it be cheaper then the imported ones and are they available in Karachi?