HAL Tejas | Updates, News & Discussions

lca Tejas SP-1 flight next month ?? | idrw.org

sp-2_zpsb1152da6.jpg

Tv Grab of SP-1 from the report

According to a report prepared by local kannada news channel TV-9, First SP-1 will be handed over to IAF next month and HAL / ADA will start flight test for FOC Certification from next months too , But Sp-1 shown seems far from ready to even have its first flight next month let alone been handed over to IAF .

SP-1 has been shown with engine and landing gears integrated and avionics in cockpit too seems to be in place but aircraft is seen without radar / Ejection seat and lot of wires and cables just hanging around , Reporter claimed first Aircraft will be handed over to IAF next month , but as per procedures , aircraft first needs to carry out few low speed and high speed taxi trials before first flight could be carried out .

Well if they are aiming for first flight next month then lets see if they can keep their words . While reporters also informed that few Asian countries have shown interest in LCA Tejas Trainer aircraft has informed to them by HAL but did not disclose names of countries who have contacted HAL . Well thats pretty much standard answers HAL gives out to Unsuspecting reporters on Export potentials and idrw.org too had heared such reports in the past , but Interest alone doesn’t get you orders .

SP-3_zpsedd53880.jpg

SP-4_zpsb8df2865.jpg

Bhagwaan ke liye Delay maat kar dena yaar

This was supposed to fly in 2012.....btw when HAL says 1 month....iska matlab hai 6 month. I month of working day....8 hrs/day and 5 days/week....so the maths is 3 din mein 24 hrs..... aur Is hisab se 1 month actually 6 months hote hai.

NEW DELHI: The "Chalta Hai" attitude will no longer do. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has directed the DRDO to ensure delivery of cutting-edge weapon systems to the armed forces in time to keep India ahead in the national security arena.

Though the stern message was couched in mild language, the intent behind it could not be lost. Most of DRDO projects, ranging from Tejas light combat aircraft to long-range surface-to-air missile systems, after all, are running years behind schedule with huge cost overruns.

READ ALSO: Ten key DRDO projects delayed, Arun Jaitley says

The fact that India, which aspires to be a superpower, still embarrassingly imports over 65% of its military requirements is basically due to failure of successive governments to build a strong domestic defence-industrial base (DIB) as well as tardy performance of DRDO and its 50 labs, five defence PSUs, four shipyards and 39 ordnance factories.

India does not lack the requisite scientific talent and capability but this "chalta hai" attitude (lackadaisical) has put paid to all endeavours, said Modi at the annual DRDO awards function on Wednesday.

"The world will not wait for us. We have to run ahead of time. We should not say in 2014 that a project conceived in 1992 will take some more time," said Modi. With defence technology evolving at a rapid rate around the globe, India cannot afford to conceptualize systems that are two steps behind what will soon hit the market.

"DRDO has to decide whether it will only react to the situation, or become pro-active and set the agenda for the global community. I have hopes from DRDO because I know it has the capability to perform," said Modi.

Defence minister Arun Jaitley also stressed that defence scientists had the "intellectual talent" to turn DRDO into "a hub for defence manufacturing" if they worked towards it in the right earnest.

But this might take some doing. For one, DRDO wants more funds for R&D. For another, though it has over 7,500 scientists on its rolls, it wants to attract bright youngsters from top-notch institutions like the IITs with better incentives.

Blog: Modi's push for out-of-box thinking in defence research should shake DRDO out of its stupor

"Our intake of young scientists is down to just 70 per year. This is certainly not a good sign for an innovation-centric organization. Sanction of additional manpower at the rate of 300 per year for the next seven-eight years is essential for meeting technology challenges," said DRDO chief Avinash Chander.

But it's equally true that DRDO itself needs to be revamped and reformed. As reported by TOI earlier, the Rama Rao Committee (RRC) in 2008 held DRDO should focus only on 8 to 10 "critical technologies'' of "strategic importance'', instead of making everything from dental implants and mosquito repellents to nuclear missiles and fighter jets.

Two key RRC recommendations, for instance, to establish a new Defence Technology Commission and a commercial arm for DRDO (as a private limited company with Rs 2 crore as seed capital) are yet to be implemented.

World won’t wait for you, PM Narendra Modi tells laggard DRDO - The Times of India

Modi also mentioned about the project which started in 1992 and even in 2014 its yet to get completed, which is not going to be tolerated anymore.. He was referring to the project Tejas.. He questioned the attitude of DRDO and viability of such planning.. He asked to plan accordinly to stay in competion with other nations and not to lagg behind.. He even asked DRDO to be proactive rather than reactive....

@sancho @ANPP your views on this please....

NEW DELHI: The "Chalta Hai" attitude will no longer do. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has directed the DRDO to ensure delivery of cutting-edge weapon systems to the armed forces in time to keep India ahead in the national security arena.

Though the stern message was couched in mild language, the intent behind it could not be lost. Most of DRDO projects, ranging from Tejas light combat aircraft to long-range surface-to-air missile systems, after all, are running years behind schedule with huge cost overruns.

The fact that India, which aspires to be a superpower, still embarrassingly imports over 65% of its military requirements is basically due to failure of successive governments to build a strong domestic defence-industrial base (DIB) as well as tardy performance of DRDO and its 50 labs, five defence PSUs, four shipyards and 39 ordnance factories.

India does not lack the requisite scientific talent and capability but this "chalta hai" attitude (lackadaisical) has put paid to all endeavours, said Modi at the annual DRDO awards function on Wednesday.

"The world will not wait for us. We have to run ahead of time. We should not say in 2014 that a project conceived in 1992 will take some more time," said Modi. With defence technology evolving at a rapid rate around the globe, India cannot afford to conceptualize systems that are two steps behind what will soon hit the market.

"DRDO has to decide whether it will only react to the situation, or become pro-active and set the agenda for the global community. I have hopes from DRDO because I know it has the capability to perform," said Modi.

Defence minister Arun Jaitley also stressed that defence scientists had the "intellectual talent" to turn DRDO into "a hub for defence manufacturing" if they worked towards it in the right earnest.

But this might take some doing. For one, DRDO wants more funds for R&D. For another, though it has over 7,500 scientists on its rolls, it wants to attract bright youngsters from top-notch institutions like the IITs with better incentives.

Blog: Modi's push for out-of-box thinking in defence research should shake DRDO out of its stupor

"Our intake of young scientists is down to just 70 per year. This is certainly not a good sign for an innovation-centric organization. Sanction of additional manpower at the rate of 300 per year for the next seven-eight years is essential for meeting technology challenges," said DRDO chief Avinash Chander.

But it's equally true that DRDO itself needs to be revamped and reformed. As reported by TOI earlier, the Rama Rao Committee (RRC) in 2008 held DRDO should focus only on 8 to 10 "critical technologies'' of "strategic importance'', instead of making everything from dental implants and mosquito repellents to nuclear missiles and fighter jets.

Two key RRC recommendations, for instance, to establish a new Defence Technology Commission and a commercial arm for DRDO (as a private limited company with Rs 2 crore as seed capital) are yet to be implemented.

World won’t wait for you, PM Narendra Modi tells laggard DRDO - The Times of India

Modi also mentioned about the project which started in 1992 and even in 2014 its yet to get completed, which is not going to be tolerated anymore.. He was referring to the project Tejas.. He questioned the attitude of DRDO and viability of such planning.. He asked to plan accordinly to stay in competion with other nations and not to lagg behind.. He even asked DRDO to be proactive rather than reactive....

I am hoping that the political pressure which is been put on DRDO will change their work culture.
I can't remember that any P.M. insulted DRDO or scientific community of India so diplomatically in front of media before Modi.
But this also giving us a little insider story of MoD. While MoD is pressuring IAF for lca, IAF is rejecting lca on the basis of technical terms as it will decrease IAF's over allegedly fighting capability. It is not new that RSS is pro-nationalist organisation so the BJP. LCA could be their main agenda. The thing is clear mass order of lca will kill Rafale vice-versa.

But one sign which Made di clearly gave last day that if lca would not ready for induction in IAF by 2018t than would be taken as cancel by default.

Hope reforms also follow soon,modi govt seems keen to be build our Defense Capabilities

I am hoping that the political pressure which is been put on DRDO will change their work culture.
I can't remember that any P.M. insulted DRDO or scientific community of India so diplomatically in front of media before Modi.
But this also giving us a little insider story of MoD. While MoD is pressuring IAF for lca, IAF is rejecting lca on the basis of technical terms as it will decrease IAF's over allegedly fighting capability. It is not new that RSS is pro-nationalist organisation so the BJP. LCA could be their main agenda. The thing is clear mass order of lca will kill Rafale vice-versa.

But one sign which Made di clearly gave last day that if lca would not ready for induction in IAF by 2018t than would be taken as cancel by default.
I would consider this as a threat (to replace the scientist) rather than insult by the PM...

The points which you have raised as apparently correct to a certain extent, but there are possibilities beyond that.. In one of your post you have already stated that IAF has three tier system for the Fighter jets... Here one thing to be taken into consideration, and that is IAFs major chunk of inventory is comprised of obsolete Mig 21.. Neither MMRCA (am still skeptical about rafale being the one considering age old delays even in the procurement) nor the PAKFA/FGFA would make up for the numbers.. when we look at the 2020 senario, IAF needs replacement of Mig 21, Mig 27, Jaguars.... Even by 2025-28 Mig 29 and M2k would start to be phased out. So, MKI, MMRCA, PAKFA/FGFA would make top and mid level fighters totaling 550 fighters roughly... What about the lower end fighter.. We require nearly 120-150 of those for point defense and CAP role.. Many are arguing that mmrca would kill LCA.. I beg to differ.. Both has different purpose (certainly due to difference in cost)... and are required for the national security..

What we missed in the LCA development process, approach like PAF.. They inducted JF17 in PAF and also evolving simultaneously it.. Their air force was/is involved in fighter development unlike ours...

So, on one hand we require those foreign mall, at the same time need desi ones which would bloster self reliance for now and pave way for future development... And for that, sometimes you require harsh decision and/or even threatening...

Though the stern message was couched in mild languag, the intent behind it could not be lost.

By the lack of a propper defence minister, this "mild" statement is welcomed, but still is far too less. Propper reform of the project management, stronger focus on working WITH and not against the forces and more accountablility are necessary, otherwise nothing will change. Lets see if this is just a PR statement, or if the new government will actually do something to improve the indigenous aero sector.

We require nearly 120-150 of those for point defense and CAP role...

That's pretty much the number of LCAs we will get at the end, but by the time they are inducted, warfar and technology has moved on. Roles like recon or CAS will be done by Rustom H, at cheaper unit and per hour costs, with more performance. That hardly leaves basic air policing left for LCA and since it will be the most cost-effective solution in the fleet, it will be the first choice, but that also limits it's importance for the future. IAF is clear that they put their focus on FGFA and drones in future.

What we missed in the LCA development process is, approach like PAF.. They inducted JF17 in PAF and also evolving simultaneously it.. Their air force was/is involved in fighter development unlike ours...

They even lead the development for the Pakistani side, but mainly by the lack of industrial / development alternatives. We have such with ADA, DRDO and HAL, but instead of working together for the same aim, they actually worked against each other to get their share of importance. DRDO constantly wants to take control, therefor kept IAF out and HAL small. ADA wants control over design, without HAL being a part, not to mention that we made everything more complicated than it needed to be. Especially DRDO is grown too big and needs to get slamed to the ground again. That requires a tough stand of the MoD and propper changes in the way we take on these developments. Let IAF head them, as IN does, let the actual manufacturer be responsible for the project management, be it HAL or a privat partner and not developers like DRDO. Make it simple and use the benefits of off the shelf foreign parts...

4 Defence Scientists Receive DRDO Award

Four defence scientists from the city were among the recipients of DRDO Awards-2013 presented by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in New Delhi on Wednesday.
The ‘Performance Excellence Award’ was given to P S Subramanyam, Director, Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) and Dr K Tamilmani, former Chief Executive, Centre for Military Airworthiness and Certification.

The duo and their respective teams were selected for this top award for their contribution in the design, development and certification of the Tejas aircraft...

4 Defence Scientists Receive DRDO Award -The New Indian Express

:lol: I think the PM has countered himself with that.

I would consider this as a threat (to replace the scientist) rather than insult by the PM...

The points which you have raised as apparently correct to a certain extent, but there are possibilities beyond that.. In one of your post you have already stated that IAF has three tier system for the Fighter jets... Here one thing to be taken into consideration, and that is IAFs major chunk of inventory is comprised of obsolete Mig 21.. Neither MMRCA (am still skeptical about rafale being the one considering age old delays even in the procurement) nor the PAKFA/FGFA would make up for the numbers.. when we look at the 2020 senario, IAF needs replacement of Mig 21, Mig 27, Jaguars.... Even by 2025-28 Mig 29 and M2k would start to be phased out. So, MKI, MMRCA, PAKFA/FGFA would make top and mid level fighters totaling 550 fighters roughly... What about the lower end fighter.. We require nearly 120-150 of those for point defense and CAP role.. Many are arguing that mmrca would kill LCA.. I beg to differ.. Both has different purpose (certainly due to difference in cost)... and are required for the national security..

What we missed in the LCA development process, approach like PAF.. They inducted JF17 in PAF and also evolving simultaneously it.. Their air force was/is involved in fighter development unlike ours...

So, on one hand we require those foreign mall, at the same time need desi ones which would bloster self reliance for now and pave way for future development... And for that, sometimes you require harsh decision and/or even threatening...

129 is the number of LCA which IAF wants. Now see 2030 scenerio........

18 sqdrn of mki
6 sqdrn of lca upto order
8 sqdrn of Rafale

That's total 32 sqdn of maximum 44.5

Probably we will think about mig29 replacement that time but miraj will be used by that time. Because upgradation schedule of miraj is upto 2024. So 2 sqdrn of miraj will serve beyond that time and that's why I am questioning on this deal over lca's purchase.
Hence 34 sqdrn definite. Now don't forget FGFA, so far 144 order. If we follow mki style than we would have total 6-7 sqdn atleast. These makes 38-39 sqdrns total.

All fighters like mki, Rafale and FGFA are money hungry fighters. And I never say that there is three class fighters in IAF. Air forces usually operate mix of high/low mix. And IAF have plans of using all high level fighters. That's why I am saying that LCA cannot live with mmrca. We have to chose one from them.

And 130 is not good number for LCA, as it is Indian fighter. Tell me where in world indegenious consist of less than 20% of force.

For that we have to wait till 2018, but if we buy them in 200 + numbers than that's good. But from where he got this information is also in question. May be he get it from South Block. You did hear the IAF's retired personals how they were forcing to cancel the LCA.

AMCA will get speed from 2014-15, that was well know. It is the time when AMCA will come out from drawing boards and will get real shape. As its first TD was scheduled in 2017. But same time listen the IAF, they send clear message to HAL to concern on FGFA. As they want good share of work in it and schedule to induct in 2020. They don't want miss the deadlines in case of FGFA. That will delay AMCA's initial TDs. In over all project will be delayed.

For that we have to wait till 2018, but if we buy them in 200 + numbers than that's good. But from where he got this information is also in question. May be he get it from South Block. You did hear the IAF's retired personals how they were forcing to cancel the LCA.

AMCA will get speed from 2014-15, that was well know. It is the time when AMCA will come out from drawing boards and will get real shape. As its first TD was scheduled in 2017. But same time listen the IAF, they send clear message to HAL to concern on FGFA. As they want good share of work in it and schedule to induct in 2020. They don't want miss the deadlines in case of FGFA. That will delay AMCA's initial TDs. In over all project will be delayed.

he is a informed guy. He will soon publish his latest interview with Dr. Avinash Chandra. and corresponding videos on youtube. There you can find answers to some of your questions. And by the way he posted the image of INS ARIHANT in may what NDTV yesterday published.

fig-i--ins-arihant.jpg

Bro.Giving award to deserving is not an bad idea actually to motivate the team.

"Deserving"!!! Giving an award to people who messed up so much and that even for exactly the project that the PM actually asked them to provide earlier is just laughable and for sure not motivating at all. :disagree: