Gwadar trade linkages and possibilities

Here is the map:

China-EastEurope by ArgusPanoptes007, on Flickr

It seems that the way for China to East Europe is through Russia and CAR, not Pakistan, Iran or Turkey. And both Russia and China are making progress in integrating their rail systems more closely, including automatic axle changes for whole trains to speed up gauge changes. And Gawadar doesn't even picture in any of that goods transport.

Dude thewre is a world beyond China n china will be not the only country to use it in future too...........

in post#29 i tried to explain this read it again with open mind.

There is a good reason why Major powers r opposing it, and they r not doing it for just China dude.
If u follow my posts u will find im trying to explain him that it will be used in future by EU countries n Turkey, Caucaus Countries n CARS for import n export with Far East, Pacific region, Oceana, Africa specially south,central and eastern and vice versa. it will be used for trade with Eastern ME countries that like in Hijaz peninsular ie Yemen,Oman etc for trade with EU n vice versa.

Sure, we all have been waiting for so long for Gawadar to become operational already, what's a few more decades?

So please tell me what will the Chinese import through Gawadar and how will they carry those goods to their country almost two thousand kilometers to the north?

bro well i didnot expected this from you……:coffee:
why you think they are planning to establish rail rout b/w China and Gwadar??
well this is nearest path available to Chineese to import oil from middle eastern countries and to export……
and the are going to use it and develop this port very much……:pop:
they have plans to deal with 50 cargo ships at once while now just 2 can be loaded or unloaded……

Dude thewre is a world beyond China n china will be not the only country to use it in future too...........

in post#29 i tried to explain this read it again with open mind.

There is a good reason why Major powers r opposing it, and they r not doing it for just China dude.
If u follow my posts u will find im trying to explain him that it will be used in future by EU countries n Turkey, Caucaus Countries n CARS for import n export with Far East, Pacific region, Oceana, Africa specially south,central and eastern and vice versa. it will be used for trade with Eastern ME countries that like in Hijaz peninsular ie Yemen,Oman etc for trade with EU n vice versa.

It will be a long, long, long, very long time "in the future" that Europe will ship goods via rail or ship passing through Gawadar or Pakistan in the global directions that you mention. So long in fact that I will have to wait for continental drift to rearrange the continents first. It is apparent that we need to have a much better idea about patterns of global commerce and shipping, or even basic geography before discussing this further.

well this is nearest path available to Chineese to import oil from middle eastern countries and to export
……
they have plans to deal with 50 cargo ships at once while now just 2 can be loaded or unloaded……

Lala Jee, what rail link? When we have a train service to Gilgit first, then we can talk about crossing the 5,000 meter high Khunjerab Pass. And oil will need a pipeline to transport cost effectively as trains simply cannot offer the capacity needed by China. That is, IF we can keep the existing KKH open all year round, which we cannot so far.

Such views about Gawadar's global importance are simply never going to come true.

What is realistic that Gawadar becomes an important port for our own exports and imports as an alternative and supportive asset to Karachi. That I can agree with.

It will be a long, long, long, very long time "in the future" that Europe will ship goods via rail or ship passing through Gawadar or Pakistan in the global directions that you mention. So long in fact that I will have to wait for continental drift to rearrange the continents first. It is apparent that we need to have a much better idea about patterns of global commerce and shipping, or even basic geography before discussing this further.

Lala Jee, what rail link? When we have a train service to Gilgit first, then we can talk about crossing the 5,000 meter high Khunjerab Pass. And oil will need a pipeline to transport cost effectively as trains simply cannot offer the capacity needed by China. That is, IF we can keep the existing KKH open all year round, which we cannot so far.

Such views about Gawadar's global importance are simply never going to come true.

What is realistic that Gawadar becomes an important port for our own exports and imports as an alternative and supportive asset to Karachi. That I can agree with.

I just shared facts and ask chineese who have such plans……
Its not just Oil also exports……
ok don't agree its ok with me…:coffee:

I just shared facts and ask chineese who have such plans……
Its not just Oil also exports……
ok don't agree its ok with me…:coffee:

What facts? All you have shared are hopes and dreams with no connection with reality.

How can large supplies of oil go over the Karakorums? And what would China export by the same route, and why? Most of their industrial production is already well connected via their East Coast infrastructure.

Like I said, when we have trains going to Gilgit, and then the Chinese sign a contract, and somebody funds the project, then I can pay attention.

well this is nearest path available to Chineese to import oil from middle eastern countries and to export……

Oil on a train ??

Gwadar's importance is limited to Pakistan's economy and growth. And possibly as China's foothold in the Arabian Sea. But apart from that, I don't see China too eager to scrap its own ports just to export goods from Gwadar.

GWADAR TRADE LINKAGES AND POSSIBILITIES

With the expected completion of Makran Coastal Highway portion from Gwadar to Gabd (N-10) with a distance of only about a hundred and fifty kilometers, which has been substantially constructed according to National Highway Authority (NHA) website, linking Gwadar to the Iranian road network, the huge potential of the Port and the Coastal Highway would be utilized within a few months.

On the other side of the Iranian border is the port of Chahbahar, which is linked on one side to Bander Abbas by road and from there to the Iranian Rail network. The other road from Chahbahar currently used for Indian exports to Afghanistan goes through Iranshahr to Zahedan and onwards to Zabol on the Iranian border and to Zaranj in the Afghan Province of Nimroz. The Iranians are providing huge storage facilities at Chahbahar port. Company formation laws have also been simplified by the Iranian government for Chahbahar.

The Gwadar Port could be made economical by using the Iranian Road network as an alternative route for the Afghan Transit Trade. The Indians are already using this road for exports to Afghanistan.

The twenty year old dream of Central Asian trade would come true by providing Transit Trade facilities to Turkmenistan using the Iranian road and rail network which is already connected through Mashad to Turkmenistan. In addition to that, we can provide the same facilities to the other Central Asian Republics like Uzbekistan through Turkmenistan for their exports to the Far East and Palm Oil exports from Indonesia and Malaysia to Central Asia. We can also import Central Asian Cotton and export Leather garments to them.

With the law and order situation in Afghanistan at its worst point we should switch over to the Iranian route for the time being for Central Asian trade. Last month a goods train was sent to Turkey through Iran from Islamabad for the first time in Pakistan’s history. In the same manner, Iranian and Turkish goods could be imported by Train to Quetta for onwards shipment to Sindh, Punjab and Frontier; and to Bander Abbas by Train and then by road to Gwadar for onwards shipment to Karachi through the Coastal Highway.

There is a huge demand for Pakistani Irri and Basmati Rice in Iran. On the other hand the Iranians have a developed canned vegetable, dry fruit and plastics industry. At present, in specific seasons, fresh vegetables are being imported to Makran from Iran. In addition to that, we can import oil because the Iranians have very little refining facilities. Dates are also be imported from Iran. Pakistan Horticultural Development & Export Board (PHDEB) has also started construction of date processing plant at Turbat with annual capacity of 2400 metric tons.

Turkey has a developed industrial sector and we can import good quality machinery and parts based on European technology from there. During the 2005 earthquake, the relief aid from Turkey came through the Iranian road network on trailers.

Pakistan would benefit from the cheap imports and it can tap these markets for export. It would also earn revenues from the customs duties at Gabd Border and Gwadar Port.

Recently, when a ship offloaded its cargo at Gwadar port, empty trucks had to be brought in from Karachi because there was nothing to take to Gwadar and only one way cargo of wheat from Gwadar, thus doubling the rent of the trucks. If the Iranian land trade route is opened, a transport hub would naturally be formed at Gwadar, thus decreasing the cost of doing imports at Gwadar port and providing business opportunity to the local transporters and many allied services.

It should be borne in mind that these Baloch areas bordering Iran have very little agriculture and any other forms of economic activities. Cheap electricity can be also provided to these areas from Iran. If the border trade is liberalized for the districts of Balochistan adjoining Iran, by connecting the road networks at various points, in addition to the customs check post at Mand, then the economic hardships of the people of those areas would decrease as they will get cheap food stuffs and other commodities and the resentment against the federal government would decrease.

Better for the GoP to arrange some money to pay back China $1.1 Billion and gain the authority of it and start working on Three Mega Ship yards along with related facilities and A big Naval base.

i know yr right that day will come after atleast 40-75 years. But as there is a Chinese saying that journey of thousand miles beings with first step.

We have taken our first step so now we will reach the destiny no mater how long does it take.Just have patience my friend, there is a bright future waiting for us.

i know yr right that day will come after atleast 40-75 years. But as there is a Chinese saying that journey of thousand miles beings with first step.

We have taken our first step so now we will reach the destiny no mater how long does it take.Just have patience my friend, there is a bright future waiting for us.

I can agree with this, but please remember that we are taking baby steps slowly, while the world is running giant strides quickly. We will be left behind if we don't hasten our pace.

Let the time decide this Sir.

Oil on a train ??

Gwadar's importance is limited to Pakistan's economy and growth. And possibly as China's foothold in the Arabian Sea. But apart from that, I don't see China too eager to scrap its own ports just to export goods from Gwadar.

whats the relation of train with oil???:unsure:
its just that they are planning
train is not worth talking and has nothing to do with oil atleast yeah they can use it for export items……

What facts? All you have shared are hopes and dreams with no connection with reality.

How can large supplies of oil go over the Karakorums? And what would China export by the same route, and why? Most of their industrial production is already well connected via their East Coast infrastructure.

Like I said, when we have trains going to Gilgit, and then the Chinese sign a contract, and somebody funds the project, then I can pay attention.

A great game begins as China takes control of Gwadar port - The National
Pakistan transfers strategic Gwadar port to China - World Socialist Web Site
China
China given contract to operate Gwadar port | Pakistan | DAWN.COM
there are many such other articles hinting of importing & expoting products from Pakistan
what else can I say……:pop:

Let the time decide this Sir.

vote sirf @Argus Panoptes ka……:raise::wave:
ab bas inhi bhai say umeed hai kay Pakistan main development karwain gay or pace bi barhay gee……:omghaha:

A great game begins as China takes control of Gwadar port - The National
Pakistan transfers strategic Gwadar port to China - World Socialist Web Site
China
China given contract to operate Gwadar port | Pakistan | DAWN.COM
there are many such other articles hinting of importing & expoting products from Pakistan
what else can I say……:pop:

vote sirf @Argus Panoptes ka……:raise::wave:
ab bas inhi bhai say umeed hai kay Pakistan main development karwain gay or pace bi barhay gee……:omghaha:

All those articles are useless self-aggrandisement. Apnay munh aap mian mithu banney kaa koi faida nahi.

Please show me the amounts of goods being shipped through Gawadar in million of tons, and then we can talk if the graph rises and rises.

Aur mein parhai mukammal ker loon to development bhi karwa doon gaa Bhai meray.

All those articles are useless self-aggrandisement. Apnay munh aap mian mithu banney kaa koi faida nahi.

Please show me the amounts of goods being shipped through Gawadar in million of tons, and then we can talk if the graph rises and rises.

Aur mein parhai mukammal ker loon to development bhi karwa doon gaa Bhai meray.

bhai abhi wahan hai kia???
2 ships enter hoo sakti hain abhi to port main bas……
chineese have plans to make port to deal with 50 ships in lease for 50 years…
or abhi kal ni aaraha china ka maal wait
sea rours means long wait……
atleast to see things clearly w8 20 years

whats the relation of train with oil???:unsure:
its just that they are planning
train is not worth talking and has nothing to do with oil atleast yeah they can use it for export items……

Actually you mentioned oil on rails: