Govt tells Armed Forces to re-draw plan to raise strike corps for China bor

sudhir007

Govt tells Armed Forces to re-draw plan to raise strike corps for China border - Indian Express

The plan to raise a new mountain strike corps for the China border in the eastern sector is now back to the drawing board. The government is learnt to have sent back the proposal, asking the three service chiefs to jointly come up with a plan involving all three forces.

The rethink has come almost a year after the government gave its in-principle clearance to set up the strike corps, which eventually took the shape of a CCS note that was awaiting finance approval. It was estimated that the new corps would cost about Rs 65,000 crore with fresh accretion of 89,000 soldiers and 400 officers.

The plan was forcefully piloted by former Army Chief Gen V K Singh, who had projected it as critical to launch a counter-offensive into Tibet in case of a “Kargil-type adventure” by China.

Even then, questions were raised on whether this step would end up being more provocative than effective in the long run. But the Army had cited China’s overall aggressive military build-up and intelligence that Beijing was rehearsing plans for a local military offensive by way of specific exercises in and around the Tibet Autonomous Region.

The Finance Ministry had raised questions on the longevity of the China threat. While the expectation was that the government would push this into the new 2012-13 financial year, sources said, there has been a sudden rethink at the highest levels.

Insiders clarified that the government has not gone back on developing a credible preparedness level against China’s rapidly expanding military profile on the borders, but it does want a relook at the strategy from all possible sides. For this purpose, sources said, it was felt that the Chiefs of Staff Committee comprising the three service chiefs was the right forum to take a fresh look and suggest a comprehensive plan.

Another provocation for returning the proposal was that the government did not want the Army, Navy and Air Force to send separate proposals on countering China. It is learnt that the government felt there was a need for more coordination.

The new strike corps was to come up Panagarh, West Bengal, along with two more divisions. An independent armoured brigade along with an artillery division were to be part of the set-up. Already, two divisions are being raised in the eastern theatre along with the newly-created Arunachal Scouts battalions.

^^^So basically the GoI is asking for more and better co-ordination between the three defence wing's??This is actually good news if anybody asked me!!I always felt that just raising a few offensive strike corps along the LAC was not a very comprehensive plan to counter the Chinese threat and more so since the Chinese were operating heavy attack Helos and Jets in the TAR!!So I guess it would be better if all the three forces come up with a joint plan as to what to do. . .

actually,GOI wants a tri-service mechanism between 3 services where they will act as one and they will share resources when needed.but I heard that fierce opposition came from IAF(most probably).thats why there is no Joint Tri service still now(except A&N command).but I think GOI should force this plan as if Army and IAF acts differently in a war situation,it would be a huge blunder.both command are always fighting for funds and it affects overall performance of Armed forces.India should follow same kind of doctrine like USA's Air-Sea battle doctrine where services will spare resources most effectively.

Govt tells Armed Forces to re-draw plan to raise strike corps for China border - Indian Express

The plan to raise a new mountain strike corps for the China border in the eastern sector is now back to the drawing board. The government is learnt to have sent back the proposal, asking the three service chiefs to jointly come up with a plan involving all three forces.

The rethink has come almost a year after the government gave its in-principle clearance to set up the strike corps, which eventually took the shape of a CCS note that was awaiting finance approval. It was estimated that the new corps would cost about Rs 65,000 crore with fresh accretion of 89,000 soldiers and 400 officers.

The plan was forcefully piloted by former Army Chief Gen V K Singh, who had projected it as critical to launch a counter-offensive into Tibet in case of a “Kargil-type adventure” by China.

Even then, questions were raised on whether this step would end up being more provocative than effective in the long run. But the Army had cited China’s overall aggressive military build-up and intelligence that Beijing was rehearsing plans for a local military offensive by way of specific exercises in and around the Tibet Autonomous Region.

The Finance Ministry had raised questions on the longevity of the China threat. While the expectation was that the government would push this into the new 2012-13 financial year, sources said, there has been a sudden rethink at the highest levels.

Insiders clarified that the government has not gone back on developing a credible preparedness level against China’s rapidly expanding military profile on the borders, but it does want a relook at the strategy from all possible sides. For this purpose, sources said, it was felt that the Chiefs of Staff Committee comprising the three service chiefs was the right forum to take a fresh look and suggest a comprehensive plan.

Another provocation for returning the proposal was that the government did not want the Army, Navy and Air Force to send separate proposals on countering China. It is learnt that the government felt there was a need for more coordination.

The new strike corps was to come up Panagarh, West Bengal, along with two more divisions. An independent armoured brigade along with an artillery division were to be part of the set-up. Already, two divisions are being raised in the eastern theatre along with the newly-created Arunachal Scouts battalions.

Neither is China keen to attack India, nor can India ever hope to counter China even with 20 such Strike Corps. The real task of this Strike Corps is to augment the Eastern Command when ops start against BD.

dont flatter yourself, ur nation is not worth a penny, our national cadet corps is more than enough to take on your rag tag third class force, for that we dont even need a single strike corps.

Are you kidding me Strike Corps against BD. our BSF is already doing it , by killing the infiltrators on the Border:sniper:. apart from it dont fool yourselves about strike corps u all yourselves are more than enough to destroy yourselves, just come to the INDO- Bang border.:sniper:

dont flatter yourself, ur nation is not worth a penny, our national cadet corps is more than enough to take on your rag tag third class force, for that we dont even need a single strike corps.
what a thought it may prove a drill for our NCCs . he he he.....

are you kidding???our homeguards is more than capable to capture BD in 2-3 days..if they face problem,we'll deploy our trafic police(or cadets from organizations like RSS...your choice).thats it.NCC is more than capable to capture BD in hours.. :lol:

Toungue in Cheek "Statement"

India has a strategy to prepare and fight a two front war.

Now prepare for a three front war.

The mere fact that the finance ministry struck down the proposal clearly identifies that the money in the kitty is not enough. This against India's enemy No.1, is indeed surprising.

I dont know how the money for upgrading the air bases against China and equipping them with additional aircraft and building of new air bases as well as constructing new road infrastructure in NE etc will fare.

What a pity - regional power, growing to become a super power, becoming nothing in the end.

Alas, aunty really won't have balls big enough to become an uncle.

dnt need to ncc or police.. Just nuke bangladesh.. ;)

yeah yeah ......

you also wish that aunty would have balls to become an uncle.

This is not gonna happen ...... despite you being high on something good ;)

The mere fact that the finance ministry struck down the proposal clearly identifies that the money in the kitty is not enough. This against India's enemy No.1, is indeed surprising.

I dont know how the money for upgrading the air bases against China and equipping them with additional aircraft and building of new air bases as well as constructing new road infrastructure in NE etc will fare.

What a pity - regional power, growing to become a super power, becoming nothing in the end.

Bangladesh is not even a front for us, again it is for defence which is not as expensive as offence...we are able to afford the best of technology, some times things do not work out ...

Bro what hppn to kamara aisbase attecker have u catched them and what abt karachi violance stoped ? what abt drone strikes stoped what abt the aid which was stoped by US and what abt NATO trucks ? dont u think u have very good reason to worrie abt this things first then what india is doing :)

ohh .........it hurts......
3 front war but we thought that in future we will only be fight only one i.e, china, b'coz Bang was once carved of Pakistan In 1971, so basically BDesh was an alm by India but lately They have forgotten their saviours and whinning here, but that doesnt matter b'coz "Barking Dogs Never Bites" and for our beloved Pak, we r always at war in miniscule at Loc and lately India has moved on from Pak, as pAk is killing itself. so let us all forget about trolling and let the thread to continue

Haaa... and for your info we dont want aunty to have balls to become Uncle becoz Aunty has all she needs to squeeze the balls out of uncle( Here its SAM UNCLE) which she is doing nicely.:usflag: