SunilM

Government likely to increase gas prices by up to 86%

ISLAMABAD:

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government is likely to increase gas prices by up to 86% in an effort to bail out public utilities, which are on the verge of financial default following delay in notifying revised gas prices.

The former Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) government had kept gas prices unchanged for a long time on political grounds, which worsened financial situation of the gas utilities – Sui Southern Gas Company (SSGC) and Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL).

LNG prices rise in Pakistan as rupee weakens

Officials told The Express Tribune that gas transmission and distribution companies could halt operations due to the growing circular debt as well as unchanged gas prices and the present government was expected to revise prices upwards to support the utilities.

Economic managers are likely to take this decision in a meeting of the Economic Coordination Committee (ECC) scheduled for Wednesday. According to officials, the Ministry of Energy (Petroleum Division), in a summary, has proposed a 30% across-the-board increase in prices for all gas consumers – commercial, industrial and power consumers – except for domestic users.

However for the first slab of domestic consumers, the division has recommended 86% increase in gas prices.

OGRA changes pricing mechanism for gas utilities

At present, the gas price for the first slab of domestic consumers is Rs110 per unit against the actual price of Rs630 per unit. This way, the consumers are getting a cross-subsidy of Rs520 per unit. The previous government had constituted a sub-committee of the ECC which finalised the mechanism for revising gas prices upwards.

Average gas purchase price for SNGPL from 40 different sources is Rs630 per million British thermal units (mmbtu) whereas its average sale price is Rs390 per unit. This shows a difference of Rs240 per unit which is the main reason behind the rising corporate debt level.

On August 20, 2018, SNGPL’s payables stood at Rs171.1 billion including mark-up of Rs28.9 billion whereas its receivables amounted to Rs165.01 billion.

Of this amount, Rs10.4 billion was to be paid by the Water and Power Development Authority (Wapda) and independent power producers (IPPs) for receiving liquefied natural gas (LNG) supply.

On the other hand, SSGC’s receivables stood at Rs203.6 billion, of which Rs83.5 billion was against K-Electric, Rs55 billion against Pakistan Steel Mills, Rs13.9 billion against SNGPL (uniform price), Rs3.91 billion against SNGPL (net), Rs3.53 billion against Wapda (JPCL/CPGCL), Rs25.2 billion in sales tax recovery and Rs18.4 billion in income tax recovery.

SSGC was to pay Rs69.8 billion to Oil and Gas Development Company, Rs43.4 billion to Pakistan Petroleum Limited and Rs35.6 billion to Government Holdings Private Limited. It total payables to gas suppliers amounted to Rs148.8 billion.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 29th, 2018.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1790048/2-government-likely-increase-gas-prices-86/

Mod edit: Unnecessary provocation & inappropriate wording.

If the average purchase price is 630 then sales price must be at least 750 and it must be uniform, we must stop this domestic/commercial differentiation in prices. We must end the blanket subsidy practice for all, government must adopt mechanism where poor people are directly provided financial support.

Reactions: Max
It will affect PTI image and vote bank..but I am totally for it. gas is really cheap in Pakistan. People have pernial flame geyser whereas we need economical one. Gas is so useful for maing paint, plastic, fertilizer, chemicals, as direct ingredient but we waste it making pakoras on high flame.

I mean is this a furnace

1.jpg

Corrupt politicians can exploit the hell outta it and it is a common practice among all developing countries

I am not interested in what other developing countries are doing, but it's not working in Pakistan. And there's no logic in giving subsidy to people who can afford to pay real price of utilities that also in a country where very few people pay direct taxes, blanked subsidies for commercial Industries go into pockets of elite, new taxes are than imposed to pay these circular debts or development budgets are compromised which effect poor people more.

That's exactly what I'm saying. Even if you make sure subsidies are only for people below the poverty line, politicians and people who could afford will still find out a way to exploit such schemes

Even they need biometric identity.

You know crooks are already exploiting subsidy schemes with impunity and these scams are very difficult to stop, plus these subsidy don't actually help to reduce the poverty - Significant population who are below poverty line don't even have gas or electricity connections. While in case of direct financial aid it will be actually easier to monitor, audit and controlled to minimize theft - as frauds in direct financial aid will directly effect the poor people, so hopefully they will think at time of casting vote. Government can attached strings with direct financial assistance to push the peoples to adopt path which can elevate their status faster i.e. they must be forced to send their children to school, adopt family planning measures - there's a lot which can be achieved.

WTF!!
Wasn't Asad Umar all about making exports competitive and " humare kashkaro ko mehngi bijli mohiya ho rahi hai!!. The Romance is going to be over with this FIRST KADWA GHOOT!!

P.S. all these are part preparations for #IMFCHALO

Is ki fikar check karo chutye ki

BC bharation sai ziada Pakistan obsessed khud Pakistani bhi nahi hain

What? Why ? As if electricity wasn’t expensive and non existant enough, gas prices are going to be higher too? Bad move.

will not go down well with the general public.

What? Why ? As if electricity wasn’t expensive and non existant enough, gas prices are going to be higher too? Bad move.
We should not lose tens of billions in the form of providing subsides to people. Look metro is going in loss, railway in loss, PIA in loss, what is point of providing subsidy where country debt is increasing etc

Multiply this tens of billions with 10 which goes in corruption --- Govt. should work on this first, there's no point in burdening the people who are already burdened. -- What about the unjustified gst's income tax and other bhatta taken by govt. forcefully through utility bills -------

If the average purchase price is 630 then sales price must be at least 750 and it must be uniform, we must stop this domestic/commercial differentiation in prices. We must end the blanket subsidy practice for all, government must adopt mechanism where poor people are directly provided financial support.

Sir the subsidies are for poor. the mechanism they used is based on gas consumption. if you consumed less u get subsidies rate if your consumption is high gas bill will drastically increase because you will get zero subsidy.

Not all people who get subsidy are poor & difference should not be that much high.

Govt. is financially is in no position for it.

All these subsidies and using Govt. institution and Govt. run companies as NGO is a big Liability for all of us.
End subsidy
downsize Govt. Employees
& Kick out corrupt & incompetent staring from top