Government launches ‘Mother of Humanity’ award

:rofl:

Such a butt-hurt loser you are obsessed with BD 24/7.

Harvard has to be right where all others are wrong!

Yes the others are in business of making money off BD (by way of loans etc that can be dumped the higher an inflated GDP is)...so why would they fact check BD hollow chest thumping? Best to make money off it (you think loansharks care about the long term costs on BD because of its self-deluded haze?) with the added buffer afforded by BD govt own feelz....but keep any serious foreign exposure limited by keeping BD firmly at the bottom of GDDS category and having a junk credit rating and having next to no FDI flow.

In the end the cost comes via the differential of an eternal basket case trying to hold it all up (and that will be on the BD masses rather than outside credit providers). Its just sad even this year BD scores another zero in patents at USPTO and lower science output than most sub saharan countries ....its no wonder you lot earn less than Haitians do in the US. Some people are just impossible to make basic level smart in enough number....their stupidity is from a 1000+ year long heritage and inertia. @Desert Fox @django

Yes the others are in business of making money off BD (by way of loans etc that can be dumped the higher an inflated GDP is)...so why would they fact check BD hollow chest thumping? Best to make money off it (you think loansharks care about the long term costs on BD because of its self-deluded haze?) with the added buffer afforded by BD govt own feelz....but keep any serious foreign exposure limited by keeping BD firmly at the bottom of GDDS category and having a junk credit rating and having next to no FDI flow.

In the end the cost comes via the differential of an eternal basket case trying to hold it all up (and that will be on the BD masses rather than outside credit providers). Its just sad even this year BD scores another zero in patents at USPTO and lower science output than most sub saharan countries ....its no wonder you lot earn less than Haitians do in the US. Some people are just impossible to make basic level smart in enough number....their stupidity is from a 1000+ year long heritage and inertia.

BD does not take IMF loans.

What is wrong with you? Did you get dropped on your head as a baby?

BD does not take IMF loans.

Do you know how credit flows even work LOL. The loans (and capital flows) need not come from IMF, World Bank etc....but there is a very specific reason why BD govt is in the business of staying where it is in the GDDS hierarchy (i.e rank bottom), why it does no reforms and all the talk of re-basing its GDP year reference (from the archaic 2005 one) has all but evaporated now after this HIES study came out.

BD govt is hoping to just buy time as long as it can so BAL can stay in power with its GDP inflation exercise and capital flow by way of that (i.e loans)....since its not going to come from anything actually genuine (like say FDI or market cap growth) to matter for the real BD economy (especially anything outside of govt control). The added benefit is everything this way gets laundered through the same BD govt (the same one that uses excessive triple digit excise duties to keep assembly manufacturing depressed within BD to have absolutely no competition with the RMG for labour demand and thus existing corruption skimming).

In the end the BD population will get stuck with the bill such elitists generated....and yes that will hurt the growth even more then.

You just need to ask why BD is not rebasing the year (as promised just cpl years back).....what are they afraid of? They have the core data ready now for some time already....but something is spooking them big time in it (esp given rebasing will bring a lot more 3rd party attention to the methodology). It might not even just be the HIES data from 2017.

@Mage @bluesky

@Tanveer666

Why should BD go for clean energy by paying billions and billions of dollar when its sky is already engulfed with smoke/smog from India and China? Bangladesh could have opted for other cheap fuels for power production. A $12.6 billion could have built other types of power plants with a combined capacity of at least 10,000 MW. Add another $6 billion for interest payment. It is equivalent to another 5,000 MW making the total 15,000 MW. Compare this with the Rooppur 2,400 MW.

Why not coal as the feed? Even India has been producing a very large amount of power from coal. Why not Bangladesh with a vast coal reserve in its NW? Thing is the ignorant BD politicians have peasant background and want to show-off money by building something stupid. They are good at only putting the cart before the horse. A similar thing happened also in the Teesta Barrage. People have simplistic peasant mind.

Utility power in India

Installed Capacity as on Thermal Coal(MW) Nuclear (MW)

31-Mar-2012 112,022 4,780
31 Mar 2017 192,163 6,780
31 Mar 2018 197,171 6,780
Why are you forgetting the simple truth? Fossil fuel based power plant cheaper to build, but expensive to run. While Nuclear power plant are expensive to build but cheaper to run in a long run. For the Nuclear power plants, costs are initial, then it give clean energy with very little price for at least 50 years. On the other hand, coal, oil or gas powered station are cheaper to build, but it take huge amount of fossil fuel and other related costs to run them year after year.

Secondly, we will get only about 20 percent of our electricity from Nuclear as per the plan. So bulk of our electricity will still come from fossil fuel. But this nuclear power plants will give us know-how about Nuclear and atomic sciences which I think necessary part of a nation to become developed. For this nuclear power plant project, many universities in Bangladesh, for the first time opening nuclear and atomic physics department. Bangladeshi people are being trained in Russia to operate nuclear power plant and learning nuclear sciences. Can you measure these achievement with just calculating the money? No. This nuclear power plant is ushering a great prospect for us to be skilled in a field, which is very important part of modern science and technology and has a limitless future possibilities.

Harvard has to be right where all others are wrong!
Even if right, it does not make much difference.

Firstly, Harvard study prediction is just up to 2026. So it is not a long term forecast.

Secondly, Harvard took only one criteria to formulate their predicted growth up to 2026. That is 'Economic complexity'. Some economy can be less complex still booming, if they can produce and export small number of item in a huge quantities. Like oil, gas, garments etc.

Thirdly, Harvard studied economic complexity growth rate before 2016, when our non- garments industrial base was quite smaller. But it's growth now gaining momentum. So predicting economic complexity growth trend for 2026 using data prior to 2016 is quite outdated for a country like Bangladesh, where economic dynamism is changing very fast.

Fourthly, Harvard predicted growth of Bangladesh under 4 percent for 2016-2026 period. That means, this year our growth should be less than 4 percent. But what we are seeing? All the global economic institutions(IMF, World Bank, ADB ect.) forecasting our GDP growth rate above 7 percent. And last year we achieved 7.8 percent GDP growth. That means, Bangladesh is beating Harvard projection which rely on just one variable.

Fifthly, we can enhance economic complexity growth quite rapidly if we rapidly diversity our industrial base. Which is already happening. Homegrown electronics, leather, pharmaceuticals, toys, glass, ceramics, cement, IT are experiencing high growth, Companies like Honda established automobile plants and leading the ways for others to come, 100 SEZ are being set up. Our industrial GDP growth consistently above 10 percent. If these positive trends continue and accelerate than there is no reason why next Harvard study will not show Bangladesh in a positive light. Their 2016 study is not marked in a gold plate for eternity for sure.

Firstly, Harvard study is just up to 2026. So it is not a long term forecast.

Wrong. There are long term results and conclusions, but you are obviously too illiterate and stupid to have a look see.

Secondly, Harvard took only one criteria to formulate their predicted growth up to 2026. That is 'Economic complexity'. Some economy can be less complex still booming, if they can produce and export small number of item in a huge quantities. Like oil, gas, garments etc.

Wrong. There was not just "one criteria". There was specific consumption analysis used of important inputs to an economy.

Thirdly, Harvard studied economic complexity growth rate before 2016, when our non- garments industrial base was not that growing. But it is now gaining momentum. So predicting economic complexity growth trend for 2026 using data prior to 2016 is quite outdated for a country like Bangladesh, where economic dynamic is changing quite fast.

Wrong. Bangladesh stays stuck in its cesspool of stagnant RMG over reliance. Not even 2 o 3 more patents filed at USPTO...still big fat 1's and 0's. 100% of genuine industrial base expansion anywhere in the world has involved a quick change in that number (before the expansion even happened)....commensurate with science and RnD output too....both tiny and stagnant in LDC Desh.

Fourthly, Harvard predicted growth of Bangladesh under 4 percent for 2016-2026 period. That means, this year our growth should be less than 4 percent. But what we are seeing? All the global economic institutions(IMF, World Bank, ADB ect.) forecasting our GDP growth rate above 7 percent. And last year we achieved 7.8 percent GDP growth. That means, Bangladesh is beating Harvard projection which rely on just one variable.

Wrong. They all just go along with BD govt claims on it.....in the end you have to pay up (the loans +interest you take on the inflated GDP), not them....they just throw junk credit rating on you and keep you in GDDS banana republic category...and dont care about whatever numbers you can inflate within those security fences (like leaving prisoners to run their own affairs, as long as you have cordoned off the contamination that they are). None of that will change any time soon, because no actual change happening in BD where it matters.

Fifthly, we can enhance economic complexity growth quite rapidly if we rapidly diversity our industrial base. Which is already happening, homegrown electronics, leather, pharmaceuticals, toys, glass, ceramics, IT re experiencing high growth, Companies like Honda are setting up automobile plants and leading the ways for others to come, 100 SEZ are being set up. Our industrial GDP growth consistently above 10 percent. If these positive trends continue and accelerate than there is no reason why next Harvard study will not show Bangladesh in a positive light. Their 2016 study is not marked in a gold plate for eternity for sure.

All big ifs for a country not improving its patent filings, worse than sub-saharan science output, has miserable energy consumption and scores atrociously on ease of business and logistics indices.

All leading again to HIES study showing the 99% of BD people suffer from the inflation dumped on them and their consumption decreasing....thanks to utter economic mishandling by BAL govt. Not one iota of reform, not one iota of transparency to try graduate to SDDS (and actually compete standards wise with true NICs). Just excessive duties on all manufacturing so that RMG dependency chain is unbroken so BAL babus grandiose corruption stays unchallenged.

It shows in its sycophant piece of rotten Dhaka sewage supporters like you too....in the time you took to type your crying whine up (and its all wrong too, just like one would expect from low IQ birth prevalent in Eastern Delta)....a true actual doctor would have instead worked to keep 2 or 3 BD patients within BD rather than have to flee their country for basic medical treatment.

Understand this is exactly why you are controlled, managed and dominated wherever you go....having to pose as Indian and ride on our coat-tails just to eke out a basic living cooking curry and cleaning toilets even in the richest countries of maximum opportunity. A completely utterly useless bunch....because you would rather delude than actually fix something.

Why are you forgetting the simple truth? Fossil fuel based power plant cheaper to build, but expensive to run. While Nuclear power plant are expensive to build but cheaper to run in a long run. For the Nuclear power plants, costs are initial, then it give clean energy with very little price for at least 50 years. On the other hand, coal, oil or gas powered station are cheaper to build, but it take huge amount of fossil fuel and other related costs to run them year after year.
I have given information by pinpointing the heavy expense. Now, you should come with your own data to prove what you are preaching. If you are right all other countries would have built only atomic power stations. Even India has more than 191,000 MW coal-fired stations against a 4,840 MW nuclear. But, it is only a small guy BD that says the opposite thing.

Now, tell me how the Rooppur will be less expensive per kwh if we suppose its lifespan is 50 years. Give in figures. Thing is like the politicians and bureaucrats of BD with peasant and ignorant background you people also are not willing to accept the truth. I can attest BD will be ruining itself with this kind of extravagance projects. You have to refute my assertion with hard figures.

I have given information by pinpointing the heavy expense. Now, you should come with your own data to prove what you are preaching. If you are right all other countries would have built only atomic power stations. Even India has more than 191,000 MW coal-fired stations against a 4,840 MW nuclear. But, it is only a small guy BD that says the opposite thing.

Now, tell me how the Rooppur will be less expensive per kwh if we suppose its lifespan is 50 years. Give in figures. Thing is like the politicians and bureaucrats of BD with peasant and ignorant background you people also are not willing to accept the truth. I can attest BD will be ruining itself with this kind of extravagance projects. You have to refute my assertion with hard figures.
Entire lifespan cost is not significantly less or more for Nuclear power plant than coal. I am not going for worthless exercise to prove nuclear to be few billion dollar less or more expensive. What is important to me is, we need diversified energy sources and know-how of nuclear technologies. I do not mind paying more for gaining these objectives. I want to return your example to yourself, why India is producing 4,840 MW power with nuclear when it could easily choose to not to do that, instead all electricity could have obtained by using cheaper coal option thus saving many billions? India gone for nuclear despite plentiful, cheaper domestic coal prove my point. Looking for cheaper option always can not be an ultimate strategy for a nation in all times in all places.

All big ifs for a country not improving its patent filings, worse than sub-saharan science output, has miserable energy consumption and scores atrociously on ease of business and logistics indices.
@Nilgiri

crying.jpg

India has nearly 7GW of nuclear in operation and over 5GW in construction.
It has over 41GW of power plants that are planned.

Problem with you is that you are talking about things above your cranial capacity.

Entire lifespan cost is not significantly less or more for Nuclear power plant than coal. I am not going for worthless exercise to prove nuclear to be few billion dollar less or more expensive.
I have not checked all the points of what you wrote. But, how about the total output of power with the same investment of $18 billion in the non-nuclear fuels? When nuclear is 2,400 MW, it is 15,000 to 16,000 Mw with the same amount of investment in other fuels.

Now, think about the economic benefits had BD produced a 13,000 MW of more power? This power supplied to the mills and factories could have created job openings for at least 10,000,000 workers. The result is less import from China and India.

I have not checked all the points of what you wrote. But, how about the total output of power with the same investment of $18 billion in the non-nuclear fuels? When nuclear is 2,400 MW, it is 15,000 to 16,000 Mw with the same amount of investment in other fuels.

Now, think about the economic benefits had BD produced a 13,000 MW of more power? This power supplied to the mills and factories could have created job openings for at least 10,000,000 workers. The result is less import from China and India.
One thing is certain, Rooppur is being built....and eventually more nuclear power plants will have to be built.

https://bdnews24.com/bangladesh/2018/11/19/government-launches-mother-of-humanity-award

Home > Bangladesh

Government launches ‘Mother of Humanity’ award
Senior Correspondent, bdnews24.com

Published: 2018-11-19 15:17:49.0 BdST Updated: 2018-11-19 15:17:49.0 BdST

• Sheikh-Hasina-reuters-01.jpg

The government has launched the ‘Mother of Humanity’ award for social work to recognise the contributions of five individuals and institutions working to improve the lives of the marginalised, those left behind, the disadvantaged and the disabled.

A draft of the ‘Mother of Humanity Social Work Award Policy, 2018’ was approved at a cabinet meeting led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina at the Secretariat on Monday.

“The term Mother of Humanity refers to the prime minister,” Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam told the media. “It reflects her recognition as the Mother of Humanity on the international stage.”

The UK-based ‘Channel 4’ dubbed Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina the ‘Mother of Humanity’ last year after she gave refuge to hundreds of thousands of Rohingyas fleeing persecution in Myanmar’s Rakhine State. Now the government is launching an award named after it.

According to the award guidelines, it is similar to the National Award. Five individuals or organisations will receive the awards on Jan 2, Social Welfare Day, said Alam.

WHO WILL RECEIVE THE AWARD?

An award may be presented for:

>>Contributions to the welfare and rehabilitation of elderly women, widows or those who face domestic violence

>>Contributions to the social protections, self-reliance and employment of marginalised and disadvantaged

>>Notable contributions to the welfare, improvement of quality of life, employment, inclusive education and social protection of people with disabilities and neuro-developmental disorders

>>Contributions to the welfare, betterment and rehabilitation of children who come in contact with the law, ex-convicts, vagabonds and the homeless

>>Any notable contribution by an individual or institution to the development of skill, thinking, quality of life or the environment, the improvement of physical or mental health on the social level and, above all, positive contributions to society and the state in terms of human welfare and humanity

Award recipients will be presented with an 18-carat 25gm gold medal, a replica of the award, a Tk 200,000 check and an honorary certificate.

The award will be equivalent to the national Shadhinata Padak and Ekushe Padak, he said.

Committees at the district-level and a cabinet committee led by the most senior minister will determine the recipients each year.

Asked whether the awards will be presented in 2018, Shafiul Alam said:

“I do not know if they have taken the necessary preparations. But I believe we will begin the process every July.”
Ye bhi koi PM hai? Bangladesh bhi koi country hai? Come merge with India soon.