Government clears proposal for buying 15 Israeli-made UAVs

Scorpion666

heron-uav-360.jpg

AP Photo

File photo: UAV Heron flies during the commissioning ceremony of Indian Naval Air Squadron (INAS) 343 at the Naval Air Enclave of Porbander Airport

New Delhi: Boosting surveillance capabilities of the Army along the borders with China and Pakistan, the government has cleared the procurement of around 15 Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs) from Israel at a cost of around Rs 1200 crore.

A proposal to procure these Heron UAVs was approved by the Cabinet Committee on Security headed by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh at its recent meeting, sources told PTI.

The deal will bolster the Israeli-origin Heron and Searcher fleet of the force which deploys them on both the eastern and western sectors, they said.

The force has a fleet of more than 40 such vehicles, which are expected to undergo upgrades in the near future. The Air Force flies the Israeli-made Searcher II and Heron UAVs for reconnaissance and surveillance purposes and about 100 Searchers are in operation on Indian borders in western, northern and eastern regions.

After the upgrades, the Air Force would be capable of operating these aircraft from far-off distances and control them through satellite communication system.

The Army also operates a sizable number of UAVs and has deployed them in borders along the western and eastern fronts.

The Army was the first to induct UAVs in the 90s starting with Searcher Mark-I and Searcher Mark-II which could operate at an altitude of 15,000 feet and finally the Heron, which can operate at 30,000 feet.

The Army's Northern Command had recently issued a global tender for procuring latest miniature UAVs for intelligence gathering and carrying out reconnaissance of areas along Line of Control (LoC) with Pakistan and the Sino-India border.

The Navy has also three operational squadrons of the Israeli UAVs deployed along both the eastern and the western sea boards.
Story first published: December 29, 2013 17:22 IST

India's defence deals are always driven by Pakistan's defence procurement!

Oye geriatrix; you are talking about Paksitan's induction of UAVs in 2013. While India inducted the first UAVs in the 1990s. There are more than 160 of them operational now (the larger ones), the news in post#1 is talking about another 15 to be acquired.

Now which came first? Who may be reacting to whom?

Kabhi kabhi kuch toh padha karo.........:cuckoo:

Oye geriatrix; you are talking about Paksitan's induction of UAVs in 2013. While India inducted the first UAVs in the 1990s. There are more than 160 of them operational now (the larger ones), the news in post#1 is talking about another 15 to be acquired.

Now which came first? Who may be reacting to whom?

Kabhi kabhi kuch toh padha karo.........:cuckoo:

Oye bacteria, do not try to jump out of the WC.
What you bought in late 90's was far inferior what Pakistan was already exporting.
India is not operating any Haron, you are lying.

What you bought in late 90's was far inferior what Pakistan was already exporting.

lol , IAF operating 50 no's already. its bud u don't know anything about enemy or u was not told about them

Oye Geriatrix miyan; you don't know manure from molasses.............:-)
What UAV was Paksitan exporting? :laugh:
Your own source says that they have been inducted now in PAF in 2013.

The Searchers were the first UAVs to enter Indian Service, the Herons came a little later and operate with both the IAF and the IN .
Read the post#1; its all explained there. though its in Angrezi. If you have any difficulties, then I'm willing to help translate the contents.

India's defence deals are always driven by Pakistan's defence procurement!
I think its going way beyond and should be stopped...
We are buying too much now a days...
Not sure when are we gonna use them...

@BATMAN And this is an elite member. In the whole article, Pakistan came up once, and that was just to mention where the UAVs will be deployed. Not one sentence in the article alludes to the purchase being a reaction to Pakistan's own UAV procurement.

He has become Elite Member by Mentioning India, India, India in most of his posts. :sarcastic: Aadat say Majboor hai yeh. :crazy:

bla bla bla bla bla India is not operating any Haron bla bla bla bla

India sends Heron drones to LAC to boost surveillance efforts | sUAS News

Army responds to PLA, moves deadlier drones along LAC : Featured, News - India Today

Initially, the Heron UAV was deployed by the Indian Air Force and was used for high-altitude land surveillance and maritime patrol missions. - Image - Airforce Technology

I think its going way beyond and should be stopped...
We are buying too much now a days...
Not sure when are we gonna use them...

We are and we will be using them everyday, in peacetime as well as war. In fact the number of UAVs operated by our forces is far less than optimum. Once our own Rustom goes into production, hopefully we will see much larger orders.

These are very cheap force multipliers than tremendously boost the capabilities of all three services, not to mention paramilitaries. They can save a lot of lives, and a lot of money.