Google to Invest $10 Billion in India Digitization Push

Great analysis; I think it is used to develop Infrastructure in India, which employs Indian people. We are not rich like Pak, which imports highly skilled persons from China to lay roads... Google is Investing in Jio which is Indian co, it creates jobs, infrastructure revenue to Govt, and finally profits to Google. Don't deride everything relating to India...

Out of curiosity, what is 3rd world country?

A country where not a single company is in the Global 500. Wonder who?

Actually they haven't.

Google to Invest $4.5 Billion in India’s Jio Platforms

American tech giant takes 7.7% stake in India’s biggest telecom company
im-209494

The Jio deal will be the first from Google’s $10 billion fund for Indian investments.PHOTO: DHIRAJ SINGH/BLOOMBERG NEWS

By

Ben Otto and

Eric Bellman

Updated July 15, 2020 9:11 am ET

Alphabet Inc.’s Google will invest about $4.5 billion in Jio Platforms Ltd, the company behind India’s largest telecom provider by subscribers, giving the American tech giant a powerful partner for its plans to get hundreds of millions more people online.

Google will take a 7.7% stake in Jio, which brought the internet to millions of people who previously couldn’t afford it by offering inexpensive handsets and data plans. It now has more than 388 million subscribers.

https://www.wsj.com/amp/articles/google-to-invest-4-5-billion-in-indias-jio-platforms-11594815351

These 'to' and 'will' are mostly missing in Indian reporting sources.

Anyway, congratulations.
You look into 'to' and 'will' when companies sign MOUs for investing here Google is buying a stake in Reliance Jio...

A simple.google.search yielded this:https://www.google.com/search?safe=...ian+company+in+fortune&aqs=heirloom-srp.0.0l5

I'd request you to please amend your statement, unsavory nationalistic types tend to answer mudslinging with dirt of their own, in the process impinging good standing of other nations. No one wishes to be proven wrong and to be reminded of one's nation's shortcomings, especially if there is data to substantiate it.

World Fortune 500 Interesting Facts
  • India with almost 18% of the world population has just slightly over 1% of the World Fortune 500 companies. For the sake of comparison, almost a qurater of World Fortune 500 are Chinese *
  • Indian FMCG company Patanjali trying to break into World Fortune 500 with next-gen go-mutra products by betting on Gaushala cows that don’t produce much milk – but they do produce lots of urine **
  • Japanese Toilet Maker Toto aiming to enter World Fortune 500 by betting long term on India ***
Such success, Much boasting. WOW

References:

* https://fortune.com/global500/

** https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...akes-up-distribution/articleshow/52150662.cms

*** https://asia.nikkei.com/Business/Bu...t-maker-Toto-looks-to-become-a-global-fixture

You look into 'to' and 'will' when companies sign MOUs for investing here Google is buying a stake in Reliance Jio...

Thank you for using 'is buying' and not 'bought'. The gentleman I replied to inferred that the investment has been made and $4.5 B has been invested, rather deposited. As you very well described, it's a Memorandum of Understanding and not a signed contract. It is a great news for India and I congratulate Mr. Ambani for roping in foreign investments, but it doesn't mean that the pledge has been fulfilled and the buy of 7.7% stakes has happened, which will likely happen in coming days or months.
Facts matter. Cheers!

India stealing money from America and giving to india. Not much different from a scam centre in New Delhi that commonly steals money from American seniors and war veterans

World Fortune 500 Interesting Facts
  • Endia with 17% of the world population has only slightly over 1% of the World Fortune 500 companies
  • Patanjali trying to break into World Fortune 500 with next-gen go mutra products using gaushala cows that don’t produce much milk – but they do produce lots of urine *
  • Japanese Toilet Maker Toto aims to enter World Fortune 500 by betting long term on Endia **
Such success, Much boasting. WOW

References:

* https://economictimes.indiatimes.co...akes-up-distribution/articleshow/52150662.cms

** https://asia.nikkei.com/Business/Bu...t-maker-Toto-looks-to-become-a-global-fixture
Excellent points, you're absolutely right in saying that we are under represented in the fortune 500 group, something that needs to be improved upon. I don't even want to imagine what it would feel like to have no national representative on that list.

If patanjali manages to get on that list by sellin urine, it deserves the investment and status.

If a company plans to enter that list by betting on a specific market, it's good news for that market, isn't it?

Excellent points, you're absolutely right in saying that we are under represented in the fortune 500 group, something that needs to be improved upon. I don't even want to imagine what it would be like to have no national representative on that list.

If patanjali manages to get on that list by sellin urine, it deserves the investment and status.

If a company plans to enter that list by betting on a specific market, it's good news for that market, isn't it?
My friend the point here is that with such a low representation after having more than 6 times our population kindly spare us to not be represented in the list at all.

A country 16% your population size deserves to be spared comparatively by having 84% less representation than you in the list which basically equates to less than 1 (afterall an entity cant be 0.8 or 0.9). Simple statistics, nothing more.

We dont boast anything. But for most of your country mates, those who live in glass houses should not throw stones at others. A little humbleness goes a long way.

My friend the point here is that with such a low representation after having more than 6 times our population kindly spare us to not be represented in the list at all.

A country 16% your population size deserves to be spared comparatively by having 84% less representation than you in the list which basically equates to less than 1 (afterall an entity cant be 0.8 or 0.9). Simple statistics, nothing more.

We dont boast anything. But for most of your country mates, those who live in glass houses should not throw stones at others. A little humbleness goes a long way.
Agreed. Humbleness is indeed an essential virtue, as is refraining from casting aspertions on topics without any locus standi.

The concern for the cronic underrepresentation of Indian companies is also correct. It's a start for now, with the hope being that more will follow.

The criteria for being included in the fortune 500 is not dependent on population of the origin country but by the individual organizational statistics that promise it's economic strengths. India being a low per capita income earner is expected to have few organisations on that list, if at all. With economic growth that would be addressed as well.

This investment is on infrastructure and equipment to run telecommunication network. No big deal, India being 3rd world country really needs physical basic equipment to develop.
This investment is NOT even touching a single poor soul in his her daily average life come to think about it.

This news is surfacing here as well (Google Investment in JIO Telecom). I wonder if JIO has capability to manufacture or roll out 5G telecom Infrastructure in India. Something to be seen.

On your point, I thinks it's a big deal if it is true, especially given current COVID situation when economies are shrinking and India's security was challenged by China recently. Also to that point of your, Pakistan is also a third world country.... how many single poor souls did CPEC investment has touched so far, in that perspective?

Look at Big Picture guys:

All major Tech Companies are invested in JIO now:

Facebook : Rs. 43573.62 Crores

Google : Rs. 33737.00 Crores

Microsoft (Azure Cloud) : Rs. 19366.00 Crores

Intel : Rs. 1894.00 Crores

Qualcomm : 730.00 Crores.

This is massive amalgamation of Tech Capital.

Can only guess what Motha Bhai (Mukesh Ambani) is up to.

Google has announced a big investment in the Indian economy. At the Google For India 2020 virtual event, Sundar Pichai announced the new $10 billion Google for India Digitization Fund.

Sundar Pichai is United States of America Citizen.

Digitisation in Union of India is being done by the Union of India Establishment Mechanism by keeping the Indian Space Programme.

Union of India is Full of Information Technology Experts and these Information Technology Experts are Skilled Manpower of Union of India, Sundar Pichai who is An United States of America Citizen seems to have being talking about United States of America Digitization Fund.

National Emergency is placed in Union of India and I think this is not the right time for providing any Indian Expertise; Even the Indian Armed Forces Central Command Headquarters will have their Reservations on this Matter !!!!

https://www.news18.com/news/tech/go...ogle-for-india-digitization-fund-2713965.html

Google has announced a big investment in the Indian economy. At the Google For India 2020 virtual event, Sundar Pichai announced the new $10 billion Google for India Digitization Fund. Through this, Google will invest approximately $10 billion in India over the next 5-7 years. It will be a mix of equity investments, partnerships, and operational, infrastructure, and ecosystem investments. Pichai says this is a reflection of our confidence in the future of India and its digital economy. “Thanks to Prime Minister Modi’s vision for Digital India, the country has made huge progress in getting a billion Indians online. Low-cost smartphones combined with affordable data, and world-class telecom infrastructure, have paved the way for new opportunities,” says Sundar Pichai, CEO, Google, and Alphabet.

Google talks about how more than 26 million small businesses are now discoverable on Google Search and Google Maps in India with as many as 150 million users every month. Digital payments have played a big part in the change, which includes Google Pay that uses UPI payments for money transfers and bill payments. “The global pandemic has supercharged the adoption of digital tools. Digital payments, for example, have enabled families across India to access goods and services during lockdowns. For them, grocery delivery services have been invaluable—though I’m sure my grandmother misses haggling over the price of her vegetables in person,” says Pichai. Google talks about the program for the internet in villages, called Internet Saathi. They say it has helped more than 30 million women across India gain digital skills to improve their lives and their communities.

Not a Defence Section stuff, please.

and

Members: Avoid duplicate threads on similar subject.