Girl assaults mother outside Lahore High Court

Yaar, come what may, even if the mother taught the daughter nothing, the daughter was mature and above 18. There is no excuse, no reason that will save the daughter from hitting her mother. There are numerous islamic examples that can be quoted in this regard regarding children behaviour with parents but im not a religious person nor a mullah type to start quoting ayats and hadiths also.
But i do know this, you just cannot hit your mother and father. It carries a very big penalty in this life and after life.

Girl wanting to marry someone not approved by mother is another issue and im not discussing that. Im disgusted that under any circumstances, children cannot hit their parents.

I agree there is no justification for her action ............. but after all if this is a cycle of getting punished in this life for one's own wrong doings then I think nature has done justice to her mom?

Such cases are complex, outcome is not appreciated but the actions are driven based on a number of factors including what a child has gone through in his own home while growing, if that child has seen domestic violence, buk buk chik chik then obviously she would fall prey to any looking for all that missing affection and love. Insecure child when becomes powerful may react the way this girl reacted.

Others decried the incident terming it rather shameful and said that freewill marriages should be conducted after mutual consultation of the elders or village council, which will help reduce such incidents in the future.
An American Hypocrite couldn't have said it any better. Can't fix stupid, however, freewill marriage (aka love), just makes it obvious to all.

The rotten apple doesn't fall far from the tree. :pop:

First of all, a very painful incident. I am not here to pass judgment on her, but this is totally condemnable to physically assault any of your parent. She is the one who raised you, spent nights with no sleep for you. You can't even pay back of her one sacrifice, sacrifice of just one night. And here you are today, in public place disrespecting her. If this is after a dude, you already have lost everything. I don't know what our education is teaching us.

Doubtlessly, Islam gives all the freedom to an adult female to choose her life partner. But there's nothing wrong, if your family is rejecting him because they know this person is not a good choice. They are presenting all the valid reasons to you for rejecting him. And explaining, what consequences you might face in future with marrying this person. You should be wise and sane enough to understand your family. No one is more loyal, honest, and well wisher than your parents and family. On the other hand, if the guy is totally suitable for her. And parents reject this potential rishta, because "log Kia kahen ge" or "passand ke shadi" or "khud apne liye rishta/larka deakha hai" etc. so their fake ego is hurt or you don't want to comprise with your so called ghairat brigade, alas on your mindsets then. Both are on extreme. They should find a middle way. One wrong decision in such situation, destroys families and so many lives.
Agreed
Love doesn't exist anymore in this materialistic world. It's a very rare thing to find now. :D
Generally yes, but exceptions are there ..
HAHAHAHAHA. :D
It's like, hosla rakho you won't die single. :D
More or less :D
Ok you can be a really good 'rishta uncle'. :D
We have so many rishta aunties, make your entry. You will be successful. :D
Funny thing -- Back when I was doing my business studies, we were told to bring up a business plan for a project and the business plan I went with was in fact ... a matrimonial service organization :D

Generally yes, but exceptions are there .

Exceptions...

Funny thing -- Back when I was doing my business studies, we were told to bring up a business plan for a project and the business plan I went with was in fact ... a matrimonial service organization :D

HAHAHAHAHAHA. Mujhe to pehle he pata chal gya tha, aap main yeh ability Hai. :D

Btw, my guts feeling say, you got an A in that assignment. :D

Exceptions...

HAHAHAHAHAHA. Mujhe to pehle he pata chal gya tha, aap main yeh ability Hai. :D

Btw, my guts feeling say, you got an A in that assignment. :D

An A+ but whose counting :D

Back to the topic though ... what do you think is the future for the institution of marriage in Pakistan .. keeping in view the current state of affairs ... Will the concept of the whole cultural aspects be obsolete in a decade or so ... like it has in urban India ... or will our customs / cultural values and norms remain the dominating force when it comes to the decision making in marriages causing problems like this (family vs son/daughter)?

The problem with us is, we are a confused nation. Confused between westernization and culture values, confused between religious values and taboos of our society.
It will last for few more decades. With my understandings, the real problem of our society is, "parhe likhe jahil". Their education is limited to their degrees and if you say this eduction is playing a role in changing their rigid mindset, not happening.
When it comes to giving their kids their rights, more specifically rights to their daughters to choose a lifer partner, still the same old mentality.

As long as, we are stuck with this mentality of "log Kia kahen ge"?
This problem is not gonna be solved in near future.

On the other hand, this generation is a lost generation in whole. They don't make a wise decision while choosing a life partner. (Generally speaking, exceptions are always there). Marriage is not just limited to romance. But according to this generation it is. (I have to be straight here)

Why the # of divorce is increasing? Because, decisions of marriage are taken just after the affection of few days or months. And when they enter into their practical lives, they realize their mistake........marriages fall apart.

Problems are on both sides. Parents of our society need to give their children rights and also give them confidence to make a good decisions for themselves.
Having said that, children also need to stop putting their parents in difficult situations with choosing a totally crazy life partner.

It's a decision of life and if it fails, at the end of day again family is gonna suffer.

Yes, the girl was totally wrong to do that to her mum but the parent should have been wiser than to end up in this position.

The marriage already happened, the girl is already with her husband. What was the point of taking her to court once the deed is done? They escalated the situation unnecessarily, they should have made peace in the their family.

You can't force things on a child after a certain point.

Love doesn't exist anymore in this materialistic world. It's a very rare thing to find now. :D
Oh so you are one of those nonbelievers.C:enjoy:

Bro most probably we will find a middle ground like west(ok not exactly like west but still) ie they will choose their own partner and parents will give their blessings under the guise of arrange marriage. otherwise I don't see this qoum changing too much.we as qoum are too stubborn.

On the other hand, this generation is a lost generation in whole. They don't make a wise decision while choosing a life partner. (Generally speaking, exceptions are always there). Marriage is not just limited to romance. But according to this generation it is. (I have to be straight here)
Cut us some slack aunty C :p:
Every generation ever existed thought the same things
Reason because it's a dymanic world where new cultures consistently clashes with old one and in the end they merge and form a new culture.it is happening from centuries we are not the only one facing it.this feeling of being lost will pass as we get older and after watching young guys do stupid shit we will start thinking of how great our time was:blah::blah:.
So don't sweat it. it's the cycle of life.
And last thing not everyone is same if they were all materialistic this world would have become a living hell long ago. majority of the people are still nice and caring.they might not be like that 24/7 but when you need them they will be there for you:)

When it comes to giving their kids their rights, more specifically rights to their daughters to choose a lifer partner, still the same old mentality.
Yeahi to main peat raha hon tab say

But can we STOP making excuses and normalizing it to be 'OK' to abuse parents. There's no justification for it.

One day when she will be a Mother herself, she will come to know and I beg to God the tables don't turn.

Anger fades, action remain.

I wish that happen to her. Now the question about the right of freewill marriage in Islam ? Yes !!! Islam gives us the right to do that but it doesn't give us the right to physical harm your parents.

Almighty Allah has emphasized that kindness to parents is one of the most important qualities of believers. He says in the Qur'an:

"Thy Lord hath decreed, that ye worship none save Him, and (that ye show) kindness to parents. If one of them or both of them to attain old age with thee, say not ‘Fie’ unto them nor repulse them, but speak unto them a gracious word. (23)And lower unto them the wing of submission through mercy, and say: My Lord! Have mercy on them both as they did care for me when I was little.” (Al-Isra 17:23-24).

Almighty Allah (swt) says:-

"And We have enjoined on man (to be good) to his parents: in travail upon travail did his mother bear him, and in years twain was his weaning: (hear the command), "Show gratitude to Me and to thy parents: to Me is (thy final) Goal. (Luqman 31: 14)

Allah says in Quran :-

"We have enjoined on man(be) kindness to his parents, in pain did his mother bear him, and in pain did she give him birth." (Al-Ahqaf 46:15)

That cross dresser Begum Nawazish assaulted his mom and she called police. There are some real nasty people out there, who dont value family relations or anything.

Oh so you are one of those nonbelievers.C:enjoy:

Why so excited?

Bro most probably we will find a middle ground like west(ok not exactly like west but still) ie they will choose their own partner and parents will give their blessings under the guise of arrange marriage. otherwise I don't see this qoum changing too much.we as qoum are too stubborn.

He didn't ask you. Ok.

You have done 2 different sins here.

Yeahi to main peat raha hon tab say

No one asked your opinion. :D