Girl assaults mother outside Lahore High Court

I have to say I'm pretty mortified. Are we bringing this to parents now. Really?

Firstly, how do we know that it was the Mother who took her to court? It says 'she approached her before court proceedings'.

Secondly, even IF her mother took her to court, what makes it acceptable to raise your hand on a Woman that bore you for 9 months, taught you how to sit, walk and talk?

Thirdly, there's absolutely no question or doubt in mind what she did is a lowly act of raising her hand on her parent. This wasn't an act of 'defence', this was intentional harming fuelled with anger. WALK AWAY.

You don't need to be a 'Pakistani' to understand how wrong this is, it's a law of nature belonging to every race be it Chinese, Afghan, Turkish, Arabic, Indian, Bengali, White or Black. It's SO wrong.

Blame the parents for how she is? She's a grown up woman whose capable enough to know her rights on Marriage and fully knowledgable on that, her parents raised her well enough to be able to understand that but at a point of attack their responsible? It's 'their' fault?

No.

She's within her right of choosing and selecting her spouse, a right given to her as a human, citizen and a member of Faith. It doesn't make her disobedient towards her parents for excericising her rights. I'll give her that.

But can we STOP making excuses and normalising it to be 'OK' to abuse parents. There's no justification for it.

One day when she will be a Mother herself, she will come to know and I beg to God the tables don't turn.

Anger fades, action remain.
All here agrees on the fact that what she did was wrong from every view point from every angle.slapping your parents is an unjustifiable action. No one except her lawyer is giving excuses here and we all know he is doing this just because of his job.

Firstly, how do we know that it was the Mother who took her to court? It says 'she approached her before court proceedings'.
Well I can't think of any other good reason why she and her mom both were in court that day and they other guys remarks at the end made it pretty clear why these women were there.

All here agrees on the fact that what she did was wrong from every view point from every angle.slapping your parents is an unjustifiable action. No one except her lawyer is giving excuses here and we all know he is doing this just because of his job.

Well I don't think there can be any other reason why she and her mom both were in court.And they other guys remarks at the end made it pretty clear why these women were there.

It's not clear, but ultimately still boils down to does it make it right? Absolutely Ofcourse not. I wasn't referring to anyone, if I was I'd quote them, I was speaking of the lawyer in hand with a few odd comments.

It's not clear, but ultimately still boils down to does it make it right?
Well in my opinion both were wrong
Mum shouldn't have dragged her daughter for exercising here Islamic right
She shouldn't have slapped her under any circumstances.
Two wrongs don't make a right
I wasn't referring to anyone, if I was I'd quote them
Thanks for clearing the confusion/misunderstanding :tup:.after reading your post I thought that you thought that I am justifying girls action that's why I quoted you.

First of all, a very painful incident. I am not here to pass judgment on her, but this is totally condemnable to physically assault any of your parent. She is the one who raised you, spent nights with no sleep for you. You can't even pay back of her one sacrifice, sacrifice of just one night. And here you are today, in public place disrespecting her. If this is after a dude, you already have lost everything. I don't know what our education is teaching us.

1- The girl fell in love with some guy, her family protested because they had some other guy in mind for her and she wanted to marry the guy she fell in love with because she saw some inherent characteristics, a good personality and a great work ethic etc etc.... In that case, I don't know who I'd side with, because if I'm putting myself in the shoes of the lover, I have a very strong emotional reasoning that I can also rationalize ...
However, in the same scenario If I put myself in the shoes of the parents I might see some very rational thinking and reasoning on the part of the parents ..... So I think it depends on the case in this scenario. Maybe someone with a deeper understanding can share their reasoning ...@Moonlight @Zibago @Spring Onion @Akheilos ... Your input would be appreciated ...

Doubtlessly, Islam gives all the freedom to an adult female to choose her life partner. But there's nothing wrong, if your family is rejecting him because they know this person is not a good choice. They are presenting all the valid reasons to you for rejecting him. And explaining, what consequences you might face in future with marrying this person. You should be wise and sane enough to understand your family. No one is more loyal, honest, and well wisher than your parents and family. On the other hand, if the guy is totally suitable for her. And parents reject this potential rishta, because "log Kia kahen ge" or "passand ke shadi" or "khud apne liye rishta/larka deakha hai" etc. so their fake ego is hurt or you don't want to comprise with your so called ghairat brigade, alas on your mindsets then. Both are on extreme. They should find a middle way. One wrong decision in such situation, destroys families and so many lives.

-First of all ... DONT ... DO NOT ... fall in love before marriage :D ...

-If you do ... Fall in love with someone with a good heart and a humble personality... instead of someone with a pretty face or a "hot bod" as most immature kids do these days ...

Love doesn't exist anymore in this materialistic world. It's a very rare thing to find now. :D

and if not ... no need to hang your head down ... there are 7 billion inhabitants of this planet ... half of them the other gender ... You'll get someone don't worry :D

HAHAHAHAHA. :D

It's like, hosla rakho you won't die single. :D

-Convince your parents ... then you go visit ... Ask her parents ... Give them enough breathing room to clear you and your family by asking around as is common practice. Most likely the decision will be in your favor

Ok you can be a really good 'rishta uncle'. :D

We have so many rishta aunties, make your entry. You will be successful. :D

There is no forgiveness for this girl in life or after death unless the mother herself forgives her.

I won't be that quick to pass a judgement ................ no doubt what she did is wrong at so many levels............ but then again there have been cases where parents burnt, poisoned, chained their children. The lawyer is correct the upbringing plays an important role especially when you are parent of a girl.

In this case .............. if a girl has gone that far to get married in a court ........... then the best thing for parents was to accept it, I won't want to dig the details on this, we all know society is not that Shareef and Naik as it tries to portray itself.

not going to approve what girls did to her mom.but who drags their children to court for love marriage.
and the guy suggesting that village elders should be involved in marriage.someone tell these guys that the couple is well within its Islamic rights to choose their partner for them self without the consent of third party.so keep your nose where it belongs.
whats your views guys @Zibago @The Sandman @Moonlight @django

Agreed but "Maa baap kay samnay uff b na karoo bhalay woh ghalat he kyo na hon"

In this case .............. if a girl has gone that far to get married in a court ........... then the best thing for parents was to accept it, I won't want to dig the details on this, we all know society is not that Shareef and Naik as it tries to portray itself.
that is what i can't understand why our society can't get over the fact that girl has Islamic right to chose whom ever she wants to marry. you just can't exert your choice on her it her life and right.why can't you just let her live in peace.

Agreed but "Maa baap kay samnay uff b na karoo bhalay woh ghalat he kyo na hon"
magar yeah bhi kaha gya hay us surat main tum un ki hukum azoli kar satey ho agar who tumhain islam kay kilaf kuch karney ko kahien.
or islam kay mutabiq app kisi ki marzi kay bagair us ki shadi nahi karwa saktey.so yahan pay who larki ma bap ki nafarmani kar sakti thi.
magar ma ko thapar marna sara sar ghalat tha.

that is what i can't understand why our society can't get over the fact that girl has Islamic right to chose whom ever she wants to marry. you just can't exert your choice on her it her life and right.

Yar there is no Islam involved when it comes to such matters in our society ................ please give Islam a rest here, neither the mother nor the girl and the husband ........ none of them respected Islam. Its more of their wishes and their hormones. The parents should have thought about it when she was young ........... how hard it is to judge how all of a sudden your child has started acting differently ............. when I started smoking my mother could tell it from 20 feet away.

Ishq ka jadoo Sir charh kar bolta hai.

Moral degeneration of society - pre-paid sims with free night packages.
Parents stay short of or shy to check the stuff in their children's cell phones. No idea to whom their children are in connection. A very free and liberal society.

If one is accepting all of such things then, no matter their children drag them, hit them, become addicts, involve in crimes or even have connections with terrorists.

The girl must be carrying W positive blood aka "Sufaid Khoon".
This incident reminds me a murder which happens in USA girl with his boy friend murder her mom and put her body in a steel box but eventually caught and sentenced life in prison.

I won't be that quick to pass a judgement ................ no doubt what she did is wrong at so many levels............ but then again there have been cases where parents burnt, poisoned, chained their children. The lawyer is correct the upbringing plays an important role especially when you are parent of a girl.

Yaar, come what may, even if the mother taught the daughter nothing, the daughter was mature and above 18. There is no excuse, no reason that will save the daughter from hitting her mother. There are numerous islamic examples that can be quoted in this regard regarding children behaviour with parents but im not a religious person nor a mullah type to start quoting ayats and hadiths also.
But i do know this, you just cannot hit your mother and father. It carries a very big penalty in this life and after life.

Girl wanting to marry someone not approved by mother is another issue and im not discussing that. Im disgusted that under any circumstances, children cannot hit their parents.

"Although the state and religion allow freedom of marriage among consenting adults, but the incident shows the moral decay now prevalent in our society and the degradation of norms and traditions."

Stop putting your own fucking opinion in what are suppose to be news articles stating the situation. fucking morons.

Also.

"Others decried the incident terming it rather shameful and said that freewill marriages should be conducted after mutual consultation of the elders or village council, which will help reduce such incidents in the future."

No they shouldn't, unless they're talking financial issues. Going to elders and village councils would defeat the purpose of freewill marriages.