Friends of Turkey: A light-hearted thread.

Reply to the speech made by the first Turkish Ambassador to Pakistan at the time of presenting Credentials to the Quaid-e-Azam on 4th March, 1948. Same words hold today, people of Pakistan fully support their Turkish Brothers.

skojcmr325t31.jpg

He went on to say that "Turkey has been in our thoughts constantly and has drawn our admiration for the valour of your people and the way in which your statesmen and leaders have struggled and fought almost single handed in the midst of Europe for your freedom and sovereignty which have been happily maintained."

main-qimg-18e3c8cf62b8edb7a11095f2d2b948b8

Assalam alaikum wrwb, günaydın, nasılsın?

I noticed that we do not have a thread for Turkish members and pro-Turkish members to exchange light-hearted conversations. This is my attempt at this.

The aim of this thread is to bring together Turks from all over the world: Turkey, Balkans, Mediterranean, Caucasus, Central Asia, etc. and also friends of Turkey, admirers of Turkish culture, supporters of the Turkish military and state.

I ask Mods to please keep this thread free of trolling. Members, please report instances to Moderation directly and do not reply to provocateurs.

This thread is an effort to bring back the Turkish presence to PDF. Please tag and bring all Turks and friends of Turks here. Teşekkür ederim

View attachment 681498

@MMM-E @Turcici Imperium @Turan09 @PakAlp @Hassan Al-Somal @Musings @PAKISTANFOREVER @raahaat7 @Hakikat ve Hikmet @waz @masterchief_mirza @Mamluk @TNT @21st Century Vampire @Verve @Dalit @Iltutmish @ghazi52 @Mirzah @PakFactor @peagle @Itachi
View attachment 681500
good initiative. we must stand with Turkey at least on line wthough our words and good wishes.
Turkey does need more though. if we could buy Turkish products as our token defiance against the KSA led trade embargo imposed on Turkey

Our food is branded as desi or Indian, our culture Asian, our dress code Indian etc etc please don't deny the obvious.

This is a very British Pakistani problem. I think there are a few contributing factors which are more relevant than the identity crisis you allude to (although I'm 100% with you on that point).

Curry was introduced to Britain during the victorian times. It was known to the British as Indian food. It wasn't widely commercialised but it was what it was known as. Our lot who came over were pendus and working class folk. They weren't savvy or business minded. They didn't put thier own mark on anything - they just sold curry to goray as Indian food as thats what they know it as. The modern generations who still do that are just beghairat.

I also think it's a very Punjabi thing too. Lots of our lot here are from AJK and North Punjab. We share parts of our culture and part or our language with the Indian Sikh community in the UK who are overwhelmingly Punjabi.

Naturally people talk and the similarities are highlighted to bridge the bloody gap partition created. Not the act of partition but rather the genocide during it. This led to the "desi/apna" identity.

Our backward approach to integration. Our people are still outsiders 70 years on in Britain because they recoil at the idea integration. They sat around watched Bollywood bakwas but refused to learn anything about British culture. Bollywood became a poison seeping far too many Pakistani households.

You add all these factors up and you get the confused British Pakistani see today unfortunately us lads on this forum are a minority.

This is a very British Pakistani problem. I think there are a few contributing factors which are more relevant than the identity crisis you allude to (although I'm 100% with you on that point).

Curry was introduced to Britain during the victorian times. It was known to the British as Indian food. It wasn't widely commercialised but it was what it was known as. Our lot who came over were pendus and working class folk. They weren't savvy or business minded. They didn't put thier own mark on anything - they just sold curry to goray as Indian food as thats what they know it as. The modern generations who still do that are just beghairat.

I also think it's a very Punjabi thing too. Lots of our lot here are from AJK and North Punjab. We share parts of our culture and part or our language with the Indian Sikh community in the UK who are overwhelmingly Punjabi.

Naturally people talk and the similarities are highlighted to bridge the bloody gap partition created. Not the act of partition but rather the genocide during it. This led to the "desi/apna" identity.

Our backward approach to integration. Our people are still outsiders 70 years on in Britain because they recoil at the idea integration. They sat around watched Bollywood bakwas but refused to learn anything about British culture. Bollywood became a poison seeping far too many Pakistani households.

You add all these factors up and you get the confused British Pakistani see today unfortunately us lads on this forum are a minority.

Bhai, can you move your post over to Whatever. Thanks.

i want to keep the thread focused.

As always anti-Turk GUYS like you from the US and the UK attack Turkish People and Turkiye

We dont care about DNA and who is who

Turkiye = Ottoman Empire

and between 1821 and 1922 , millions of muslim Albanians , Bosnians , Macedonians , Pomaks , Circassians , Abkhazians , Chechens , Ossetians , Georgians , etc came to Anatolia ( Turkiye ) from Balkans and Caucasia to save themselves from being slaughtered by christian Russians , Serbs , Greeks , Bulgars

also there are millions of muslim Kurds and Arabs in Turkiye
even Turkiye hosts over 3,5 million of Syrian refugees and most of them never will return to Syria
but S.Arabia,The Uae,Egypt,Bahreyn dont help even their Arab brothers , They don't help Turks at all

today only Turkiye,Bosnia and Pakistan support muslim Azerbaijan against christian Armenia who is backed by Russia,France and The US

so We Turks are not racist People and We dont care about DNA
We Turks help to muslims whenever we can from Bosnia to Arakan , from Somalia to Afghanistan , from Palestine to East Turkestan

also We Turks fought for İSLAM since 1096 CRUSADE
even Ottoman Empire sent Navy and troops to Jeddah ( S.Arabia ) , İndia and İndonesia to help muslims against christian Portugal who was great Naval Power in the 16th century

also Turkiye always support Palestine against İsrael/The US
Turkiye support Pakistan ( Kashmir ) against İndia
Turkiye support East Turkestan against China
Turkiye support Azerbaijan , Syrian and Libyan People against Russia-İran

and Turkiye always paid heavy price economically and militarily for supporting Muslims against big powers like İsrael/The US , İndia , China , Russia-İran and Europe

so Pakistan People is real brother in the eyes of Turkish People
and We Turks never will forget about Pakistani help to the Turks against the UK,France,Greece,Armenia in the Turkish War of Independence

The love of the Turks and Pakistanis to each other is so old that it will never break

Let's not forget the Muslims of 5th Light Infantry Regiment the moment it was bought to their knowledge they might be sent against Ottoman they rebelled against the Brits killing 40 British dogs - eventually they were executed for mutiny.

A lot of those executed were Pashtuns from Pakistan side.

mutiny.jpg

=======

I went to Istanbul a few years ago. Really liked the culture. Its a perfect blend, modern yet muslim. The best bit was it didn't seem anything was forced down anyone's throat. We should aim to be like that as a society. I'm a relatively Conservative person religiously, but Liberal politically. The intolerant streak through all aspects of Pakistani society worries me. I'm sure Turhas it's bigots, but it seemed so balanced during my stay.

As for food - hated goats milk ayran. Love ayran generally - its basically lassi. Fell in love with Apple tea and baklava. Didn't like the black tea - too intense for me.

The drilled dishes are to die for - every kebab was perfect. Didn't like donner though. This is going to be unpopular but I prefer the fatty greasy British Pakistani version, although I love how they put chips in wraps.

After a week though I was looking forward to mutton pilau, chicken handi and raita.

Still it's VERY healthy food. Grilled meat, a bit of carbs, loads of salad. Good quality salad too. Saw very few fatties in Turkey.

good initiative. we must stand with Turkey at least on line wthough our words and good wishes.
Turkey does need more though. if we could buy Turkish products as our token defiance against the KSA led trade embargo imposed on Turkey

Thanks brother for the post. In sha Allah we will work on bringing in more Turkish members and bring life back to the Turkish Defence Forum.

My request to all readers, please comment openly about your love for Turkey and admiration of Turks.

You can do as little as share your favorite food, tourism site, music, actor, serial, or politician.

As a Turk I don't know what to say to some of things were said in this tread. Some people have really confused about Turkey and some just myths I've heard before. I guess I will just stay out of those topics which could draw me into meaningless back and forths with people seemingly has more knowledge about my county than me.

Let me introduce myself briefly. I was born in Bursa/Turkey and moved to United States when I was 22 years old. That's where I live now. I go back every couple of years to visit friends and family. Maybe I may move back but that decision is not solely up to me. As for the roots go I have quite the information. My father's side is native to where I am from. But from a branch that accepted non-nomadic lifestyle relatively later than others so they have more turkic features. Small eyes, less facial hair, slim body etc. Since where I am from got so much migration from balkans they also have some of that as well. My father's grandmother's father was born in Burgas Bulgaria. My mom's side has tatar roots. Their grandparents migrated from Chrimea. My wife's family is from Dagestan her grandparents still speak their native language. She is from the neighboring town which has a lot of caucasian migrants. See Anatolia is a melting pot, lots of diversity. But unlike other countries communities are not seperated. In highschool for example I could count numerous backgrounds just in our class but as for identitiy and values there are no distinctions. We were talking about this the other day with a classmate of mine. I recall going to her home for a project we supposed to do and her grandmother was speaking Georgian to her mother. She gave me the news that granny was still alive and well. In Turkey people do not identify themselves with their grandparents roots etc. They identify themselves with the city they are from. That is the most profound thing that separates communities in Turkey.

For some reason people also believe most Turks are crazy about Turan and that kind of ideologies etc. And this is also not true. See this is a defense forum. And the profile of people you are going to see here does not represent the geneal population. BBP the party that puts Turan highly in their ideology has less than %1 of the vote for example. Also there are a lot of diversity in every party's voting pool. Not %100 of AKP voters are neo-ottoman etc.

As for religion. Turkey is also very diverse on thay as well. For example I am an agnostic, non-muslim Turk. I have friends that are more and less religious than me. I was always open about my religious beliefs. Whoever knew me also knew that I wasn't religious at all. Did I receive any discrimination? None. Unless you are at the extreme ends of the spectrum religion does not play a part in relationships of people. My wife's family is very religious for example. Let me tell a story from the last visit. It was ramadan eid. I decided to stay the last day of ramdan in my wife's families village. Me and her decided we would spend the eid breakfast there. Then at noon visit my grandfather in my town. In small villages like that eid prayers are a big deal. That's where whole townsfolk celebrate each others eid etc. It was also an opportunity for her grandfather to introduce me to his friends. Previous night my mother in law came to me. She said maybe it's better you come in the morning because if you do not go to morning prayers with the grandpa he may whine about it. I said I will go to prayers with him no problem. See I didn't want to take away the pride he is gonna have while introducing me to his friends. Same with your friends. I don't like to drink alcohol alone. But with friends I enjoy it a lot. We usually get together and go somewhere to drink. In ramadan some stop drinking for a month. Some do not. Nobody judges another. We all love each other like brothers.

When I moved to US. I got to know a lot of pakistanis. I have several good friends that I constantly in touch. Before I didn't have any idea about their culture etc. I must say common pakistani is a lot more conservative that a common turk. That's for sure. But what I like about them is they are not hypocrites like most arabs. Arabs have a lot of contradictioins in what they say and what they do. Pakistanis are not like that. Arabs like to talk about religion a lot and try to export their opinions and act otherwise. Pakistanis do not talk as much and behave as they talk. A lot more sincere and honest. They are mostly friendly and easy to connect with. As for the food. I have seen a post that shows similarities in food. I do not agree with it. I tried pakistani food a lot. Even though some look similar taste completely different. Even though some pakistani dishes taste similar to indian ones pakistanis dont have the body odor of indians that is caused by food. I have some indian friends no matter how I like them it is really hard to travel with them in a car. I cant find a way how to approach this situation cause I know that it is not intentional. They just dont realise it.

All these observations and opinions however is not concrete. I cannot have concrete opinions without spending considerable time in pakistan. There is always difference between mainlanders and diaspora. That is why europeans surprise when they meet turks from turkey instead of the ones live in europe. Pakistan is one country I would like to visit one day. When I find the opportunity I will visit here and ask for suggestions.

We are generally more Conservative than Turks but on the whole I like to think our conservatism doesn't spill over into intolerance. Not always the case of course.

Unlike other holidays I've been too, in Turkey I never felt away from home. Apart from 1 taxi driver who tricked me.

=======

I went to Istanbul a few years ago. Really liked the culture. Its a perfect blend, modern yet muslim. The best bit was it didn't seem anything was forced down anyone's throat. We should aim to be like that as a society. I'm a relatively Conservative person religiously, but Liberal politically. The intolerant streak through all aspects of Pakistani society worries me. I'm sure Turhas it's bigots, but it seemed so balanced during my stay.

As for food - hated goats milk ayran. Love ayran generally - its basically lassi. Fell in love with Apple tea and baklava. Didn't like the black tea - too intense for me.

The drilled dishes are to die for - every kebab was perfect. Didn't like donner though. This is going to be unpopular but I prefer the fatty greasy British Pakistani version, although I love how they put chips in wraps.

After a week though I was looking forward to mutton pilau, chicken handi and raita.

Still it's VERY healthy food. Grilled meat, a bit of carbs, loads of salad. Good quality salad too. Saw very few fatties in Turkey.

Very spot on. Glad you enjoyed your trip.

The greatest thing which I heard is that Turkey has women only beaches, for women who wear hijab to be at ease.

They are especially friendly once you say you are Pakistani.

Do you have any interesting stories about that brother?

We are generally more Conservative than Turks but on the whole I like to think our conservatism doesn't spill over into intolerance. Not always the case of course.

Unlike other holidays I've been too, in Turkey I never felt away from home. Apart from 1 taxi driver who tricked me.

We are actually very non-judgemental to outsiders.

We can definitely learn some great lessons from Turks on how to be more tolerant with our own.

Don't worry those drivers trick everyone. They tricked me too.

my love for turkey is never ending. i also support azerbaijan but i believe that this war can only provide more land to iran. iran is waiting for this opportunity so that they can start their proxy machine again.