Failed Attack: Villagers Near Balakot Say Indian Warplanes Missed Jaish-Run Madrasa By A Kilometre

The PAF responded well, but that's not enough.

India needs to pay for this. Counter-attack.
Agreed, the reason why Gangadeshi's failed is the timely response of PAF which they failed to achieve thier target, so they had to scramble back in fear of being shot down, but the least PAF could have done is drop some bombs on Indian targets along LOC to send a stern message.

No Arresh ...We should name and shame this PAF...THERE is no accountability seriously. Who are they to decide if there action will lead to war? I mean what type of thinking it is....Anytime , it means they can come and go on there will....PAF has just handed over "ustra to bandar" now they will beat drums out of it.....
PAF has simply puts the nations down here...No problem in accepting the failure...instead of false bravado this PAF has created over a decade while failed continuously to defend our skies
Tho ab kya karay suhag raat manay loray. Wait for a bit then see the magic ena thi asi phen nu lan mara thay don't worry

Been trying to get a clear view as the pakistan defense minster said 4-5 km on pakistan side and KPK is little far away...

That's because there are two Balakot's, one right on the LOC and another close to it.

That is what sounds little strange... Would the defense experts have a view on this?

The Indian aircraft were in for a few minutes, got intercepted, and left but dropped their load as they retreated.

All that happened was a few trees got destroyed, a house was slightly damaged, and a villager received some minor wounds.

AKA a complete and utter failure, the Jaish camp in the area survived without a scratch.

So, it was KPK, some jets entered the area over muzaffarabad, chucked some bombs in KPK, turn around and left.. Been trying to get a clear view as the pakistan defense minster said 4-5 km on pakistan side and KPK is little far away...

Thing is, if PAF got the planes up in time and still did not fire a A2A missile to down a jet, no SAM activated between KPK and pakistan side of kashmir? That is what sounds little strange... Would the defense experts have a view on this?

I don't think Indian administration gave any numbers on casualty so far.. that is only Indian press doing drama and ofcourse this is election time, so there will be a lot of chest thumping going on.. but that is just noise and speculation, in my opinion

This is what has happened

1. You came 4-5 miles inside Pakistani territory
2. PAF scrambled its jets
3. Your jets panicked
4. Made a hasty and quick retreat
5. Took a few shots in this hasty retreat that ended up in nowhere in balakot which is a clear failure of mission
6. The whole incident ended in 2-3 minutes

Note: Just because bombs ended near balakot doesn't mean IAF aircraft made it to balakot.

No Arresh ...We should name and shame this PAF...THERE is no accountability seriously. Who are they to decide if there action will lead to war? I mean what type of thinking it is....Anytime , it means they can come and go on there will....PAF has just handed over "ustra to bandar" now they will beat drums out of it.....
PAF has simply puts the nations down here...No problem in accepting the failure...instead of false bravado this PAF has created over a decade while failed continuously to defend our skies...they simply should not brag about there talent or skills from now on and keep there head down until they earn the respect back

Nope dear.

IAF failed in its mission because of PAF. They managed to came just 4-5 miles inside our territory. the whole episode ended in 3 minutes

Yes our response can be improved. But today we didn't fail.

I am no fanboy. I criticize military where I think it is necessary. But today is not the day for that.

That's because there are two Balakot's, one right on the LOC and another close to it.

The Indian aircraft were in for about a minute, got intercepted, and left but dropped their load as they retreated.

All that happened was a few trees got destroyed, a house was slightly damaged, and a villager received some minor wounds.

AKA a complete and utter failure, the Jaish camp in the area survived without a scratch.

Taimur, i think the second balakot is on Indian side.. not on pakistan side .. Am from Poonch, so therefore know that balakote that is on Indian side. That the Pakistan defense minister said it, i wanted to check

On the second point.. Am just looking for opinion of experts.. if this standard operating procedure is good enough for an air force of not.. if it is 80km inside and planes were flying low.. that is atleast 5-7 minutes one way flight plus turn plus return.. so the operation cannot be 1 minute or 2.. am not baiting (you can see my posts.. am not a chest thumping types).. genuinely trying to understand.

https://www.huffingtonpost.in/entry...er_trending_qeesnbnu0l8&utm_campaign=trending

Balakot: Govt Leaves It To Friendly Media To Provide Strike Details
Journalists are letting the government gain political points for the strike without taking responsibility for information put out on the government's behalf.

5c74fd49250000d902c890a3.jpeg

PRAKASH SINGH VIA GETTY IMAGES

NEW DELHI — When Indian Foreign Secretary Vijay Keshav Gokhale read out a prepared statement on what he described as an “intelligence-led”, “pre-emptive”, “non-military” strike on Pakistani soil, he made clear he wouldn’t be taking in questions.

So no clarification on which “Balakot” this was — the one deep in Pakistani territory, or the one just across the border in Pakistan Occupied Kashmir?

No opportunity to ask questions like:

What were the estimated casualties on the ground?

What was the basis of these casualty estimates?

What was the nature of the intelligence that made this strike essential?

If we have such great intelligence, why didn’t we see the Pulwama attack coming?

Is bringing the sub-continent to the brink of all-out war, really the best possible response to the Pulwama attack?

The government’s reticence is understandable. No government likes to share details, particularly about a sensitive cross-border operation against a nuclear-armed neighbour.

RELATED ARTILES
It is our job, as the media, to compel them to share information and justify decisions that could lead to nuclear war: something that affects a lot more than Narendra Modi’s election prospects.

Fortunately for this government, a section of Indian journalists believe that the point of quoting “sources”, and accessing “leaks”, is to put out information in favour of the government.

This has allowed the government to milk the moment for political gains without having to take responsibility for the information that journalists are putting out on the government’s behalf.

Actually, the whole point of a “source” is get information that the government would not want out in the public.

Thus far, Saikat Datta’s piece in the Asia Times seems to be the only one to put sources to good use, where Datta notes:

Indian military sources confirmed to Asia Times that a raid had taken place. “However, it does seem like the Pakistanis were prepared and expecting something,” a senior military official said.

Minutes after Gokhale’s press conference, India Today had a “blow-by-blow” account claiming that the Air Force suggested cross-border raids the day after the Pulwama attack, and the government cleared it right away. This information is presumably intended to bolster Narendra Modi’s claims to be a decisive leader.

On Twitter, Shiv Aroor, the India Today journalist who wrote the copy, listed out the military equipment used in the attack — presumably to assure his readers of the authenticity of this information.

Meanwhile, Manu Pubby, a respected journalist who broke several important stories on the Augusta-Westland scam, lent credence to the totally unsubstantiated the claim that the strikes killed “300” terrorists.

Manu Pubby

✔@manupubby

https://twitter.com/manupubby/status/1100299190163263488

Sources say that India estimates over 300 terrorists have been killed in the strike. No civilian casualty as the camp was located away from populated area.

Was a hub for terror training and indoctrination.

12:39 PM - Feb 26, 2019
Twitter Ads info and privacy

130 people are talking about this

The claim of “300 terrorists” is very useful, as it allows the government’s most vociferous supporters to claim that the government’s response that the deaths in Balakot are several multiples more than the deaths in Pulwama.

Dr Praveen Patil@5Forty3

https://twitter.com/5Forty3/status/1100259157549215744

The casualties on the Pakistani side are said to be over 300 as is being estimated, this is truly an India that is capable of getting 10 **** heads for every Indian life

Same army, same air force, same defence capabilities, but a new India with the sheer force of political will!

9:59 AM - Feb 26, 2019

507 people are talking about this

It is worth noting that Praveen Patil’s tweet — which can be dismissed as mere fantasy — comes three hours before Pubby’s tweet, which carries real weight because of his track record.

The claim of 300 deaths will undoubtedly be repeated several times over the next few months in BJP campaign rallies.

Lost in the noise will be one simple question: How do we know that 300, not 200, or 100, or even 50 people were killed in this strike? It is possible there is evidence to back this claim — but then that evidence needs to be put in front of readers.

To be sure, it isn’t only reporters on the defence beat who have served as mouth pieces for the defence establishment.

Senior journalists who really should know better have thrown all claims of objectivity to the winds.

barkha dutt

✔@BDUTT

https://twitter.com/BDUTT/status/1100262220297105409

Even if #AirStrike in #Balakot across line of control in Azad Kashmir and not namesake in KPK (details awaited on this) a huge huge ops and a huge statement by India. First use of air power by India across line of control since 1971. @IAF_MCC congratulations and God bless. #PulwamaAttack

10:12 AM - Feb 26, 2019

1,981 people are talking about this

Aman Sethi
Editor-in-Chief, HuffPost India

1. You came 4-5 miles inside Pakistani territory
2. PAF scrambled its jets
3. Your jets panicked
4. Made a hasty and quick retreat
5. Took a few shots in this hasty retreat that ended up in nowhere in balakot which is a clear failure of mission
6. The whole incident ended in 2-3 minutes

Note: Just because bombs ended near balakot doesn't mean IAF aircraft made it to balakot.

Nope dear.

IAF failed in its mission because of PAF. They managed to came just 4-5 miles inside our territory. the whole episode ended in 3 minutes

Yes our response can be improved. But today we didn't fail.

I am no fanboy. I criticize military where I think it is necessary. But today is not the day for that.

Areesh.. this is what i am trying to understand.. just focused on operation and not on damage or the politics around it... am no fanboy either

4-5km has any basis? 80km distance is too long for a tank to drop in haste turn around...

i think the second balakot is on Indian side.. not on pakistan side

It's split.

if it is 80km inside and planes were flying low.. that is atleast 5-7 minutes one way flight plus turn plus return.. so the operation cannot be 1 minute or 2.. am not baiting (you can see my posts.. am not a chest thumping types).. genuinely trying to understand.

1. Balakot KPK is about 40KM from the LOC IIRC.
2. It was over in a few minutes because the IAF didn't make it all the way.
3. The bombs landed further away than they were because when you drop something from so high, it will not just drop directly down.

1. You came 4-5 miles inside Pakistan.

IAF failed in its mission because of PAF. They managed to came just 4-5 miles inside our territory. the whole episode ended in 3 mins. But today we didn't fail.

After crossing 50 + miles of Pakistani Kashmir, right?
If you think paf didn't fail today, I hope that paf never fails !!
Really , the armed forces of Pakistan own a country. Not the other way around.

After crossing 50 + miles of Pakistani Kashmir, right?
If you think paf didn't fail today, I hope that paf never fails !!
Really , the armed forces of Pakistan own a country. Not the other way around.

4-5 miles bharati

Correct yourself.

Areesh.. this is what i am trying to understand.. just focused on operation and not on damage or the politics around it... am no fanboy either

4-5km has any basis? 80km distance is too long for a tank to drop in haste turn around...

It wasn't a tank. It was a bomb apparently with extension kit.

Realistically speaking IAF failed in whatever it was trying to do. Even failed to hit the madrasa by a kilometer.

It's split.

1. Balakot KPK is about 40KM from the LOC IIRC.
2. It was over in a few minutes because the IAF didn't make it all the way.
3. The bombs landed further away than they were because when you drop something from so high, it will not just drop directly down.
Nahi yaar.. do you also have a balakote close to our balakote? I thought this was model town areas/ dabsi village is the first village on the pakistan side... but anyways.. it is clear now.. thanks for the help

bhayoon situation kuch asi hay kay abhe may Office ja raha ho aur sooch raha ho SIR G KAL strikes kesay karni hey kyonkay eek taraf Mohali ka Sikh bhaetha hay doosri taraf Mumbai ki larki .. aa Qayamat jesa manzar Pakistan may rehnay walay Pakistani kabhe nahi samaj sakhtay par dont worry i will tackle both by dropping fuel water tanks

4-5 miles bharati

Correct yourself.

It wasn't a tank. It was a bomb apparently with extension kit.

Realistically speaking IAF failed in whatever it was trying to do. Even failed to hit the madrasa by a kilometer.
Am not doubting the bolded part, as i have not seen a single image of this.. but incursion into another state of another country is a message that India has never given before.. and one cannot deny that...

Still will wait for responses from experts, how they see it in standard operating procedure.. if the response is appropriate or more could have been done, if the PAF/SAM batteries on the ground were indeed ready