Eva zu Beck - Promoting tourism in Pakistan

Well my point is that it is ONLY a show of love and respect and those people cannot really give them citizenship and even if they can, they WONT!! Saying such things just shows the love and respect and these few people you mentioned deserve it (not citizenship but the respect)
But still it shows how little people think of our citizenship....I think there needs to be awareness of what citizenship means and what it means to be a Pakistani and be proud of it! Have enough pride not to use it as a joke of making every gora who says good about Pakistan a citizen!

Even if it just saying so....

Love and support can also be given with likes (which boosts reputation on social networks), appreciating with soft words and kindness...She already got soo much support of free chai wherever she went, free food, hugs and smiles!

You wont get free smile in Europe for coming to their country :undecided:

Stop hijacking my thread!

This thread is for photos and videos only.

I think we lay ourselves down to every foreigner and this makes them think they can step on us....She is a vloger who is financed 1 way or another....through talks/ book chapters/selling her photos and what not...

She is buying us free positive so like normal human beings we say thank you or finance her next trip...Stop putting our citizenship so cheap...

No one in Switzerland, Sweden, Norway, New Zealand or even Cuba would give ANY vloger a free honorary citizenship over any picture or vlog no matter how much free publicity Switzerland would get...Do you know why? Coz Switzerland knows it is pretty and people WILL spend ALOT OF MONEY to come and visit it..It too spends ALOT OF MONEY to ensure the continuous income!

No one even in Thailand would do that, why is Pakistan so quick to want to make gori chamri a Pakistani? I would like to have some respect for our citizenship and not give it away so quickly!

Pakistan is pretty and it shouldnt be "sold" so "cheap" so as to giving away sitara or free citizenship just for promotion of what we DO have and will ALWAYS have whether she she did this or not!! We are not that pathetic! There should be a clear line between hospitable and "doormat attitude".....

Can we keep the gori chamri out of it? I would like Darren Sammy (the West Indian cricketer) to be awarded with honorary citizenship. What does it cost us? Ego and pride only? It's not like that citizenship from a Pakistani would be taken away and given to Eva or Darren Sammy. False pride and emotions are not going to win us this war that has been imposed on us. We on our own couldn't capitalise further on railway laid by gori chamri, we let our brightest to go away disappointed and benefit the gori chamri, You need living examples to slap and spit on faces of people like Adnan Sami. And Eva frankly ....... we have more gori Pakistani women then her. Thai Land, New Zealand, falana land dimkana land ....... didn't suffer 1% of what we have suffered, they didn't face 1% of what we have gone thru. It's time to get back on our feet, and I am all for any available opportunity to further my cause. Honoring and rewarding someone for their sincere efforts is never cheap.

Stop hijacking my thread!

This thread is for photos and videos only.

Sorry about that .......... but you are lucky it didn't turn into a troll thread.

But still it shows how little people think of our citizenship....I think there needs to be awareness of what citizenship means and what it means to be a Pakistani and be proud of it! Have enough pride not to use it as a joke of making every gora who says good about Pakistan a citizen!

Even if it just saying so....

Love and support can also be given with likes (which boosts reputation on social networks), appreciating with soft words and kindness...She already got soo much support of free chai wherever she went, free food, hugs and smiles!

You wont get free smile in Europe for coming to their country :undecided:
Hmmm,,, na you are bring too unwelcoming now. :)
What the European do is their culture, what we do is our.

Free chai and love and smiles are free any way for our guests. The call for giving her citizenship are just a show of immense love and gratitude. It means nothing more than sending a warm and loving message really in my opinion. Yes, citizenship should be respected and people should be educated about what it really means. Still, what is said about her did no real harm either.

Hmmm,,, na you are bring too unwelcoming now. :)
What the European do is their culture, what we do is our.
Naah I am not...I have seen first hand what being overly welcoming does..

Free chai and love and smiles are free any way for our guests. The call for giving her citizenship are just a show of immense love and gratitude. It means nothing more than sending a warm and loving message really in my opinion. Yes, citizenship should be respected and people should be educated about what it really means. Still, what is said about her did no real harm either.
Yea no harm done but it does seem like our citizenship is cheap...That comedian Jeremy (I think that is his name) he said 2-5 things nice about Pakistan and every Pakistani on his page wants him to be an honorary Pakistani and every indian wanted him to be a Pakistani it has sort of become a joke (hence, why I pointed it out)...Same goes for German ambassador (though he was just doing his job)..I have seen a few other examples...

It does form an image that our citizenship is not respected and cheap!

You need living examples to slap and spit on faces of people like Adnan Sami.
How is this not ego talk?

It's time to get back on our feet, and I am all for any available opportunity to further my cause. Honoring and rewarding someone for their sincere efforts is never cheap.
So you are openly saying we are incapable of getting up on our own without giving out few citizenship here and there?

@Arsalan this is the mindset that I was objecting to! You see when you are so used to relying on people to pick you up you will even "literally" give off your citizenship....Pakistanis need to learn that they dont need other people to help them to the point of giving them citizenship!! A friendly help goes a long way..Turks and Chinese help us all the time but that doesnt mean out of love we give every Turkish minister and Chinese PM who speaks well of us our citizenship!

THIS clearly shows lack of faith in the country and its people and this is what I am objecting to...It isnt just purely out of love....MANY really think they need outside help!

How is this not ego talk?

It's not ego talk, it's countering the few idiots with better people. Adnan Sami denounced Pakistani citizenship, opted for indian, created a scene out of it, no matter what he is a known figure and the impression all that carried was negative for Pakistani citizenship. You cannot counter known personalities with ALLAH Dita of Pakistan, you need people who are publicly known.

So you are openly saying we are incapable of getting up on our own without giving out few citizenship here and there?

A simpleton ALLAH Dita of Pakistan no matter how simple and innocent he may be ....... is not that easily accepted by the ignorant world. World needs glamour .........we are talking about promoting soft image of a terror struck country, a country that gets 24x7 bad media publicity .......... and regarding your comment about Chinese help .... please do look at the world map ....... do look at what we did for them.

. You cannot counter known personalities with ALLAH Dita of Pakistan, you need people who are publicly known.
Instead of throwing the burden on others...by giving them free citizenship (kind of makes it sound like it is cheap and hence being given away just the same as Adnan Sami did)..Make yourself that person the one who will be the reason Pakistan is known for good things!

I dont rely on anyone...And I for sure dont want my country to rely on anyone or "be in debt" to anyone!

She is a blogger who gets money through sponsorship, through selling her story and pictures to magazine..It is a big business! ESP discovering ventured places ...For her it was hitting a jackpot...Do you know the number of people who promoted india (before the rape stuff)? NOT 1 was offered citizenship, but a big warm thank you and probably free visa at its best!

I am not comparing Pakistan to other countries I am comparing how people respond to this free publicity ...and mind you Eva earned from "discovering" Pakistan....she cashed in on it otherwise she wouldnt be doing talk shows, appearing in articles and so on....She got what she wanted...To be famous for her work (which is not wrong) but you going the extra step shows desperation...Desperation yields nothing good!

A simpleton ALLAH Dita of Pakistan no matter how simple and innocent he may be ....... is not that easily accepted by the ignorant world. World needs glamour .........we are talking about promoting soft image of a terror struck country, a country that gets 24x7 bad media publicity .......... and regarding your comment about Chinese help .... please do look at the world map ....... do look at what we did for them.
You keep calling in terror struck...Pakistan's image has already changed when we elected IK! I live in Europe...a country that rarely ever gave much attention to Pakistan...even my colleagues had bad image of Pakistan but when we elected IK, my own colleagues who dont talk about politics came up and was like you guys elected that cricketer/ philanthropist? Believe me I was shocked....these people who never talked about even the politics of their own country wanted to know about IK?!

America is the only ignorant country that is causing problems...Then again most of Americans dont even know where Texas is so you cant really please them unless they want to be!

Stop living to please others or see your country from other's eyes and learn to live for your country!

And for your kind information, Pakistani music is being known to the world! We did it with Junaid Jamshed we can manage it with someone else! So kindly stop undermining our local talent...Coke studio is slow but it is spreading....

Instead of throwing the burden on others...by giving them free citizenship (kind of makes it sound like it is cheap and hence being given away just the same as Adnan Sami did)..Make yourself that person the one who will be the reason Pakistan is known for good things!

I dont rely on anyone...And I for sure dont want my country to rely on anyone or "be in debt" to anyone!

She is a blogger who gets money through sponsorship, through selling her story and pictures to magazine..It is a big business! ESP discovering ventured places ...For her it was hitting a jackpot...Do you know the number of people who promoted india (before the rape stuff)? NOT 1 was offered citizenship, but a big warm thank you and probably free visa at its best!

I am not comparing Pakistan to other countries I am comparing how people respond to this free publicity ...and mind you Eva earned from "discovering" Pakistan....she cashed in on it otherwise she wouldnt be doing talk shows, appearing in articles and so on....She got what she wanted...To be famous for her work (which is not wrong) but you going the extra step shows desperation...Desperation yields nothing good!

You are making it sound too easy for a foreigner that too a woman, that money making made her to come to Pakistan, if that was the case every other person into this business would be visiting Pakistan, but they don't. Not long ago mountaineers got killed in a terrorist attack in Pakistan. The image building doesn't just happen in one night, else we would have hosted cricket tournaments here. You have your own people working for it, trying their best, doing everything possible, but still teams like Bangladesh are reluctant to come here.

You keep calling in terror struck...Pakistan's image has already changed when we elected IK! I live in Europe...a country that rarely ever gave much attention to Pakistan...even my colleagues had bad image of Pakistan but when we elected IK, my own colleagues who dont talk about politics came up and was like you guys elected that cricketer/ philanthropist? Believe me I was shocked....these people who never talked about even the politics of their own country wanted to know about IK?!

America is the only ignorant country that is causing problems...Then again most of Americans dont even know where Texas is so you cant really please them unless they want to be!

Stop living to please others or see your country from other's eyes and learn to live for your country!

And for your kind information, Pakistani music is being known to the world! We did it with Junaid Jamshed we can manage it with someone else! So kindly stop undermining our local talent...Coke studio is slow but it is spreading....

Pakistan has been there even before IK started walking. I have never thought of anyone to be that important that his absence or presence would make Pakistan collapse. IK was there all the time when our most sensitive and strategic installations got attacked, but did his presence help? We come and go.

You are being too egoistic. Empty pride is not going to bring any good either. Switch on a Pakistani radio FM station and listen to if they are playing Junaid Jamshed or some indian songs.

Okay lets cut this short, apart from Pakistani citizenship is not cheap .... what harm does it bring if we award a honorary citizenship to a well wisher of Pakistan? Real harm, quantify that and convince me.

that too a woman
its not about gender I gave you 2 other examples who are male

that money making made her to come to Pakistan, if that was the case every other person into this business would be visiting Pakistan, but they don't.
I beg to differ...Every other blogger and backpacker writes about Pakistan...it just isnt funded or advertised as much as hers! Humans of NY resulting in Humans of Pakistan...remember that one? He cashed in BIG too!

Not long ago mountaineers got killed in a terrorist attack in Pakistan.
Yes and we saved some Russian ones too! We not some foreigner made our own reputation better...We not some foreigner can make it better ...If we keep relying on others we will never achieve anything!

The image building doesn't just happen in one night, else we would have hosted cricket tournaments here.
Cricketing isnt the only way....There was not too long ago some tourist event taking some 30 foreigners to GB....in the same week, there were Pakistanis, who had a problem due to VVIP protocol some passengers suffered / missed connecting flights and whatnot....Instead of the 30 foreigner's being in the media the plight of the Pakistani was circulated! And mind you it was just 1 lady demanding refund for being asked to wait to board for 5 hrs (or something like that)...So, no matter how many foreigners you bring in to promote your image, in the end it is the locals who need to promote it not foreigners!

You have your own people working for it, trying their best, doing everything possible, but still teams like Bangladesh are reluctant to come here.
For a very long time our tourism industry did nothing! Literally ZERO! I remember when I was growing up overseas, we saw tourism flyers in Pakistan embassy but never in the country! So the embassy didnt even have the "time" nor put in any "effort" to advertise even AFTER they had received the flyers?!

And every time there was a "mela" like event our booth was the smallest and in the furthest with the least people standing to explain anything ....MOST of the time the booth was empty and some of us kids volunteered to just stand there to explain what was not even our jobs!

Pakistan has been there even before IK started walking. I have never thought of anyone to be that important that his absence or presence would make Pakistan collapse. IK was there all the time when our most sensitive and strategic installations got attacked, but did his presence help? We come and go.
Yet somehow you think the presence of gori helps more? Really?

IK is not god....His coming to PM put us on the map to change! That we no longer support monarchy! We are finally interested in coming out of our own mess! It sends a msg! Like how when in Europe some country voted for a "DIFFERENT" party it becomes bigger news/ deal than if the same party won!

Can you see what you are doing here? You are diminishing a local for a foreigner effect?

You are being too egoistic. Empty pride is not going to bring any good either. Switch on a Pakistani radio FM station and listen to if they are playing Junaid Jamshed or some indian songs.
It is not about ego but facts of how the world works!

Okay lets cut this short, apart from Pakistani citizenship is not cheap .... what harm does it bring if we award a honorary citizenship to a well wisher of Pakistan? Real harm, quantify that and convince me.
I already told you about the long term harm:

1) We are already (image that you worry so much about) being viewed as simpleton who give citizens to any gora from Jeremy McLellan (for being Pakistan well wisher) to German Ambassador (for doing his job) and now to Eva (there have been several others but these few have been in the last 1 yr alone!

2) In the long term people will see gora as savior coz only gora can change the world view ..that is the impression this attitude is sending out

3) Relying on others rather than yourself is a harm on its own! Instead of developing yourself you want to "appreciate" others to the point of giving them citizenship instead of having the citizens take the burden of promoting Pakistan? This is EXACTLY how British managed to RAJ in south Asia and everywhere else! Coz they were viewed as solvers of dispute and in the end every now and then everyone wants to be gora with fair and lovely!

IT is the mindset that I am most worried about!

For a very long time our tourism industry did nothing! Literally ZERO! I remember when I was growing up overseas, we saw tourism flyers in Pakistan embassy but never in the country! So the embassy didnt even have the "time" nor put in any "effort" to advertise even AFTER they had received the flyers?!

And every time there was a "mela" like event our booth was the smallest and in the furthest with the least people standing to explain anything ....MOST of the time the booth was empty and some of us kids volunteered to just stand there to explain what was not even our jobs!

So you do understand the problem ........... with the locals.

Yet somehow you think the presence of gori helps more? Really?

Let me give you an example to elaborate my point of view, how people like Eva and Darren Sammy are better brand ambassadors (may be for the time being). Its not in good taste but will make you understand the impact of how people relate, associate and how much they are moved by them hearing to someone who they can relate to compared to someone who they can't relate to. It's applicable to Both local and far away goras ...... Shooting in schools is a periodic frequent happening in US, Pakistanis (most of them who live in Pakistan and are occupied with their own problems) are hardly perturbed by it, they may feel sad for few minutes or max an hour but after that it's usual daily routine for them, some Pakistani news channels would report the incident for a minute or so and that's it, nobody feels mourning for it for days ....... but a Pakistani exchange student Pakistan gets murdered in one of these incidents and Pakistanis start feeling the pain, they can associate with family and the student, they can understand their pain and they will remain saddened for few days, the news channels report it many times. Vice versa white won't be disturbed or feel saddened for bomb blasts that happened in Pakistan, it would be taken as negative image of Pakistan at best and some formal statements of feeling sorry.

The reason ......... people associate, relate more to one who find him / her to be one of them, they will better understand and trust him / her than any other. Pakistanis and indians living overseas feel that way for each other ....... do you now get why Eva in gori land and Darren Sammy in West Indies can win you more than a local Pakistani? And why locking people like them is necessary?

Can you see what you are doing here? You are diminishing a local for a foreigner effect?

O ALLAH di bandi ......... tawada local Gulf countries may aik drug smuggler hy, wilayat may 1 illegal immigrant hy .......... Iran may bikhari hy. Hum log chahay jitna paisa b laga lain na ..... wilayati media, indian media kay influence or impact ko reverse nai kar sktay.

2) In the long term people will see gora as savior coz only gora can change the world view ..that is the impression this attitude is sending out

Totally wrong understanding ...... tussi pehn g jao ja kay koi genes menes utay talay karo ......... marketing twaday bus di gal nai.

3) Relying on others rather than yourself is a harm on its own! Instead of developing yourself you want to "appreciate" others to the point of giving them citizenship instead of having the citizens take the burden of promoting Pakistan? This is EXACTLY how British managed to RAJ in south Asia and everywhere else! Coz they were viewed as solvers of dispute and in the end every now and then everyone wants to be gora with fair and lovely!

There are areas where you have to initially rely on others, gain expertise, valuable lessons and then slowly and gradually start capitalising on that. British Raj and Eva? Connection kya hy?

IT is the mindset that I am most worried about!

It's called setting aside the emotions and pride and thinking rationally to gain. Mayray mohtaram ustad sahib farmaty thay, baita heera agar kooray k dhair may b para ho na to heera he hy, utha laina.

brand ambassadors
Brand officer dont get offered citizenship! In fact NOTHING as simple as this gets offered citizenship of ANY country!

do you now get why Eva in gori land and Darren Sammy in West Indies can win you more than a local Pakistani? And why locking people like them is necessary?
Again...these are human beings not really a commodity! There are many ways to appeal to one to be an ambassador...Like Eva "voluntarily" did so...Offering a citizenship for such a feat is really irrational!

O ALLAH di bandi ......... tawada local Gulf countries may aik drug smuggler hy, wilayat may 1 illegal immigrant hy .......... Iran may bikhari hy. Hum log chahay jitna paisa b laga lain na ..... wilayati media, indian media kay influence or impact ko reverse nai kar sktay.
THIS type of attitude is the reason we are not getting anywhere...Kuch hota nai hum and humari media uska hangama khara ker dayti hai...Jub kuch hota hai usko air time hi nai milta (education / sports / foreign achievements)...it is because we dont value our own people nor their talents that jub kuch hota b hai tub b hum khud ko hi air time nai daytay...MAGAR aik gori muskara kiya day we want to give them citizenship...Jub yeh souch hai, yeh haal hai, hum SACH mein kuch nai ker saktay!

Totally wrong understanding ...... tussi pehn g jao ja kay koi genes menes utay talay karo ......... marketing twaday bus di gal nai.
Marketing ki baat nai hai...SOUCH ki baat hai!

British Raj and Eva? Connection kya hy?
Connection yeh hai slave mentality hai...WE really rely on goray and at once show our slave mentality! Jub tak yeh mentality reh gi....Local KUCH b ker lay kissi ko nazar nai atta na hi acknowledgement mil ti hai!

THIS is not coz we LACK TALENT and need to learn...NO it is because of a certain kind of mentality!

Mayray mohtaram ustad sahib farmaty thay, baita heera agar kooray k dhair may b para ho na to heera he hy, utha laina.
Is waqt yeh hira Pakistani hai jo koi Pakistani ko nazar hi nai atta and usko koora hi samaj jata hai!

Brand officer dont get offered citizenship! In fact NOTHING as simple as this gets offered citizenship of ANY country!

Again...these are human beings not really a commodity! There are many ways to appeal to one to be an ambassador...Like Eva "voluntarily" did so...Offering a citizenship for such a feat is really irrational!

THIS type of attitude is the reason we are not getting anywhere...Kuch hota nai hum and humari media uska hangama khara ker dayti hai...Jub kuch hota hai usko air time hi nai milta (education / sports / foreign achievements)...it is because we dont value our own people nor their talents that jub kuch hota b hai tub b hum khud ko hi air time nai daytay...MAGAR aik gori muskara kiya day we want to give them citizenship...Jub yeh souch hai, yeh haal hai, hum SACH mein kuch nai ker saktay!

Marketing ki baat nai hai...SOUCH ki baat hai!

Connection yeh hai slave mentality hai...WE really rely on goray and at once show our slave mentality! Jub tak yeh mentality reh gi....Local KUCH b ker lay kissi ko nazar nai atta na hi acknowledgement mil ti hai!

THIS is not coz we LACK TALENT and need to learn...NO it is because of a certain kind of mentality!

Is waqt yeh hira Pakistani hai jo koi Pakistani ko nazar hi nai atta and usko koora hi samaj jata hai!

I don't feel like sharing my personal stories to prove that I am hardly a mental slave to gori chamri, see them daily and have put few of arrogant gori chamri to task when they tried acting superior race with me, the confrontations were clear to let them know that not every Pakistani is their mizarah. And I don't deny that mental slavery to gori chamri doesn't exist, have seen it first hand by Pakistani police in uniform saluting them without even bothering to know their status. I am cruel opportunist when it comes to valuing benefits at hand, will go to any reasonable extent to extract and gain benefits, it is that thinking that makes me to argue that we should grab the opportunity and act like a baniya. Once the ground is prepared, it's all about promoting everything our own .... but for the time being its not possible.

It won't hurt to ask her if you would like the Pakistani citizenship. I am assuming she already has dual citizenship (Polish and British) as well the dual citizenship laws only permit you to keep two simultaneously. It would mean that she would have to give up the British citizenship in exchange of Pakistani one as she is admittedly a Polish National by birth.